PHDETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2 in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
No claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,177. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,177 contain every element of claims 1-3 and 15 of the instant application, and as such anticipated claimed 1-3 and 15.
Claim 1-3 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 11, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/337,850 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application include essentially the same structural elements with only minor variations in verbiage and level of detail.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (JP 2010208310) in view of Huenninghaus (EP 0552432) and Vormwald et al. (WO 2021023498, hereinafter ‘Vormwald’).
Tamura discloses a shipping mailer, comprising: a one-piece body (1) comprising a first wall and a second wall that are folded together and sealed along sealed side edge portions of the one-piece body (see Figs. 7, 8), the first and second walls at least partially defining an interior of the shipping mailer, the shipping mailer comprising a closed first end portion (5) and a second end portion (7) comprising an opening sealable by a closure (17); the one-piece body comprising a single face corrugated material comprising a liner layer and a fluted medium layer (see Figs. 6, 8); the one-piece body comprising a center fold line at the closed first end portion from which the first and second walls extend (5, see Figs. 1, 6); the fluted medium layer comprising a plurality of flutes (see Figs. 2, 8); and wherein the flutes are crushed in the sealed side edge portions such that the crushed flutes interlock in the sealed side edge portions (see Fig. 8), and the first and second walls fold along inner boundaries of the sealed side edge portions (functional recitation); except does not expressly disclose the flutes being parallel to the center fold line or the flutes nesting with each other along the walls.
However, Huenninghaus teaches a similar mailer wherein the flutes of the fluted medium layer extend parallel or substantially parallel to the center fold line (see Figs. 2-5) as claimed.
Because Tamura and Huenninghaus both teach single-layer fluted mailers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the horizontal flutes taught by Huenninghaus for the vertical flutes taught by Tamura to achieve the predictable result of providing structure to the mailer and padding to the contents.
Further, Vormwald teaches a similar mailer wherein flutes of the first wall nest with flutes of the second wall (see Fig. 3) as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to construct the fluted mailer taught by Huenninghaus as modified above such that the flutes nest with each other as taught by Vormwald, in order to allow the mailer to take up minimal space when unfilled as taught by Vormwald (para 0028).
Tamura as modified above further results in a device wherein the inner boundaries of the sealed side edge portions form longitudinal fold lines between the crushed flutes of the sealed side edge portions and intact flutes of the interior of the shipping mailer (at transition from crushed flutes to intact shown in Tamura Fig. 2); and blank for forming the shipping mailer of claim 1 (see Tamura Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (JP 2010208310) in view of Huenninghaus (EP 0552432) and Vormwald et al. (WO 2021023498, hereinafter ‘Vormwald’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patent Application Publication No. 2021/00787767 to Simpkins et al. (hereinafter Simpkins).
Tamura as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the plurality of longitudinal fold lines as claimed.
However, Simpkins teaches that it is known in the art to provide a fluted layer with a plurality of preformed longitudinal fold lines (patterned crease) formed in the flutes of the fluted layer, wherein the preformed longitudinal fold lines are outside of a sealed side edge portions in an analogous shipping mailer (Figs. 2, 3, 6, 8, and 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a plurality of preformed longitudinal fold lines in the flutes of the fluted layer, wherein the preformed longitudinal fold lines are outside of the sealed side edge portions in the fluted layer of the Tamura shipping mailer, as in Simpkins, in order to allow the corrugated walls to conform to an article placed into the mailer.
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, 14, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (JP 2010208310) in view of Huenninghaus (EP 0552432) and Vormwald et al. (WO 2021023498, hereinafter ‘Vormwald’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peterson (US 6019280).
Tamura as modified above discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the perforated tear-off strip as claimed.
However, Peterson teaches a mailer wherein a perforated tear-off strip (@22, 23) is formed along one side of the shipping mailer and extending in a direction from the closed first end portion toward the second end portion (see Figs. 1-5).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the perforated tear-off strip taught by Peterson to the mailer taught by Tamura as modified above, in order allow the mailer to be opened as taught by Peterson (col. 5, ll. 7-25).
Tamura as modified above results in a device wherein the perforated tear-off strip comprises a first plurality of perforations formed in the first wall and a second plurality of perforations formed in the second wall (see Peterson Figs. 1-5; perforations through all layers); at least a portion of the perforations of the first plurality of perforations are aligned with perforations of the second plurality of perforations, and at least a portion of the perforations of the first plurality of perforations are offset from perforations of the second plurality of perforations (see Peterson Figs. 1-5; perforations through all layers); the first and second walls each comprise a perforation, and the perforations are on opposite sides of the center fold line (see Peterson Figs. 1-5; perforations through all layers, both sides of fold lines); a perforation that extends from the first wall across the center fold line to the second wall (see Peterson Figs. 1-5; perforations through all layers, both sides of fold lines).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12, 16-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
August 21, 2026