DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: state pre-detection module and heating control module in claim 13. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 limitations state pre-detection module and heating control module invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. In particular, the specification states the claimed function of the state pre-detection module is to detect whether a state of a battery meets a preset state condition in response to determining that a first signal is detected and the heating control module is to perform heating control on the battery in response to determining that the state of the battery meets the preset state condition. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the control routine function. The use of the terms state pre-detection module and heating control module is not adequate structure for performing the functions because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function. As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the terms state pre-detection module and heating control module refers a controller, processor, computer or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which state pre-detection module and heating control module structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or 5 (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function for state pre-detection module and heating control module.
The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 20 is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because computer-readable medium is considered computer readable transmission media defined as signal per se and is not within one of the four statutory categories. The claim does not recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. The computer readable medium is not defined as other than transmission media in the applicant’s specification as filed, thus the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ciaccio et al. (US 20180252774 A1; hereinafter Ciaccio).
Regarding claim 1, Ciaccio teaches a battery heating control method, comprising: detecting whether a state of a battery meets a preset state condition in response to determining that a first signal is detected (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 262; [0106] in response to a key on event…the method determines whether the second battery temperature is less than a predetermined temperature threshold at 258
…determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH); and performing heating control on the battery in response to determining that the state of the battery meets the preset state condition (see at least, Fig 5 steps 262, 270; [0106] determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH…
When 262 is true, the second battery is heated using energy from the first battery at 270), wherein the first signal comprises an interaction signal between a person and a vehicle (see at least, [0087] the power management module 112 receives information such as key-on events). *Examiner interprets key on events as an interaction signal between a person and a vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 1. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the interaction signal between a person and a vehicle is detected based on at least one of a detected key signal, vehicle unlocking signal, or remote control signal (see at least, [0087] the power management module 112 receives information such as key-on events). *Examiner interprets key on events as an interaction signal between a person and a vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 1. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the detecting whether the state of a battery meets a preset state condition comprises: acquiring a battery voltage, a battery remaining capacity, and a battery temperature (see at least, ([0099] The second battery monitoring module 194 also receives cell voltages…cell temperatures…calculates
SOC…for the second battery 110); and judging whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition according to the battery voltage (see at least, [0091] The overvoltage protection circuit 160
protects the battery from overcharging when one or more cells are at or above a voltage limit of the battery cell), the battery remaining capacity, and the battery temperature (see at least, [0106] the method determines whether the second battery temperature is less than a predetermined
temperature threshold at 258. When 258 is true, the method continues at 262 and determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH).
Regarding claim 4, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 3. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the judging whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition according to the battery voltage, the battery remaining capacity, and the battery temperature comprises: judging whether the battery temperature is lower than a limit value of a working temperature (see at least, Fig 5 step 258) if the battery remaining capacity is higher than a lower limit value of the battery capacity (see at least, Fig 5 steps 262, 270) and the battery voltage is higher than a lower limit value of the battery voltage (see at least, Fig 5 steps 278, 282); determining that the state of the battery meets the preset state condition if the battery temperature is lower than the limit value of the working temperature (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 262); and determining that the state of the battery does not meet the preset state condition if the battery temperature is not lower than the limit value of the working temperature (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 274).
Regarding claim 6, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 1. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the performing heating control on the battery comprises: starting a battery heating function when determining that a second signal is detected (see at least, [0089] The power management module
112 selectively actuates the heater driver circuit 146 as needed to control the temperature of the first battery 108 and/or the second battery), wherein the second signal comprises one of a driver in-place signal or a heating indication signal (see at least, [0100] The control module 196 may detect an occupant sitting on the driver seat of the vehicle…based on a signal from a seat occupancy sensor of the driver seat of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 6. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the determining that a second signal is detected comprises: determining that a driver in-place signal is detected when a driver door opening signal and a driver seat signal are detected (see at least, [0100] The control module 196 may detect an occupant entry of the vehicle…when a driver's door of the vehicle transitions from closed to open, as indicated by a door sensor. The control module 196 may detect an occupant sitting on the driver seat of the vehicle…based on a signal from a seat occupancy sensor of the driver seat of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 10, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 7. Ciaccio further teaches comprising: increasing a number of detections by 1 for each detection of the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal during the detection of the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal; and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal are still not detected when the number of detections reaches a preset number (see at least, [0100] The control module 196 may identify an expected engine startup
….when an occupant sits on a driver seat of the vehicle, when a remote entry or start signal is received (e.g., from a key fob or a wireless device, such as cell phone or tablet), or when a device (e.g., key fob or wireless device) is detected within a predetermined distance of the vehicle….may detect an occupant entry of the vehicle, for example, when a driver's door of the vehicle transitions from closed to open, as indicated by a door sensor).
Regarding claim 13, Ciaccio teaches a battery heating control apparatus, comprising: a state pre-detection module (see at least, Fig 1B; [0099] The second battery monitoring module 194 also receives cell voltages, current, cell temperatures and/or string voltage), configured to detect whether a state of a battery meets a preset state condition in response to determining that a first signal is detected (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 262; [0106] in response to a key on event…the method determines whether the second battery temperature is less than a predetermined temperature threshold at 258…determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH); and a heating control module (see at least, [0009] the control module is further configured to…selectively apply power to a heater of the second battery based on a temperature of the second battery and the SOC of the second battery), configured to perform heating control on the battery in response to determining that the state of the battery meets the preset state condition (see at least, Fig 5 steps 262, 270; [0106] determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH…When 262 is true, the second battery is heated using energy from the first battery at 270).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8-9 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciaccio et al. (US 20180252774 A1; hereinafter Ciaccio) in view of Wang et al. (CN 110254236 A).
Regarding claim 5, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 1. Ciaccio does not explicitly teach comprising: judging whether the state of the vehicle is abnormal according to a vehicle sensor signal after the first signal is detected; and performing the detecting whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition if the state of the vehicle is not abnormal. However, Wang teaches this limitation.
Wang teaches judging whether the state of the vehicle is abnormal according to a vehicle sensor signal after the first signal is detected (see at least, [0053] the other key signal of starting signal or PEPS starting signal based on this is also activating one of the signal bus. performing self-checking vehicle each controller bus is activated); and performing the detecting whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition if the state of the vehicle is not abnormal (see at least, [0132] vehicle controller and battery management system after the checking, the success information through a certain pathway output, otherwise it will output self-checking fault information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ciaccio to include judging whether the state of the vehicle is abnormal according to a vehicle sensor signal after the first signal is detected; and performing the detecting whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition if the state of the vehicle is not abnormal as taught by Wang so that the electric vehicle satisfies the predetermined safety condition and control the electric vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 7. Ciaccio does not explicitly teach further comprising: detecting whether a vehicle locking signal is received and whether a key signal disappears during the detection of the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal; and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if it is detected that a key signal disappears or a vehicle locking signal is received. However, Wang teaches these limitations.
Wang teaches detecting whether a vehicle locking signal is received and whether a key signal disappears during the detection of the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal (see at least, [0088] specifically when the electric car is in the off condition and receiving the remote activation instruction or detecting that the door is opened….control pressure sensor below the main driving seat in the electric vehicle in a standby state….when electric vehicle satisfies the predetermined safety condition, controlling the electric car enters the Ready state…when the pressure value signal higher than opening pressure threshold value or output by the key device, to control the electric vehicle enters the Ready state); and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if it is detected that a key signal disappears or a vehicle locking signal is received (see at least, [0092] while awakening the vehicle controller, vehicle controller and battery management system, control the vehicle controller, vehicle controller and battery management system for checking; [0100] the preset safety conditions include all good door has been closed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ciaccio to include detecting whether a vehicle locking signal is received and whether a key signal disappears during the detection of the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal; and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if it is detected that a key signal disappears or a vehicle locking signal is received as taught by Wang sin order to determine a driving intention by the user.
Regarding claim 9, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 7. Ciaccio does not explicitly teach further comprising: starting a timer when starting to detect the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal; and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal are still not detected when the timer reaches a preset duration. However, Wang teaches these limitations.
Wang teaches starting a timer when starting to detect the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal; and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal are still not detected when the timer reaches a preset duration (see at least, [0030] when detecting that the door is opened, the vehicle communication network wake-up of the electric vehicle and a plurality of controllers, control pressure sensor below the main driving seat in the electric vehicle in a standby state…when electric vehicle satisfies the predetermined safety condition, controlling the electric car enters the Ready state…shorten the waiting time ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ciaccio to include starting a timer when starting to detect the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal; and stopping detecting the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal if the driver door opening signal and the driver seat signal are still not detected when the timer reaches a preset duration as taught by Wang sin order to determine a driving
intention by the user.
Regarding claim 14, Ciaccio teaches a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the program, is configured to perform a method (see at least, [0140] processor-executable instructions that are stored on at least one non-transitory, tangible computer-readable medium), the method comprising: detecting whether a state of a battery meets a preset state condition in response to determining that a first signal is detected (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 262; [0106] in response to a key on event…the method determines whether the second battery temperature is less than a predetermined
temperature threshold at 258…determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH); and performing heating control on the battery in response to determining that the state of the battery meets the preset state condition (see at least, Fig 5 steps 262, 270; [0106] determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH…When 262 is true, the second battery is heated using energy from the first battery at 270), wherein the first signal comprises an interaction signal between a person and a vehicle (see at least, [0087] the power management module 112 receives information such as key-on events). *Examiner interprets key on events as an interaction signal between a person and a vehicle.
Ciaccio does not explicitly teach an electric vehicle. However, Wang teaches this limitation (see at least, [0002] the electric automobile (BEV) refers to a vehicle power supply as the power, the electric motor driving wheel running, meets the road traffic safety regulation vehicle of each claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ciaccio to include an electric vehicle as taught by Wang in order to execute the battery management system.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ciaccio and Wang teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 14. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the interaction signal between a person and a vehicle is detected based on at least one of a detected key signal, vehicle unlocking signal, or remote control signal (see at least, [0087] the power management module 112 receives information such as key-on events). *Examiner interprets key on events as an interaction signal between a person and a vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ciaccio and Wang teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 14. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the detecting whether the state of a battery meets a preset state condition comprises: acquiring a battery voltage, a battery remaining capacity, and a battery temperature(see at least, ([0099] The second battery monitoring module 194 also receives cell
voltages…cell temperatures…calculates SOC…for the second battery 110); and judging whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition according to the battery voltage (see at least, [0091] The overvoltage protection circuit 160 protects the battery from overcharging when one or more cells are at or above a voltage limit of the battery cell), the battery remaining capacity, and the battery temperature (see at least, [0106] the method determines whether the second battery
temperature is less than a predetermined temperature threshold at 258. When 258 is true, the method continues at 262 and determines whether the SOC of the second battery is below a predetermined state of charge SOC.sub.TH).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ciaccio and Wang teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 16. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the judging whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition according to the battery voltage, the battery remaining capacity, and the battery temperature comprises: judging whether the battery temperature is lower than a limit value of a working temperature (see at least, Fig 5 step 258) if the battery remaining capacity is higher than a lower limit value of the battery capacity (see at least, Fig 5 steps 262, 270) and the battery voltage is higher than a lower limit value of the battery voltage (see at least, Fig 5 steps 278, 282); determining that the state of the battery meets the preset state condition if the battery temperature is lower than the limit value of the working temperature (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 262); and determining that the state of the battery does not meet the preset state condition if the battery temperature is not lower than the limit value of the working temperature (see at least, Fig 5 steps 258, 274).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ciaccio and Wang teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 14. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the method further comprises: judging whether the state of the vehicle is abnormal according to a vehicle sensor signal after the first signal is detected; (see at least, [0053] the other key signal of starting signal or PEPS starting signal based on this is also activating one of the signal bus. performing self-checking vehicle each controller bus is activated); and performing the detecting whether the state of the battery meets the preset state condition if the state of the vehicle is not abnormal (see at least, [0132] vehicle controller and battery management system after the checking, the success information through a certain pathway output, otherwise it will output self-checking fault information).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ciaccio and Wang teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 14. Ciaccio further teaches wherein the performing heating control on the battery comprises: starting a battery heating function when determining that a second signal is detected (see at least, [0089] The power management module 112 selectively actuates the heater driver circuit 146 as needed to control the temperature of the first battery 108 and/or the second battery), wherein the second signal comprises one of a driver in-place signal or a heating indication signal (see at least, [0100] The control module 196 may detect an occupant sitting on the driver seat of the vehicle…based on a signal from a seat occupancy sensor of the driver seat of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 20, Ciaccio further teaches a computer-readable storage medium in which a computer program is stored, wherein the program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (see at least, [0140] processor-executable instructions that are stored on at least one non-transitory, tangible computer-readable medium).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciaccio et al. (US 20180252774 A1; hereinafter Ciaccio) in view of Lederer et al. (US 20110282531 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 6. Ciaccio does not explicitly teach wherein after starting the battery heating function, the method further comprises: outputting prompt information for inquiring whether to agree to continue heating to a display device; continuing battery heating when a response for indicating to continue heating is received or no response is received after waiting for a preset time; and ending the battery heating function when a response for indicating not to continue heating is received. However, Lederer teaches these limitations.
Lederer teaches after starting the battery heating function, the method further comprises: outputting prompt information for inquiring whether to agree to continue heating to a display device (see at least, [0039] It is therefore possible for the driver, on the basis of the dependencies presented on the
display device 50…to decide whether he wishes to select or activate the battery pulse heating mode); continuing battery heating when a response for indicating to continue heating is received or no response is received after waiting for a preset time ([0057] see at least, a learning function which registers that, in the case of a start time of 7 o'clock in the morning, for example, only the curve SV for city traffic is displayed); and ending the battery heating function when a response for indicating not to continue heating is received (see at least, [0047] In the negative situation…no battery pulse heating mode should be carried out, the driver gives a corresponding negative input at the input device 60, such that a corresponding negative selection signal AW is transmitted to the control device 10, and no battery pulse heating mode takes place).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ciaccio to include after starting the battery heating function, the method further comprises: outputting prompt information for inquiring whether to agree to continue heating to a display device; continuing battery heating when a response for indicating to continue heating is received or no response is received after waiting for a preset time; and ending the battery heating function when a response for indicating not to continue heating is received as taught by Lederer so that the selection or non-selection of the battery pulse heating mode can be corrected or cancelled at any time (Lederer, [0042]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciaccio et al. (US 20180252774 A1; hereinafter Ciaccio) in view of Suyama et al. (US 5596261 A).
Regarding claim 12, Ciaccio teaches the method according to claim 1. Ciaccio does not explicitly teach further comprising: outputting a feedback result for indicating to exit a battery heating logic to a display device when a signal for indicating that battery heating is not needed is detected. However, Suyama teaches this limitation.
Suyama teaches outputting a feedback result for indicating to exit a battery heating logic to a display device when a signal for indicating that battery heating is not needed is detected (Col 2 lines 44-47, the display unit can include display means for displaying thereon charge-stop information when it is determined that the temperature of said main battery is more than said second predetermined value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ciaccio to include outputting a feedback result for indicating to exit a battery heating logic to a display device when a signal for indicating that battery heating is not needed is detected as taught by Suyama so that the driver then may make a selection as to whether he wishes to activate the battery pulse heating mode, wherein information is provided to him on a display device based on if the impending journey covers an adequate distance on the designated road type (Suyama, [0016], [0017).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chung et al. (US 20230150385 A1) discloses outputting a feedback result for indicating to exit a battery heating logic to a display device when a signal for indicating that battery heating is not needed is detected ([0046] current state is indicated by displaying a predetermined figure, such as an asterisk, in a superimposed manner on a portion identified by color corresponding to the current state, so that the driver can intuitively recognize current battery charging performance).
Alexander et al. (US 20140312848 A1) discloses detecting whether a state of a battery meets a preset state condition in response to determining that a first signal is detected ([0073] The host and local controllers monitor and control the voltage and current entering each battery, as well as predetermined battery characteristics, in such a way that the batteries can be optimally charged using solid state control methods).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662