Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-- claim 16, line 12, “to control the a microfluidics” should read “to control the
microfluidics”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, (US-PGPUB 20190384963) in view of Hirata et al, (US-PGPUB 2018/0193559)
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al discloses an instrument for microfluidic droplet-based processing of cells or other entities, the instrument comprising:
a microfluidic droplet processing system, (154 in Fig. 1A, 200 in Fig. 1B) to process droplets of an emulsion, the droplets comprising cells or other entities, (see at least: Par. 0073, 0100, a master controller 154 comprising …. a motive module 162 for controlling movement and/or selection of micro-objects (not shown) and/or medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120. Further, on Par. 0040, … biological micro-objects such as cells, implicit that the droplets comprising cells, [i.e., microfluidic droplet processing system, (154 in Fig. 1A) to process droplets of an emulsion, “implicit by controlling movement and/or selection of micro-objects (not shown) and/or medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120 by the motive module 162”, the droplets comprising cells or other entities, “biological micro-objects represents the cells”]);
a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, (see at least: Par. 0075, 0087, the media module 160 can control the media source 178 to input a selected fluidic medium 180 into the enclosure 102 (e.g., through an inlet port 107), [i.e., a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system, (178 in Fig. 1), to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, “input a selected fluidic medium 180 into the enclosure 102”]);
wherein the droplet processing system, (200 in Fig. 1B), comprises:
an image capture device to capture a sequence of images of a droplet as it passes through a channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system, (see at least: Fig. 1a, and Par. 0073, 0068, 0077, an imaging module 164 for controlling an imaging device 194 (e.g., a camera, microscope, light source or any combination thereof) for capturing images (e.g., digital images) movement and/or of medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120, [i.e., an image capture device, (164 in Fig. 1), to capture a sequence of images of a droplet as it passes through a channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system, “implicit by capturing images (e.g., digital images) movement”]);
a convolutional neural network to process each image of the sequence of images to count a number of cells or other entities visible in each image the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0004, generating a plurality of pixel masks from the image for a corresponding plurality of micro-object characteristics including processing pixel data from the image using a machine learning algorithm, such as a convolutional neural network; and identifying micro-objects in the image from at least one pixel mask of the plurality, and obtaining a count of the identified micro-objects in the image. See also, Par. 0257, a system utilizing a CNN obtains a micro-object count, “cell count”, from an image input, [i.e., a convolutional neural network, “CNN” to process each image of the sequence of images, “processing each image input”, to count a number of cells or other entities visible in each image the droplet, “implicit by obtaining a micro-object count from an image input”]); and
a processor, “microfluidic device 200”, configured to:
determine an estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet from the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the sequence of images of the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0257, the obtaining a micro-object count, from this analysis, technically enables determining an estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet based on the micro-object count obtained from this analysis, [i.e., determining an estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, “implicitly obtaining estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet based on the micro-object count obtained from this analysis]).
Kim et al does not expressly disclose controlling the droplet sorting and/or dispensing system responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet.
However, Hirata et al discloses controlling the droplet sorting and/or dispensing system responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0003, an existing transfusion system that counts the number of the liquid droplets dripping from the lower end of a nozzle in a drip cylinder and controls a dripping rate of the liquid droplets in accordance with the counted number, [i.e., controlling a microfluidic process performed on the droplet, “implicit by controlling the dripping rate of the liquid droplets “, responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, “in accordance with the counted number of the liquid droplets”]), (Hirata et al, Par. 0003).
Kim et al and Hirata et al are combinable because they are both concerned with analyzing droplet images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim et al, to count number of droplets, as though by Hirata et al, in order to control the dripping rate of the droplets, (Hirata, Par. 0003).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses an instrument for microfluidic droplet-based processing of cells or other entities, the instrument comprising:
a microfluidic droplet processing system, (154 in Fig. 1A, 200 in Fig. 1B), to process droplets of an emulsion, the droplets comprising cells or other entities, (see at least: Par. 0073, 0100, a master controller 154 comprising …. a motive module 162 for controlling movement and/or selection of micro-objects (not shown) and/or medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120. Further, on Par. 0040, … biological micro-objects such as cells, implicit that the droplets comprising cells, [i.e., microfluidic droplet processing system, (154 in Fig. 1A) to process droplets of an emulsion, “implicit by controlling movement and/or selection of micro-objects (not shown) and/or medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120 by the motive module 162”, the droplets comprising cells or other entities, “biological micro-objects represents the cells”]);
a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, (see at least: Par. 0075, 0087, the media module 160 can control the media source 178 to input a selected fluidic medium 180 into the enclosure 102 (e.g., through an inlet port 107), [i.e., a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system, (178 in Fig. 1), to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, “input a selected fluidic medium 180 into the enclosure 102”]);
wherein the droplet processing system, (200 in Fig. 1B), comprises:
an optical signal capture device, (194 in Fig. 1), to capture a time sequence of optical signals from a droplet as it passes through a channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system, (see at least: Fig. 1a, and Par. 0073, 0068, 0077, an imaging module 164 for controlling an imaging device 194 (e.g., a camera, microscope, light source or any combination thereof) for capturing images (e.g., digital images) movement and/or of medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120; and on Par. 0068, the imaging device 194 can also include a mechanism for directing stimulating radiation and/or light beams into the microfluidic circuit 120 and collecting radiation and/or light beams reflected or emitted from the microfluidic circuit 120 (or micro-objects contained therein, “i.e., imaging device 194 is implicitly an optical signal capture device, [i.e., an optical signal capture device, (194 in Fig. 1), to capture a time sequence of optical signals from a droplet as it passes through a channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system, “implicit by collecting radiation and/or light beams reflected or emitted from the microfluidic circuit 120, comprising the droplet, as implicitly it passe it passes through the microfluidic circuit 120”]);
a set of one or more classifier neural networks to process the time sequence of optical signals to determine data characterizing one or more cells or entities in the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0257, a system utilizing a CNN obtains a micro-object count from an image input by annotating a plurality of pixels of the input image, each pixel annotation of the set representing a probability that a corresponding pixel in the image represents the corresponding micro-object characteristic, where the plurality of micro-object characteristics comprises at least three micro-object characteristics, including at least, a micro-object center, a micro-object edge, and a non-micro-object (or cell center, cell edge, and non-cell, [i.e., a set of one or more classifier neural networks, “CNN”, to process the time sequence of optical signals, “implicitly processing radiation and/or light beams reflected or emitted from micro-objects or cells acquired by microscopic imaging device”, to determine data characterizing one or more cells or entities in the droplet, “to obtain micro-object characteristics comprising at least three micro-object characteristics”]); and
Kim does not expressly disclose a processor configured to control the droplet sorting and/or dispensing system responsive to the data characterizing the one or more cells or entities in the droplet.
However, Hirata et al discloses controlling the droplet sorting and/or dispensing system responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0003, an existing transfusion system that counts the number of the liquid droplets dripping from the lower end of a nozzle in a drip cylinder and controls a dripping rate of the liquid droplets in accordance with the counted number, [i.e., controlling a microfluidic process performed on the droplet, “implicit by controlling the dripping rate of the liquid droplets “, responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, “in accordance with the counted number of the liquid droplets”]), (Hirata et al, Par. 0003).
Kim and Hirata are combinable because they are both concerned with analyzing droplet images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim et al, to count number of droplets, as though by Hirata et al, in order to control the dripping rate of the droplets, (Hirata, Par. 0003).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. As such, claim 16 is rejected for at least similar rational.
Kim et al does not expressly disclose a processor configured to control the microfluidic process performed on the droplet responsive to the data characterizing the one or more cells or entities in the droplet”
However, Hirata et al discloses controlling a microfluidic process performed on the droplet responsive to the data characterizing the one or more entities in the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0003, an existing transfusion system that counts the number of the liquid droplets dripping from the lower end of a nozzle in a drip cylinder and controls a dripping rate of the liquid droplets in accordance with the counted number, [i.e., implicitly controlling a microfluidic process performed on the droplet, “controlling the dripping rate of the liquid droplets “, responsive to the data characterizing the one or more entities in the droplet, “in accordance with the counted number of the liquid droplets”]), (Hirata et al, Par. 0003).
Kim et al and Hirata et al are combinable because they are both concerned with analyzing droplet images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim et al, to count number of droplets, as though by Hirata et al, in order to control the dripping rate of the droplets, (Hirata, Par. 0003).
Claims 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Hirata, as applied to claim 1 above; and further in view of Wong et al, (US-PGPUB 20200072730)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Hirata as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: process each image of the sequence of images using the convolutional neural network to determine the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the sequence of images, (see at least: Par. 0004, … processing pixel data from the image using a machine learning algorithm, such as a convolutional neural network; and identifying micro-objects in the image from at least one pixel mask of the plurality, and obtaining a count of the identified micro-objects in the image. See also, Par. 0257, a system utilizing a CNN obtains a micro-object count, “cell count”, from an image input, and from Fig. 1a, and Par. 0073, 0068, 0077, … an imaging device 194 … for capturing images (e.g., digital images), “sequence of images”, [i.e., the processor, “controller”, is configured to process each image of the sequence of images using the convolutional neural network, “processing pixel data from the image using CNN”, to determine the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the sequence of images, “implicit by obtaining a micro-object count from an image input”]);
The combination of Kim and Hirata as whole does not expressly disclose combining the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the droplet to determine the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet.
However, Wong discloses combining the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the droplet to determine the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0023, using controller for estimating the number of live cells (e.g. viable cells) as well as the number of dead cells, and identifying the total number of cells by combining the number of dead cells with the number of live cells; and on Par. 0042, the controller may employ any of a variety of classifiers and/or classification techniques to classify the objects in the focused image, comprising …. a convolutional neural network, [i.e., combining the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the droplet, “implicit by using controller to combine the number of dead cells with the number of live cells”, to determine the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, “implicitly determining total number of cells based on combining the number of dead cells with the number of live cells”]).
Kim, Hirata, and Wong are combinable because they are all concerned with analyzing images of sample. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify combination of Kim and Hirata, to use the controller, as though by Wong, in order to estimate the total number of cells in the focused image, (Wong, Par. 0021).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim, Hirata, and Wong as whole discloses the limitations of claim 2.
Wong further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: process each image of the sequence of images using the convolutional neural network to classify each image of the droplet into one of a plurality of categories, (see at least: Par. 0023, classify the objects in the focused image as, for example, a live single cell, a live cell cluster, a dead cell, or debris; and on Par. 0042, the controller may employ any of a variety of classifiers and/or classification techniques to classify the objects in the focused image, comprising …. a convolutional neural network, [i.e., process each image of the sequence of images using the convolutional neural network, “implicitly processing one or more images using CNN”, to classify each image of the droplet into one of a plurality of categories, “classify the objects in the focused image ..into a live single cell, a live cell cluster, a dead cell, or debris”]), to determine the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the sequence of images, (see at least: Par. 0023, the total number of cells may be identified by combining the number of dead cells with the number of live cells).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art of record, alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach or suggest, the following underlined limitation(s), (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“wherein the processor is further configured to: process each image of the sequence of images at a first resolution using the convolutional neural network, obtain a second higher resolution image of the cell/entity, process the second, higher resolution image of the cell or other entity to characterize the cell or other entity and/or an event associated with the cell or other entity, and output characterization data for the cell or other entity”.
The relevant prior art of record, Kim et al, (US-PGPUB 20190384963) discloses an instrument for microfluidic droplet-based processing of cells or other entities, the instrument comprising:
a microfluidic droplet processing system, (154 in Fig. 1A, 200 in Fig. 1B) to process droplets of an emulsion, the droplets comprising cells or other entities, (see at least: Par. 0073, 0100, a master controller 154 comprising …. a motive module 162 for controlling movement and/or selection of micro-objects (not shown) and/or medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120. Further, on Par. 0040, … biological micro-objects such as cells, implicit that the droplets comprising cells, [i.e., microfluidic droplet processing system, (154 in Fig. 1A) to process droplets of an emulsion, “implicit by controlling movement and/or selection of micro-objects (not shown) and/or medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120 by the motive module 162”, the droplets comprising cells or other entities, “biological micro-objects represents the cells”]);
a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, (see at least: Par. 0075, 0087, the media module 160 can control the media source 178 to input a selected fluidic medium 180 into the enclosure 102 (e.g., through an inlet port 107), [i.e., a droplet sorting and/or dispensing system, (178 in Fig. 1), to dispense the processed droplets into one or more reservoirs, “input a selected fluidic medium 180 into the enclosure 102”]);
wherein the droplet processing system, (200 in Fig. 1B), comprises:
an image capture device to capture a sequence of images of a droplet as it passes through a channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system, (see at least: Fig. 1a, and Par. 0073, 0068, 0077, an imaging module 164 for controlling an imaging device 194 (e.g., a camera, microscope, light source or any combination thereof) for capturing images (e.g., digital images) movement and/or of medium (e.g., droplets of medium) in the microfluidic circuit 120, [i.e., an image capture device, (164 in Fig. 1), to capture a sequence of images of a droplet as it passes through a channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system, “implicit by capturing images (e.g., digital images) movement”]);
a convolutional neural network to process each image of the sequence of images to count a number of cells or other entities visible in each image the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0004, generating a plurality of pixel masks from the image for a corresponding plurality of micro-object characteristics including processing pixel data from the image using a machine learning algorithm, such as a convolutional neural network; and identifying micro-objects in the image from at least one pixel mask of the plurality, and obtaining a count of the identified micro-objects in the image. See also, Par. 0257, a system utilizing a CNN obtains a micro-object count, “cell count”, from an image input, [i.e., a convolutional neural network, “CNN” to process each image of the sequence of images, “processing each image input”, to count a number of cells or other entities visible in each image the droplet, “implicit by obtaining a micro-object count from an image input”]); and
a processor, “microfluidic device 200”, configured to:
determine an estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet from the count of the number of cells or other entities visible in each image of the sequence of images of the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0257, the obtaining a micro-object count, from this analysis, technically enables determining an estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet based on the micro-object count obtained from this analysis, [i.e., determining an estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, “implicitly obtaining estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet based on the micro-object count obtained from this analysis]).
Kim further discloses the system will generally orient the input image as an array of pixel values, which the pixel values, depending on the image resolution and size, (Par. 0203), [i.e., implicitly processing each image at a first resolution based on using pixel values for the input image]. However, Kim fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, obtaining a second higher resolution image of the cell/entity, processing the second, higher resolution image of the cell or other entity to characterize the cell or other entity and/or an event associated with the cell or other.
A further prior art of record, Hirata et al, (US-PGPUB 2018/0193559) discloses controlling the droplet sorting and/or dispensing system responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, (see at least: Par. 0003, an existing transfusion system that counts the number of the liquid droplets dripping from the lower end of a nozzle in a drip cylinder and controls a dripping rate of the liquid droplets in accordance with the counted number, [i.e., controlling a microfluidic process performed on the droplet, “implicit by controlling the dripping rate of the liquid droplets “, responsive to the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet, “in accordance with the counted number of the liquid droplets”]), but fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, obtaining a second higher resolution image of the cell/entity, processing the second, higher resolution image of the cell or other entity to characterize the cell or other entity and/or an event associated with the cell or other.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record, alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach or suggest, the following underlined limitation(s), (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“activate a cell/entity-associated event with a controlled timing upstream of a location of the image capture device such that a transient cell/entity-associated optical signal is produced at the location of the image capture device; and identify presence of the transient cell/entity-associated signal in one or more of the captured sequence of images”.
The prior art of record, Kim et al, (US-PGPUB 20190384963), and Hirata et al, (US-PGPUB 2018/0193559), cited above with respect to claim 4, apply also to claim 5, but none, either alone or in combination, teach or suggest all the claimed limitations.
A further prior art of record, Charlot et al, (US-PGPUB 20100289887) discloses the identifying a transient cell/entity- associated signal, (see at least: Par. 0009, an instrument for automatically measuring transient activity in cells uses image time sequences to identify transients in cells); fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, activating a cell/entity-associated event with a controlled timing upstream of a location of capturing the sequence of images of the droplet such that a transient cell/entity-associated optical signal is produced at the location of capturing the sequence of images; the method further comprising using the or another convolutional neural network to identify presence of the transient cell/entity-associated signal in one or more of the captured sequence of images.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 is in condition for allowance, in view of its dependency on claim 5.
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record, alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach or suggest, the following underlined limitation(s), (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“wherein as the droplet passes through the channel in the microfluidic droplet processing system the number of cells or other entities visible in the droplet changes, and wherein the processor is further configured to combine different counts of the number of cells or other entities, as the number of cells or other entities visible in the droplet changes, to determine the estimated number of cells or other entities in the droplet for the droplet sorting and/or dispensing system”
The prior art of record, Kim et al, (US-PGPUB 20190384963), and Hirata et al, (US-PGPUB 2018/0193559), cited above with respect to claim 4, apply also to claim 7, but none, either alone or in combination, teach or suggest all the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. As such, claim 11 is in condition of allowance, for at least similar reasons, as stated above.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. As such, claim 11 is in condition of allowance, for at least similar reasons, as stated above.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 5. As such, claim 12 is in condition of allowance, for at least similar reasons, as stated above.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is in condition of allowance, in view of its dependency on claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations as set forth in claim 7. As such, claim 14 is in condition of allowance, for at least similar reasons, as stated above.
Contact Information
/AMARA ABDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668 10/15/2026