DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 05/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-12, 14-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 11,051,224 B2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0328508 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses a device comprising a processor configured to:
determine whether the UE is to receive a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow continuity service (column 27, 13-17: A service and session continuity (SSC) mode of a PDU session) by looking up traffic influence information for the UE in a table (column 5, 62-64: the first core network entity is a session management function (SMF) entity+control plane PDN gateway (SMF+PGW-C). column 7, 43-47: storing, by the first core network entity, the first QoS flow information includes: storing, by the first core network entity, a correspondence between the bearer identifier of the first EPS bearer and the first QoS flow information. Column 36-34-49: when the first core network entity receives the first information sent by the UE, the first core network entity may directly determine that the PDN connection can be moved from the first communications system to the second communications system. If the first information includes the information used to indicate that the SSC mode of the PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection in the second communications system is the specified mode); and
when it is determined that the UE is to receive the QoS flow continuity service, send a message to the core network to provide QoS flow continuity service (column 36, 14-19: the specified mode may be a mode 1 in the SSC mode, to be specific, when the first information includes information used to indicate that the SSC mode of the PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection in the second communications system is the mode 1, it indicates that the PDN connection can be moved to the second communications system. Column 35,31-40: the UE and the first core network entity may determine, based on the first QoS flow information included in the first condition, the QoS flow information that may be used by the UE in the second communications system, such that the UE maps an EPS bearer in the first communications system to a QoS flow (e.g. second QoS flow) in the second communications system); wherein the core network establishes, in response to a handover of the UE from a first wireless access station to a second wireless access station, a first QoS flow that replaces a second QoS flow (claim 1, column 35, 31-40: receive handover command…obtain second QoS flow information based on the first QoS flow information….and communicate, using the second QoS flow information, with the second communications system), and
wherein the QoS flow continuity service sets a QoS parameter value of the first QoS flow to be the same as a corresponding QoS parameter value of the second QoS flow (Column 39-26-34: first core network entity generates second QoS flow information based on the linked bearer identifier, the EPS bearer identifier, and the stored correspondence. If the second information includes the PDN connection context, the first core network entity maps the PDN connection context to second QoS flow information based on the stored correspondence (e.g. same corresponding parameter))
However, Jin does not disclose receive, from a core network, a first notification of a path change to a network traffic associated with a User Equipment (UE) device.
In an analogous art, Zhu discloses receive, from a core network, a first notification of a path change to a network traffic associated with a User Equipment (UE) device ([0145]: receive, from a core network, a first notification of a path change to a network traffic associated with a User Equipment (UE) device. [0177]: the AMF determines that there is the subscription on the RAN node information from the NEF (RNIS) and the associated PDU session is activated. Under such a condition, the AMF sends a notification (message) to the NEF (RNIS), wherein the notification includes the RAN node information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jin to comprise “receive, from a core network, a first notification of a path change to a network traffic associated with a User Equipment (UE) device” taught by Zhu.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to determines there is the subscription on the QoS flow mapping information from the NEF (RNIS) (Zhu, [0150]).
Regarding claim 2, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the device includes a Network Exposure Function (NEF), and wherein, when the processor receives the first notification, the processor is further configured to: receive, from a Unified Data Management (UDM) or a Unified Data Repository (UDR), a second notification of the path change (Zhu, [0124]: the UDR stores the subscription and sends a subscription response to the PCF. In step 503, the AF sends an AF request (message) to the NEF (RNIS). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the table includes at least one of: an identifier for the UE; an identifier for the second QoS flow; or an identifier for a QoS for the second QoS flow (Jin, column 7, 43-47: storing, by the first core network entity, the first QoS flow information includes: storing, by the first core network entity, a correspondence between the bearer identifier of the first EPS bearer and the first QoS flow information. Column 27, 26-29: QoS flow information includes a combination of one or more of the following information: QoS information of a QoS flow, a QoS flow identifier (QFI), or a QoS flow template).
Regarding claim 5, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein, prior to receipt of the first notification, the processor is further configured to: receive a request from an Application Function (AF) for the core network to create a session having a QoS flow that meets one or more QoS requirements (Zhu, [0195]: based on the QoS flow binding information received from the SMF and the radio network information received from the RAN, the NEF determines the associated service data flow and send a notification); subscribe with a Unified Data Management (UDM) or a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to receive a path change notification (Zhu, [0117]: the NEF discovers the UDM serving the UE and invokes a Nudm_EventExposure_Subscribe service (e.g. transmitting a Nudm_EventExposure_Subscribe request comprising event ID(s), a NEF address, the GPSI, the DNN, the S-NSSAI) in the UDM. In an embodiment, the event ID(s) in the Nudm_EventExposure_Subscribe request indicates the event(s) associated with the subscribed RAN node information); and request a Policy Control Function (PCF) to create an authorization for a policy to be associated with a creation of QoS flow, for the UE, that meets the QoS requirements (Zhu, [0143]: he SMF performs an authorization on whether the PDU session establishment request can be accepted. When the PCF is deployed, the SMF may contact the PCF to receive PCC rules for the requested PDU session. If the SMF accepts the PDU session establishment request, the SMF sends a PDU session establishment accept to the AMF). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: subscribe with a Session Management Function (SMF) to be notified of an establishment of a session that includes the first QoS flow (Zhu, [0229]: the NEF subscribes QoS flow mapping information of a PDU session to an SMF. For example, the NEF may subscribe the QoS flow mapping information according to the process shown in FIGS. 4 and/or 5. The NEF may receive the QoS flow mapping information from the SMF); receive a second notification from the SMF that the session is established; and store parameters associated with the first QoS flow in the table (Zhu, [0145]: In an embodiment, the NEF (RNIS) stores the QoS flow mapping information. In an embodiment, when a new QoS flow is established or a QoS flow is released, the SMF further sends another notification to the NEF (RNIS) to update the QoS flow mapping information). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to: notify the AF of a successful creation of the first QoS flow (Zhu, [0121]: NEF sends an AF request acknowledge (ACK) to the AF). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: send an update notification to provide updated session information associated with the path change (Zhu, [0145]: the SMF determines there is a subscription on the QoS flow mapping information from the NEF and the associated PDU session is established (regardless of whether the radio resources of the PDU session are established in the RAN node), the SMF sends a notification (message) (e.g. Nsmf_EventExposure_Notification) to the NEF (RNIS). The NEF (RNIS) stores the QoS flow mapping information. In an embodiment, when a new QoS flow is established or a QoS flow is released).
Regarding claims 11 and 20; the claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Claims 3 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Zhu, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Tamura et al. (US 2023/0224779 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 1.
However, Jin-Zhu does not disclose wherein, when the processor sends the message to the core network, the processor is configured to: send a request to a Policy Control Function (PCF) to create an authorization for a policy pertaining to the path change to direct the network traffic from the UE to a new User Plane Function (UPF).
In an analogous art, Tamura discloses wherein, when the processor sends the message to the core network, the processor is configured to: send a request to a Policy Control Function (PCF) to create an authorization for a policy pertaining to the path change to direct the network traffic from the UE to a new User Plane Function (UPF) ([0095]-[0096]: SMF 32 interacts with NFs, including the PCF 34 and the UPF 33, to establish the new PDU Session for the UE 1 or to modify the established PDU Session of the UE 1. [0129]: the center server 4 sends the AF request to the PCF 34 directly or via the NEF 35. The AF request requests the SMF 32 to relocate (or re-select) the PSA UPF according to SSC mode 2 in order to allow routing of user traffic to local access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jin-Zhu to comprise “wherein, when the processor sends the message to the core network, the processor is configured to: send a request to a Policy Control Function (PCF) to create an authorization for a policy pertaining to the path change to direct the network traffic from the UE to a new User Plane Function (UPF)” taught by Tamura.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled update the UP path to the 5GC through a PDU Session path update procedure (Tamura, [0102]).
Regarding claim 13; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Claims 8-9, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Zhu, as applied to claims 1 and 11, in further view of Chen et al. (US 2026/0039574 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jin-Zhu discloses the device of claim 1.
However, Jin-Zhu does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from an Application Function (AF), a request to create a traffic influence; and store traffic steering rules, at a Unified Data Repository (UDR), in response to the request to create the traffic influence.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from an Application Function (AF), a request to create a traffic influence ([0133]-[0134]: Application Function detects a trigger condition for a group of users to be upgraded their QoS temporarily. AF invokes Parameter Provisioning by sending Nnef ServiceParameterProvisioning_Create message including External Group ID, new added QoS reference parameter, AF ID to the NEF); and store traffic steering rules, at a Unified Data Repository (UDR), in response to the request to create the traffic influence ([0135]: NEF can directly store the subscribed-QoS-Reference into the UDR, so that NEF can skip the mapping of the QOS reference to QoS Parameters (ARP/5QI etc.), and PCF will translate to the QoS Parameters based on its local policy when it reads the data from UDR.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Jin-Zhu to comprise “wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from an Application Function (AF), a request to create a traffic influence; and store traffic steering rules, at a Unified Data Repository (UDR), in response to the request to create the traffic influence” taught by Chen.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled the AF to dynamically influence on the default QoS upgrade for a group of subscribers in a persistent way (Chen, [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Jin-Zhu-Chen discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the UDR is configured to: provide the traffic steering rules to a Policy Control Function (PCF) (Chen, [0132]: stores the new data directly in UDR, as part of application-data, and PCF will make use of the application-data with the AF Provided QoS Profile to derive the QoS Parameters and generate the PCC rules for the UE(s)); and provide static traffic steering rules to a Session Management Function (SMF) (Chen, [0122]-[0123]: SMF fetches the SM-data for the requested DNN/S-NSSAI associated to the PDU session by sending the Nudm_SDM_Get message to the UDM. UDM fetches the group data configured by Afs since the UE belongs to the group by sending the Nudr_Get message to the UDR). The same rationale applies as in claim 8.
Regarding claim 18; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 19; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Diachina et al, US 2024/0121686 A1: Handover Technique for Time-Sensitive Networking.
Manithara Vamanan et al., US 2023/0069008 A1: Quality of Service Framework Enhancements for 5G Service.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/J.C.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2454
/GLENTON B BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454