DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20030160497 (hereinafter, "Darr") in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090177357 (hereinafter, "Long").
Regarding claim 1, Darr discloses a restraint system, comprising:
a lock comprising a detector configured to receive a wireless locking signal (“It is yet a further object of the invention to provide a control system of the foregoing character whereby the flight crew can lock or unlock all seat belts selectively and individually or simultaneously” (para 0011)) and a wireless unlocking signal (“The seat belt control system of the present invention involves the use of specially designed electronically controlled lap or seat belts and the installation of a network-like system which provides for remote control of the electronic lap or seat belts” (para 0007)), wherein:
receiving the wireless locking signal causes the lock to transition from an unlocked configuration to a locked configuration (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007));
receiving the wireless unlocking signal causes the lock to transition from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007));
in the locked configuration, the restraint system is configured to secure a passenger within a seat associated with the restraint system (“Of considerable advantage is the fact that a control system according to the invention allows or enables the flight crew to cause the restraint of an unruly passenger or passengers without the requirement of the flight crew or other passengers having to physically restrain the passengers.” (para 0006)); and
in the unlocked configuration, the restraint system is configured to release the passenger (“The system takes into account passenger needs to get up during the course of the flight and, in this respect, includes an attendant call button that alerts the flight attendant that a passenger is requesting to be released from his or her seat and consequently, desires that the restraint belt be unlocked” (para 0006)).
However, Darr does not explicitly teach a wireless signal
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a wireless signal (“The wireless signal may be emitted from the wireless signaling device and received by a receiving device, such as, one or more distributed antenna. The receiving device then transmits the emitted wireless signal to the data network device for determining whether the article is in a secured or unsecured state” (para 0020)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 2, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. Additionally, Darr discloses comprising:
a first transmitter configured to transmit the wireless locking signal to cause the lock of the restraint system to transition to the locked configuration (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)); and
a second transmitter configured to transmit the unlocking signal to cause the lock of the restraint system to transition to the unlocked configuration (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)).
However, Darr does not explicitly teach
a wireless signal
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a wireless signal (“The wireless signal may be emitted from the wireless signaling device and received by a receiving device, such as, one or more distributed antenna. The receiving device then transmits the emitted wireless signal to the data network device for determining whether the article is in a secured or unsecured state” (para 0020)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 3, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 2. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein:
the detector comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag;
the first transmitter comprises a first radio frequency (RF) chip configured to transmit the wireless locking signal; and
the second transmitter comprises a second radio frequency (RF) chip configured to transmit the wireless unlocking signal.
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein:
the detector comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (“The wireless signaling device may be a Radio Frequency Identification Device (RFID tag)” (para 0022));
the first transmitter comprises a first radio frequency (RF) chip configured to transmit the wireless locking signal (Fig. 3A); and
the second transmitter comprises a second radio frequency (RF) chip configured to transmit the wireless unlocking signal (Fig. 3B).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device is capable of emitting a wireless signal that indicates a state of the article; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 5, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein the detector is positioned within the lock and comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag.
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein the detector is positioned within the lock and comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (“The wireless signaling device may be a Radio Frequency Identification Device (RFID tag)” (para 0022)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device is capable of emitting a wireless signal that indicates a state of the article; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 6, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. Additionally, Darr discloses wherein:
the restraint system comprises at least a first strap and a second strap (Fig. 1A, #27);
each of the first strap and the second strap comprises at least one end fixedly coupled to the seat (“Once the connection is made, the free end of the webbing strap which is generally secured to the female buckle end can be pulled to remove the slack…” (para 0004));
the first strap comprises the lock on a free end of the first strap (Fig. 1A, #25, #23);
the second strap comprises a connector on a free end of the second strap (Fig. 1A, #25, #23); and
the lock is configured to receive the connector to secure the passenger within the seat when the lock is in the locked configuration (Fig. 1A, #25, #23).
Regarding claim 8, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. Additionally, Darr discloses comprising one or more sensors configured to detect the passenger within the seat (“a detector for detecting the existence of a passenger” (para 0003)).
Regarding claim 9, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. Additionally, Darr discloses comprising a portable transmitter configured to transmit at least the wireless locking signal or the wireless unlocking signal (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)).
Claims 4, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20030160497 (hereinafter, "Darr"), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090177357 (hereinafter, "Long") as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20130341993 (hereinafter, "Kennington").
Regarding claim 4, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein:
the restraint system comprises a five-point harness having a plurality of straps;
each strap of the plurality of straps comprises at least one end fixedly coupled to the seat;
a connector is coupled to a free end of at least one strap of the plurality of straps;
the lock is coupled to a free end of at least one other strap of the plurality of straps comprises; and
the connector is configured to be coupled to the lock to secure the passenger within the seat when the lock is in the locked configuration.
Kennington, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
the restraint system comprises a five-point harness having a plurality of straps (“An example car seat may include a so-called five point harness system” (para 0004));
each strap of the plurality of straps comprises at least one end fixedly coupled to the seat (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212);
a connector is coupled to a free end of at least one strap of the plurality of straps (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212);
the lock is coupled to a free end of at least one other strap of the plurality of straps comprises (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212); and
the connector is configured to be coupled to the lock to secure the passenger within the seat when the lock is in the locked configuration (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Kennington in order to increase safety in the event of collision, abrupt stop, or other accident or condition; see Kennington at least at [0003].
Regarding claim 10, Darr discloses a restraint system, comprising:
a detector configured to receive at least a wireless locking signal (“It is yet a further object of the invention to provide a control system of the foregoing character whereby the flight crew can lock or unlock all seat belts selectively and individually or simultaneously” (para 0011)) or a wireless unlocking signal (“The seat belt control system of the present invention involves the use of specially designed electronically controlled lap or seat belts and the installation of a network-like system which provides for remote control of the electronic lap or seat belts” (para 0007)), wherein:
receiving the wireless locking signal causes the lock to transition from the unlocked configuration to the locked configuration (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)); or
receiving the wireless unlocking signal causes the lock to transition from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)).
However, Darr does not explicitly teach
a wireless signal
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a wireless signal (“The wireless signal may be emitted from the wireless signaling device and received by a receiving device, such as, one or more distributed antenna. The receiving device then transmits the emitted wireless signal to the data network device for determining whether the article is in a secured or unsecured state” (para 0020)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device; see Long at least at [0019].
However, Darr does not explicitly teach
a vehicle comprising a seat;
a first strap comprising a first connector;
a second strap comprising a second connector;
a third strap comprising a lock configured to removably couple to the first connector and the second connector; and
the first connector and the second connector are at least partially retained within the lock in a locked configuration and are removable from the lock in an unlocked configuration, and wherein:
Kennington, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a vehicle comprising a seat (“An example car seat may include a so-called five point harness system” (para 0004));
a first strap comprising a first connector (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212);
a second strap comprising a second connector (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212);
a third strap comprising a lock configured to removably couple to the first connector and the second connector (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212); and
the first connector and the second connector are at least partially retained within the lock in a locked configuration and are removable from the lock in an unlocked configuration (Fig. 5, #110, #112, #212), and wherein:..
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Kennington in order to increase safety in the event of collision, abrupt stop, or other accident or condition; see Kennington at least at [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 10. Additionally, Darr discloses wherein:
each of the first strap and the second strap comprises a first end and a second end coupled to the seat such that a loop is formed between the first end and the second end (“Once the connection is made, the free end of the webbing strap which is generally secured to the female buckle end can be pulled to remove the slack…” (para 0004)); and
the loop is configured to receive an arm of a passenger of the seat (Fig. 1A, #27).
Regarding claim 13, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 12. Additionally, Darr discloses wherein the first connector and the second connector are positioned between the first end and the second end of the first strap and the second strap, respectively (Fig. 1A, #27).
Regarding claim 14, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 10. Additionally, Darr discloses wherein:
the lock is configured to transition to the locked configuration based on receiving the wireless locking signal (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)); or
the lock is configured to remain in the locked configuration when not receiving power from a power source (“Of considerable advantage is the fact that a control system according to the invention allows or enables the flight crew to cause the restraint of an unruly passenger or passengers without the requirement of the flight crew or other passengers having to physically restrain the passengers.” (para 0006)).
However, Darr does not explicitly teach
a wireless signal;
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a wireless signal (“The wireless signal may be emitted from the wireless signaling device and received by a receiving device, such as, one or more distributed antenna. The receiving device then transmits the emitted wireless signal to the data network device for determining whether the article is in a secured or unsecured state” (para 0020)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device; see Long at least at [0019].
Claims 15 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20030160497 (hereinafter, "Darr"), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090177357 (hereinafter, "Long"), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20130341993 (hereinafter, "Kennington") as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of U.S. Pat. No. 7564360 (hereinafter, "Cote").
Regarding claim 15, Darr discloses the system of claim 10. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless locking signal, the wireless unlocking signal, or both are encrypted.
Cote, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein the wireless locking signal, the wireless unlocking signal, or both are encrypted (“The lock system of claim 17 wherein said control circuit includes encryption means” (Claim 28)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Cote in order to encrypt data; see Cote at least at [Claim 28].
Regarding claim 11, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 10. However, Darr does not explicitly teach comprising a portable transmitter configured to transmit the wireless locking signal or the wireless unlocking signal, wherein the portable transmitter comprises a radio frequency (RF) chip.
Cote, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
comprising a portable transmitter configured to transmit the wireless locking signal or the wireless unlocking signal, wherein the portable transmitter comprises a radio frequency (RF) chip (“The lock system of claim 17 wherein said portable member is selected from the group consisting of cellular phones, portable digital assistants, hand-held and laptop computers” (Claim 21)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Cote in order to provide portable digital assistants; see Cote at least at [Claim 21].
Claims 7 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20030160497 (hereinafter, "Darr"), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090177357 (hereinafter, "Long") as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of U.S. Pat. No. 6513441 (hereinafter, "Clerx").
Regarding claim 7, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 1. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein:
the restraint system comprises a pivoting arm configured to rotate about an axis to move the pivoting arm between a restrained configuration and an unrestrained configuration;
the detector is disposed on the pivoting arm and comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag;
receiving the wireless locking signal causes the pivoting arm to lock;
receiving the wireless unlocking signal causes the pivoting arm to unlock;
the pivoting arm is capable of pivoting in the unlocked configuration to transition from the restrained configuration to the unrestrained configuration; and
the pivoting arm is fixed in the restrained configuration when the lock is in the locked configuration.
Clerx, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein:
the restraint system comprises a pivoting arm configured to rotate about an axis to move the pivoting arm between a restrained configuration and an unrestrained configuration (Fig. 1A, #18, #7);
receiving the wireless locking signal causes the pivoting arm to lock (Fig. 1C);
receiving the wireless unlocking signal causes the pivoting arm to unlock (Fig. 1A);
the pivoting arm is capable of pivoting in the unlocked configuration to transition from the restrained configuration to the unrestrained configuration ((Figs. 1A-1C) and “ Then the knee supports 60 are automatically pivoted about pivot pin 18, until the tiltable knee supports 60 abut against the knees of person 21” (Col. 6, lines 1-5)); and
the pivoting arm is fixed in the restrained configuration when the lock is in the locked configuration (Figs. 1A-1C).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Clerx in order to provide knee support that automatically pivoted about pivot pin; see Clerx at least at [Col. 6, lines 1-5].
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
the detector is disposed on the pivoting arm and comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (“The wireless signaling device may be a Radio Frequency Identification Device (RFID tag)” (para 0022));
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 16, Darr discloses a restraint system, comprising:
a detector disposed on the pivoting arm (Fig. 1A, #27), wherein the detector is configured to receive a wireless unlocking signal that causes the pivoting arm to unlock (“It is yet a further object of the invention to provide a control system of the foregoing character whereby the flight crew can lock or unlock all seat belts selectively and individually or simultaneously” (para 0011)), wherein the pivoting arm is configured to pivot when unlocked to transition from the restrained configuration to the unrestrained configuration (“The seat belt control system of the present invention involves the use of specially designed electronically controlled lap or seat belts and the installation of a network-like system which provides for remote control of the electronic lap or seat belts” (para 0007)),
However, Darr does not explicitly teach
a vehicle comprising a seat;
a restraining bar coupled to the seat, the restraining bar comprising a pivoting arm configured to rotate about an axis to move the pivoting arm between a restrained configuration and an unrestrained configuration, wherein the restraint system is configured to secure a passenger within the seat in the restrained configuration, and wherein the restraint system is configured to release the passenger in the unrestrained configuration; and
and wherein the pivoting arm is fixed in the restrained configuration when locked.
a wireless signal.
Clerx, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a vehicle comprising a seat (Fig. 1A);
a restraining bar coupled to the seat, the restraining bar comprising a pivoting arm configured to rotate about an axis to move the pivoting arm between a restrained configuration and an unrestrained configuration (Fig. 1A, #18, #7), wherein the restraint system is configured to secure a passenger within the seat in the restrained configuration (Fig. 1C), and wherein the restraint system is configured to release the passenger in the unrestrained configuration (Fig. 1A); and
and wherein the pivoting arm is fixed in the restrained configuration when locked (Figs. 1A-1C).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Clerx in order to provide knee support that automatically pivoted about pivot pin; see Clerx at least at [Col. 6, lines 1-5];
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a wireless signal (“The wireless signal may be emitted from the wireless signaling device and received by a receiving device, such as, one or more distributed antenna. The receiving device then transmits the emitted wireless signal to the data network device for determining whether the article is in a secured or unsecured state” (para 0020)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device is capable of emitting a wireless signal; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 17, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 16. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein:
the detector comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag;
the restraint system comprises one or more transmitters configured to transmit the wireless unlocking signal; and
the one or more transmitters comprise radio frequency (RF) chips.
Long, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein:
the detector comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (“The wireless signaling device may be a Radio Frequency Identification Device (RFID tag)” (para 0022));
the restraint system comprises one or more transmitters configured to transmit the wireless unlocking signal (Fig. 3A); and
the one or more transmitters comprise radio frequency (RF) chips (Fig. 3B).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Long in order to provide a wireless signaling device; see Long at least at [0019].
Regarding claim 18, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 17. Additionally, Darr discloses comprising one or more sensors configured to detect the passenger within the seat of the vehicle (“a controller for rotating a motor for retracting and protracting the seat belt webbing, and a detector for detecting the existence of a passenger” (para 0003)).
Regarding claim 19, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 18. Additionally, Darr discloses wherein the one or more transmitters are configured to transmit a wireless locking signal to lock the pivot arm in the restrained configuration in response to receiving a signal from the one or more sensors indicative of the passenger occupying the seat of the vehicle (“The control system involves an arrangement which preferably is comprised of an electromagnetic mechanism for operating the seat belts, selectively, in latched/locked and latched/unlocked states which maintain the seat belt arrangement in respectively secured and unsecured states to restrain an occupant” (para 0007)).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20030160497 (hereinafter, "Darr"), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20090177357 (hereinafter, "Long"), in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6513441 (hereinafter, "Clerx") as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of U.S. Pat. No. 7564360 (hereinafter, "Cote").
Regarding claim 20, Darr discloses the restraint system of claim 16. However, Darr does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless unlocking signal is encrypted.
Cote, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein the wireless unlocking signal is encrypted (“The lock system of claim 17 wherein said control circuit includes encryption means” (Claim 28)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Darr with the teachings of Cote in order to encrypt data; see Cote at least at [Claim 28].
Conclusion
/ADAM M ALHARBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663