DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of Claims
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 05/06/2026. Claims 1, 3, 6, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19-21 and 23 were amended, and claims 11, 15 and 18 were canceled. Claims 1-10, 12-14, 16, 17 and 19-23 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 21 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 21: Applicant contends that Janssen does not anticipate or teach a controller configured to:
“detect at least one of an upcoming crossway and an upcoming corner area based on the surrounding situation, and control the projector in such a manner that the first visual information is elongated toward the upcoming crossway or the upcoming corner area at or beyond a predetermined distance before reaching the upcoming crossway or the upcoming corner area.”
Applicant further contends:
The amended claim instead requires “a predictive safety enhancement rooted in environmental topography.” The controller “detects a specific external structural feature such as an upcoming crossway or corner and proactively projects an elongated warning into that blind spot before the robot even arrives (e.g., at or beyond a predetermined distance).”
Janssen “is strictly ego-centric or only focused on itself”; it “adjusts its projection patterns solely to indicate the robot’s own internal kinematic state (e.g., stretching a bar to show that the robot itself is accelerating, or projecting a curved arrow to show the robot is turning).”
“Janssen is entirely devoid of any teaching regarding environment-aware, anticipatory safety projections based on structural features.”
“Because Janssen lacks the ability to map an upcoming corner and preemptively stretch or elongate a projection toward it, Janssen cannot anticipate amended claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the argument is not persuasive. Under BRI, an “upcoming corner area” or “upcoming crossway” includes an upcoming turn, intersection, or path-change location the robot will reach. Janssen detects those locations from the surrounding situation and from the planned route through that situation, and it elongates and reorients the ground projection toward that future location before the robot arrives.
1. Arguments regarding the amended claim limitation requiring elongation at or beyond a predetermined distance of an upcoming crossway is moot due to new grounds of rejection in view of Alexander (US20200001779A1).
2. Janssen projects first visual information onto the ground while traveling.
Janssen, Abstract:
“Provided is a light projection system that can be used to indicate a robot’s path of travel, a robot including the light projection system, and methods for projecting light to indicate a robot’s path of travel. The light projection system can by mounted to the body of the robot, and can be configured to project light onto the ground in front of the robot. The light projection system can be configured to project different illumination patterns that can indicate whether the robot is moving forward, turning, accelerating, and/or slowing down, among other examples.”
Janssen, [Col.4 ln 44-47] (near Fig. 1A):
“The light projection system 106 has configured the illumination pattern 110 in the shape of a vertical bar to indicate that the robot 100 is moving forward.”
Janssen, [Col.4 ln 39-44] (projection distance):
“The light projection system 106 may be configured to project the illumination pattern 110 one foot, three feet, or another distance in front of the front wheels 104 of the robot, and/or between one foot and five feet (or another number of inches or feet) in front of the front wheel 104.”
3. Janssen senses the surrounding situation at the robot’s position — it is not limited to internal kinematics.
Janssen, [Col.2 ln 51-55]:
“The robot 100 can further include a motor operable to drive the wheels 104, a steering system that can maneuver the wheels 104 to change the robot’s direction of travel, and various sensors for detecting objects within a certain distance from the robot.”
Janssen, [Col.4 ln 8-18]:
“The robot 100 can further include an array of sensors that can detect people or objects within a certain distance from the robot 100 (e.g., three feet, five, or another distance).”
“Using these sensors, the robot’s on-board computing device may be able to an approximate number and proximity of objects around the robot 100, and possibly also the rate at which the objects are moving. The on-board computer can then use this information to adjust the robot’s speed and/or direction of travel, so that the robot 100 may be able to avoid running into people or can avoid moving faster than the flow of surrounding traffic.”
Applicant’s “strictly ego-centric / only internal kinematic state” characterization is inconsistent with these passages. Janssen senses people and objects in the surroundings and uses that information to change motion and the projected graphic.
4. Janssen detects an upcoming turn (corner/crossway) from the route and surroundings, and projects the corresponding graphic before the robot reaches it.
Janssen, [Col.3 ln 51-53]:
“The instructions may include left or right turns and distances to travel between turns, or successive waypoints the robot is to reach.”
Janssen, [Col.6 ln 15-28] (near Fig. 1B):
“The robot’s on-board computing device, for example, may periodically or continuously review the robot’s route or route adjustments to see where the robot 100 is supposed to be at the current moment and/or in a few seconds (e.g., three seconds, five seconds, or another number of seconds in the future).”
“When the on-board computing device determines that the robot 100 is to make a left turn, the computing device can instruct the light projection system 106 to make adjustments to project the illumination pattern 112 that indicates a left turn.”
“In some examples, the computing device’s programming may cause the illumination pattern 112 to be projected a few seconds before the computing device instructs the robot 100 to execute the turn.”
Janssen, [Col.6 ln 29-31] (near Fig. 1B):
“The illumination pattern 112 includes a bar that that is angled to the left of robot’s central axis.”
Janssen, [Col.7 ln 56-57] (near Fig. 1H):
“The illumination pattern 124 is in the shape of an arrow that is curved to the left.”
A planned left or right turn on a pedestrian thoroughfare is an upcoming corner or crossway. Janssen detects it from the surrounding/route situation and projects the turn graphic a few seconds before the robot executes the turn — i.e., before reaching the feature.
5. Janssen’s stated purpose is anticipatory safety for people in the robot’s path, including people the robot has not yet reached.
Janssen, [Col.2 ln 25-44]:
“For the safety of the people the robot may encounter and the safety of the robot, it may be desirable for the robot to indicate where the robot is going.”
“By projecting the robot’s path of travel onto the ground ahead of the robot, the light projection system can aid the robot in safely navigating among people.”
Applicant’s Fig. 9 (elongated projection into a corner blind spot) is a species of this same function. Janssen already projects an elongated, directionally adjusted ground graphic ahead of the robot so that people see the robot’s presence and intended motion before the robot arrives. The claim language does not require a particular mapping algorithm labeled “topography”; it requires detecting an upcoming crossway/corner from the surrounding situation and elongating the projection toward it at a look-ahead distance. Janssen teaches both.
Regarding claim 14: Applicant contends that Janssen fails to anticipate or suggest a controller configured to:
“in response to sensing a first object and a second object, determine a next scheduled operation of the mobile robot, generate second visual information associated with the next scheduled operation and including a mobile guide for guiding a traveling path of the first object based on positions of the mobile robot and the second object, and project the second visual information onto the ground surface.”
Applicant further contends:
“Janssen discloses changing projection patterns exclusively to communicate the robot’s own motion or state to passersby.”
“Janssen teaches a simple two-body interaction in which the robot signals its intent to a pedestrian.”
Amended claim 14 instead recites “multi-object-based interactive guidance.” The system “acts as a localized traffic coordinator by considering the presence of multiple external entities (a first object and a second object) and projecting a ‘mobile guide’ specifically designed to instruct the first object on how to navigate the space in view of the second object.”
“Janssen neither anticipates nor suggests generating dynamic path guidance for one external object in view of another external object. Because Janssen lacks any teaching of multi-object interactive path guidance, it fails to anticipate claim 14.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, the argument is not persuasive. Claim 14 does not require a “localized traffic coordinator” or a full traffic-management protocol. It requires sensing a first object and a second object, determining the robot’s next scheduled operation, and projecting second visual information that includes a mobile guide for the first object’s path based on positions of the robot and the second object.
Janssen senses multiple objects, determines the next operation (the planned path), and projects a ground graphic that guides nearby people around the robot.
Janssen, Abstract:
“The light projection system can be configured to project different illumination patterns that can indicate whether the robot is moving forward, turning, accelerating, and/or slowing down, among other examples.”
Janssen, [Col.4 ln 8-18]:
“The robot 100 can further include an array of sensors that can detect people or objects within a certain distance from the robot 100 (e.g., three feet, five, or another distance).”
“Using these sensors, the robot’s on-board computing device may be able to an approximate number and proximity of objects around the robot 100, and possibly also the rate at which the objects are moving.”
Janssen, [Col.2 ln 25-44]:
“For the safety of the people the robot may encounter and the safety of the robot, it may be desirable for the robot to indicate where the robot is going.”
“By projecting the robot’s path of travel onto the ground ahead of the robot, the light projection system can aid the robot in safely navigating among people.”
Janssen, [Col.6-7 ln 62-67 & ln 1-3] (near Fig. 1C):
“The illumination pattern 114 includes a vertical bar that has been lengthened in proportion to the robot’s velocity. The length of the bar can be an indicator, for example, of where the robot 100 will be in three to five seconds, or another amount of time.”
Janssen therefore (i) senses more than one object (“number and proximity of objects”), (ii) determines the next scheduled operation (path, including turns and the location the robot will occupy in a few seconds), and (iii) projects that path onto the ground as a guide so people can choose how to travel relative to the robot. In a space that already contains multiple people/objects, that projected path is a mobile guide for a first object that takes into account the robot and other nearby objects (second objects) whose number and proximity Janssen already computes. Applicant’s “exclusively two-body / only the robot’s own state” reading is narrower than Janssen’s disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janssen et al. (US11036236B2).
Regarding Claim 14: Janssen discloses
A mobile robot [Abstract]: (“a light projection system for an autonomous robot”) comprising:
a projector configured to project visual information onto one or more surfaces [Abstract]: (“The light projection system can… project light onto the ground in front of the robot”);
a sensing unit configured to sense one or more objects in a vicinity of the mobile robot (“the robot’s on-board computing device may be able to [determine] an approximate number and proximity of objects around the robot 100, and possibly also the rate at which the objects are moving.” [Col.4 ln 11-16]);
and a controller configured to:
project, via the projector, first visual information for marking a safety area onto a ground surface in the vicinity of the mobile robot while the mobile robot is traveling, and in response to[Col. 2, Lines 40-44]: (“ the illumination pattern is selected to provide as much information as possible in the simplest manner possible. By projecting the robot's path of travel onto the ground ahead of the robot, the light projection system can aid the robot in safely navigating among people.”)
determine a next scheduled operation of the mobile robot (“the illumination pattern determined in the next steps can indicate the robot's future location.” [Col.11 ln 18-20]),
generate second visual information associated with the next scheduled operation (“the computing device can further include instructions comprising a program for moving the autonomous robot from a first location to a second location without input from a human operator.” [Col.11 ln 7-20]) and including a mobile guide for guiding a traveling path of the first object based on positions of the mobile robot and the second object (“the process 400 includes determining an illumination pattern for indicating the path of travel, wherein the illumination pattern is configured to be projected onto a ground surface in front of the autonomous robot. The illumination pattern can indicate, for example, a speed by a length and/or shape of the pattern. As another example, the illumination pattern can indicate a direction the robot is traveling or will travel, such as a forward direction, a backward direction, a left direction, or a right direction. As another example, the illumination pattern can indicate that the path of travel includes the robot turning left or right.” [Col.11 ln 20-31]),
and project the second visual information onto the ground surface [Col. 6, Lines 51-59]: (“To indicate the robot's speed, In various examples, the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”).
Regarding Claim 16: Janssen discloses
wherein the next scheduled operation includes the mobile robot traveling around the first object and the second object, and wherein the second visual information is projected onto the ground surface before the mobile robot travels around the first object and the second object.
(“The obstacle may not be noted in the data the external computer uses to determine the robot's route, or may be a mobile obstacle, so that the obstacle's presence or location may not be predictable. In these and other examples, the robot's on-board computing device can include instructions for adjusting the robot's path as the robot travels a route. For example, when the robot's sensors indicate that an object is located within a certain distance (e.g., three feet, five feet, and/or a distance that varies with the robot's current velocity) from the front of the robot 100, the on-board computer can cause the robot 100 to slow down and/or turn right or left to navigate around the object.”) [Col. 3, Lines 60-67].
Regarding Claim 19: Janssen discloses
wherein the second visual information marks a safety area based on the positions of the mobile robot and the second object, and a risk area, based on the positions of the mobile robot and the second object. [Col. 4, Lines 4-18]: (“In these examples, to assist the robot 100 in navigating among people, the robot 100 can include an array of sensors that can detect people or objects within a certain distance from the robot 100 (e.g., three feet, five, or another distance). Using these sensors, the robot's on-board computing device may be able to an approximate number and proximity of objects around the robot 100, and possibly also the rate at which the objects are moving. The on-board computer can then use this information to adjust the robot's speed and/or direction of travel, so that the robot 100 may be able to avoid running into people or can avoid moving faster than the flow of surrounding traffic.”).
Regarding Claim 20: Janssen discloses
wherein the sensing unit senses a state of the ground surface while the mobile robot is traveling, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a risk area based on the state of the ground surface, and project the second visual information on the ground surface to mark the risk area. [Col. 6, Lines 20-28]: (“The robot's on-board computing device, for example, may periodically or continuously review the robot's route or route adjustments to see where the robot 100 is supposed to be at the current moment and/or in a few seconds (e.g., three seconds, five seconds, or another number of seconds in the future). When the on-board computing device determines that the robot 100 is to make a left turn, the computing device can instruct the light projection system 106 to make adjustments to project the illumination pattern 112 that indicates a left turn. In some examples, the computing device's programming may cause the illumination pattern 112 to be projected a few seconds before the computing device instructs the robot 100 to execute the turn.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 12-13 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen in view of Alexander (US20200001779A1), hereinafter referred to as Alexander.
Regarding Claims 1 and 21, Janssen discloses A mobile robot comprising:
(“a light projection system for an autonomous robot”) [Abstract]
(“autonomous robot that can indicate the robot’s intended path of travel”) [Col. 2, Lines 28-32]
a projector configured to project visual information onto one or more surfaces;
(“The light projection system can… project light onto the ground in front of the robot”) [Abstract]
sensing unit configured to sense a surrounding situation of the mobile robot at a position of the mobile robot;
(“the robot’s on-board computing device may be able to [determine] an approximate number and proximity of objects around the robot 100, and possibly also the rate at which the objects are moving.” [Col.4 ln 11-16]).
and a controller configured to:
(“the light projection system 106 can include a controller circuit” [Col. 5, Lines 62-64]
project, via the projector, first visual information for marking a safety area onto a ground surface in a vicinity of the mobile robot while the mobile robot is traveling (“ the illumination pattern is selected to provide as much information as possible in the simplest manner possible. By projecting the robot's path of travel onto the ground ahead of the robot, the light projection system can aid the robot in safely navigating among people.”) [Col. 2, Lines 40-44],
in response to determining a change in at least one of a traveling state of the mobile robot or a surrounding situation of the mobile robot, generate changed first visual information and project the changed first visual information onto the ground surface. (“the light projection system 106 can also be used to indicate the robot's velocity or a change in velocity. The robot's on-board computer may determine, for example, that the robot 100 is accelerating from being stopped, or is able to go faster than the robot's current speed. To indicate the robot's speed, In various examples, the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”) [Col. 6, Lines 40-59]).
wherein the controller is further configured to:
detect at least one of an upcoming crossway and an upcoming corner area based on the surrounding situation [Col. 2, Lines 15-28]: (“When encountering a robot traveling along a sidewalk or crossing a street, ……….. the robot may need to make small course corrections along the way to avoid unexpected obstacles, people, uneven terrain, and/or other situations that can cause the robot to deviate from a strictly straight path. …… and the safety of the robot, it may be desirable for the robot to indicate where the robot is going.”)
and control the projector in such a manner that the first visual information is elongated toward the upcoming crossway or the upcoming corner area.
[Col. 6 -7, Lines 64-67 & 1-5]: (” The length of the bar can be an indicator, for example, of where the robot 100 will be in three to five seconds, or another amount of time. In some examples, the length of the bar can change actively. For example, the bar can have an initial length, which can increase to a second length, and then return to the first length, in an intermittent pattern. In some examples, the light projection system 106 can additionally cause the projected light to blink as the length of the bar changes.”)
[Col. 2, Lines 1-5]: (“For example, a robot may be programed to travel from one building in a town or city to another building, and in doing so may traverse sidewalks and cross streets.”)
Janssen teaches elongating a projection towards an upcoming crossway but does not explicitly teach at or beyond a predetermined distance before reaching the upcoming crossway or the upcoming corner area.
However, Alexander does teach at or beyond a predetermined distance before reaching the upcoming crossway or the upcoming corner area. (“the autonomous vehicle can project the intent icon at a distance ahead of the autonomous vehicle as a function of the autonomous vehicle's confidence in its right of way, which may correspond to its intent to enter the crosswalk.” [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ground-projection system of Janssen to also include controlling the projector so that the first visual information is elongated toward the upcoming crossway or the upcoming corner area at or beyond a predetermined distance before reaching that area, as taught by Alexander, with a reasonable expectation of success. Forming Janssen’s existing illumination pattern in the domain of an upcoming intersection, by stretching it toward the detected crosswalk or corner as Alexander does, lets nearby people see the robot’s intended occupancy of that space before the robot arrives. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least Alexander, [0022], [0027], [0029]–[0031], [0040].)
Regarding Claim 3: Janssen discloses
wherein the sensing unit is further configured to sense a speed of the mobile robot, (“The robot's on-board computer may determine, for example, that the robot 100 is accelerating from being stopped, or is able to go faster than the robot's current speed.”) [Col. 6, Lines 50-60].
wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to determining a change in the speed of the mobile robot, generate the changed first visual information based on changing at least one of a color of the first visual information or a size of the first visual information “the illumination pattern includes a circular shape that fluctuates smoothly between a first size and a smaller second size (or to off), such that the circular shape grows and shrinks.” [Col.7 ln 8-11],
“the light projection system 106 can also be used to indicate the robot's velocity or a change in velocity. The robot's on-board computer may determine, for example, that the robot 100 is accelerating from being stopped, or is able to go faster than the robot's current speed. To indicate the robot's speed, In various examples, the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”) [Col. 6, Lines 51-59].
Regarding Claim 4: Janssen discloses
wherein the sensing unit is further configured to sense a travel direction of the mobile robot, and
(“In the example of FIG. 1A, the light projection system 106 has configured the illumination pattern 110 in the shape of a vertical bar to indicate that the robot 100 is moving forward. Specifically, the bar is oriented parallel to the robot's forward direction of travel.”) [Col. 4, Lines 44-55].
wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on elongating an image shape of the first visual information in a direction toward the travel direction. (“the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”) [Col. 6, Lines 51-59].
(“Specifically, the bar is oriented parallel to the robot's forward direction of travel.”) [Col. 4, Lines 44-55]
(“As another example, the light projection system 106 can intermittently change the projected light from a short bar or spot to a longer bar.”) [Col. 6, Lines 40-50].
Regarding Claim 5: Janssen discloses
wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on increasing or decreasing an image size of the first visual information based on the speed of the mobile robot and changing a color of the first visual information based on the speed of the mobile robot. [Col. 6, Lines 51-59]: (“the light projection system 106 can also be used to indicate the robot's velocity or a change in velocity. The robot's on-board computer may determine, for example, that the robot 100 is accelerating from being stopped, or is able to go faster than the robot's current speed. To indicate the robot's speed, In various examples, the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”)
Regarding Claim 6: Janssen discloses wherein the sensing unit is further configured to sense an obstacle in the vicinity of the mobile robot, [Col. 3, Lines 60-67]: (“For example, when the robot's sensors indicate that an object is located within a certain distance (e.g., three feet, five feet, and/or a distance that varies with the robot's current velocity) from the front of the robot 100, the on-board computer can cause the robot 100 to slow down and/or turn right or left to navigate around the object.”)
wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on changing the first visual information according to a state of the obstacle.
[Col. 3, Lines 60-67]: (“when the robot's sensors indicate that an object is located within a certain distance (e.g., three feet, five feet, and/or a distance that varies with the robot's current velocity) from the front of the robot 100, the on-board computer can cause the robot 100 to slow down and/or turn right or left to navigate around the object. Once the robot's sensors indicate that the obstacle has been bypassed, the on-board computer can adjust the robot's path back to the intended course, if needed.”).
Regarding Claim 12: Janssen discloses wherein the controller is further configured to:
adjust at least one of a size and a shape of the changed first visual information(“To indicate the robot's speed, In various examples, the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”[Col. 6, Lines 51-59],
“the illumination pattern includes a circular shape that fluctuates smoothly between a first size and a smaller second size (or to off), such that the circular shape grows and shrinks.” [Col.7 ln 8-11]).
as the mobile robot approaches the at least one of the upcoming crossway and the upcoming corner area, [Col. 2, Lines 15-28]: (“When encountering a robot traveling along a sidewalk or crossing a street, ……….. the robot may need to make small course corrections along the way to avoid unexpected obstacles, people, uneven terrain, and/or other situations that can cause the robot to deviate from a strictly straight path. …… and the safety of the robot, it may be desirable for the robot to indicate where the robot is going.”)
and in response to determining that the mobile robot has passed by the at least one of the upcoming crossway and the upcoming corner area [Col. 2, Lines 15-28]: (“When encountering a robot traveling along a sidewalk or crossing a street, ……….. the robot may need to make small course corrections along the way to avoid unexpected obstacles, people, uneven terrain, and/or other situations that can cause the robot to deviate from a strictly straight path. …… and the safety of the robot, it may be desirable for the robot to indicate where the robot is going.”),
[Col. 7, Lines 54-67]: “illumination pattern 124 for indicating that the robot 100 is turning or is about to turn left. In this example, the illumination pattern 124 is in the shape of an arrow that is curved to the left. In various examples, illumination pattern 124 may be stationary, or the light projection system 106 may blink or trace the light along the shape of the arrow to draw attention to the illumination pattern 124. In some examples the on-board computer may cause the robot 100 to follow the shape of the arrow while change the shape of the arrow to be consistent with the robot's path.”).
restore the at least one of the size and the shape of the changed first visual information to a previous state of the changed first visual information [Col. 6 -7, Lines 64-67 & 1-5]: (“the bar can have an initial length, which can increase to a second length, and then return to the first length”).
Regarding Claim 13: Janssen discloses
wherein the controller is further configured to: project the first visual information onto the ground surface before the mobile robot starts to travel, (”an illumination pattern 128 for indicating that the robot 100 is about to start moving from being fully stopped.”) [Col.8, Ln 12-14].
and in response to a predetermined amount of time elapsing after the mobile robot stops traveling, interrupt the projection of the first visual information. (“FIG. 1D illustrates an example of an illumination pattern 116 that can be used to indicate that the robot 100 is stopped or idle. In this example, the illumination pattern includes a circular shape that fluctuates smoothly between a first size and a smaller second size (or to off), such that the circular shape grows and shrinks. This illumination pattern 116 can mimic the steady breathing of a person who is sleeping. In other examples, the robot's status as stopped or idle can, alternatively or additionally, be indicated by turning off the light.” [Col.7 ln 6-16]).
Regarding Claim 22: Janssen discloses
wherein the condition includes at least one of a speed of the mobile robot, a traveling state of the mobile robot, a surrounding situation of the mobile robot, and a current condition of the ground surface.
(“the light projection system 106 can also be used to indicate the robot's velocity or a change in velocity. The robot's on-board computer may determine, for example, that the robot 100 is accelerating from being stopped, or is able to go faster than the robot's current speed. To indicate the robot's speed, In various examples, the light projection system 106 can change the shape of the light projected on the ground, and/or can make the projected light move.”) [Col. 6, Lines 51-59].
Regarding Claim 23: Janssen discloses
wherein adjusting the attribute of the first visual information includes varying a size, a shape, a pattern or a color of the first visual information.
(“The light sources can include one or more of LEDs, halogen bulbs, lasers, other light emitting devices, or a combination of light emitting devices. In some examples, the light sources may be able to project light of different colors, and the light fixture 230 can include controls for changing the color that is projected.”) [Col. 9, Lines 25-45],
(“The light projection system 106 can also include a focusing system that is able to change the intensity, direction, and/or shape of the projected light.”) [Col. 4, Lines 62-64].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen in view of Alexander as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takai et al. (US20210157326A1), hereinafter referred to as Takai.
Regarding Claim 2: Janssen discloses
wherein the first visual information includes at least one of an image or text that indicates the access restriction area in a manner that is visually distinguished from surroundings of the mobile robot.
[Col. 10, Lines 1-3]: (“The apertures can be used, for example, to form the projected light into the shape of arrows, letters, words, and/or other symbols.”)
Janssen does not explicitly teach wherein the safety area is an access restriction area determined based on a form of the mobile robot and the traveling state of the mobile robot.
However, Takai does teach wherein the safety area is an access restriction area determined based on a form of the mobile robot and the traveling state of the mobile robot
[0035]: (“an area on the floor surface onto which the entry prohibited space is projected is defined as an entry prohibited area”)
Both Janssen and Takai teach methods for projecting visual information for an area while the mobile robot travels. However, Takai explicitly teaches wherein the safety area is an access restriction area determined based on a form of the mobile robot and the traveling state of the mobile robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual information projection method of Janssen to also include wherein the safety area is an access restriction area determined based on a form of the mobile robot and the traveling state of the mobile robot, as taught by Takai, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety for operating a mobile robot (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Takai, 0035]).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen in view of Alexander and further in view of Holson et al. (US12436546B2), hereinafter referred to as Holson.
Regarding Claim 7:
JANSSEN does not explicitly teach wherein the traveling state includes an operational state that varies based on at least one other moving body being connected to the mobile robot, and wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to sensing that the at least one other moving body is connected to the mobile robot, generate the changed first visual information based on information about the at least one other moving body.
However, Holson does teach wherein the traveling state includes an operational state that varies based on at least one other moving body being connected to the mobile robot, and
[Col. 11, Lines 24-37]: (“According to various embodiments, the chassis 304 may include one or more rigid members providing physical support and connection between and among other components of the robots. For instance, the chassis 304 may be composed of one or more rods, shelves, bins or other elements. In some configurations, some or all of the chassis 304 may be composed of components from standardized shelving units or carts.”)
wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to sensing that the at least one other moving body is connected to the mobile robot, generate the changed first visual information based on information about the at least one other moving body.
[Col. 26, Lines 30-36]: (“In some embodiments, haptic rails or virtual train rails may be defined in any of various ways. For example, the robot may project rails onto the ground via a projector.”)
Both JANSSEN and Holson teach methods for projecting visual information for an area while the mobile robot travels. However, Holson explicitly teaches teach wherein the traveling state includes an operational state that varies based on at least one other moving body being connected to the mobile robot, and wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to sensing that the at least one other moving body is connected to the mobile robot, generate the changed first visual information based on information about the at least one other moving body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual information projection method of JANSSEN to also include wherein the traveling state includes an operational state that varies based on at least one other moving body being connected to the mobile robot, and wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to sensing that the at least one other moving body is connected to the mobile robot, generate the changed first visual information based on information about the at least one other moving body, as taught by Holson, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety for operating a mobile robot (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Holson, Col. 11, Lines 24-37 and Col. 26, Lines 30-36]).
Regarding Claim 8:
JANSSEN does not explicitly teach wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on a number of moving bodies connected to the mobile robot, and wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on changing a size of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body or changing a shape of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body.
However, Holson does teach wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on a number of moving bodies connected to the mobile robot, and
[Col. 40, Lines 40-50]: (“In a multi-cart consolidation workflow, two or more robotic carts move to positions proximate to one another. The robotic carts can then coordinate to activate lighting elements to facilitate the movement of items from one bin on one of the robotic carts to another bin, which may potentially be on a different robotic cart. For instance, one or more lights may be activated to indicate a source location of an item to be moved. Then, after the item is picked up and scanned, another one or more lights may be activated to indicate a destination location for the item.”)
wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on changing a size of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body or changing a shape of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body.
[Col. 26, Lines 30-36]: (“In some embodiments, haptic rails or virtual train rails may be defined in any of various ways. For example, the robot may project rails onto the ground via a projector.”)
Both JANSSEN and Holson teach methods for projecting visual information for an area while the mobile robot travels. However, Holson explicitly teaches teach wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on a number of moving bodies connected to the mobile robot, and wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on changing a size of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body or changing a shape of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual information projection method of JANSSEN to also include wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on a number of moving bodies connected to the mobile robot, and wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the changed first visual information based on changing a size of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body or changing a shape of the first visual information based on the information about the at least one other moving body, as taught by Holson, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety for operating a mobile robot (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Holson, Col. 40, Lines 40-50 and Col. 26, Lines 30-36]).
Regarding Claim 9: JANSSEN discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: project the changed first visual information onto the ground surface in a direction that corresponds to a traveling direction of the mobile robot.
[Col. 4, Lines 44-55]: (“the light projection system 106 has configured the illumination pattern 110 in the shape of a vertical bar to indicate that the robot 100 is moving forward. Specifically, the bar is oriented parallel to the robot's forward direction of travel.”)
Regarding Claim 10: JANSSEN discloses
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an access restriction area based on the information on the amount of load present on the at least one other moving body
[Col. 2, Lines 40-44]: (“The light projection system can project an illumination pattern on the ground, where the illumination pattern indicates the robot's path of travel. In some examples, the illumination pattern can indicate the robot's intended direction. Alternatively or additionally, the illumination pattern can indicate a location where the robot is estimated to be in within a few seconds. In various examples, the illumination pattern is selected to provide as much information as possible in the simplest manner possible. By projecting the robot's path of travel onto the ground ahead of the robot, the light projection system can aid the robot in safely navigating among people.”)
JANSSEN does not explicitly teach wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on an amount of load present on the at least one other moving body connected to the mobile robot, and generate the changed first visual information by changing a size of the first visual information or a shape of the first visual information according to the access restriction area.
However, Holson does teach wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on an amount of load present on the at least one other moving body connected to the mobile robot, and
[Col. 10, Lines 28-36]: (“In some embodiments, the force sensing assembly 110 may be a force sensing handlebar assembly that is positioned between a human operator and the payload 108 to significantly reduce the effort involved in moving the payload 108 by operating drive assembly 102 via commands determined by manipulation of the force sensing assembly 110. The force sensing assembly 110 may, thus, operate the drive assembly 102 to push, pull, and/or rotate the autonomous robot 100 and, thus, payload 108.”)
and generate the changed first visual information by changing a size of the first visual information or a shape of the first visual information according to the access restriction area.
[Col. 38, Lines 48-58]: (“the global knowledge map 2820 may be determined based on a combination of the sensor data stored in the 2812, the environment semantic data 2814, and the environment configuration data 2816.”)
Both JANSSEN and Holson teach methods for projecting visual information for an area while the mobile robot travels. However, Holson explicitly teaches wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on an amount of load present on the at least one other moving body connected to the mobile robot, and generate the changed first visual information by changing a size of the first visual information or a shape of the first visual information according to the access restriction area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual information projection method of JANSSEN to also include wherein the information about the at least one other moving body includes information on an amount of load present on the at least one other moving body connected to the mobile robot, and generate the changed first visual information by changing a size of the first visual information or a shape of the first visual information according to the access restriction area, as taught by Holson, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety for operating a mobile robot (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Holson, Col. 10, Lines 28-36 and Col. 26, Lines 30-36]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janssen in view of Takai.
Regarding Claim 17: Janssen discloses
wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to determining that the mobile robot is unable to travel around the
[Col. 3, Lines 60-67]: (“The obstacle may not be noted in the data the external computer uses to determine the robot's route, or may be a mobile obstacle, so that the obstacle's presence or location may not be predictable. In these and other examples, the robot's on-board computing device can include instructions for adjusting the robot's path as the robot travels a route. For example, when the robot's sensors indicate that an object is located within a certain distance (e.g., three feet, five feet, and/or a distance that varies with the robot's current velocity) from the front of the robot 100, the on-board computer can cause the robot 100 to slow down and/or turn right or left to navigate around the object.”).
Janssen does not explicitly teach generate third visual information indicating access restriction and project the third visual information onto the ground surface.
However, Takai does teach generate third visual information indicating access restriction and project the third visual information onto the ground surface.
[0055]: (“the illumination unit illuminates the entry restricted area”)
Both Janssen and Takai teach methods for projecting visual information for an area while the mobile robot travels. However, Takai explicitly teaches generate third visual information indicating access restriction and projecting the third visual information onto the ground surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual information projection method of Janssen to also include generate third visual information indicating access restriction and projecting the third visual information onto the ground surface, as taught by Takai, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety for operating a mobile robot (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Takai, 0055]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668