DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers filed on 12/13/2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a regenerative braking stop logic unit” in claim 1. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “forcibly stopping regenerative braking of a vehicle in response that a battery charge state of the vehicle reaches a battery upper limit charge state during the regenerative braking” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a target braking force calculation unit” in claim 1. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “initiating an operation according to the trigger signal, obtaining a converted braking force value based on a regenerative braking force value obtained from a total braking force value of the vehicle before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking, and determining target physical braking force using the converted braking force value” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a regenerative braking force calculation unit” in claim 2. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “obtaining the regenerative braking force value from the total braking force value of the vehicle before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking, based on a regenerative braking type before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking, to reflect the regenerative braking force value in the target physical braking force” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a regenerative braking type recognition unit” in claim 3. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “recognizing which mode the regenerative braking type is, from among a regenerative braking single mode in which the vehicle is only in a regenerative braking state, a first common mode in which the regenerative braking and physical braking are used together, and a second common mode with cruise braking” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a regenerative braking force acquisition unit” in claim 4. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “obtaining the regenerative braking force value before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking based on preset regenerative braking amount distribution ratio information in response that the regenerative braking type is one of the first common mode and the second common mode” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a first correction value calculation unit” in claim 6. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “determining a braking force correction value based on an attitude, a weight and deceleration of the vehicle, for reflection in the target physical braking force” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a target physical braking force calculation unit” in claim 7. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “obtaining the converted braking force value using the regenerative braking force and the braking force correction value and determining the target physical braking force based on the converted braking force value” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a second correction value calculation unit” in claim 8. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “obtaining an auxiliary braking force value based on the total braking force value of the vehicle before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking to reflect the auxiliary braking force value in the target physical braking force, in response that auxiliary braking is used before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
“a pedal logic unit” in claim 9. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked to the functional limitation “setting a driver pedal value to a zero value to prevent physical acceleration due to the driver pedal value in response that the driver pedal value before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking exceeds the zero value” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 1-4)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Fig. 2)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Figs. 2-3)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Figs. 2-3)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Fig. 6)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Fig. 6)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Fig. 6)
hardware or software element or a combination thereof in at least one IC embedded in the battery management device (0057 lines 2-4, Fig. 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the target physical braking force” in claims 2, 5-8, and 10. For examination purposes the limitation “target physical braking force” in claim 1 line 11 has been considered as --a target physical braking force--.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the regenerative braking force” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as -- the regenerative braking force value--.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the target physical braking force” in claims 12-14 and 17-19. For examination purposes the limitation “target physical braking force” in claim 11 lines 11-12 has been considered as --a target physical braking force--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the regenerative braking force” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as -- the regenerative braking force value--.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the second common mode” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation “a second mode” in claim 15 lines 5-6 has been considered as --a second common mode--.
Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are rejected for depending upon indefinite base claims.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 at step 2A prong 2 because the additional limitation of the regenerative braking stop logic unit in claim 1 integrates the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claims 11-20 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 at step 2B for the same reasons, mutatis mutandis, as those provided for claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM US (US 2012/0056470) in view of KIM KR (KR 20200045267).
Regarding claim 1, KIM US discloses an apparatus for controlling vehicle braking, the apparatus comprising:
a regenerative braking stop logic unit forcibly stopping regenerative braking of a vehicle (i.a. S15, Fig. 5, 0056 lines 11-13) in response to a battery condition during the regenerative braking (i.a. claim 10 lines 2-4);
a trigger signal generator generating a trigger signal in response that the vehicle is driving (driving implied/inherent if braking regeneration is producing torque) while the regenerative braking is forcibly stopped by the regenerative braking stop logic unit (implied/inherent, i.a. yes at S15, 0056 lines 11-13); and
a target braking force calculation unit initiating an operation according to the trigger signal (implied/inherent, i.a. S16, Fig. 5), obtaining a converted braking force value (i.e., the amount of compensation required, implied i.a. 0053 lines 5-6, claim 7 lines 8-10; n.b. the claim does NOT require the obtaining step to be performed following the initiating step in time) based on a regenerative braking force value obtained from a total braking force value of the vehicle (0051 lines 1-7, Fig. 2) before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking (implied, c.f. to Figs. 1 and 4), and determining a target physical braking force using the converted braking force value (implied, i.a. 0061 lines 3-5, Figs. 1 and 4).
KIM US discloses the battery condition during the regenerative braking is the battery temperature reaches a predetermined reference temperature rather than the battery charge state of the vehicle reaches a battery upper limit charge state as claimed.
KIM KR teaches a regenerative braking stop logic unit forcibly stopping regenerative braking of a vehicle in response that a battery charge state of the vehicle reaches a battery upper limit charge state during the regenerative braking (pg. 1 lines 41-44) because when the main battery is fully charged, the regenerative braking should be terminated and the braking should switch to the friction brake mode (pg. 1 lines 43-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the battery condition taught by KIM KR for that of KIM US because when the main battery is fully charged, the regenerative braking should be terminated and the braking should switch to the friction brake mode to preserve braking function of the vehicle without overcharging the battery.
Regarding claim 11, KIM US discloses a method for controlling vehicle braking, the method including:
a regenerative braking stop operation of forcibly stopping, by a processor (implied, 0048 lines 1-end), regenerative braking of a vehicle (i.a. S15, Fig. 5, 0056 lines 11-13) in response to a battery condition during regenerative braking of the vehicle (i.a. claim 10 lines 2-4);
a trigger signal generation operation of generating, by the processor, a trigger signal in response that the vehicle is driving (driving implied/inherent if braking regeneration is producing torque) while the regenerative braking is forcibly stopped (implied/inherent, i.a. yes at S15, 0056 lines 11-13); and
a target braking force determination operation of initiating, by the processor, operation according to the trigger signal (implied/inherent, i.a. S16, Fig. 5), obtaining a converted braking force value (i.e., the amount of compensation required, implied i.a. 0053 lines 5-6, claim 7 lines 8-10; n.b. the claim does NOT require the obtaining step to be performed following the initiating step in time) based on a regenerative braking force value obtained from a total braking force value of the vehicle (0051 lines 1-7, Fig. 2) before the forced stopping of the regenerative braking (implied, c.f. to Figs. 1 and 4), and determining target physical braking force using the converted braking force value (implied, i.a. 0061 lines 3-5, Figs. 1 and 4).
KIM US discloses the battery condition during the regenerative braking is the battery temperature reaches a predetermined reference temperature rather than the battery charge state of the vehicle reaches a battery upper limit charge state as claimed.
KIM KR teaches a regenerative braking stop logic unit forcibly stopping regenerative braking of a vehicle in response that a battery charge state of the vehicle reaches a battery upper limit charge state during the regenerative braking (pg. 1 lines 41-44) because when the main battery is fully charged, the regenerative braking should be terminated and the braking should switch to the friction brake mode (pg. 1 lines 43-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the battery condition taught by KIM KR for that of KIM US because when the main battery is fully charged, the regenerative braking should be terminated and the braking should switch to the friction brake mode to preserve braking function of the vehicle without overcharging the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747