DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/936,163 filed on 01/16/2026. Claim(s) 6 and 12 have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants assert on P.6-7 that “In the paragraphs shown above, Cho merely discloses transmitting a game method (related to a gift) from the seller to the user via a chat function after seller selects the game method. Cho does not disclose or suggest a causal link where the usage of one specific gift (a "special gift") acts as a trigger to unlock or start displaying a different object (the "lottery gift object") for viewers. Therefore, Cho does not explicitly or explicitly disclose or suggest starting displaying the lottery gift object on the livestream room screen in response to receiving a start notification from the server via the network, the start notification being sent to the terminal as a result of usage of a special gift which is different from but related to the lottery gift, as recited in claim 1.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s claim recites:
starting displaying the lottery gift object on the live-stream room screen in response to receiving a start notification from the server via the network, the start notification being sent to the terminal as a result of usage of a special gift which is different from but related to the lottery gift.
Applicant has asserted that the usage of one specific gift acts as a trigger to unlock or start displaying a different object for viewers. However, even this Applicant’s response, does not explicitly further define what the specific/special gift may be aside from it acting as some type of trigger to start display of a different object. Since, Applicant’s claims do not further elaborate or specify what “special gift” entails, except that it is “different from but related to the lottery gift.” Thus, until Applicant further defines what “special gift” entails, under broadest reasonable interpretation, this can be, including, but not limited to a lottery execution icon that user can select. The “special gift”, under broadest reasonable interpretation, is taught in [0059]-[0061] of Cho, where the seller/streamer can select from a game list, and selecting the lottery game, where the game start notification of the lottery game is then sent out to all the users/viewers. Wherein “special gift” may be the game list presented for selection and/or particular game selections such as the lottery game available for selection from the game list. Until Applicant further defines what “special gift” entails and further differentiates how it is different but related to the lottery gift, the combination of Cho, Li, and Hirsch under broadest reasonable interpretation, continues to teach the claimed limitation(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2023/0206296), in view of Li (CN 111013154) - citations refer to CN111013154_Translation, and further in view of Hirsch (US 2021/0235163).
Consider claims 1 and 7, Cho teaches a terminal of a viewer of a live-stream, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more computer programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more computer programs including instructions (processor 810, storage 850, memory 820 - Fig.7, Paragraph 0132; Paragraph 0125-0128, 0131) for:
receiving, from a server via a network, video data relating to the live-stream (Paragraph 0034 teaches user terminal 300 may receive and play the live-commerce video passed through the live-commerce server 100 in the form of streaming data. Paragraph 0130 teaches network interface 840 that supports wired/wireless communications. Paragraph 0111 teaches live-commerce server 100 may receive the live-commerce video from the seller terminal 200 and transmit a real-time broadcast);
displaying a live-stream room screen on a display of the terminal, the live-stream room screen including a streamer image obtained by playing the received video data and a lottery gift object (Paragraph 0002 teaches live-commerce is a compound word of live stream and e-commerce and is a method of broadcasting. Paragraph 0003 teaches live-commerce is an online channel that sells items through real-time video streaming. Paragraph 0004 teaches live-commerce provides a video where sellers promote items. Paragraph 0034 teaches user terminal 300 may receive and play the live-commerce video passed through the live-commerce server 100 in the form of streaming data. Paragraph 0037 teaches Fig.3B is a diagram illustrating an example of a screen displayed through the user terminal 300. Paragraph 0079 teaches although not shown in the drawing, a lottery execution item may be displayed at the lower portion of the chat window 40 on the screen of the user terminal 300);
detecting selection of the lottery gift object by the viewer on the live-stream room screen; in response to detecting selection of the lottery gift object by the viewer on the live-stream room screen, transmitting, to the server via the network, a signal (Paragraph 0079 teaches when lottery execution icon is selected by the user, a response signal according to the selection of the lottery execution icon is transmitted to the live-commerce server 100);
receiving, from the server via the network, a lottery result notification indicating the result of the lottery, the lottery being performed at the server (Paragraph 0080-0081, 0083, 0123; Paragraph 0109);
in a case where the lottery result notification indicates loss, performing an action (Paragraph 0080-0081), lottery gift object (Paragraph 0079); and
starting displaying the lottery gift object on the live-stream room screen in response to receiving a start notification from the server via the network, the start notification being sent to the terminal as a result of usage of a special gift which is different from but related to the lottery gift (Paragraph 0059-0061).
Cho does not explicitly transmitting, a signal that includes a lottery gift ID corresponding to the selected lottery gift object and a viewer ID of the viewer;
in a case where the lottery result notification indicates loss, deactivating the lottery gift object for a predetermined time period.
In an analogous art, Li teaches transmitting, a signal that includes a lottery gift ID corresponding to the selected lottery gift object and a viewer ID of the viewer (Paragraph 0024 teaches a lottery request sent by an audience client. Where lottery request carries a user account number of an audience user logging in the audience client, a lottery resource value, prize information of a target prize, and anchor information of a target anchor. Paragraph 0079 teaches receiving a lottery drawing request sent by an audience client. Paragraph 0080 teaches lottery request carries a user account number of spectator user who logs in the spectator client, a lottery resource value, prize information of a target prize, and anchor information of a target anchor. Paragraph 0120-0121, 0127 teaches lottery resource value and target prize information based on selection operation of spectator user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Cho to include transmitting, a signal that includes a lottery gift ID corresponding to the selected lottery gift object and a viewer ID of the viewer, as taught by Li, for the advantage of aiding the system in order to determine from the different lotteries available, providing the necessary/needed information to quickly and correctly process the appropriate lottery drawing/process.
Cho and Li do not explicitly teach performing an action is deactivating the object for a predetermined time period.
In an analogous art, Hirsch teaches performing an action is deactivating the object for a predetermined time period (Paragraph 0118 teaches interaction with a set of interactive elements is temporarily disabled, and a timer element indicating an amount of time until interaction with set of interactive elements will be enabled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Cho and Li to include performing an action is deactivating the object for a predetermined time period, as taught by Hirsch, for the advantage of aiding the system in order to determine from the different lotteries available, providing the necessary/needed information to quickly and correctly process the appropriate lottery drawing/process.
Consider claims 2 and 8, Li further teaches wherein the signal causes the server to process the payment, by the viewer, of the price for the selected lottery gift (Paragraph 0081, 0120-0122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Cho, Li, and Hirsch to include wherein the signal causes the server to process the payment, by the viewer, of the price for the selected lottery gift, as further taught by Li, for the advantage of allowing the system to automatically handle crediting of funds in a smooth and accurate manner, without the need for added manual intervention.
Consider claims 5 and 11, Cho, Li, and Hirsch teach wherein the one or more computer programs includes an instruction for (Cho - Paragraph 0125-0128, 0131), in a case where the lottery result notification indicates loss, displaying a message showing that the lottery gift can be used again after the predetermined time period has passed (Cho – Paragraph 0080-0081; Hirsch – Paragraph 0018).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2023/0206296), in view of Li (CN 111013154) - citations refer to CN111013154_Translation, in view of Hirsch (US 2021/0235163), and further in view of Tadepalli et al. (US 2022/0157127).
Consider claims 3 and 9, Cho, Li, and Hirsch teach wherein the one or more computer programs includes an instruction for (Cho - Paragraph 0125-0128, 0131), in a case where the lottery result notification indicates win, displaying a message to the viewer as a result of the lottery (Cho – Paragraph 0083).
Cho, Li, and Hirsch do not explicitly teach displaying a message showing the amount of electronic value distributed to the viewer as a result.
In an analogous art, Tadepalli teaches displaying a message showing the amount of electronic value distributed to the viewer as a result (Paragraph 0063 teaches processing system may present at least one of: an amount of value won or lost as a result of the outcome of first user wager).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Cho, Li, and Hirsch to include displaying a message showing the amount of electronic value distributed to the viewer as a result, as taught by Tadepalli, for the advantage of informing user(s) of the amount of their winnings, so that at a glance, they can ascertain how much they have won.
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2023/0206296), in view of Li (CN 111013154) - citations refer to CN111013154_Translation, in view of Hirsch (US 2021/0235163), and further in view of Lima et al. (US 2009/0011825).
Consider claims 4 and 10, Cho, Li, and Hirsch teach wherein the live-stream room screen includes an indication, and wherein the lottery result notification, if it indicates loss, includes the displayed information, and wherein the display is updated upon receipt of the lottery result notification indicating loss (Cho – Fig.3b, Paragraph 0034, 0037; Paragraph 0080-0081).
Cho, Li, and Hirsch do not explicitly teach includes an indication of an amount of accumulated electronic value, and
wherein displayed information, includes the updated amount of accumulated electronic value, and
wherein the display is the indication is updated upon receipt.
In an analogous art, Lima teaches includes an indication of an amount of accumulated electronic value, and wherein displayed information, includes the updated amount of accumulated electronic value, and wherein the display is the indication is updated upon receipt (Abstract, Paragraph 0019, 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Cho, Li, and Hirsch to include teaches includes an indication of an amount of accumulated electronic value, and wherein displayed information, includes the updated amount of accumulated electronic value, and wherein the display is the indication is updated upon receipt, as taught by Lima, for the advantage of keeping user(s) informed of the most up to date prize information, enabling users to be kept abreast as to the size of the prize as they participate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425