X30DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chi Sing et al. (US 2011/0313288 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach a marking device for implantation into a tissue, comprising: a support structure configured to transition between a radially compressed state and an axially compressed state, the support structure comprising a plurality of substantially rectangular segments bounded by first and second tubular ends, the plurality of substantially rectangular segments extending along a longitudinal axis of the marking device and each having a first end and a second end, at least one of the first ends and the second ends of the plurality of substantially rectangular segments terminating at one of the first and second tubular ends of the support structure (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D) wherein: when the support structure is in the radially compressed state, the plurality of substantially rectangular segments extend substantially parallel to one another along the longitudinal axis of the marking device (see [0121], [0148]; and Figs. 23A-23D, 29A-29B), and when the support structure is in the axially compressed state, at least a portion of the plurality of substantially rectangular segments flair radially outward such that a central portion of the support structure has a curved shape encompassing an interior space bounded by the first and second tubular ends (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152], [0162]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 2, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein, when the support structure is in the axially compressed state, the central portion of the support structure has a circular cross-section that varies in diameter along a length of the support structure between the first and second tubular ends (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 3, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein, when the support structure is in the axially compressed state, a diameter of a cross-section of the central portion of the support structure is larger than a diameter of a cross-section at each of the first and second tubular ends (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 4, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein a diameter of a cross-section taken at the first tubular end is the same as a diameter of a cross-section taken at the second tubular end (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 5, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein, when the support structure is in the axially compressed state, a cross-section of the central portion of the support structure, taken parallel to a longitudinal axis of the support structure, has a circular shape (see [0121], [0148], [0162]; and Figs. 23A-23D, 29A-29B).
Regarding claim 6, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein, when the support structure is in the axially compressed state, a cross-section of the central portion of the support structure, taken parallel to a longitudinal axis of the support structure, has an oval shape (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 7, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein the support structure is textured (see [0145]-[0146]).
Regarding claim 9, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second tubular ends comprise a continuous sheet of material (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 10, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 9, wherein the plurality of substantially rectangular segments are separated from one another by slits in the continuous sheet of material (see [0114], [0146], [0150]-[0152]; and Figs. 23A-23D).
Regarding claim 12, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the support structure in the axially compressed state is less than about 8 mm (see [0144]).
Regarding claim 13, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 12, wherein the diameter of the supports structure in the axially compressed state is about 5 mm (see [0144]).
Regarding claim 14, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the support structure in the radially compressed state is less than about 3 mm (see [0144]).
Regarding claim 15, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein the support structure is made from nitinol (see [0166]).
Regarding claim 16, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, wherein the support structure is self-expanding (see [0121], [0148]; and Figs. 23A-23D, 29A-29B).
Regarding claim 17, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach an implantation system comprising: the marking device of claim 1; and an implantation device comprising a cannula, the marking device being positionable within the cannula and configured to be moved out of the cannula by actuation of the implantation device (see [0121], [0148]; and Figs. 23A-23D, 29A-29B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi Sing et al. (US 2011/0313288 A1) in view of Zaver et al. (US 2007/0135826 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the support structure is laser engraved. However, Zaver et al. (‘826) from the same field of endeavor do teach wherein the support structure is laser engraved (see [0082]-[0083]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the invention of Chi Sing et al. with the features of Zaver et al. for the benefit of precise and accurate material structure.
Regarding claim 11, Chi Sing et al. (‘288) teach the marking device of claim 10, but fail to explicitly teach wherein the slits between the plurality of substantially rectangular segments comprise laser cuts in the continuous sheet of material. Zaver et al. (‘826) from the same field of endeavor do teach slits between segments comprise laser cuts in the continuous sheet of material (see [0082]-[0083]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the invention of Chi Sing et al. with the features of Zaver et al. for the benefit of precise and accurate material structure.
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797