DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15-21, 24, 25, 28, 32, 34, 35, 40, 43, 44, and 47-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-42 of U.S. Patent No. 8,671,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the claimed invention and the previously patented device is the ratio of the different materials used in the indicator material in order to achieve different levels of performance under different temperatures an conditions; even if the exact ratio of ingredients was not expressly disclosed, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to find the exact ratio by weight of the indicator material for optimum performance for the intended end use by routine trial and error, and the reference indicates that this was a results effective parameter (Col. 26, ll. 17-33)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15-21, 24, 25, 28, 32, 34, 35, 40, 43, 44, and 47-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huffman et al (US # 8,671,871). The Huffman reference discloses an ascending time-temperature exposure indicator apparatus (Col. 1, ll. 19-30), comprising:
a substrate (20);
a transport element (17) supported by the substrate (Fig. 3); and
a thermally sensitive indicator element (18) supported by the substrate (20), the indicator element comprising a solid indicator material, the indicator material further comprising a mixture of a synthetic polymeric material and a wax material, the indicator material configured to move along the transport element when melted (Col. 3, ll. 5-39; Col. 11, ll. 43-67), wherein
the indicator material is configured to melt in response to exposure to temperatures at or above a predetermined threshold temperature (Col. 3, ll. 5-17; Col. 9. ll. 31-42),
the transport element (17) and the indicator element (18) are configured so that exposure to at least the predetermined threshold temperature for at least a predetermined exposure time, the predetermined exposure time being at least 1 hour (Col. 11, ll. 20-25), results in at least a predetermined amount of movement of the indicator material along the transport element that produces an end point signal (Col. 12, ll. 24-30; Col. 14, ll. 13-57),
wherein the synthetic polymeric material comprises a polymer comprising acrylate, or methacryalate and having side chain crystallinity (Col. 55, ll. 4-42).
It is unclear if the indicator material was proportioned such that each of the polymeric and wax material made up at least 10% of the indicator material by weight. However, our reviewing court has held that, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, even if the exact ratio of ingredients was not expressly disclosed, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to find the exact ratio by weight of the polymetric and wax material for optimum performance for the intended end use by routine trial and error, and the reference indicates that this was a results effective parameter(Col. 26, ll. 17-33).1
With respect to claims 3 & 5, once again, even if the exact ratio of ingredients was not expressly disclosed, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to find the exact ratio by weight of the indicator material for optimum performance for the intended end use by routine trial and error, and the reference indicates that this was a results effective parameter (Col. 26, ll. 17-33).
With respect to claims 6 & 8, the Huffman reference discloses the use of an alkane wax.
With respect to claims 9 & 13, once again, even if the exact ratio of ingredients was not expressly disclosed, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to find the exact ratio by weight of the indicator material for optimum performance for the intended end use by routine trial and error, and the reference indicates that this was a results effective parameter (Col. 26, ll. 17-33).
With respect to claims 15-18, the target threshold temperature range, and the target time exposure range, would have been an obvious parameter to set based on the intended use of the temperature exposure history sensor, and what kind of item that it was intended to protect (Col. 28, ll. 3-46).
With respect to claim 19, the Huffman reference discloses that the indicator material be optically distinctive (Col. 25, ll. 54-67).
With respect to claim 20, this list in the claim covers every possible optically distinctive dye available, and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to choose a known material based on its known suitability for its intended use2.
With respect to claim 21, the Huffman reference discloses “stop” temperatures (Col. 42, ll. 49-52); the exact stop temperature would have depended on the intended end use of the temperature history recorder, and would have been an obvious parameter to optimize through trial and error.
With respect to claim 24, obviously the indicator material would have to have been a homogeneous mixture in order to provide consistent results, and the exact melting point of the mixture would have depended on the intended end use of the temperature history recorder, and would have been an obvious parameter to optimize through trial and error.
With respect to claim 25, this is a mere truism, as obviously the indicator material mixture is mixable.
With respect to claim 28, the exact melting point of the mixture would have depended on the intended end use of the temperature history recorder, and would have been an obvious parameter to optimize through trial and error.
With respect to claims 32 & 34, the target threshold temperature range, and the target time exposure range, would have been an obvious parameter to set based on the intended use of the temperature exposure history sensor, and what kind of item that it was intended to protect (Col. 28, ll. 3-46).
With respect to claim 35, Huffman discloses that the transport material can be wick material (Col. 10, ll. 9-15).
Claims 40, 43, 44, and 47-51 simply repeat the limitations already addressed, above.
Conclusion
RANDY W. GIBSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2856
/RANDY W GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 See MPEP § 2144.05, subsection II.
2 The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.)
See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious).