DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 01/06/2025 and 06/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
4. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12185189.
Although the claim at issue is not identical, it is not patentably distinct from each other because
Application claim defines an obvious variation of the invention claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12185189.
The assignee of all applications of all applications is the same.
Claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by patent claim 16 in that claim of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
For example:
Claims of instant application:
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a base station, a first message comprising a request for a positioning measurement associated with a wireless device; performing the positioning measurement associated with the wireless device; and sending, to the wireless device based on the positioning measurement, a positioning measurement report.
Claim of U.S. Patent No. 12185189:
16. A method comprising: receiving, by a base station from a wireless device, a first message comprising: an indication of a positioning method of a plurality of positioning methods; and a request for a positioning measurement associated with the wireless device; performing, based on the indicated positioning method, the positioning measurement associated with the wireless device; and sending, to the wireless device and based on the positioning measurement, a positioning measurement report.
5. Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12185189 in view of Prakash et al. (US 20210329584).
Application claim 11 defines an obvious variation of the invention claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12185189.
The assignee of all applications of all applications is the same.
Claim 11 of the instant application is anticipated by patent claim 1 in that claim of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
For example:
Claims of instant application:
11. A wireless device comprising: the wireless device to: receive a first message comprising a request for an indication, via a user plane, of a position of the wireless device; send, to a base station, a second message comprising a request for a positioning measurement associated with the wireless device; receive, from the base station, a positioning measurement report; and send, via the user plane, information indicating a position of the wireless device, wherein the information indicating the position of the wireless device is based on the positioning measurement report.
Claim of U.S. Patent No. 12185189:
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a first message comprising a request for an indication, via a user plane, of a position of the wireless device; sending, to a base station, a second message comprising a request for a positioning measurement associated with the wireless device; receiving, from the base station, a positioning measurement report; and sending, via the user plane, information indicating a position of the wireless device, wherein the information indicating the position of the wireless device is based on the positioning measurement report.
U.S. Patent No. 12185189 discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors.
However, Prakash in the same field of endeavor teaches one or more processors (1502 in figure 15); and memory (1520 in figure 15) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (1502 in figure 15) (par 00783-0204). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use processor and the memory as taught by Prakash to modify the system and method of U.S. Patent No. 12185189 in order to perform at least a portion of a data signal computing procedure or process related to the operation of base station (par 0185) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim 1-2, 4-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Prakash et al. (US 20210329584) (hereinafter Prakash).
Regarding claims 1 and 6:
As shown in figures 1-16, Prakash discloses a base station (see base station in figures 1-3, 5-6, 10 and 15) comprising:
one or more processors (1502 in figure 15); and
memory (1520 in figure 15) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (1502 in figure 15), cause the base station (102 in figure 10) (see base station in figures 1-3, 5-6, 10 and 15) (par 00783-0204) to:
receive (see stage 6 in figure 10) a first message comprising a request for a positioning measurement associated with a wireless device (104 in figure 10) (in par 0122, Prakash teaches “At stage 6, the UE 104 may transmit UL PRS, e.g., if the location request in stage 3 instructed the UE 104 to transmit UL PRS. The transmission of UL PRS may be aligned with the time point for positioning measurements as specified in the location request message of stage 3”);
perform the positioning measurement (see stage 7b and 7C in figure 10) associated with the wireless device (104 in figure 10) (par 0124-0125); and
send (see stage 8 in figure 10), to the wireless device (104 in figure 10) based on the positioning measurement, a positioning measurement report (par 0124-0125).
Regarding claims 2 and 7:
Prakash further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors (1502 in figure 15), cause the base station (102 in figure 10) to receive the first message by causing receiving the first message (see stage 6 in figure 10) from one of:
the wireless device (104 in figure 10),
a location management component (LMC),
a location management function (LMF),
an access and mobility management function (AMF), or
a gateway mobile location center (GMLC).
Regarding claims 4 and 9:
Prakash further discloses the first message comprises an indication of a positioning method (see stage 6 in figure 10, par 0122), and the performing the positioning measurement comprises performing the positioning measurement based on the indicated positioning method (see stage 7 in figure 10, par 0122-0124).
Regarding claims 5 and 10:
Prakash further discloses wherein the first message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message (par 0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3, 8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash in view of YANG et al. (US 20230040349) (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claims 3 and 8:
Prakash discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the sending the positioning measurement report comprises sending the positioning measurement report for a user plane transmission of a position of the wireless device.
However, Yang in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the sending the positioning measurement report comprises sending the positioning measurement report for a user plane (see UPF in figure 4A) transmission of a position of the wireless device (see Terminal in figure 4A) (par 0140). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use measurement report as taught by Yang to modify the system and method of Prakash in order to obtain location information of the terminal (par 0140) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 16:
As shown in figures 1-16, Prakash discloses a system comprising (see figure 10):
a base station (see serving base station in figure 10 and figure 15); and
a core network device (see location server in figure 10 and figure 16),
wherein the base station (see serving base station in figure 10 and figure 15) comprises:
one or more first processors (1502 in figure 15); and
memory (1504 in figure 15) storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors (1502 in figure 15), cause the base station (see serving base station in figure 10 and figure 15) to:
receive a message (see stage 6 in figure 10) comprising a request for a positioning measurement associated with a wireless device (104 in figure 10) (in par 0122, Prakash teaches “At stage 6, the UE 104 may transmit UL PRS, e.g., if the location request in stage 3 instructed the UE 104 to transmit UL PRS. The transmission of UL PRS may be aligned with the time point for positioning measurements as specified in the location request message of stage 3”);
perform the positioning measurement (see stage 7b and 7C in figure 10) associated with the wireless device (104 in figure 10) (par 0124-0125); and
send (see stage 8 in figure 10), based on the positioning measurement, a positioning measurement report (par 0124-0125), and
wherein the core network device (see location server in figure 10 and figure 16) comprises:
one or more second processors (1602 in figure 16); and
memory (1604 in figure 16) storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors (1602 in figure 16), cause the core network device (see location server in figure 10 and figure 16).
Prakash discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching receive, from a second core network device, network status information; and send, based on the network status information, indication of user plane transmission for a wireless device positioning.
However, Yang in the same field of endeavor teaches receive, from a second core network device (AMF in figure 4A), network status information (see S404 in figure 4A); and send, based on the network status information, indication of user plane (see UPF in figure 4A) transmission for a wireless device positioning (see Terminal in figure 4A) (par 0122-0140). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use measurement report as taught by Yang to modify the system and method of Prakash in order to obtain location information of the terminal (par 0140) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 17:
Prakash further discloses the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the base station to send the positioning measurement report by causing sending the positioning measurement report (see stage 8 in figure 10) to the wireless device 104 in figure 10) (par 0124-0125) or, via a user plane, to the core network device.
Regarding claim 18:
Prakash further discloses wherein: the core network device corresponds to a gateway mobile location center (GMLC) (par 0057-0058), and the second core network device corresponds to an access and mobility management function (AMF) (par 0058, 0061-0062), unified data management (UDM) network function, or an operation, administration, and maintenance (OAM) network function.
Regarding claim 19:
Prakash further discloses wherein: the message comprises an indication of a positioning method (see stage 6 in figure 10, par 0122), and the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the base station to perform the positioning measurement by causing performing the positioning measurement based on the indicated positioning method (see stage 7 in figure 10, par 0122-0124).
Regarding claim 20:
Prakash further discloses wherein: the first instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the base station to receive the message by causing receiving the message from a wireless device (see stage 6 in figure 10) or the core network device, and the second instructions, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the core network device (see location server in figure 9) to send the indication by causing sending the indication to the base station (see step 908 in figure 9) or the wireless device.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 11-15 would be allowable if overcome the above nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, Prakash teach a wireless network including user equipment (UE) and base stations is configured to perform position determination with low latency and high availability within the Time-Sensitive Networking (TSN) framework. For example, the UE may be integrated as a sensor in a motion control system or similar applications. The UE and base stations are synchronized with the TSN clock, and are configured to perform positioning measurements at a specific time point within the TSN framework. The time point, for example, may be a global sampling point, at which all sensor nodes in the TSN framework perform position measurements. A location server may be provided with the positioning measurements or a position estimate from the UE and provide the position estimate to an external client, such as a motion controller in a motion control system. However, the prior art of record, Prakash does not teach or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim, receive a first message comprising a request for an indication, via a user plane, of a position of the wireless device; send, to a base station, a second message comprising a request for a positioning measurement associated with the wireless device; receive, from the base station, a positioning measurement report; and send, via the user plane, information indicating a position of the wireless device, wherein the information indicating the position of the wireless device is based on the positioning measurement report.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siomina et al. (US 9374662) disclose a method performed by a network node for jointly selecting positioning node and PLMN including receiving a positioning-related request from a requesting node or an application. The positioning-related request may include any combination of a location request and a positioning data request. The location request may be a request for a location of a LCS target, and the positioning data request may be a request for data that may be used to determine the location of the LCS target. The method may also include selecting a PLMN and a positioning node of the selected PLMN in response to the positioning-related request. The method may further sending a positioning message to the selected positioning node, and receiving a positioning response message from the selected positioning node.
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631