DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, comprising claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there are overlapping subject matter between the two groups. This is not found persuasive because both groups clearly not an obvious variation, and even though there are overlapping subject matter between the groups, the difference between the groups is substantial that it diverges the claimed subject matter to different classes.
As for the argument that Group II does not mention “proxy” functionalities and the group is directed to geolocation-based management device and edge cloud. The examiner respectfully traverses. Even if the examiner hypothetically agree that Group II is directed to geolocation-based management functionalities, Group I does not recite any feature of the geolocation-based management functionalities, which leads us back to restriction requirements.
With respect to the H04L67/56 (provisioning of proxy services), the following is the definition of the classification:
“CPC: H04L67/56
Provisioning of proxy services (...)
Definition statement
This place covers:
Arrangements involving intermediate processing and/or storage in the network, i.e. wherein additional processing of the application data is performed somewhere between the data provider and data consumer application.”
From the definition above, the term “proxy” per say does not have to be recited to be qualified for this class. In this case, based on for example fig. 3 of the specification, the edge cloud, involving intermediate processing and/or storage in the network between data provider (IoT cloud) and consumer application (306 devices). Therefore, Group II meets the definition of class H04L67/56.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Priority
The present Application is a continuation of U.S. patent application Ser. No. 18/615,597, filed on Mar. 25, 2024, which is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2021/061225, filed on Nov. 30, 2021, which claims the benefit of and priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/248,494, filed on Sep. 26, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities.
As to claim 1, “one or system devices”, in line 2, should be “one or more system devices”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, the phrase "may" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Rotterdam (Pub. No.: US 20210255884 A1) (“van” hereinafter, van was cited in the 9/9/2025 IDS).
As to claim 1, Van teaches a cloud computing system comprising: one or system devices configured to collect and transmit data (para [0033] "Referring initially to FIG. 1, a non-limiting network environment 1 O in which various aspects of the disclosure may be
implemented includes one or more client machines 12A-12N, one or more remote machines 16A-16N, one or more networks 14, 14', and one or more appliances 18 installed within the computing environment 10. The client machines 12A-12N communicate with the remote
machines 16A-16N via the networks 14, 14'.");
an internet-of-things (IoT) cloud configured to provide processing and memory storage capabilities to the system devices, the IoT cloud comprising:
one or more device software applications configured to run the one or more system devices (para [0052] "Referring to FIG. 3, a cloud computing environment 50 is depicted, which may also be referred to as a cloud environment, cloud computing or cloud network. The cloud computing environment 50 can provide the delivery of shared computing services and/or resources to multiple users or tenants. For example, the shared resources and services can include, but are not limited to, networks, network bandwidth, servers, processing, memory, storage, applications, virtual machines, databases, software, hardware, analytics, and intelligence.");
a processing circuit comprising at least one processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to: communicably couple the one or more system devices to the IoT cloud through a network (para [0047] "In some embodiments, the processor can be embodied in one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), graphics processing units (GPUs), microcontrollers, field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), programmable logic arrays (PLAs), multi-core processors, or general-purpose computers with associated memory." para [0049] "The communications interfaces 26 may include one or more interfaces to enable the computing device 20 to access a computer network such as a Local Area Network (LAN), a Wide Area Network (WAN), a Personal Area Network (PAN), or the Internet through a variety of wired and/or wireless connections, including cellular connections.");
receive the data from the one or more system devices (para [0072] "Still referring to the workspace network environment 20, a series of events will be described on how a unified experience is provided to a user. The unified experience starts with the user using the workspace app 70 to connect to the workspace experience service 102 running within the Citrix Cloud 104, and presenting their identity (event 1). The identity includes a user name and password, for example.");
determine a correct software application of the one or more device software applications to stream to a correct device of the one or more system devices based on the data received from the one or more system devices (para [0074] "Once authorized, the workspace experience service 102 requests a list of authorized resources (event 4) from the resource feed micro-service 108. For each configured resource feed 106, the resource feed micro-service 108 requests an identity token (event 5) from the single-sign micro-service 152."); and
stream the correct software application to the correct device (para [0078] "The user initiates a secure session to a gateway service 160 and presents the launch ticket (event 13). The gateway service 160 initiates a secure session to the appropriate resource feed 106 and presents the identity token to seamlessly authenticate the user (event 14). Once the session initializes, the user is able to utilize the resource (event 15). Having an entire workspace delivered through a single access point or application advantageously improves productivity and streamlines common workflows for the user.");
wherein the one or more device software applications are not stored locally on the one or more system devices (para [0005] "A computer system includes a client device, a plurality of geographically distributed data centers and a server. The client device remotely accesses a virtual desktop, with the virtual desktop configured to run and store a workload for an end-user of the client device.").
As to claim 2, Van teaches wherein the one or more device software applications may utilize at least one of an artificial intelligence model or a machine learning model to apply to the system devices (para [0062] "As noted above, the workspace app 70 supports Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android platforms as well as platforms with an HTML browser (HTML5). The workspace app 70 incorporates multiple engines 80-90 allowing users access to numerous types of app and data resources. Each engine 80-90 optimizes the user experience for a particular resource. Each engine 80-90 also provides an organization or enterprise with insights into user activities and potential security threats.").
As to claim 3, Van teaches the cloud computing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more system devices are communicably coupled to a wireless communication device, wherein the wireless communication device sends and receives the data from the one or more system devices to the IoT cloud over a network (para [0040] "In some embodiments, the network 14 may be: a local-area network (LAN); a metropolitan area network (MAN); a wide area network (WAN); a primary public network 14; and a primary private network 14. Additional embodiments may include a network 14 of mobile telephone networks that use various protocols to communicate among mobile devices. For short range communications within a wireless local-area network (WLAN), the protocols may include 802.11, Bluetooth, and Near Field Communication (NFC).").
As to claim 4, Van teaches wherein the one or more device software applications includes at least one of an operating system software or a management software for the one or more system devices (para [0062]).
As to claim 5, Van teaches wherein the network is at least one of a cellular network, a Wi-Fi network, or a Bluetooth network (para [0040]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892.
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 6/24/2026