Detailed Action
The communications received 04/21/2026 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 21-40 are pending. Claims 21-24, 26-31, 33, and 40 are amended. This is a new nonfinal action in light of the citation error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, 28-35, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonnell (US 2010/0243795) hereinafter MCD in view of Burchardt et al (US 2020/0307032) hereinafter BUR.
As for claim 21, MCD teaches a blended wing body aircraft [Abstract] which is produced via molding (as it has mold lines) [0019], the aircraft in BWB form is particularly aerodynamic [0004].
MCD fails to teach the mold to produce each panel/segment.
BUR teaches a modular molding system for manufacturing an aerodynamic product (windmill blade) [Abstract], the system comprising:
at least a common tooling component [Fig. 1 #200; 0033], comprising at least one or more of:
a first component in a first shape [Fig. 1 #70]; and
a second component in a second shape (the one about to be added) [Fig. 1 #70]; and
wherein connecting the at least a common tooling components to the at least a modular tooling (as multiple tooling components are connected together) component forms a blade [Abstract; 0033],
wherein at least a tooling interface component [Fig. 1 #76 and 76A-B; 0033] is used to connect the at least a common tooling component at a predetermined position and orientation relative to the at least a modular tooling component (so that they are flush in their connection) [Fig. 1 #76 and 76A-B; 0033; 0035]. BUR additionally suggests that numerous additional modifications and variations can be made [0036] and in particular that the assembly can be made with low cost and is highly customizable [0004-5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the molding system of BUR to produce the blended wing aircraft of MCD in order to produce the aircraft in a manner that is low cost while still allowing for customizable molding. As both BUR and MCD pertain to the creation of aerodynamic products (wind turbine blades and aircraft) they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would look to the production method of BUR to form the aircraft of MCD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood how to modify and combine the modular mold system of MCD to form the aircraft of BUR which the Examiner understands would mean that there would be multiple tooling components.
In addition, the selection of the first component being shaped for a lift surface of a wing portion of the BWB, the second component being shaped for a control surface portion of the BWB are merely choices from a finite number of body elements to be molded by each connectable segment of the mold with a reasonable expectation of success which the MPEP teaches is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It is understood that each of the segments of MCD would be molded with a respective tooling component that would be connected together and therefore there would be a common tooling component formed of one set of components with shapes corresponding to some parts of the plane and a common modular tooling component formed of another set of shapes corresponding to another part of the plane which would then be connected to each other to form the overall molding body.
As for claim 22, MCD/BUR teach claim 21, and BUR further teaches wherein the at least a tooling interface component comprises a fixture component [Fig. 3 #76B], wherein the fixture component is configured to:
maintain a fixed position for the at least a common tooling component to the at least a modular tooling component (by providing a fixed anchor point) [Fig. 3 #76B]; and
align the at least a common tooling component to the at least a modular tooling component (as it has a gap into which another component slides into) [Fig. 3 #76B].
As for claim 23, MCD/BUR teach claim 21, and MCD further teaches that a nose is formed, a wing is formed, and a body is formed (pointed nose, wings, and body) [0004].
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have has the first shape correspond to the nose, the second shape comprise a wing, and a third shape comprise a main body, as this would have been a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form using the first, second, and third shapes with the expectation of successfully forming the requisite components of the aircraft.
As for 24, MCD/BUR teaches claim 21, and the connection of the at least a common tooling component at a predetermined position and orientation relative to the at least a modular tooling component comprises providing a predetermined sweep angle to the second shape is a matter of forming the connecting part of the body with the wing of the aircraft of the aircraft.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the body with the at least a modular tooling component and the wing with either of the other tooling components as this would have amounted to a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilizing the modular tooling component with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
As for claim 25, MCD/BUR teach claim 24, wherein the predetermined sweep angle comprises a variable sweep angle, wherein the variable sweep angle is adjustable based on operational parameters is understood to be the part of achieving a sweep angle required for the wing which would be achieved by the flexible support plates [BUR: 0033].
As for claim 28, MCD/BUR teach claim 21, wherein the at least a modular component comprises one or more of a plurality of configurations (via flexible support plates) [BUR: 0033]. It is understood that the at least a modular component would include multiple sizes to accommodate the shape of various parts of the aircraft.
As for claim 29, MCD/BUR teach claim 21, and wherein the at least a modular tooling component comprises one or more of at least a fuselage component and a collar component is a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilize the modular tooling component.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the body including the nose and the collar with the at least a modular tooling component as this would have amounted to a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilizing the modular tooling component with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
As for claim 30, MCD/BUR teach claim 21, wherein the at least a modular tooling component and the second component meet along a leading edge of the aircraft is a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilize the modular tooling component and the second component.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the modular tooling component and second component meet along a leading edge of the aircraft with the at least a modular tooling component as this would have amounted to a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilizing the modular tooling component and the second component with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
As for claim 31, MCD teaches a blended wing body aircraft [Abstract] which is produced via molding (as it has mold lines) [0019], the aircraft in BWB form is particularly aerodynamic [0004].
BUR teaches a modular molding system for manufacturing an aerodynamic product (windmill blade) [Abstract], the system comprising:
at least a common tooling component [Fig. 1 #200; 0033], comprising at least one or more of:
a first component in a first shape [Fig. 1 #70]; and
a second component in a second shape (the one about to be added) [Fig. 1 #70]; and
wherein connecting the at least a common tooling components to the at least a modular tooling (as multiple tooling components are connected together) component forms a blade [Abstract; 0033],
wherein at least a tooling interface component [Fig. 1 #76 and 76A-B; 0033] is used to connect the at least a common tooling component at a predetermined position and orientation relative to the at least a modular tooling component (so that they are flush in their connection) [Fig. 1 #76 and 76A-B; 0033; 0035]. BUR additionally suggests that numerous additional modifications and variations can be made [0036] and in particular that the assembly can be made with low cost and is highly customizable [0004-5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the molding system of BUR to produce the blended wing aircraft of MCD in order to produce the aircraft in a manner that is low cost while still allowing for customizable molding. As both BUR and MCD pertain to the creation of aerodynamic products (wind turbine blades and aircraft) they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would look to the production method of BUR to form the aircraft of MCD. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood how to modify and combine the modular mold system of MCD to form the aircraft of BUR which the Examiner understands would mean that there would be multiple tooling components
It is understood that each of the segments of MCD would be molded with a respective tooling component that would be connected together and therefore there would be a common tooling component formed of one set of components with shapes corresponding to some parts of the plane and a common modular tooling component formed of another set of shapes corresponding to another part of the plane which would then be connected to each other to form the overall molding body.
The first, second, third, fourth, and fifth shapes and what aspect of the aircraft they form is a selection of which shapes to form with corresponding molds.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the first, second, third, fourth, and fifth shapes such that they meet along the claimed edges as this would have amounted to a selection of which segments of the aircraft to form utilizing which molds with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
As it pertains to “carbon fiber layup mold” this is understood to be the material/article worked upon which as the mold of MCD fails to impede the use of such an article is a limitation that does not further limit the apparatus claim [MPEP 2115].
As for claim 32, MCD/BUR teach claim 31, and BUR further teaches wherein the at least a tooling interface component comprises a fixture component [Fig. 3 #76B], wherein the fixture component is configured to: maintain a fixed position for the at least a common tooling component to the at least a modular tooling component (via providing a slot) [Fig. 3 #76B]; and align the at least a common tooling component to the at least a modular tooling component (via providing a slot for the connecting piece to enter) [Fig. 3 #76A-B].
As for claim 33, MCD/BUR teach claim 31, and MCD teaches that the aircraft has a nose (pointed nose), a wing, a tail, a main body and a BWB [0004; 0009; 0023].
The first, second, third, fourth, and fifth shapes and what aspect of the aircraft they form is a selection of which shapes to form with corresponding molds.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the first, second, third, fourth, and fifth shapes such that they comprise the wing, tail, main body, and BWB as this would have amounted to a selection of which segments of the aircraft to form utilizing which molds with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
As for claim 34, MCD/BUR teach claim 31, wherein connecting the at least a common tooling component at a predetermined position and orientation relative to the at least a module tooling component provides a predetermined sweep angle to the second shape as this section would be understood to have the wing and body connection which would require a predetermined sweep angle to be formed.
As for 35, MCD/BUR teach claim 34, wherein the predetermined sweep angle comprises a variable sweep angle, wherein the variable sweep angle is adjustable based on operational parameters as the wing and body connection is understood to be adjusted based on operational parameters (i.e. the desired drag) [MCD: 0015].
As for claim 38, MCD/BUR claim 31, wherein the at least a modular component comprises one or more of a plurality of configurations (via flexible support plates) [BUR: 0033]. It is understood that the at least a modular component would include multiple sizes to accommodate the shape of various parts of the aircraft.
As for claim 39, MCD/BUR teach claim 31, and wherein the at least a modular tooling component comprises one or more of at least a fuselage component and a collar component is a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilize the modular tooling component.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formed the body including the nose and the collar with the at least a modular tooling component as this would have amounted to a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilizing the modular tooling component with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
As for claim 40, MCD/BUR teach claim 31, wherein the at least a modular tooling component and the second component meet along a leading edge of the aircraft is a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilize the modular tooling component and the second component.
In accordance with the MPEP, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(E)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the modular tooling component and second component meet along a leading edge of the aircraft with the at least a modular tooling component as this would have amounted to a selection of which shapes of the aircraft to form utilizing the modular tooling component and the second component with an expectation of successfully forming the aircraft.
Claim(s) 26-27 and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MCD/BUR as applied to claims 21 and 31 and further in view of Nitsch et al (US 2002/0051829) hereinafter NIT.
As for claims 26 and 36, MCD/BUR teach claims 21 and 31 but do not teach that at least a common tooling component is created through an injection molding process, in particular is silent to exactly how the tooling component would be created.
NIT teaches that parts of molds can be created via injection-moulding [0019; 0041].
In accordance with the MPEP, Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the injection molding method of NIT with the teachings of MCD/BUR in order to produce the mold of MCD/BUR as this would have amounted to a combination of a mold element and a means by which is its made in order to predictably provide said element.
As for claims 27 and 37, MCD/BUR teach claim 21, but fails to teach an automated latching system in the tooling interface.
NIT teaches that when joining together two parts of a mold that one simple manner of employs an automatic joining via snap-in latch connections [0041; claim 5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have obvious to have joined together the two mold parts of MCD/BUR as taught by NIT as this would allow for simple automatic engagement of the tooling elements. As both MCD/BUR and NIT pertain to molding they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Double Patenting
Claims rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 10-11, 13-17, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12162189 hereinafter ‘189. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As for claim 21, see claims 1 and 11 of ‘189.
As for claim 22, see claims 10 and 20 of ‘189
As for claim 23, see claims 1 and 11 of ‘189
As for claim 24, see claims 1 and 11 of ‘189
As for claim 25, it is understood that the sweep angle is adjustable based on operational parameters as the modular tooling component is the part that provides a predetermined sweep angle.
As for claim 28, see claim 5-7 and 13-17 of ‘189
As for claim 29, see claims 3-7 and 13-17 of ‘189.
As for claim 30, see claim 11 of ‘189, the edge understood to be leading edges where the shaping components are joined and meet.
As for claim 31, see claims 11, and 13-17 of ‘189.
As for claim 32, see claim 20 of ‘189
As for claim 33, see claim 11, 13-14, and 16 of ‘189
As for claim 34, see claim 11 of ‘189
As for claim 35, it is understood that the sweep angle is adjustable based on operational parameters as the modular tooling component is the part that provides a predetermined sweep angle.
Claims 26-27 and 36-37 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of ‘189 in view of Nitsch et al (US 2002/0051829) hereinafter NIT.
As for claims 26 and 36, ‘189 teach claims 21 and 31 but do not teach that at least a common tooling component is created through an injection molding process, in particular is silent to exactly how the tooling component would be created.
NIT teaches that parts of molds can be created via injection-moulding [0019; 0041].
In accordance with the MPEP, Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the injection molding method of NIT with the teachings of ‘189 in order to produce the mold of ‘189 as this would have amounted to a combination of a mold element and a means by which is its made in order to predictably provide said element.
As for claims 27 and 37, ‘189 teach claim 21, but fails to teach an automated latching system in the tooling interface.
NIT teaches that when joining together two parts of a mold that one simple manner of employs an automatic joining via snap-in latch connections [0041; claim 5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have obvious to have joined together the two mold parts of ‘189 as taught by NIT as this would allow for simple automatic engagement of the tooling elements. As both ‘189 and NIT pertain to molding they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claims 21-23, 28-29, 31-33, and 38-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11541576 hereinafter ‘576. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As for claim 21, see claim 1 of ‘576.
As for claim 22, see claim 6 (jig is a fixture) of ‘576
As for claim 23, see claims 3, and 7-8 of ‘576
As for claim 28, see claims 3, 7-10 of ‘576
As for claim 29, see claim 3 of ‘576.
As for claim 31, see claims 1-3, and 7-10 of ‘576.
As for claim 32, see claim 6 (jig is a fixture) of ‘576
As for claim 33, see claims 1, 3, and 7-8 (it is understood the molding of the shape of the BWB includes a BWB and a tail section) of ‘576
As for claim 38, see claims 1, 3, and 7-8 of ‘576
As for claim 39, see claim 3 of ‘576
As for claim 40, see claims 1, 3, and 8=7-8 of ‘576
Claims 26-27 and 36-37 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of ‘576 in view of Nitsch et al (US 2002/0051829) hereinafter NIT.
As for claims 26 and 36, ‘576 teach claims 21 and 31 but do not teach that at least a common tooling component is created through an injection molding process, in particular is silent to exactly how the tooling component would be created.
NIT teaches that parts of molds can be created via injection-moulding [0019; 0041].
In accordance with the MPEP, Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale of obviousness [MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the injection molding method of NIT with the teachings of ‘576 in order to produce the mold of ‘576 as this would have amounted to a combination of a mold element and a means by which is its made in order to predictably provide said element.
As for claims 27 and 37, ‘576 teach claim 21 and an alignment jig [see claim 6], but fails to teach an automated latching system in the tooling interface.
NIT teaches that when joining together two parts of a mold that one simple manner of employs an automatic joining via snap-in latch connections [0041; claim 5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have obvious to have joined together the two mold parts of ‘576 as taught by NIT as this would allow for simple automatic engagement of the tooling elements. As both ‘576 and NIT pertain to molding they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 8-10 of the remarks that BUR is non-analogous art.
Respectfully the Examiner disagrees. Both airplane body components and windmills pertain to the same issue of manufacturing elements which are structurally stable under high air pressure (ex: a windmill must endure speeds from storms and other weather events) and are aerodynamic. Therefore they are substantially analogous art of molding aerodynamic structures using molds. Artisans of molding industries routinely adapt their molds for new products and therefore would similarly view BUR to be in the category of analogous art to the mold of the instant invention.
Applicant argues that the mold of BUR would not comprise a carbon fiber layup mold. However it is understood under a broadest reasonable interpretation that a carbon fiber layup mold includes molds upon which carbon fiber layups are made. Therefore the carbon fiber layup is merely an article worked upon by the mold which does not distinguish the claim from the prior art [MPEP 2115].
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748