DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao Biao (CN216221368), and further in view of Tam (US 20210378477)
Regarding claim 1, Xiao Biao (the paragraph numbers Xiao Baio references are from the included machine translation) discloses a ground cleaning apparatus, comprising a rolling brush assembly (item 1 in figure 3), a shell covering the rolling brush assembly (item 32 in figure 1), a transmission motor, and the transmission motor drives the rolling brush assembly to rotate (paragraph [0045], describes the motor driving the brush), wherein
the ground cleaning apparatus further comprises a clear water tank (a clear water source is disclosed in paragraph [0045]), a wastewater tank (paragraph [0045]), a ground brush module (the entirety of figure 1), and a threaded rod assembly (item 5 in figure 2);
an inner side of the ground brush holder body (item 3 in figure 1) is provided with a dirt holding tank (item 34 in figure 3, paragraph [0046]) in a shape matching a shape of the threaded rod assembly, the dirt holding tank has a semi-surrounding structure, the semi-surrounding structure of the dirt holding tank is greater than 180 degrees (as shown in figure 3), and a dirt discharging opening (item 42 in figure 1) is provided at an end along a direction in which the threaded rod assembly and the dirt holding tank transmit wastewater and garbage (paragraph [0046]);
the threaded rod assembly is arranged in the dirt holding tank of the ground brush module, the threaded rod assembly is provided with a thread set, a thread edge of the thread set is arranged close to an inner wall of the dirt holding tank (paragraph [0011], and the clear water source delivers clear water to the dirt holding tank (paragraph [0015]);
a part of the threaded rod assembly is in squeezing contact with a rolling brush surface of the rolling brush assembly (shown in figure 3 and described in paragraph [0042]) by using the semi-surrounding structure of the dirt holding tank (shown in figure 3), and relative rotation between the threaded rod assembly and the rolling brush assembly (rotation is shown in figures 2 and 3) enables wastewater and garbage attracted by the rolling brush to be transmitted to the dirt discharging opening by using the dirt holding tank (paragraph [0046], garbage and dirty water enters the tank and is moved by the extrusion rod); and
the dirt discharging opening is arranged corresponding to a wastewater tank water inlet of the wastewater tank (paragraph [0045], the outlet (42) is connected to the tank).
However, Xiao Biao fails to disclose a power module, and a control module, wherein the control module can control the power module to connect with the transmission motor, the ground brush module comprises a ground brush holder body, and the rolling brush assembly, the ground brush holder body, and the wastewater tank are provided in a horizontal direction in sequence; a clear water delivery pipe, and end covers that are arranged at two sides of the ground brush holder body.
Tam, which is also concerned with a floor cleaner for taking up liquid, teaches a power module (a battery in paragraph [0066]), and a control module, wherein the control module can control the power module to connect with the transmission motor (paragraphs [0034] and [0035] controlling electrically powered components including the brush motor), a clear water tank (paragraph [0067] supply tank 20 in figure 2 holds a cleaning fluid which can be water), a clear water delivery pipe (paragraph [0076] a conduit delivers the fluid from the supply tank), and end covers that are arranged at two sides of the ground brush holder body (items 144 and 146 in figure 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao Biao with the control details of Tam to prevent use of the cleaner when it is not properly assembled preventing damage to the floor cleaner (Tam paragraph [0003]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao Biao with the end covers of Tam to provide additional support of the roller (Tam paragraph [0100]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xiao Biao with the providing a clear water delivery pipe between the clear water tank and dirt holding tank/brush assembly of Tam to allow the flow of clear water through a joint (Tam paragraph [0070]).
The combination of Xiao Biao and Tam discloses the claimed invention except for the ground brush module comprises a ground brush holder body, and the rolling brush assembly, the ground brush holder body, and the wastewater tank are provided in a horizontal direction in sequence. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to order the parts in this sequence, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C) In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus according to claim 1, but fail to disclose a gap between the thread edge of the threaded rod assembly and the inner wall of the dirt holding tank is less than 1 mm, or ranges from 0.2 to 0.5 mm.
The combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the claimed invention except for a gap between the thread edge of the threaded rod assembly and the inner wall of the dirt holding tank is less than 1 mm, or ranges from 0.2 to 0.5 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to keep this gap small to reduce leakage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A) In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Xiao Biao further discloses that the threaded rod assembly passively rotates, and the rolling brush assembly rotates to drive the threaded rod assembly to passively rotate; or the threaded rod assembly is connected to a motor, to movably rotate (paragraph [0045], the rod is driven by the motor or by friction force of the cleaning roller).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. However, they fail to disclose the ratio of the rolling brush assembly to a diameter of the threaded rod assembly ranges from 4:1 to 1:1.
The combination of Xiao Biao and Tam discloses the claimed invention except for a ratio of a diameter of the rolling brush assembly to a diameter of the threaded rod assembly ranges from 4:1 to 1:1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the threaded rod smaller so it rotates more often to move the water along quicker (a stated goal in paragraph [0046]), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A) In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Tam further teaches a ground brush holder right cover and a ground brush holder left cover are respectively provided with a rolling brush lifting handle mounting slot (item 142 in figure 4), an inner wall of at least one rolling brush lifting handle mounting slot is provided with an elastic electrically-conductive component, the rolling brush assembly is mounted from top to bottom (as shown in figure 4), an electrically-conductive component is mounted on a side surface of at least one rolling brush lifting handle (item 162 in figure 5), the electrically-conductive component matches the elastic electrically-conductive component, and two sides of the rolling brush assembly are provided with bearings (item 126 in figure 5).
The combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the claimed invention except for a second bearing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a second bearing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
The combination of Xiao Biao and Tam fail to disclose that the components are made from an elastic electrically-conductive material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to pick a conductive material to allow for the electrical connection, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07 In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Xiao Biao further discloses a ground brush holder right cover and a ground brush holder left cover (annotated figure 2 below) are respectively provided with a threaded rod rotation head mounting slot (item 331 in figure 2, paragraph [0042]) and a threaded rod mounting opening (paragraph [0043], annotated figure 2 below), a threaded rod rotation head (annotated figure 2 below) at an end of the threaded rod assembly matches the threaded rod rotation head mounting slot, a threaded rod end cover (annotated figure 2 below) is fixedly connected to the threaded rod mounting opening, and a bearing (item 51 in figure 2) is arranged on at least one side of the threaded rod end cover of the threaded rod assembly.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Tam further discloses the clear water delivery pipe (paragraph [0121] the conduit delivers the cleaning fluid to the base) directly sprays clear water onto the rolling brush surface (paragraphs [0078] and [0079], spray tip mounted on the base delivers cleaning fluid to the roller).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1.
Tam further teaches a plurality of first water replenishment holes (items 98 in figure 4 are connector ports that feed the spray connections item 100) are provided on the ground brush module, the first water replenishment holes face the rolling brush assembly (Tam paragraph [0078]), and the first water replenishment holes are connected to the clear water tank by using the clear water delivery pipe (Tam paragraph [0079]).
Xiao Biao further discloses the second water replenishment hole (item 41 in figure 2, Xiao Biao paragraph [0039]) is provided on the dirt holding tank, the second water replenishment hole is arranged at an end of the dirt holding tank away from the dirt discharging opening (discharge is item 42, the direction of flow is indicated by the arrow in Xiao Biao figure 2) and the second water replenishment hole is connected to the clear water tank by using the clear water delivery pipe (Xiao Biao paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Tam further teaches an air hole (item 194 in annotated figure 11 below, paragraph [0122]) is provided on the wastewater tank.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 15, wherein an inner wall of the wastewater tank is provided with a blocking slot, and a side wall of the blocking slot corresponds to the air hole (see annotated figure 11 below); or the air hole is covered with a waterproof breathable film.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Xiao Biao further discloses the clear water tank delivers clear water to an end of the dirt holding tank away from the dirt discharging opening by using the clear water delivery pipe (in figure 2 item 41 is the inlet and item 42 is the outlet of the tank, in figure 5 the tank 34 and outlet 42 are shown, the direction of flow is indicated by the arrow in figure 2, paragraph [0039]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao Biao (CN216221368) and Tam (US 20210378477), and further in view of Feng et al (US 20210186290).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1, but fail to disclose the dirt discharging opening is provided with a propping block, and the propping block props a wastewater tank water inlet cover open.
Feng, which is also concerned with floor cleaning using water and a roller to take up wastewater, teaches the dirt discharging opening is provided with a propping block (item 5121 in figure 8b paragraph [0105]), and the propping block props a wastewater tank water inlet cover (item 511 in figure 8b) open.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wastewater tank of Xiao Biao with the opening structure of Feng to avoid the cumbersome interface docking processes (Feng paragraph [0080]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao Biao (CN216221368) and Tam (US 20210378477), and further in view of Bai et al (CN113693512).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose a shell of the ground brush module is provided with a ground brush flip-over cover, the ground brush flip-over cover is provided with a flip-over cover front lock male end and a flip-over cover rear lock female end, the flip-over cover front lock male end is adapted to a flip-over cover front lock female end, and the flip-over cover rear lock female end is adapted to a flip-over cover lock strip.
Bai, which is also concerned with a floor cleaning device using a roller, teaches a shell of the ground brush module is provided with a ground brush flip-over cover (item 200 in figure 4), the ground brush flip-over cover is provided with a flip-over cover front lock male end (item 310 in figure 4) and a flip-over cover rear lock female end (item 320 in figure 4), the flip-over cover front lock male end is adapted to a flip-over cover front lock female end, and the flip-over cover rear lock female end is adapted to a flip-over cover lock strip (item 330 in figure 4). Item 310 matches and locks with item 320, item 330 drives the two together or apart.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover structure of Tam with the locking means of Bai so that when the rolling brush cover is separated from the base, the operation is simple and quick (Bai abstract).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao Biao (CN216221368U) and Tam (US 20210378477), and further in view of Reimann et al (US 8943875)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Xiao Biao and Tam disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Xiao Biao discloses a rolling brush (item 1 in figure 3). Tam teaches a detection structure (abstract). The combination of Xiao Biao and Tam fail to disclose that the detection structure is able to detect whether a rolling brush layer on the rolling brush assembly has water.
Reimann, which is also concerned about a floor cleaner with means to detect that a cleaning surface has the correct amount of water, teaches a detection structure that is able to detect whether a layer on the cleaning element has water. Column 2 line 32 through column 3 line 11 (C2:L32-C3:L11) describe the operation of the measuring device to detect the loading of the cleaning member with the cleaning fluid.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller and detection structure of Xiao Biao and Tam with the moisture detection structure of Reimann to improve the cleaning performance of the device (Reimann C1:L30-C2:L8).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Xiao Biao, Tam, and Reimann disclose the ground cleaning apparatus of claim 12. Reimann further teaches the rolling brush detection structure comprises two electrically-conductive contacts (items 6 and 7 in figure 2), the two electrically-conductive contacts are arranged at an interval (as seen in figure 2 and described in C2:L18-22), the electrically-conductive contacts are arranged in contact with the rolling brush layer on the rolling brush assembly, the two electrically-conductive contacts are respectively connected with the through whether electricity is conducted between the two electrically-conductive contacts (detecting resistivity in C2:L32-45 to determine moisture content).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18 and 19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while Xiao Biao and Tam teaches a rotary ground cleaner that uses roller and a threaded pressure roller to pick up wastewater and garbage the references fails to teach, suggest, or make obvious the threaded rod assembly that is provided with a first thread set and a second thread set, a thread diameter of the second thread set is greater than a thread diameter of the first thread set, a thread pitch of the second thread set is less than a thread pitch of the first thread set, the second thread set is arranged corresponding to the dirt discharging opening, and the first thread set and the second thread set are flexible thread sets.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20240148211 describes mopping apparatus using a roller and a threaded rod.
US2021259500 describes a cleaning apparatus for cleaning floors using a roller and a press roll.
/FREDERICK A. HINDMAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723