DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bystedt (US 20130300181 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bystedt.
Regarding Claim 1:
A remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning, comprising a tracked chassis “working machine 1 generally comprises a chassis 5… whereby driving of the machine takes place by means of continuous tracks 17” (Bystedt, [0018]), a hydraulic arm “a first hydraulic cylinder 13 that acts between the said first arm section and the upper part” (Bystedt, [0018]), a hydraulic system “The present invention concerns a… remote-controlled working machine equipped with… demolition processing by means of hydraulically powered impact tools.” (Bystedt, [0001]), and a quick change mechanism for hydraulic tool head “A link system 20 is mounted in a jointed manner at the end of the manoeuvrable arm 9 that is turned away from the robot vehicle, which link system not only forms a combination of a coupling arrangement 21 for the attachment of a tool” (Bystedt, [0019]), wherein
the tracked chassis comprises a vehicle chassis “chassis 5” (Bystedt, [0018]), a rotating mechanism mounted on the vehicle chassis “The working machine 1 generally comprises a chassis 5 with an upper part 6 and a lower part 7” (Bystedt, [0018]), track systems mounted on left and right sides of the vehicle chassis “continuous tracks 17 that run in a parallel manner around the axes” (Bystedt, [0018]), and support leg systems mounted on two front ends of the vehicle chassis “At the corners of the lower part 7, i.e. at those parts where the sides of the lower part meet, support legs 18 that can be operated hydraulically” (Bystedt, [0018]);
the hydraulic arm is mounted on the rotating mechanism “The upper part 6 is mounted in bearings such that it can be rotated on the lower part 7 for oscillation in a horizontal plane around a vertical axis 8… a first arm section 10 that is mounted in a jointed fashion at one end at the upper part 6 for oscillation in a vertical plane by means of a first hydraulic cylinder 13 that acts between the said first arm section and the upper part” (Bystedt, [0018]), and comprises a multi-stage hinged arm and arm oil cylinder “the said arm sections comprise a first arm section 10… a first hydraulic cylinder… an extended second arm section … a second hydraulic cylinder 14… a third arm section 12… a third hydraulic cylinder (Bystedt, [0018]).; and
the quick change mechanism for hydraulic tool head “A link system 20 is mounted in a jointed manner at the end of the manoeuvrable arm” (Bystedt, [0019]) is used for quick change connection with a target tool head “forms a combination of a coupling arrangement 21 for the attachment of a tool” (Bystedt, [0019]).
Regarding Claim 2:
The remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism comprises a rotating support mounted on an upper part of the vehicle chassis and capable of rotating “upper part 6 is mounted in bearings such that it can be rotated” (Bystedt, [0018]), a rotating platform mounted on the rotating support “upper part 6 is mounted in bearings such that it can be rotated on the lower part” (Bystedt, [0018]), and a rotating motor capable of driving the rotating support to rotate “turning force is exerted by means of a hydraulic motor” (Bystedt, [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bystedt (US 20130300181 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bystedt, in view of Scheetz (US 20080258549 A1), hereinafter referred to as Scheetz.
Regarding Claim 3:
The remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 2, wherein the track system comprises a track “hydraulically active propulsion unit including hydraulic motors with individually driven wheel axles 16, whereby driving of the machine takes place by means of continuous tracks 17 that run in a parallel manner around the axes.” (Bystedt, [0018]), a driving wheel and a driven wheel arranged inside the track and adapted to the track “the wheel engaging surface having lugs thereon for mating with the apertures in the front wheel and the rear wheel such that when the drive wheel rotates” (Scheetz, [0008]), a driving motor capable of providing power to the driving wheel “the electric drive system includes a plurality of electric drive motors, each electric drive motor is operatively attached to the at least one of the front wheel and the rear wheel for rotation of the at least one of the front wheel and the rear wheel” (Scheetz, [0008]), a support wheel arranged below the vehicle chassis “Also, carrier rollers 290, e.g., two, may be utilized for further support against the belts 13.” (Scheetz, [0075]) and see Figure 1, and a tensioning oil cylinder fixed on the vehicle chassis “a track tension cylinder operatively mounted between an axle of the at least one of the front wheel or the rear wheel and the main frame” (Scheetz, [0008]); and a piston of the tensioning oil cylinder is connected to the driven wheel “at least one of the front wheel and the rear wheel is dampened by the suspension cylinder” (Scheetz, [0008]).
Although Bystedt teaches an excavator that propels itself via tracks, it does not directly specify a method for tensioning it’s belts. However, Scheetz discloses “front wheel and the rear wheel such that when the drive wheel rotates, the belt is positively driven”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “track, a driving wheel and a driven wheel”; “each electric drive motor is operatively attached to the at least one of the front wheel and the rear wheel”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “driving motor”; “The first wheel station is indicated by first lug engaged rear wheel 15, a second wheel station is indicated a second lug engaged wheel 402, a third wheel station is indicated a third lug engaged wheel 404, a fourth wheel station is indicated a fourth lug engaged wheel 406, a fifth wheel station is indicated a fourth lug engaged wheel 408, and a sixth wheel station is indicated by a sixth lug engaged front wheel 14.”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “support wheel”; and “at least one belt tensioning system for maintaining tension on the plurality of belts, each of the plurality of belt tensioning system having a track tension cylinder operatively mounted between an axle of the at least one of the front wheel or the rear wheel and the main frame”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “a tensioning oil cylinder fixed on the vehicle chassis; and a piston of the tensioning oil cylinder is connected to the driven wheel”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the excavator system with a tensioner because tracks cannot be maintained on any sort of wheels without constant and flexible tensioning. This is an example of the “use of known technique to improve similar devices”. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 4 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bystedt (US 20130300181 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bystedt, in view of Scheetz (US 20080258549 A1), hereinafter referred to as Scheetz, further in view of Huang (US 20120292464 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding Claim 4:
The remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 3, wherein the support leg system comprises a support leg crossbeam hinged to the vehicle chassis “the first embodiment may further include a leg… hinged with the swinging arm 112” (Huang, [0070]), a support leg hinged to the support leg crossbeam “the first embodiment may further include a leg… which has an inner end hinged with the swinging arm 112” (Huang, [0070]) and a support leg oil cylinder connected to the support leg and the support leg crossbeam by hinges “the first embodiment may further include a leg withdrawing hydraulic cylinder 118 which has an inner end hinged with the swinging arm 112” (Huang, [0070]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bystedt (US 20130300181 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bystedt, in view of Scheetz (US 20080258549 A1), hereinafter referred to as Scheetz, further in view of Huang (US 20120292464 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang, further in view of Lundgren (US 20120125459 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lundgren.
Regarding Claim 5:
The remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 4, wherein the hydraulic arm comprises a first-stage arm hinged to the rotating platform “said arm sections comprise a first arm section 10 that is mounted in a jointed fashion at one end at the upper part 6” (Bystedt, [0018]), and the first-stage arm and the rotating platform are hinged with a first-stage arm oil cylinder “jointed… at one end… for oscillation in a vertical plane by means of a first hydraulic cylinder” (Bystedt, [0018]); a tail end of the first-stage arm is hinged with a second-stage arm ““an extended second arm section 11 one end of which is united in a jointed manner with the second end of the first arm” (Bystedt, [0018]), and a second-stage arm oil cylinder is hinged between the second-stage arm and the first-stage arm “oscillation in a vertical plane by means of a second hydraulic cylinder 14 that acts between the said first and second arm sections” (Bystedt, [0018]); a tail end of the second-stage arm is hinged with a third-stage arm “a third arm section 12, one end of which is united in a jointed manner with the second end of the second arm section and can be oscillated in a vertical plane by means of a third hydraulic cylinder 15 that acts between the said second and third arm sections” (Bystedt, [0018]), a tail end of the third-stage arm is hinged with the quick change mechanism for hydraulic tool head “A link system 20 is mounted in a jointed manner at the end of the manoeuvrable arm 9 that is turned away from the robot vehicle, which link system… forms a combination of a coupling arrangement 21 for the attachment of a tool” (Bystedt, [0019]), the quick change mechanism for hydraulic tool head is hinged with a connecting rod “coupling arrangement 21 for the attachment of a tool, but also forms a tilt or demolition arrangement” (Bystedt, [0019]), the connecting rod and the tail end of the third-stage arm are hinged with a rocker “controlled oscillation of the attached tool around the centre of an axis 23 at the free end of the manoeuvrable arm 9” (Bystedt, [0019]), and a third-stage arm oil cylinder is hinged between the rocker and the third-stage arm “controlled oscillation of the tool around the central axis is achieved by means of a fourth hydraulic cylinder 29 that acts between the third arm section 12 and the bridge link 27” (Bystedt, [0019]); a control valve group is arranged on the rotating platform “a valve arranged at the mounting structure of the front end loader or the base on the right side of the tractor” (Lundgren, [0002]); and the support leg oil cylinder, the first-stage arm oil cylinder, the second-stage arm oil cylinder, and the third-stage arm oil cylinder are all connected to the control valve group “any associated equipment controlled by hydraulics are generally provided with a valve arranged at the mounting structure of the front end loader or the base on the right side of the tractor, which connects the hydraulics of the tractor with the hydraulics of the front end loader and by means of which the operator controls the equipment” (Lundgren, [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system taught by Bystedt with the hydraulic control equipment taught by Lundgren because as Lundgren states, it is common for machines with front end equipment to position their hydraulic power equipment on the base.
Lundgren discloses “Tractors provided with front end loaders and any associated equipment controlled by hydraulics are generally provided with a valve arranged at the mounting structure of the front end loader or the base on the right side of the tractor, which connects the hydraulics of the tractor with the hydraulics of the front end loader and by means of which the operator controls the equipment.”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “control valve group is arranged on the rotating platform” and “support leg oil cylinder, the first-stage arm oil cylinder, the second-stage arm oil cylinder, and the third-stage arm oil cylinder are all connected to the control valve group”.
Regarding Claim 6:
The remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 5, wherein the quick change mechanism for hydraulic tool head comprises a connecting support hinged to the tail end of the third-stage arm “A link system 20 is mounted in a jointed manner at the end of the manoeuvrable arm 9 that is turned away from the robot vehicle, which link system not only forms a combination of a coupling arrangement 21 for the attachment of a tool, but also forms a tilt or demolition arrangement 22 for the controlled oscillation of the attached tool around the centre of an axis 23 at the free end of the manoeuvrable arm 9.” (Bystedt, [0019]), a hydraulic pipeline arranged inside the connecting support “The rear end piece 57 is provided with openings 59 through which a third pair of cables 61 with cables denoted by 61:1 and 61:2 for the supply of the impact mechanism of the hammer 32 with hydraulic medium extend.” (Bystedt, [0026]), a hydraulic rotating mechanism connected to a tail end of the connecting support “As is made most clear by FIG. 5, the forward arm subsection 12:2, which can be rotated, is provided at two of its opposite side walls with access openings 62:2 for the second end 38:2 of the rotary coupling 38.” (Bystedt, [0027]), and a quick change adapter mounted at a front end of the hydraulic rotating mechanism “In a corresponding manner, the rear arm subsection 12:1 is provided with access openings 62:1 for the first end 38:1 of the rotary coupling 38. The cables 61:1 and 61:2 extend forwards, one on each side of the forward arm subsection 12:2 that can be rotated” (Bystedt, [0027])”.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bystedt (US 20130300181 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bystedt, in view of Scheetz (US 20080258549 A1), hereinafter referred to as Scheetz, further in view of Huang (US 20120292464 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang, further in view of Lundgren (US 20120125459 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lundgren, further in view of Kollmann (US 20210010242 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kollmann, further in view of Oliver, et. al. (US 20230114733 A1), hereinafter referred to as Oliver.
Regarding Claim 7:
The remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 6, wherein the quick change adapter comprises a quick change adapter base, an H-shaped hydraulic cylinder arranged in the quick change adapter base “The coupling arrangement 21 comprises a link arm 24 that is united in a manner that allows pivoting around an axis at the end of the manoeuvrable arm 9 and intended to interact with a connector 25 at the tool designed in a complementary manner for the attachment of the tool onto the link arm” (Bystedt, [0019], See Figure 5, and “the support 7 and which can jointly be hydraulically moved through an H-shaped cylinder 15 shown in FIG. 1B” [Kollmann, [0040]), and a hydraulic quick connector socket and an electrical plug mounted on the H-shaped hydraulic cylinder “A second pair of cables 48 is connected to the rotary coupling 38 and services the fourth hydraulic cylinder 29, which is intended for the breaking action and tilting of the hammer system 30, through this.”(Bystedt, [0022]) and “Certain embodiments of the winch column include an electrical/junction box 60 (FIG. 15). Lights, computer(s), and electric air compressors and safety components such as sensors on all locking pins, are the electrically powered component loads that are powered by the excavator. These are powered by the excavator via a quick connect electrical connector that connects from the excavator to the onboard load center located in the junction box 60 on the winch column.” (Oliver, [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system of Bystedt with the H-shaped hydraulic cylinder disclosed by Kollmann because a cylinder mounted perpendicularly to the linkages of an arm can only be mounted in a finite amount of ways. See Figure 5 of Bystedt. Note how the hydraulic cylinder is mounted to the arm linkages, and how they compare with the “H-shaped cylinder” disclosed by Kollmann. Kollmann discloses “the support 7 and which can jointly be hydraulically moved through an H-shaped cylinder 15 shown in FIG. 1B”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “an H-shaped hydraulic cylinder”. See MPEP 2143.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system of Bystedt with the “electrical connector” disclosed by Oliver because electricity and hydraulic power are just two ways to power excavator tools. It would have been obvious to combine the two power sources as potential options for a quick connect/change tool change system, as the objective of a quick connect/change tool is the versatility to be able to power and control a wide variety of tools. Oliver discloses “These are powered by the excavator via a quick connect electrical connector that connects from the excavator to the onboard load center located in the junction box 60 on the winch column. Hydraulic power is provided to the winch column by quick connected hydraulic lines from the excavator's main hydraulic system.”, synonymous with applicant’s disclosed “electrical plug”.
Regarding Claim 8:
A dismantling method for nuclear facility decommissioning, using the remote-controlled dismantling robot for nuclear facility decommissioning according to claim 7, comprising:
S1: moving the robot to the front of a required target tool head, moving the hydraulic arm to be above the target tool head, and connecting the quick change adapter with the tool head by operating the hydraulic arm and the rotating platform to move; and
Bystedt discloses “The coupling arrangement 21 comprises a link arm 24 that is united in a manner that allows pivoting around an axis at the end of the manoeuvrable arm 9 and intended to interact with a connector 25 at the tool designed in a complementary manner for the attachment of the tool onto the link arm. The tilt and demolition arrangement 22 comprises a bridge link 27 that is united in a manner that allows pivoting around an axis 26 that lies somewhat farther in along the manoeuvrable arm.” (Bystedt, [0019]).
S2: lifting the hydraulic arm to separate the target tool head from the ground, operating and controlling the H-shaped hydraulic cylinder on the quick change adapter to expand, and inserting the electrical plug and the hydraulic quick connector socket with the movement of the H-shaped hydraulic cylinder to activate hydraulic pressure and electrical control at the target tool head and lock the H-shaped hydraulic cylinder with a pin shaft inside the target tool head, so as to complete loading of the tool head, or complete unloading of the tool head by reverse operations.
Bystedt discloses “The tilt and demolition arrangement 22 comprises a bridge link 27 that is united in a manner that allows pivoting around an axis 26 that lies somewhat farther in along the manoeuvrable arm. The link arm 24 for interaction with the connector 25 of the tool and the bridge link 27 are in connection with each other in a manner that transfers motion through an intermediate link 28, whereby controlled oscillation of the tool around the central axis is achieved by means of a fourth hydraulic cylinder 29 that acts between the third arm section 12 and the bridge link 27.” (Bystedt, [0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Junck, et. al. (US 20250129579 A1)
Junck discloses an excavator, however, does not teach an automated dismantling system, and was therefore not used as prior art.
/J.B.C./
Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656