DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination. This office action is response to the submission on 11/4/2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the desired temperature of the liquid" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets this term to be introduced here.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P. Gupta, V. Kumar, K. P. S. Rana and P. Mishra, "Velocity and position forms of self-tuning Fuzzy PI controller applied to jacketed CSTR," 2015 Annual IEEE India Conference (INDICON), New Delhi, India, 2015, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/INDICON.2015.7443558. (hereinafter referred to as “Gupta”) in view of Zhu (CN218675834U) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Hiroi et al. (JPS61208522A) (citations to examiner provided translation).
Claim 1:
Gupta teaches “A liquid treatment device, comprising: a tank for receiving and further processing liquid through biological and/or chemical processes taking place in the liquid,” (Gupta teaches a CSTR (Continuous Stirred Tank Reactor) in Gupta [Page 2, Section A, First paragraph] "Consider a jacketed CSTR which performs first order exothermic irreversible chemical reaction (A→B) and due to this, an excess amount of heat evolves from the reactor. Therefore, often cold fluid is required for removal of excess amount of heat from the reactor. In other words, a coolant stream with an inlet temperature (lesser than the reactor temperature) continuously takes out the heat from reactor to maintain the desired reaction temperature."),
“a tempering jacket which surrounds the tank and is arranged in a fluid circuit in which a tempering fluid circulates, and via which the liquid in the tank is tempered to control biological processes in the liquid,” (Gupta teaches the reactor temperature which controls reaction rate being controlled by a jacket flow rate in Gupta [Page 1, Section II - Page 2, first paragraph] "The product concentration of CSTR largely relies on several factors such as reactor temperature, jacket temperature, and jacket flow rate etc. Primarily, regulation of the reactor temperature is the main control objective in CSTR, which in turn controls the reaction rate. This reactor temperature can be controlled by jacket flow rate. However, upstream jacket flow rate and its temperature significantly vary in real world scenarios and disturb the steady state operation of CSTR. To compensate the deteriorating effects of these disturbances on process variables, conventional feedback control scheme may not provide satisfactory results. Therefore, some other control configurations like cascade control are utilized to efficiently handle such disturbances. Generally, cascade control configuration has one manipulated variable and more than one controlled variables "),
“a control valve which is located in the fluid circuit and via which the liquid flow in the tempering jacket can be closed-loop controlled to adjust the temperature of the liquid in the tank,” (Gupta teaches a controller TC2 adjusting a jacket flow rate qf in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively."; Gupta Fig. 1 teaches jacket temperature controller TC2 controlling a valve i.e. to adjust the flow rate),
“a first temperature sensor which measures the actual temperature of the liquid received in the tank, a second temperature sensor which measures the actual temperature of the tempering fluid present in the tempering jacket,” (Gupta teaches a controller reactor temperature (X2) and return fluid (X3) being monitored by temperature sensors TT1 and TT2 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1),
“an electronic closed-loop control unit for the closed-loop control of a temperature of the tempering fluid present in the tempering jacket, wherein the closed-loop control unit includes a primary loop of closed-loop controlling and a secondary loop of closed-loop controlling, wherein a first electronic closed-loop controller is included in the primary loop of closed-loop controlling and a second electronic closed-loop controller being included in the secondary loop of closed-loop controlling,” (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an inner and outer loop with feedback in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2),
“wherein the closed-loop control unit is configured such that the reference variable of the first closed-loop controller is the desired temperature of the liquid contained in the tank and the actual temperature of the liquid is fed into the first closed-loop controller as a closed-loop control variable,” (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an outer loop controller that controls reactor temperature i.e. the temperature of the liquid in the tank in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2; Gupta teaches the actual temperature of the liquid (X2) being monitored by temperature sensor TT1 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1),
“wherein the desired value for the temperature of the tempering fluid contained in the tempering jacket forms the reference variable for the second closed-loop controller and the actual temperature of the tempering fluid contained in the tempering jacket is fed as a closed-loop control variable into the second closed-loop controller,” (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an inner loop controller that controls jacket temperature in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2; Gupta teaches the actual temperature of the jacket (X3) being monitored by temperature sensor TT2 and provided to secondary controller TC2 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1), and
“the second closed-loop controller determining a controlled variable by means of which it drives the control valve.” (Gupta teaches a controller TC2 adjusting a jacket flow rate qf in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively."; Gupta Fig. 1 teaches jacket temperature controller TC2 controlling a valve i.e. to adjust the flow rate).
Gupta does not appear to explicitly teach “and that the controlled variable of the first closed-loop controller is a desired value for a difference between the temperature of the liquid received in the tank and the temperature of the tempering fluid in the tempering jacket which is necessary to achieve the desired temperature,” However, Zhu does teach this claim limitation (Zhu teaches monitoring a difference between jacket and tank temperature (Δe2(kT)) and a difference between desired tank temperature and actual tank temperature (Δe1(kT)) in Zhu [0022] "A real-time comparison is made between the set fermentation temperature and the tank temperature sampled by temperature sensor 3 inside the reactor. Based on the deviation between the set fermentation temperature and the sampled temperature, Δe1(kT) = Tsp - T1pv, where Tsp is the set fermentation temperature of the reactor and T1pv is the sampled tank temperature of the reactor, a PID adaptive algorithm is employed." and in Zhu [0024] "During fermentation, cells or bacteria generate heat at different growth stages. Due to the large temperature lag, the real-time water temperature of the water jacket 2 is compared with the real-time temperature of the tank. The deviation between the water temperature of the water jacket 2 and the tank temperature is calculated in real time as Δe2(kT)=T2pv-T1pv, where T2pv is the sampling temperature of the cooling medium in the reactor jacket. Based on the magnitude of Δe2(kT), the output of the PID algorithm u(k) is adjusted in real time to achieve precise control of the tank temperature.Meanwhile, to mitigate the excessive overshoot caused by the initial integral action, the concept of integral cut-in was introduced. Based on the magnitude of the Δe1(kT) deviation, the integral action can be introduced in a timely manner according to the set integral cut-in point, which greatly reduces the cumulative effect of the integral on the PID and significantly reduces the temperature overshoot. Since the final PID control digital switch signal allows the switching valve to switch on and off in a periodic manner, and the use of dual-deviation PID temperature control enables more precise control of the tank temperature, allowing the culture temperature control range to be within Tsp±0.1℃, resulting in better culture effects."; Zhu teaches that due to the lag characteristic of the liquid temperature rise, adjusting solely based on difference between desired tank and actual tank temperature leads to over shoot. In order to prevent this, a range value for Δe2(kT) is set in order to achieve precise control of the tank temperature i.e. the controller outputs based on a desired difference between tank and jacket temperature Zhu [0026-0027] "Based on the set fermentation temperature Tsp of the reactor and the sampled temperature T1pv of the reactor 1 tank, the output of the PID algorithm is controlled to prevent integral oversaturation. According to the magnitude of Δe1(kT)=Tsp-Tpv, the cut-off time of the integral action is controlled. Before the integral action is initiated, rapid heating can be achieved, shortening the heating time. After the sampled temperature of the tank reaches the integral intervention range, the PID output is automatically adjusted according to the tuned proportional P, integral I, and derivative D parameters.When the electric heater 7 heats, the temperature collected by the jacket water temperature sensor 8 (T2) rises rapidly. Due to the large lag characteristic of the refrigerant liquid temperature rise, adjusting the PID output based solely on the magnitude of the Δe1 (kT) deviation to control the reactor tank temperature will cause the jacket temperature T2 to be too high when the tank temperature T1pv reaches the set value, resulting in excessive overshoot in T1pv, which seriously affects the accuracy of cell culture temperature. Therefore, another deviation control needs to be added: Δe2 (kT) = T2pv - T1pv. A range value for the Δe2 (kT) deviation is set. After entering the set range, the duty cycle of the high-level output of the thyristor of the electric heater 7 is controlled according to the magnitude of Δe2 (kT) to ultimately achieve precise control of the tank temperature.").
Gupta and Zhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of jacketed reactor control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gupta and Zhu before him/her, to modify the teachings of a controller of a continuous stirred reactor of Gupta to include the determination of a desired difference between jacket and tank temperature of Zhu because adding the Cell culture device based on optimize PID temperature control of Zhu would allow for precise control, enhancing quality and quantity as described in Zhu [0014] “This invention improves the precise control of cell growth temperature, enhances cell growth quality and quantity, reduces production costs for manufacturers, and increases the efficiency of vaccine manufacturers.”
Neither Gupta or Zhu appear to explicitly teach “and the actual temperature of the liquid is additionally offset against the controlled variable of the first closed-loop controller to form a desired value of the temperature for the tempering fluid contained in the tempering jacket,” However, Hiroi does teach this claim limitation (Hiroi teaches a jacketed tank which offsets an output from a controller m1 by the current jacket outlet temperature in order to provide a target jacket temperature M1 i.e. the m1 signal is the difference between jacket outlet temperature and target jacket inlet temperature and the concept of determining a difference may be applied to the output requiring a maximum difference between jacket and tank temperature in Hiroi [Page 2, Embodiments of the invention section, paragraph 3] "The features of this invention device include an outlet temperature detector 20 that detects the temperature of the heat medium 2 flowing out from the jacket, and an operation signal obtained from the deviation between the tank internal temperature signal S1 and the temperature setting signal TS. The purpose is to provide a target generating means 22 which outputs the target signal M1 of the jacket inlet temperature detector 21 by adding the outlet temperature signal d to m1. Specifically, the target creation means 22 includes an in-tank hot water temperature controller 23 that creates an operation signal m1 from an in-tank concentration signal S1 and a temperature setting signal Ts, and an outlet temperature signal in the operation signal m1 output from this controller 23. and an adder 24 that adds d."; see Hiroi Fig. 1).
Gupta, Zhu, and Hiroi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of jacketed reactor control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gupta, Zhu, and Hiroi before him/her, to modify the teachings of a controller of a continuous stirred reactor of Gupta modified to include the determination of a desired difference between jacket and tank temperature of Zhu to include the offsetting of a controlled variable by a temperature of Hiroi because adding the Temperature controller of Hiroi would improve accuracy by taking into account the outlet temperature of the jacket as described in Hiroi [Page 3, Effect of the invention section] “As described in detail above, according to the present invention, it is possible to provide a temperature control device that can further improve accuracy by taking into account the outlet temperature of the jacket.”
Claim 2:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the controlled variable of the second closed-loop controller is a switching signal for switching the control valve.” (Hiroi teaches target signal M1 being outputted by controller 21 i.e. the second close-loop controller to multi-valves 8 and 9 in order to control flow in Hiroi [Page 2, Embodiments of the invention section, paragraph 5] "Here, the operation signal m1 is (K/η)・ΔTc of equation (5)corresponds to The adder 24 combines the operating signal m1 and the outlet temperature signal d from the outlet temperature detector 20 (i.e., T in equation (5)).(equivalent to o) and output to the jacket inlet temperature controller 21 as a target signal. This allows l! Savings 21, the target signal M1 is indicative of the jacket inlet temperature Ti shown in equation (5), that is, it is based on the change in the outlet temperature. Thus, the controller 21 calculates the deviation between the inlet temperature signal P and the target signal M1, performs a P calculation etc. to make this deviation zero, and outputs the operation signal Ma to the multi-valve 8.9. As a result, the temperature of the heat transfer medium 2 is adjusted according to the fluctuation of the outlet concentration and is sent to the jacket of the reaction vessel 1.").
Claim 3:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 2, wherein the second closed-loop controller is configured to output a pulse-width modulated switching signal.” (Zhu teaches a PWM algorithm to convert the duty cycle of the supply valve to the required opening in Zhu [0028] "During cell culture, cells automatically generate heat, causing the reactor temperature T1pv to rise. To prevent excessive and continuous temperature increases, the cooling function of the PID bidirectional temperature control should be activated promptly. Based on the real-time deviation between Δe1(kT) and Δe2(kT), and according to the real-time output of the PID controller, the PWM algorithm is used to automatically convert the duty cycle of the cold medium supply valve 11 to the required opening time until the reactor temperature T1pv drops to an allowable range.").
Claim 4:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 3, wherein the period of the pulse-width modulated switching signal is between 100 seconds and 600 seconds.” (Zhu teaches a PWM algorithm to convert the duty cycle of the supply valve to the required opening in Zhu [0028] "During cell culture, cells automatically generate heat, causing the reactor temperature T1pv to rise. To prevent excessive and continuous temperature increases, the cooling function of the PID bidirectional temperature control should be activated promptly. Based on the real-time deviation between Δe1(kT) and Δe2(kT), and according to the real-time output of the PID controller, the PWM algorithm is used to automatically convert the duty cycle of the cold medium supply valve 11 to the required opening time until the reactor temperature T1pv drops to an allowable range."; it is merely a design choice to set the period of the signal between 100 and 600 seconds that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a suitable option for modulating the control of flow through the valve. See MPEP 2144.05 Section II, B “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."”).
Claim 5:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 3, wherein the on-time of the pulse-width modulated switching signal is between 1 second and 10 seconds.” (Zhu teaches a PWM algorithm to convert the duty cycle of the supply valve to the required opening in Zhu [0028] "During cell culture, cells automatically generate heat, causing the reactor temperature T1pv to rise. To prevent excessive and continuous temperature increases, the cooling function of the PID bidirectional temperature control should be activated promptly. Based on the real-time deviation between Δe1(kT) and Δe2(kT), and according to the real-time output of the PID controller, the PWM algorithm is used to automatically convert the duty cycle of the cold medium supply valve 11 to the required opening time until the reactor temperature T1pv drops to an allowable range."; it is merely a design choice to set the on time of the signal between 1 and 10 seconds that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a suitable option for modulating the control of flow through the valve. See MPEP 2144.05 Section II, B “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103.").
Claim 6:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the first closed-loop controller and/or the second closed-loop controller is/are a PID controller.” (Gupta teaches a secondary P controller may be nested with a PID controller in Gupta [Section III C] "In cascade control mode, secondary controller (Conventional P controller) is nested with different types of primary controllers (i.e. STFPIC in VF, STFPIC in PF, and PID) for controlling the reactor temperature of CSTR. The optimization of primary as well as secondary controller has been done by grey wolf optimizer (GWO) [20], [21] in order to reduce the cost function which is taken as the Integral of Absolute Error (IAE) for set-point tracking. The cost function curve is shown in Fig. 7 and the optimized values of each controller gain (or scaling factors) are listed in the Table V.").
Claim 10:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches "The liquid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the closed-loop control unit comprises a first electronic comparison unit which is coupled in terms of signaling to the first closed-loop controller and which is configured to subtract the desired temperature of the liquid contained in the tank and the actual temperature of the liquid in the tank from each other, and wherein the closed-loop control difference is transferred to the first closed-loop controller." (Zhu teaches monitoring a difference between desired tank temperature and actual tank temperature (Δe1(kT)) which is used in the PID calculation i.e. the difference is provided to the controller in Zhu [0022] "A real-time comparison is made between the set fermentation temperature and the tank temperature sampled by temperature sensor 3 inside the reactor. Based on the deviation between the set fermentation temperature and the sampled temperature, Δe1(kT) = Tsp - T1pv, where Tsp is the set fermentation temperature of the reactor and T1pv is the sampled tank temperature of the reactor, a PID adaptive algorithm is employed." and in Zhu [0024] "During fermentation, cells or bacteria generate heat at different growth stages. Due to the large temperature lag, the real-time water temperature of the water jacket 2 is compared with the real-time temperature of the tank. The deviation between the water temperature of the water jacket 2 and the tank temperature is calculated in real time as Δe2(kT)=T2pv-T1pv, where T2pv is the sampling temperature of the cooling medium in the reactor jacket. Based on the magnitude of Δe2(kT), the output of the PID algorithm u(k) is adjusted in real time to achieve precise control of the tank temperature.Meanwhile, to mitigate the excessive overshoot caused by the initial integral action, the concept of integral cut-in was introduced. Based on the magnitude of the Δe1(kT) deviation, the integral action can be introduced in a timely manner according to the set integral cut-in point, which greatly reduces the cumulative effect of the integral on the PID and significantly reduces the temperature overshoot. Since the final PID control digital switch signal allows the switching valve to switch on and off in a periodic manner, and the use of dual-deviation PID temperature control enables more precise control of the tank temperature, allowing the culture temperature control range to be within Tsp±0.1℃, resulting in better culture effects.")
Claim 11:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the closed-loop control unit comprises a second electronic comparison unit which subtracts the controlled variable of the first closed-loop controller and the actual temperature of the liquid from each other and forms a difference value.” (Zhu teaches monitoring a difference between desired tank temperature and actual tank temperature (Δe1(kT)) which is used in the PID calculation in Zhu [0022] "A real-time comparison is made between the set fermentation temperature and the tank temperature sampled by temperature sensor 3 inside the reactor. Based on the deviation between the set fermentation temperature and the sampled temperature, Δe1(kT) = Tsp - T1pv, where Tsp is the set fermentation temperature of the reactor and T1pv is the sampled tank temperature of the reactor, a PID adaptive algorithm is employed."; Zhu teaches that the magnitude of Δe1(kT) affects the output of the controller i.e. a difference may be determined between the required difference between the jacket and tank and the actual tank temperature in Zhu [0024] "During fermentation, cells or bacteria generate heat at different growth stages. Due to the large temperature lag, the real-time water temperature of the water jacket 2 is compared with the real-time temperature of the tank. The deviation between the water temperature of the water jacket 2 and the tank temperature is calculated in real time as Δe2(kT)=T2pv-T1pv, where T2pv is the sampling temperature of the cooling medium in the reactor jacket. Based on the magnitude of Δe2(kT), the output of the PID algorithm u(k) is adjusted in real time to achieve precise control of the tank temperature.Meanwhile, to mitigate the excessive overshoot caused by the initial integral action, the concept of integral cut-in was introduced. Based on the magnitude of the Δe1(kT) deviation, the integral action can be introduced in a timely manner according to the set integral cut-in point, which greatly reduces the cumulative effect of the integral on the PID and significantly reduces the temperature overshoot. Since the final PID control digital switch signal allows the switching valve to switch on and off in a periodic manner, and the use of dual-deviation PID temperature control enables more precise control of the tank temperature, allowing the culture temperature control range to be within Tsp±0.1℃, resulting in better culture effects.").
Claim 12:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 11, wherein a third electronic comparison unit is provided, which is coupled in terms of signaling to the second closed-loop controller and is configured so as to receive the desired value formed by the second comparison unit and forms a difference value with the actual temperature of the tempering fluid, which is transferred to the second closed-loop controller as a closed-loop control difference.” (Hiroi teaches adder 24 combining the outlet temperature i.e. jacket temperature and signal m1 from controller 23 i.e. the first controller may provide the adjusted result and sending the result to controller 21 i.e. the second controller to multi-valves 8 and 9 in order to control flow in Hiroi [Page 2, Embodiments of the invention section, paragraph 5] "Here, the operation signal m1 is (K/η)・ΔTc of equation (5)corresponds to The adder 24 combines the operating signal m1 and the outlet temperature signal d from the outlet temperature detector 20 (i.e., T in equation (5)).(equivalent to o) and output to the jacket inlet temperature controller 21 as a target signal. This allows l! Savings 21, the target signal M1 is indicative of the jacket inlet temperature Ti shown in equation (5), that is, it is based on the change in the outlet temperature. Thus, the controller 21 calculates the deviation between the inlet temperature signal P and the target signal M1, performs a P calculation etc. to make this deviation zero, and outputs the operation signal Ma to the multi-valve 8.9. As a result, the temperature of the heat transfer medium 2 is adjusted according to the fluctuation of the outlet concentration and is sent to the jacket of the reaction vessel 1.").
Claim 13:
Gupta teaches “A method of treating a liquid in a liquid treatment device, comprising a tank for receiving and further processing liquid through biological and/or processes taking place in the liquid,” (Gupta teaches a CSTR (Continuous Stirred Tank Reactor) in Gupta [Page 2, Section A, First paragraph] "Consider a jacketed CSTR which performs first order exothermic irreversible chemical reaction (A→B) and due to this, an excess amount of heat evolves from the reactor. Therefore, often cold fluid is required for removal of excess amount of heat from the reactor. In other words, a coolant stream with an inlet temperature (lesser than the reactor temperature) continuously takes out the heat from reactor to maintain the desired reaction temperature."),
“a tempering jacket which surrounds the tank and is arranged in a fluid circuit in which a tempering fluid circulates, and via which the liquid in the tank is tempered to control biological processes in the liquid,” (Gupta teaches the reactor temperature which controls reaction rate being controlled by a jacket flow rate in Gupta [Page 1, Section II - Page 2, first paragraph] "The product concentration of CSTR largely relies on several factors such as reactor temperature, jacket temperature, and jacket flow rate etc. Primarily, regulation of the reactor temperature is the main control objective in CSTR, which in turn controls the reaction rate. This reactor temperature can be controlled by jacket flow rate. However, upstream jacket flow rate and its temperature significantly vary in real world scenarios and disturb the steady state operation of CSTR. To compensate the deteriorating effects of these disturbances on process variables, conventional feedback control scheme may not provide satisfactory results. Therefore, some other control configurations like cascade control are utilized to efficiently handle such disturbances. Generally, cascade control configuration has one manipulated variable and more than one controlled variables "),
“a control valve which is located in the fluid circuit and via which the liquid flow in the tempering jacket can be closed-loop controlled to adjust the temperature of the liquid in the tank,” (Gupta teaches a controller TC2 adjusting a jacket flow rate qf in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively."; Gupta Fig. 1 teaches jacket temperature controller TC2 controlling a valve i.e. to adjust the flow rate),
“a first temperature sensor which measures the actual temperature of the liquid received in the tank, a second temperature sensor which measures the actual temperature of the tempering fluid present in the tempering jacket,” (Gupta teaches a controller reactor temperature (X2) and return fluid (X3) being monitored by temperature sensors TT1 and TT2 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1),
“and an electronic closed-loop control unit for the closed-loop control of a temperature of the tempering fluid present in the tempering jacket, the closed-loop control unit comprising a primary loop of closed-loop controlling and a secondary loop of closed-loop controlling,” (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an inner and outer loop with feedback in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2),
“a first electronic closed-loop controller being included in the primary loop of closed-loop controlling and a second electronic closed-loop controller being included in the secondary loop of closed-loop controlling,” (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an outer loop controller that controls reactor temperature i.e. the temperature of the liquid in the tank in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2; Gupta teaches the actual temperature of the liquid (X2) being monitored by temperature sensor TT1 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1),
“and the reference variable of the first closed-loop controller being the desired temperature of the liquid contained in the tank, the method comprising: providing the actual temperature of the liquid as a closed-loop control variable into the first closed-loop controller,” (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an outer loop controller that controls reactor temperature i.e. the temperature of the liquid in the tank in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2; Gupta teaches the actual temperature of the liquid (X2) being monitored by temperature sensor TT1 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1),
"and providing the desired value for the tempering fluid contained in the tempering jacket to form the reference variable for the second closed-loop controller and the actual temperature of the tempering fluid contained in the tempering jacket is fed as a closed-loop control variable into the second closed-loop controller," (Gupta teaches a cascaded control system including an inner loop controller that controls jacket temperature in Gupta [Page 2, Section B first paragraph] "A cascade control scheme of the jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 2, in which jacket temperature control loop (secondary loop) is nested with the reactor temperature control loop (primary loop). In cascade arrangement, the output of the primary controller (reactor temperature controller) works as a set-point to the secondary controller (jacket temperature controller), whereas the set-point of the primary controller is the desired value of the reactor temperature." and in Gupta Fig. 2; Gupta teaches the actual temperature of the jacket (X3) being monitored by temperature sensor TT2 and provided to secondary controller TC2 in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively." and in Gupta Fig. 1), and
“the second closed-loop controller determining a controlled variable by means of which it drives the control valve.” (Gupta teaches a controller TC2 adjusting a jacket flow rate qf in Gupta [Page 2, second paragraph of Section A] "The schematic diagram of jacketed CSTR is shown in Fig. 1, where reactor temperature (X2) or reactor concentration (x1) is the dimensionless process variable and jacket flow rate (qf) is the dimensionless manipulated variable. Parameters, q, x1f,x2f,x3f, and x3 are dimensionless reactor feed flow rate, reactor feed concentration, reactor feed temperature, jacket inlet temperature and jacket temperature respectively."; Gupta Fig. 1 teaches jacket temperature controller TC2 controlling a valve i.e. to adjust the flow rate).
Gupta does not appear to explicitly teach “which determines a controlled variable in the form of a desired value for a difference between the temperature of the liquid contained in the tank and the temperature of the tempering fluid in the tempering jacket which is necessary to achieve the desired temperature,” However, Zhu does teach this claim limitation (Zhu teaches monitoring a difference between jacket and tank temperature (Δe2(kT)) and a difference between desired tank temperature and actual tank temperature (Δe1(kT)) in Zhu [0022] "A real-time comparison is made between the set fermentation temperature and the tank temperature sampled by temperature sensor 3 inside the reactor. Based on the deviation between the set fermentation temperature and the sampled temperature, Δe1(kT) = Tsp - T1pv, where Tsp is the set fermentation temperature of the reactor and T1pv is the sampled tank temperature of the reactor, a PID adaptive algorithm is employed." and in Zhu [0024] "During fermentation, cells or bacteria generate heat at different growth stages. Due to the large temperature lag, the real-time water temperature of the water jacket 2 is compared with the real-time temperature of the tank. The deviation between the water temperature of the water jacket 2 and the tank temperature is calculated in real time as Δe2(kT)=T2pv-T1pv, where T2pv is the sampling temperature of the cooling medium in the reactor jacket. Based on the magnitude of Δe2(kT), the output of the PID algorithm u(k) is adjusted in real time to achieve precise control of the tank temperature.Meanwhile, to mitigate the excessive overshoot caused by the initial integral action, the concept of integral cut-in was introduced. Based on the magnitude of the Δe1(kT) deviation, the integral action can be introduced in a timely manner according to the set integral cut-in point, which greatly reduces the cumulative effect of the integral on the PID and significantly reduces the temperature overshoot. Since the final PID control digital switch signal allows the switching valve to switch on and off in a periodic manner, and the use of dual-deviation PID temperature control enables more precise control of the tank temperature, allowing the culture temperature control range to be within Tsp±0.1℃, resulting in better culture effects."; Zhu teaches that due to the lag characteristic of the liquid temperature rise, adjusting solely based on difference between desired tank and actual tank temperature leads to over shoot. In order to prevent this, a range value for Δe2(kT) is set in order to achieve precise control of the tank temperature i.e. the controller outputs based on a desired difference between tank and jacket temperature Zhu [0026-0027] "Based on the set fermentation temperature Tsp of the reactor and the sampled temperature T1pv of the reactor 1 tank, the output of the PID algorithm is controlled to prevent integral oversaturation. According to the magnitude of Δe1(kT)=Tsp-Tpv, the cut-off time of the integral action is controlled. Before the integral action is initiated, rapid heating can be achieved, shortening the heating time. After the sampled temperature of the tank reaches the integral intervention range, the PID output is automatically adjusted according to the tuned proportional P, integral I, and derivative D parameters.When the electric heater 7 heats, the temperature collected by the jacket water temperature sensor 8 (T2) rises rapidly. Due to the large lag characteristic of the refrigerant liquid temperature rise, adjusting the PID output based solely on the magnitude of the Δe1 (kT) deviation to control the reactor tank temperature will cause the jacket temperature T2 to be too high when the tank temperature T1pv reaches the set value, resulting in excessive overshoot in T1pv, which seriously affects the accuracy of cell culture temperature. Therefore, another deviation control needs to be added: Δe2 (kT) = T2pv - T1pv. A range value for the Δe2 (kT) deviation is set. After entering the set range, the duty cycle of the high-level output of the thyristor of the electric heater 7 is controlled according to the magnitude of Δe2 (kT) to ultimately achieve precise control of the tank temperature.").
Gupta and Zhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of jacketed reactor control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gupta and Zhu before him/her, to modify the teachings of a controller of a continuous stirred reactor of Gupta to include the determination of a desired difference between jacket and tank temperature of Zhu because adding the Cell culture device based on optimize PID temperature control of Zhu would allow for precise control, enhancing quality and quantity as described in Zhu [0014] “This invention improves the precise control of cell growth temperature, enhances cell growth quality and quantity, reduces production costs for manufacturers, and increases the efficiency of vaccine manufacturers.”
Neither Gupta or Zhu appear to explicitly teach “offsetting the actual temperature of the liquid against the controlled variable of the first closed-loop controller to form a desired value of the temperature for the tempering fluid contained in the tempering jacket,” However, Hiroi does teach this claim limitation (Hiroi teaches a jacketed tank which offsets an output from a controller m1 by the current jacket outlet temperature in order to provide a target jacket temperature M1 i.e. the m1 signal is the difference between jacket outlet temperature and target jacket inlet temperature and the concept of determining a difference may be applied to the output requiring a maximum difference between jacket and tank temperature in Hiroi [Page 2, Embodiments of the invention section, paragraph 3] "The features of this invention device include an outlet temperature detector 20 that detects the temperature of the heat medium 2 flowing out from the jacket, and an operation signal obtained from the deviation between the tank internal temperature signal S1 and the temperature setting signal TS. The purpose is to provide a target generating means 22 which outputs the target signal M1 of the jacket inlet temperature detector 21 by adding the outlet temperature signal d to m1. Specifically, the target creation means 22 includes an in-tank hot water temperature controller 23 that creates an operation signal m1 from an in-tank concentration signal S1 and a temperature setting signal Ts, and an outlet temperature signal in the operation signal m1 output from this controller 23. and an adder 24 that adds d."; see Hiroi Fig. 1).
Gupta, Zhu, and Hiroi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of jacketed reactor control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gupta, Zhu, and Hiroi before him/her, to modify the teachings of a controller of a continuous stirred reactor of Gupta modified to include the determination of a desired difference between jacket and tank temperature of Zhu to include the offsetting of a controlled variable by a temperature of Hiroi because adding the Temperature controller of Hiroi would improve accuracy by taking into account the outlet temperature of the jacket as described in Hiroi [Page 3, Effect of the invention section] “As described in detail above, according to the present invention, it is possible to provide a temperature control device that can further improve accuracy by taking into account the outlet temperature of the jacket.”
Claim 14:
The limitations of claim 14 are substantially the same as claim 11 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Zhu (CN218675834U) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Hiroi et al. (JPS61208522A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Pearson et al. (US4744408A).
Claim 7:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 1,” as described above. None of Gupta, Zhu, or Hiroi appear to explicitly teach “wherein a first fluid circuit and a second fluid circuit are provided, the tempering jacket being contained in both fluid circuits and the two fluid circuits each carrying a differently tempered tempering fluid.” However, Pearson does teach this claim limitation (Pearson teaches the heat transfer fluid consisting of an ethylene glycol/water mixture i.e. tempering fluid in Pearson [Column 6 lines 55-60] "In particular, reactor 1 (shown at the right hand side of FIG. 6) is surrounded by a temperature control jacket 2 through which is pumped a heat transfer fluid by means of pipes 12 and 13. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 6, this heat transfer fluid consists of an ethylene glycol/water mixture."; Pearson teaches heat exchanger 55 may cool the transfer fluid i.e. a first fluid circuit carrying cold water in Pearson [Column 5 lines 45-51] "d. Heat exchanger 55 is connected, via valve 65 and pipe 77 to a cooling water supply 75 and to a cooling water return (81) via pipe 79. Thus, the primary loop may be cooled either by controlling the flow of cooling water in heat exchanger 55 or by injecting refrigerated coolant from supply 72 into the primary loop as discussed in connection with FIG. 2."; Pearson teaches heat exchanger 54 may heat the transfer fluid i.e. a second fluid circuit carrying hot water in Pearson [Column 5 lines 14-20] "Heat exchanger 54 is, in turn, connected to a steam source 74. In order to control the heating of the primary loop fluid, the introduction of steam into heat exchanger 54 is controlled by valve 64 which is, in turn, operated by the microprocessor controller. After passing through valve 64 the steam flows via pipe 78 to heat exchanger 54.").
Gupta, Zhu, Hiroi, and Pearson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of jacketed reactor control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gupta, Zhu, Hiroi, and Pearson before him/her, to modify the teachings of a controller of a continuous stirred reactor of Gupta modified to include the determination of a desired difference between jacket and tank temperature of Zhu further modified to include the offsetting of a controlled variable by a temperature of Hiroi to include the warm and cold circuits of Pearson because adding the Temperature control method and apparatus of Pearson would enable automatic switching between heating and cooling of the transfer fluid as described in Pearson [Column 9 lines 9-17] “The output signal from high-select function 116 on line 124 is also used to control steam valve 64. Valve 64 is a mechanical proportional valve similar to glycol valve 62. However, the mechanical stroke of valve 64 is adjusted so that the valve is fully closed with an input signal of 12 ma. or less and fully open with an input signal of 20 ma. or more. Thus, the output signal of high-select 116 automatically switches between heating and cooling of the heat transfer fluid.”
Claim 8:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi, further in view of Pearson teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 7, wherein the first fluid circuit carrying cold water and the second fluid circuit carrying hot water.” (Pearson teaches the heat transfer fluid consisting of an ethylene glycol/water mixture i.e. the pipes carry water in Pearson [Column 6 lines 55-60] "In particular, reactor 1 (shown at the right hand side of FIG. 6) is surrounded by a temperature control jacket 2 through which is pumped a heat transfer fluid by means of pipes 12 and 13. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 6, this heat transfer fluid consists of an ethylene glycol/water mixture."; Pearson teaches heat exchanger 55 may cool the transfer fluid i.e. a first fluid circuit carrying cold water in Pearson [Column 5 lines 45-51] "d. Heat exchanger 55 is connected, via valve 65 and pipe 77 to a cooling water supply 75 and to a cooling water return (81) via pipe 79. Thus, the primary loop may be cooled either by controlling the flow of cooling water in heat exchanger 55 or by injecting refrigerated coolant from supply 72 into the primary loop as discussed in connection with FIG. 2."; Pearson teaches heat exchanger 54 may heat the transfer fluid i.e. a second fluid circuit carrying hot water in Pearson [Column 5 lines 14-20] "Heat exchanger 54 is, in turn, connected to a steam source 74. In order to control the heating of the primary loop fluid, the introduction of steam into heat exchanger 54 is controlled by valve 64 which is, in turn, operated by the microprocessor controller. After passing through valve 64 the steam flows via pipe 78 to heat exchanger 54.").
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view of Zhu (CN218675834U) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Hiroi et al. (JPS61208522A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Finch et al. (US20120123594A1).
Claim 9:
Gupta in view of Zhu, further in view of Hiroi teaches “The liquid treatment device according to claim 1,” as described above. None of Gupta, Zhu, or Hiroi appear to explicitly teach “wherein provided, However, Finch does teach this claim limitation (Finch teaches an energy cost information may have prices for a time period of a day in Finch [0032] "Note that the signal 108 provides the HVAC system 100 with the energy cost information for given time intervals over a time period (e.g., day, week, month, year, etc.). For example, this energy price information provided in accordance with the signal 108 is what is used by temperature control schedules described below in the context of FIGS. 4-8 to determine which temperature offset and/or temperature setpoint to apply."; Finch teaches that during off peak demand periods, energy cost is lower i.e. below average in Finch [0038] "In order to reduce the peak energy consumed by the HVAC system 100, the controller 104 is configured to at least one of selectively adjust and disable at least one of the one or more above described power consuming features/functions to reduce power consumption of the HVAC system 100 in the energy savings mode. Reducing total energy consumed also encompasses reducing the energy consumed at peak times and/or reducing the overall electricity demands. Electricity demands can be defined as average watts over a short period of time, typically 5-60 minutes. Off peak demand periods correspond to periods during which lower cost energy is being supplied by the utility relative to peak demand periods."; Finch teaches adjusting a temperature setting based on the energy price i.e. the controller may set a temperature lower while price is cheaper in order to reach the setpoint faster in Finch [0065] "As shown, the user interface 900 comprises several features for presenting the consumer with options and information and for allowing the consumer to enter selections and other information. For example, user interface 900 has an information section 902, a rate level section 904, a cool adjustment section 906, a heat adjustment section 908, a cancel button 910, and a done button 912. Information section 902 indicates to the consumer that the thermostat can adjust the scheduled temperature based on the utility rate (energy price level), but such temperature adjustments will only occur if energy savings can be achieved, as explained above.").
Gupta, Zhu, Hiroi, and Finch are analogous art because they are from the same field of temperature control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gupta, Zhu, Hiroi, and Finch before him/her, to modify the teachings of a controller of a continuous stirred reactor of Gupta modified to include the determination of a desired difference between jacket and tank temperature of Zhu further modified to include the offsetting of a controlled variable by a temperature of Hiroi to control based on electricity price of Finch because adding the Temperature control based on energy price of Finch would enable the temperature setpoint to be adjusted based on peak rate pricing, saving money as described in Finch [0040] “Other power load reducing measures may include reducing before on-peak hours the setpoint temperature (pre-chilling) and increasing the setpoint temperature during on-peak rates. For example, shortly before peak rate time, the temperature setting of the central air conditioning system 110 could be decreased by 1-2 degrees (during off-peak rates). One skilled in the art of heat transfer will appreciate that this pre-chilling maneuver would need to occur a predetermined time prior to the peak demand period to allow enough time for the environs to reach the pre-chilled setpoint temperature. The system could "learn" the amount of time required for a given pre-chill at a specific ambient condition and then invoke the pre-chill accordingly.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Odi et al. (US20140318743A1) teaches a cascade controller with a primary controller supplying a desired jacket temperature to a secondary controller in Odi [0127] and that the secondary controller outputs a control signal to a valve in order to meet the required coolant temperature in Odi [0128].
/Z.A.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116