DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12: In line 1, the claim recites “at least a second operating member”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because there is no first operating member set forth in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Benson (US 2008/0022462 A1) in view of Hawkins et al. (US 2024/0190685 A1).
Claim 1: Benson discloses a jack device (10 of Figure 1), including a frame (26 of Figure 2); a lifting assembly (arm extending from 70 of Figure 2)) pivotally connected to the frame, wherein one end of the lifting assembly comprises a lifting pad liftable or lowerable (as depicted in Figure 2, the arm has a lift pad at one end), and the lifting pad provides an upward lifting force for a lifted object (paragraph [0017]); a hydraulic assembly (12,14,18 of Figure 2) configured to drive the lifting assembly to perform a lifting action or a lowering action; a power unit including an electric motor (16 of Figure 2) and an actuator (18 of Figure 2), wherein the actuator is able to drive the hydraulic assembly to operate (paragraph [0020]); and is capable of being connected to a vehicle battery for power (paragraph [0015]).
While Benson discloses a portion of the limitations recited in claim 1, Benson fails to disclose a battery pack coupling portion for mounting a battery pack, wherein the battery pack supplies power to the power unit.
However, Hawkins et al. teaches a battery pack coupling portion (28 of Figure 2) for mounting a battery pack (24 of Figure 2), wherein the battery pack supplies power to the power unit (paragraph [0047]-[0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the jack device of Benson such that it included a battery pack coupling portion and a battery pack that was capable of powering the jack device of Benson. This modification would have made the jack device more portable and increased its capability by not requiring a charged vehicle battery.
Claim 2: Hawkins et al. further teaches that the battery pack is detachably connected to the jack device (paragraph [0047]).
Claim 3: Hawkins et al. further teaches that the battery pack is inserted and removed along a direction of a first straight line, and the first straight line basically extends along a front and rear direction (as depicted in Figure 2, also see 824 of Figure 12).
Claim 4: Hawkins et al. further teaches that the frame includes a base (812 of Figure 12) and a housing (outer wall of 838 of Figure 12), the hydraulic assembly is disposed on the base, and the housing covers the hydraulic assembly (838 is a hydraulic pump assembly disposed on base 812 and including an outer cover that encloses the mechanical features of the hydraulic pump).
Claims 5-6: Hawkins et al. further teaches that the battery pack is mounted in the housing and partially protrudes out of the housing (housing of 838 extends upward and battery 824 is mounted in the housing).
Claim 8: Benson further discloses that the lifting assembly comprises a lifting arm (arm depicted in Figure 2), the frame comprises a connecting portion (pin and/or bearing at which the depicted arm is connected to housing 26), one end of the lifting arm is pivotally connected to the connecting portion (the arm is able to pivot around this connection to raise and lower), and the battery pack and the lifting pad are distributed on two sides of the connecting portion (as modified above the battery would likely be located near 18, and the lifting pad is depicted on the opposite side of the connecting portion when compared to the location of 18).
Claim 9: Benson further discloses at least a first operating member (18 of Figure 2) configured to control the hydraulic assembly to drive an action of the lifting assembly (paragraph [0017]).
Claim 10: Benson further discloses that the first operating member is electronically controlled (paragraph [0017]).
Claim 15: Benson further discloses that the hydraulic assembly includes a hydraulic pump (12) and a hydraulic cylinder (70), the actuator drives the hydraulic pump to operate (paragraph [0017]). As modified above Benson includes the battery pack of Hawkins that would be configured to supply power to the electric motor (16), a motor shaft (features that connects electric motor to the pump of Benson, paragraph [0017]) of the electric motor extends along a direction of a second straight line, the hydraulic cylinder acts along a direction of a third straight line, and the second straight line is parallel or perpendicular to the third straight line (as depicted in Figure 2, the second straight line would extend in and out of the figure and the third straight line would be along the length of the jack 70).
Claim 16: Benson further discloses a light-emitting element (22 of Figure 2) disposed on the frame and configured to indicate a working state of the jack device.
Claim 17: Benson further discloses a light-emitting element (22 of Figure 2) able to turn on or off and configured to indicate a working state of the jack device (the light would turn on when the jack device receives power and therefore indicates a ready working state).
Claim 18: Benson further discloses a light-emitting element (22 of Figure 2) able to be ejected or hidden (capable of being hidden by covering the light) and configured to indicate a working state of the jack device (the light would turn on when the jack device receives power and therefore indicates a ready working state).
Claim 19: Benson further discloses the jack device is provided with a power interface for connecting an onboard discharge interface (the control means 18 includes a onboard discharge interface that allows power to be received from the vehicle battery and discharge it to the electric motor 16), and the onboard discharge interface is able to receive an onboard direct current (DC) power supply or an onboard alternating current (AC) power supply.
Claim 20: Benson further discloses a light-emitting elements (22 of Figure 2) for lighting and traveling wheels, wherein the traveling wheels comprise front wheels and rear wheels (24 of Figure 2), the front wheels are disposed on a side closer to the lifting pad, the rear wheels are disposed on another side opposite to the front wheels, and the light-emitting elements are disposed above the front wheels (as depicted in Figure 2).
Benson fails to disclose that the light emitting elements are above the rear wheels.
However, modifying the jack device of Benson such that the light emitting elements are above the rear wheels would only require routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the light emitting elements such that they were above the real wheel since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Benson (US 2008/0022462 A1) in view of Kennicutt (US 2017/0369290 A1).
Claim 1: Benson discloses a jack device (10 of Figure 1), including a frame (26 of Figure 2); a lifting assembly (arm extending from 70 of Figure 2)) pivotally connected to the frame, wherein one end of the lifting assembly comprises a lifting pad liftable or lowerable (as depicted in Figure 2, the arm has a lift pad at one end), and the lifting pad provides an upward lifting force for a lifted object (paragraph [0017]); a hydraulic assembly (12,14,18 of Figure 2) configured to drive the lifting assembly to perform a lifting action or a lowering action; a power unit including an electric motor (16 of Figure 2) and an actuator (18 of Figure 2), wherein the actuator is able to drive the hydraulic assembly to operate (paragraph [0020]); and is capable of being connected to a vehicle battery for power (paragraph [0015]).
While Benson discloses a portion of the limitations recited in claim 1, Benson fails to disclose a battery pack coupling portion for mounting a battery pack, wherein the battery pack supplies power to the power unit.
However, Kennicut. teaches a battery pack coupling portion (26,34 of Figure 1) for mounting a battery pack (18 of Figure 2), wherein the battery pack supplies power to a power unit (paragraph [0016], note that battery pack is attached to actuator 16 which is attached to the housing via 26,34 therefore these feature would be considered a battery pack coupling portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the jack device of Hawkins et al. such that it included a battery pack coupling portion and a battery pack that was capable of powering the jack device of Hawkins et al. This modification would have made the jack device more portable and increased its capability by not requiring a charged vehicle battery.
Claim 7: Kennicut further teaches that the battery pack is mounted to the battery pack coupling portion (as addressed above), a waterproof cover (22 of Figure 2b) is provided on an outer side of the battery pack, and the waterproof cover covers at least a top of the battery pack (as depicted in Figure 2a the cover is shown closing in the top of housing 12 in which the battery 24 is enclosed).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Benson (US 2008/0022462 A1) in view of Hawkins et al. (US 2024/0190685 A1) and Gill (US 7,423,392).
Claim 11: While Benson/Hawkins et al. renders obvious a portion of claim 1, Benson/Hawkins fails to disclose or reasonably suggest that the jack device includes a load detection component configured to detect a load parameter of the lifting assembly, wherein the hydraulic assembly adjusts a lifting or lowering speed of the lifting assembly according to the load parameter.
However, Gill teaches a jack device that includes a load detection component configured to detect a load parameter of the lifting assembly, wherein the hydraulic assembly adjusts a lifting or lowering speed of the lifting assembly according to the load parameter (Col. 5, Line 50 to Col. 60, Line 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the load detection component of Gill with that of Benson/Hawkins et al. because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements by known methods in order to achieve predictable results (MPEP 2143(A)).
Claim12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Benson (US 2008/0022462 A1) in view of Hawkins et al. (US 2024/0190685 A1) and Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1).
Claim 12: Benson/Hawkins et al. fails to disclose a second operating member configured to control the hydraulic assembly to relieve pressure.
However, Castillo teaches a second operating member configured to control the hydraulic assembly to relieve pressure (Col. 4, Lines 4-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Castillo with that of Benson/Hawkins et al. in order to provide a jack device including a pressure relief member for lowering the jack device. This modification would have been obvious to and well within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to make because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements by known methods in order to achieve a predictable result (MPEP 2143(A)).
Claim 13: Castillo further teaches a lowering operating member configured to, in a triggered state, control the hydraulic assembly to relieve pressure, wherein, when the lowering operating member is triggered, the lifting pad automatically descends in height (Col. 4, Lines 4-11).
Claim 14: Castillo further teaches a solenoid valve (28) configured to open or close a pressure relief oil loop of the hydraulic assembly, and the solenoid valve is in an energized state when the lowering operating member is in the triggered state (Col. 4, Lines 4-11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fagan et al. (US 9,352,944 B2) discloses a jack device including a battery pack 42. Young (US 2016/0130123 A1) discloses a jack device including a battery pack 20.
/JASON L VAUGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726