DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hale (U.S. Patent No. 4,766,712).
Regarding claim 18, Hale discloses a module (33, Figs. 1 and 16-19) for a building, the module comprising a male connector (79, 82) projecting from a first face (35) of the module to form a cylindrical projection terminated by a terminus (83, 84) having a hemispherical shape, the male connector being dimensioned for being received by a corresponding female connector (35, 36) comprising a rigid plate (approximate 35) having therethrough an aperture (36) dimensioned to receive the terminus (83, 84) and at least a portion of the cylindrical projection (87) such that the male connector is constrained, by the rigid plate, from moving laterally.
Regarding claim 19, Hale discloses a module gasket (85) for rendering the module self-sealing.
Regarding claim 20, Hale discloses a second female connector (35’, 36; Fig. 19) disposed on a second face (35’) of the module opposite the first face (35), the second female connector (35’, 36) comprising a second rigid plate (approximate 35’) having therethrough a second aperture (36’) dimensioned to receive a corresponding male connector (79, 82) of a corresponding module (33, Fig. 16) such that the corresponding male connector is constrained, by the second rigid plate, from moving laterally.
Regarding claim 21, Hale discloses a second male connector (79, 82) disposed on a second face of the module (33) opposite the first face of the module, the second male connector projecting from the second face of the module to form a second cylindrical projection terminated by a hemispherical terminus (83, 84).
Regarding claim 22, Hale discloses a modular building (Fig. 1) comprising the module of claim 18.
Regarding claim 23, Hale discloses a foundation (49, Fig. 2) defining a foundation connector comprising a second male connector (50) projecting from the foundation to form a second cylindrical projection terminated by a hemispherical terminus (52).
Regarding claim 24, Hale discloses a second module (33) comprising the corresponding female connector (36’) disposed on one face of the second module, at least one of the module and the second module having an additional connector a second female connector (36) disposed on another face (35’) of the second module opposite the one face of the second module (Figs. 16-19).
Regarding claim 25, Hale discloses the first and second faces (35) of the module are horizontal and are vertically separated from each other (Fig. 3), and wherein the module is connected to the second module by at least partially vertical mating of the module to the second module (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Hale discloses the module (33) is positioned on top of the second module (33, Fig. 1). The modules are considered to be interchangeable.
Regarding claim 27, Hale discloses the second module (33) is positioned on top of the module (33, Fig. 1). The modules are considered to be interchangeable.
Regarding claim 28, Hale discloses at least one module gasket (85) for rendering at least one of the module and the second module self-sealing (Figs. 18-19)
Regarding claim 29, Hale discloses the additional connector is the second male connector (79, 82) projecting from the second face of the module to form a second cylindrical projection terminated by a hemispherical terminus (83, 84), the second male connector being dimensioned for being received by a third female connector of a third module (33) of the modular building (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Hale discloses the additional connector is the second female connector (35, 36) comprising a second rigid plate (approximate 35) having therethrough a second aperture (36) dimensioned to receive a third male connector (79, 82) of a third module (33) of the modular building (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 31, Hale discloses a third module (33), the third module comprising a third male connector (79, 82), the male connector and the third male connector being horizontally adjacent to each other when the modular building is assembled (Fig. 1), the modular building further comprising at least one connection plate (119 approximate 35, Fig. 30) dimensioned for being received by the male connector and the third male connector (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 32, Hale discloses at least one module gasket (85, Fig. 16) for rendering at least one of the module and the third module self- sealing.
Regarding claim 33, Hale discloses the module (33) is a gasketed roofing module and the third module (33) is a gasket-receiving roofing module positioned adjacent to the gasketed roofing module when the modular building is assembled (roof portions, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 34, Hale discloses a bolt (38, Figs. 4) for attaching the male connector and the corresponding female connector to each other (Fig. 29). The Examiner considers the threaded fastener to be a bolt capable of connecting a male and female connector together indirectly.
Regarding claim 35, Hale discloses a key-lock system (“pin, 105,106, 107; Fig. 29) for locking the male connector and the corresponding female connector to each other. The Examiner considers the “key-lock system” capable of further preventing any movement of the connectors.
Regarding claim 36, Hale discloses the key-lock system (“pin”, 105, 106, 107) comprises a key-lock male connector (“pin”) comprising at least one key, the key- lock system further comprising a key-lock female connector (105, 107) comprising a key- lock plate (100) defining a key slot (107), the key-lock male connector (“pin”) being rotatable when connected to the key-lock female connector (107) such that the at least one key locks against the key-lock plate when the at least one key is not aligned with the key slot (Fig. 29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633