DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: actuation mechanism in claims 79 and 89.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 77-80, 83, 85-90, 93, 95 and 96 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Burkinshaw et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2004/0147932.
Regarding claim 77, Burkinshaw et al. discloses a method of forming a microfracture in subchondral bone of a patient, the method comprising: disposing a microfracture apparatus (110) adjacent to the subchondral bone, the microfracture apparatus comprising: a cannula (30) having a first end (40), a second end (42) and a channel (44) extending between the first end and the second end (Figs. 2, 6 and paragraph [0067]); a penetrator (34) having a proximal end (50), a distal end (52) including a pointed tip (65) with a cross-sectional shape defined by a tip angle (58) of 60 degrees or greater, and a first transverse dimension (dimension taken on the tip transverse to the longitudinal axis of the penetrator) (Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph [0049] discloses the cannula can have an angled tip 84 of 60 degrees; wherein it is understood, that when penetrator 34 is placed within the cannula, tip angle 58 of the penetrator conforms with the cannula angle, thus making the tip angle 60 degrees; furthermore, various tip angles of greater than 60 degrees are also disclosed, i.e. 90 degrees);
disposing the penetrator (34) in the channel of the cannula (30) such that the penetrator is movable between a retracted position and an extended position in which the distal end (52) extends beyond the second end (42) of the cannula; and advancing the penetrator relative to the cannula, substantially without rotation of the penetrator, until the distal end of the penetrator extends into the subchondral bone to form a microfracture having a penetration distance greater than the first transverse dimension of the penetrator (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claims 78-80, Burkinshaw et al. further comprises retracting the penetrator from the subchondral bone; wherein said retracting is via an actuation mechanism (via release of 107); and further comprises repeating the disposing, advancing and retracting at different locations adjacent to the subchondral bone so as to form a plurality of microstructures in the subchondral bone (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0052], [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 83, 85 and 86, Burkinshaw et al. discloses wherein the penetrator (34) comprises a primary portion (56) having a second transverse dimension greater than the first transverse dimension (dimension taken on the tip transverse to the longitudinal axis of the penetrator); wherein the microfracture apparatus (110) further comprises an enlarged head (56) coupled to the proximal end (50) of the penetrator (Fig. 2); and wherein a penetrator removal tab (107) is coupled to the penetrator, the penetrator removal tab configured to retract the penetrator (via release of 107) relative to the cannula (30) (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 87, Burkinshaw et al. discloses a method of forming a microfracture in subchondral bone of a patient, the method comprising: disposing a microfracture apparatus (110) adjacent to the subchondral bone, the microfracture apparatus comprising: a cannula (30) having a first end (40), a second end (42), and a channel (44) extending between the first end and the second end, the cannula having a primary portion (portion between 46 and 48) and a distal portion (portion between 48 and end 44) between the primary portion and the second end, and a curve (48) between the primary portion and the distal portion such that the distal portion is disposed at a nonparallel angle relative to the primary portion; and a penetrator (34) having a proximal end (50), a distal end (52), and a first transverse dimension (dimension taken on the tip 65 transverse to the longitudinal axis of the penetrator) (Figs. 2, 6 and paragraph [0068]);
disposing the penetrator (34) in the channel of the cannula (30) such that the penetrator is movable between a retracted position and an extended position in which the distal end (52) extends beyond the second end (42) of the cannula by a penetration distance greater than the first transverse dimension (distal end 52 extends beyond second end 42 by a distance that is greater than the width of 65, i.e. first transverse dimension); advancing the penetrator from the retracted position to the extended position substantially without rotation of the penetrator to form in subchondral bone a microfracture; and where a portion of the penetrator is configured to flex around the curve (48) in the cannula as the penetrator moves between the retracted and extended positions (Figs. 2, 6 and paragraphs [0046], [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 88-90, Burkinshaw et al. further comprises retracting the penetrator from the subchondral bone; wherein said retracting is via an actuation mechanism (via release of 107); and further comprises repeating the disposing, advancing and retracting at different locations adjacent to the subchondral bone so as to form a plurality of microstructures in the subchondral bone (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0052], [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 93, 95 and 96, Burkinshaw et al. discloses wherein the penetrator (34) comprises a primary portion (56) having a second transverse dimension greater than the first transverse dimension (dimension taken on the tip 65 transverse to the longitudinal axis of the penetrator); wherein the microfracture apparatus (110) further comprises an enlarged head (56) coupled to the proximal end (50) of the penetrator (Fig. 2); and wherein a penetrator removal tab (107) is coupled to the penetrator, the penetrator removal tab configured to retract the penetrator (via release of 107) relative to the cannula (30) (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 81 and 91 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Burkinshaw et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2004/0147932 in view of Miller, U.S. PG-Pub 2009/0274996.
Regarding claims 81 and 91, Burkinshaw et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the first transverse dimension of the penetrator is less than 1.2 millimeters (mm).
Miller et al. discloses a bone penetration device (30) having an outer diameter (transverse dimension) approximately 1 mm to prevent excess loss of bone (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the first transverse dimension of the penetrator of Burkinshaw et al. to be less than 1.2 mm in view of Miller et al. to permit prevention of excess loss of bone.
Claims 82 and 92 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Burkinshaw et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2004/0147932.
Regarding claims 82 and 92, Burkinshaw et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the penetration distance is at least 5 times greater than the first transverse dimension of the penetrator.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the penetration distance to be at least 5 times greater than the first transverse dimension of the penetrator, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, the unexpected results would have been readily foreseen without undo experimentation, namely, ensuring the penetration distance suits the particular needs of a specific patient.
Claims 84 and 94 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Burkinshaw et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2004/0147932 in view of Assell et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2008/0071282.
Regarding claims 84 and 94, Burkinshaw et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein a coating is disposed on at least a penetration portion of the penetrator.
Assell et al. discloses an apparatus coated with a hydrophilic coating to facilitate passage of other surgical tool and/or implants (paragraph [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the penetration portion of the penetrator of Burkinshaw et al. to have a hydrophilic coating in view of Assell et al. to permit easier insertion of the penetrator within the cannula.
Double Patenting
Claims 77-81 and 86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16, 17, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,019 in view of Burkinshaw et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2004/0147932.
Regarding claims 77-81 and 86, claims 16, 17 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,019 recite the claimed invention except for wherein the penetrator has a tip angle of 60 degrees or greater.
Burkinshaw et al. discloses a penetrator (34) having a tip angle (via bend 58) that is 60 degrees (Figs. 2, 5 and paragraph [0049] discloses the cannula can have an angled tip 84 of 60 degrees; wherein it is understood, that when penetrator 34 is placed within the cannula, tip angle 58 of the penetrator conforms with the cannula angle, thus making the tip angle 60 degrees, and can have tip angles of various degrees greater than 60 degrees, i.e. 90 degrees).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify claims 16, 17, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,019 such that the penetrator has a tip angle of 60 degrees or greater in view of Burkinshaw et al. to permit easier placement of the penetrator within various joint placements or sizes based on the patient.
Claims 87-91 and 93-95 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,347 in view of Burkinshaw et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2004/0147932.
Regarding claims 87-91 and 93-95, claims 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,347 recite the claimed invention except for wherein a portion of the penetrator is configured to flex around the curve in the cannula as the penetrator moves between the retracted and extended positions.
Burkinshaw et al. discloses a flexible penetrator (34) that is configured to flex around a curve (48) in a cannula (30) as the penetrator moves between retracted and extended positions (Figs. 2, 6 and paragraphs [0046], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the penetrator of claims 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,347 to be flexible such that the penetrator is configured to flex around the curve in the cannula as the penetrator moves between retracted and extended positions in view of Burkinshaw et al. to permit optimal movement of the penetrator within the cannula to help ensure a desired angle is possible for accurate placement within a joint of a patient.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775