DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to applicant's amendment received on 12/9/2025. Amended claims 1, 3-4, 9-11, 15, and 20 are acknowledged and the following new grounds of rejection below are formulated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ali et al. (U.S. Publication 2018/0230935), hereinafter “Ali”.
Regarding claim 1, Ali discloses a cylinder block (70) comprising: a cylinder block body (70) defining a first cylinder block upper bore (shown in figure below); a first lower portion of a first cylinder (shown in figure below); a second lower portion of a second cylinder (shown in figure below); and a load path structure (load path associated with head bolt 120) comprising a first support rib (shown in figure below) having a first support rib body interfacing with the first cylinder block upper bore, the load path structure being configured to transfer a load from the first cylinder block upper bore along a non-linear path within the cylinder block body away from the first cylinder block upper bore (shown in figure below), the first support rib aligned with a vertical axis that extends between the first lower portion of the first cylinder and the second lower portion of the second cylinder (shown in figure above). The elements are listed out in figure below. Examiner notes that any construction that is not linear for the block near the upper fasteners would read on this claim. Examiner also provides the question of how a non-linear rib can align with a vertical axis. Examiner reads as if the rib “partially” aligns with the vertical axis.
Regarding claim 2, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 1, further comprising a first cylinder skirt portion contiguous with the first support rib (shown in figure above); wherein the cylinder block body defines a second cylinder block upper bore; wherein the load path structure further comprises a second support rib contiguous with the first cylinder skirt portion (shown in figure above) and separated from the first support rib by the first cylinder skirt portion (shown in figure above), the second support rib comprising a second support rib body; and wherein the first support rib, the first cylinder skirt portion, and the second support rib cooperate to define a cylinder wall cavity (shown in figure above).
Regarding claim 3, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 2, wherein the first cylinder block upper bore is disposed adjacent the first lower portion of the first cylinder (shown in figure above); and wherein the second cylinder block upper bore is disposed adjacent the first lower portion of the first cylinder (the portion between first upper bore and second upper bore shown in figure above).
Regarding claim 4, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 3, wherein the second cylinder block upper bore (bore for second cylinder) is disposed between the first lower portion of the first cylinder and the second lower portion of the second cylinder (shown in figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 1, wherein: the load path structure further comprises a second support rib (shown in figure above) having a second support rib body; the cylinder block body (70) defines a second cylinder block upper bore (shown in figure above); the second support rib body interfaces with the second cylinder block upper bore; and the load path structure is configured to transfer a second load from the second cylinder block upper bore (bore for second cylinder) along a second non-linear path (shown in figure above with second rib) within the cylinder block body away from the second cylinder block upper bore (the rib curves non-linearly outwards).
Regarding claim 6, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 5, wherein the first support rib and the second support rib are disposed along the same side of the cylinder block (shown in figure above).
Regarding claim 7, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 5, further comprising a cylinder skirt portion (shown in figure above) extending between the first support rib body and the second support rib body, the cylinder skirt portion being recessed (recesses as shown) relative to the first support rib body and the second support rib body. Examiner notes that the recesses are provided under the transverse rib that extends horizontally where the first and second ribs connect to. Also, reading under BRI the cylinder wall itself can be considered as recessed in relation to the ribs shown since the wall is disposed inside of the first and second ribs shown in figure 1.
Regarding claim 8, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 5, wherein the first support rib and the second support rib are disposed along opposite sides of the cylinder block. Examiner notes that figure 1 shows the ribs on both sides so examiner can choose opposing side ribs as the first rib and the second rib.
Regarding claim 9, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 8, wherein the first support rib and the second support rib are aligned along the axis that extends between the first lower portion of the first cylinder and the second lower portion of the second cylinder (shown in figure above). Examiner notes that the “portions” of the block are being claimed and examiner can pick any part of the cylinder block to read as the “first portion” and the “second portion”.
Regarding claim 10, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 9, further comprising a cylinder block recess (shown in figure above) extending around the first lower portion of the first cylinder, between the first support rib and the first lower portion of the first cylinder, between the second support rib and the first lower portion of the first cylinder, between the first lower portion of the first cylinder and the second lower portion of the second cylinder, and between the first support rib and the second support rib (recesses shown in figure above).
Regarding claim 11, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 9, further comprising a jacket channel (144 of cooling channel) extending between the first lower portion of the first cylinder and the second lower portion of the second cylinder (shown in figure 1, paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 12, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 2, wherein the first support rib and the second support rib are aligned across the cylinder block (shown in figure 4 that ribs are aligned between the intake side and exhaust side).
Regarding claim 14, Ali discloses the internal combustion engine system comprising: the cylinder block of claim 1; a cylinder head (mentioned but not shown); and an upper fastener (fastener for 120) coupling the cylinder head to the cylinder block, the upper fastener threadably engaged with the first cylinder block upper bore (shown in figure above); wherein the first support rib transfers forces from the upper fastener away from the cylinder head (shown with non-linear construction of rib).
Regarding claim 15, Ali discloses a cylinder block comprising: a cylinder block body defining a first cylinder block upper bore and a second cylinder block upper bore; a first lower portion of a first cylinder a second lower portion of a second cylinder a load path structure comprising: a first support rib having a first support rib body interfacing with the first cylinder block upper bore, the first support rib extending away from the cylinder block body in a direction that is parallel to the first cylinder block upper bore, the first support rib aligned with a vertical axis that extends between the first lower portion of the first cylinder and the second lower portion of the second cylinder, and a second support rib having a second support rib body interfacing with the second cylinder block upper bore, the second support rib extending away from the cylinder block body in a direction that is parallel to the second cylinder block upper bore; and a cylinder skirt portion extending between the first support rib body and the second support rib body, the cylinder skirt portion being recessed relative to the first support rib and the second support rib. Refer to rejections of claims 1 and 7 for further details since the limitations are similar.
Regarding claim 16, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 15, wherein the cylinder block body (70), the load path structure (shown in figure above), and the cylinder skirt portion are integrally formed with one another (one piece cylinder block so these elements are integral).
Regarding claim 16, Ali discloses the cylinder block of claim 15, wherein: the cylinder block body further defines a first cylinder block lower bore (lower bore for cylinder 1) and a second cylinder block lower bore (lower bore for cylinder 2); the first cylinder block upper bore and the second cylinder block upper bore are aligned in a first direction (shown in figure 1); and the first cylinder block lower bore and the second cylinder block lower bore are aligned in a second direction that is parallel to the first direction (shown in figure above).
Regarding claim 18, Ali discloses an internal combustion engine system comprising: the cylinder block of claim 17; a cylinder head; an upper fastener coupling the cylinder head to the cylinder block, the upper fastener (fastener for 120) threadably engaged with the first cylinder block upper bore; a main cap (inherent that main cap holds the crankshaft); and a lower fastener (inherent) coupling the main cap to the cylinder block, the lower fastener threadably engaged with the first cylinder block lower bore (inherent).
Regarding claim 19, Ali discloses the internal combustion engine system of claim 18, wherein: the first cylinder block upper bore is centered on a first axis; and the first cylinder block lower bore is centered on a second axis that is parallel to the first axis (both axes are the same and parallel).
Regarding claim 20, Ali discloses the internal combustion engine system of claim 19, wherein: the cylinder block further comprises: a cylinder block recess extending around the first lower portion of the first cylinder; the first axis extends through the cylinder block recess; and the second axis extends through the cylinder block recess. Refer to rejection of claim 10 for further details since the limitations are similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali.
Regarding claim 13, Ali discloses the claimed invention except for the first rib angled towards the second rib. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the first rib angled towards the second rib, since applicant has not disclosed that such an arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the parallel ribs to provide support.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the new Ali reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED O HASAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 3/18/2026