DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0217690 A1~hereinafter “Hong”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-5) a display device comprising: a first sub-pixel (SP1) in a first area, the first pixel (SP1) including at least one first emission area (EA1) and at least one second emission area (EA2); and a second sub-pixel (SP2) in a second area adjacent to the first area, the second pixel (SP2) including at least one first emission area (EA1) and at least one second emission area (EA2), wherein a half-spherical lens (234) is disposed in the first emission area (EA1) of the second sub-pixel (SP2), and wherein a half-cylindrical lens (232) is disposed in the first emission area (AE1) of the first sub-pixel (SP1), in the second emission area (EA2) of the first sub-pixel (SP1), and in the second emission area (EA2) of the second sub-pixel (SP2).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8; [0137]) the first emission area (EA1) in the second area is turned on, and the second emission area in the second area is turned off in a first mode.
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8; [0138]) the first emission area in the second area is turned off, and the second emission area in the second area is turned on in a second mode.
Regarding claim 16, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) a vehicle comprising: a body ([0139]; i.e. the body is an inherit feature of the vehicle) having a motor mounted therein; at least one display panel in the body ([0140]), the at least one display panel including: a first area (EA1) and a second area (EA2) adjacent to the first area on a substrate (110); a first sub-pixel (SP1) in the first area (EA1), the first sub-pixel including at least one of a first emission area and at least one of a second emission area (EA2); and a second sub-pixel (SP2) in the second area, the second sub-pixel (SP2) including at least one of a first emission area (EA1) and the at least one of the second emission area (EA2), wherein the first emission area of the first sub-pixel, the second emission area of the second sub-pixel and the second emission area of the second sub-pixel include a half-spherical lens (232).
The Examiner notes that the claimed subject matter is not consistent with the original specification. However, an additional 112 rejection is not being raised at this time. If the Applicant believes the prior art rejection is incorrect, the Applicant must identify where each limitation is supported in the original specification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 11-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a display device comprising: a first area and a second area adjacent to the first area on a substrate; a first sub-pixel in the first area; and a second sub-pixel in the second area, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have a same color…Claims 9-12 are allowed due their dependency upon claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a display device comprising: a first area and a second area adjacent to the first area on a substrate; a first sub-pixel in the first area; a second sub-pixel in the second area; and lenses respectively corresponding to the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel have a same color...Claims 14-16 are allowed due to their dependency upon claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875