DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a first pixel in the first area, the first pixel including at least one second emission area; and a second pixel in the second area, the second pixel including at least one first emission area and at least one second emission area” as cited in claims 1, 8, 13 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, the Examiner is unclear about the limitation “a first pixel in the first area, the first pixel including at least one second emission area; and a second pixel in the second area, the second pixel including at least one first emission area and at least one second emission area.” It appears the Applicant is using “pixels and sub-pixels” interchangeably in the claims based on the specification. Therefore, for purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as best understood. Claims 2-9 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the Examiner is unclear about the limitation “a first pixel in the first area; and a second pixel in the second area, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are pixels having a same color, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes at least one emission area, and wherein a number of the emission areas in the second pixel is greater than a number of the emission areas in the first pixel.” It appears the Applicant is using “pixels and sub-pixels” interchangeably in the claims based on the specification. Therefore, for purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as best understood. Claims 9-12 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, the Examiner is unclear about the limitation “a first pixel in the first area; a second pixel in the second area; and lenses respectively corresponding to the first pixel and the second pixel, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel have a same color.” It appears the Applicant is using “pixels and sub-pixels” interchangeably in the claims based on the specification. Therefore, for purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as best understood. Claims 14-15 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, the is unclear about the limitation “a first pixel in the first area, the first pixel including at least one of a second emission area; and a second pixel in the second area, the second pixel including at least one of a first emission area and the at least one of the second emission area…” It appears the Applicant is using “pixels and sub-pixels” interchangeably in the claims based on the specification. Therefore, for purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0217690 A1~hereinafter “Hong”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-5) a display device comprising: a first area (EA1; [0045]) and a second area (EA2; [0045]) adjacent to the first area; a first pixel in the first area (SP1), the first pixel including at least one second emission area (EA2; see fig. 1); and a second pixel in the second area (SP2; see fig. 2), the second pixel (SP2) including at least one first emission area (EA1) and at least one second emission area (EA2), wherein a half-spherical lens (232) is disposed in the first emission area (EA1), and wherein a half-cylindrical lens (234) is disposed in the second emission area (EA2).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8; [0137]) the first emission area (EA1) in the second area is turned on, and the second emission area in the second area is turned off in a first mode.
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8; [0138]) the first emission area in the second area is turned off, and the second emission area in the second area is turned on in a second mode.
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) a display device comprising: a first area (EA1) and a second area (EA2) adjacent to the first area on a substrate (110); a first pixel (SP1) in the first area; and a second pixel (SP2) in the second area, wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are pixels having a same color (see fig. 8; [0047]), wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel includes at least one emission area (see figs. 1-5 and 8), and wherein a number of the emission areas in the second pixel is greater than a number of the emission areas in the first pixel (see figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8; [0047]) the first pixel and the second pixel are green or blue pixels.
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) each of the first pixel (SP1) and the second pixel (SP2) includes a first emission area (EA1) and a second emission area (EA2), wherein a half-cylindrical lens (230) is disposed on the first emission area of the first pixel (see fig. 1), and wherein a half-spherical lens (230) is disposed on the first emission area of the second pixel (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) a display device comprising: a first area (see fig. 1) and a second area (see fig. 1) adjacent to the first area on a substrate (110); a first pixel (SP1) in the first area; a second pixel (SP2) in the second area; and lenses (232, 234) respectively corresponding to the first pixel and the second pixel (see at least fig. 1), wherein the first pixel and the second pixel have a same color (as evident by at least figs. 1-5 and 8), and wherein a number of the lenses (230) corresponding to the second pixel is greater than a number of the lenses corresponding to the first pixel (as evident by at least figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) the first pixel comprises a plurality of first emission areas (see figs. 3-5), and wherein the lenses corresponding to the first pixel are configured to cover the plurality of first emission areas (see figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) the lenses (230) corresponding to the first pixel are half-cylindrical lenses (322, 234), and wherein the lenses (230) corresponding to the second pixel comprise a half-cylindrical lens and a half-spherical lens (see figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, Hong discloses (in at least figs. 1-8) a vehicle comprising: a body ([0139]; i.e. the body is an inherit feature of the vehicle) having a motor mounted therein; at least one display panel in the body ([0140]), the at least one display panel including: a first area (EA1) and a second area (EA2) adjacent to the first area on a substrate (110); a first pixel (SP1) in the first area (EA1), the first pixel including at least one of a second emission area (EA2); and a second pixel (SP2) in the second area, the second pixel (SP2) including at least one of a first emission area (EA1) and the at least one of the second emission area (EA2), wherein the first emission area includes a half-spherical lens (232), and wherein the second emission area includes a half-cylindrical lens (234).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 11-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875