Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The indicated allowability of claims 29-27 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Twellman (US 4693188 A). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Twellman (US 4693188 A).
With respect to claim 29, Twellman discloses a connector comprising: a body (14) including an opening to receive a support rod (10) therethrough; a wedge (44) insertable in its entirety into the body (14) and having an annular body; a rotational lock (30) including an opening to receive the support rod (10) therethrough and being engageable with at least a portion of the wedge (32 engageable with wedge 44), the rotational lock having a first end (32) insertable within the body, wherein the rotational lock (30) rotatably attaches to the body such that rotation of the rotational lock causes the rotational lock to apply pressure to the wedge to lock the body to the support rod, wherein the rotational lock has the first end (32) and a second end (upper end of 30 opposite 32) along a longitudinal axis thereof, wherein the first end (32) of the rotational lock is disposed inside the body (14) when the rotational lock is rotated.
With respect to claim 30, Twellmann discloses the connector of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the wedge (44) has a conical surface (see conical surface of 44 receiving conical surface of 32 in the figure), and the rotational lock (30) engages the conical surface of the wedge to lock the body to the support rod when the rotational lock is rotated.
With respect to claim 31, Twellman discloses the connector of claim 30 as advanced above, wherein the rotational lock (30) comprises a conical portion (conical portion of 32) that engages the conical surface of the wedge (44).
With respect to claim 32, Twellman discloses the connector of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the wedge (44) includes teeth (48, 54).
With respect to claim 33, Twellman discloses the connector of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the body and the rotational lock (30) include threads (40) such that the rotational lock is threadable to the body to bring the rotational lock into engagement with the wedge (column 3, lines 25-40).
With respect to claim 34, Twellman discloses the connector of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the body supports a product holder (12).
With respect to claim 35, Twellman discloses a connector comprising: a body (14) including an opening to receive a support rod (10) therethrough; a wedge (24); a lock (30) including an opening to receive the support rod (10) therethrough and at least a portion of the wedge (24), the lock including a first portion having threading (40) sized to be inserted within the body (14) and a second portion (top portion of 30) that protrudes from the body when the first portion is inserted into the body, wherein the lock rotatably attaches to the body such that rotation of the lock causes the lock to apply pressure to the wedge (24) to lock the body to the support rod (10).
With respect to claim 36, Twellman discloses the connector of claim 35 as advanced above, wherein the wedge (24) has a conical surface, the lock (30) engaging the conical surface of the wedge to lock the body to the support rod when the lock is rotated.
With respect to claim 37, Twellman discloses the connector of claim 36 as advanced above, wherein the lock (30) comprises a conical portion (ribs 34 around upper portion of 32) that engages the conical surface of the wedge (24).
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 29-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc