Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025, 11/19/2025 and 07/09/2025 were considered and placed in the applicant’s file. However, it is impractical for the Examiner to review the references thoroughly given the number of references cited in the IDS includes approximately 263 references. By initialing each of the cited references on the accompanying 1449 forms, or by not striking through the cited reference, the Examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review has been made of each cited reference. MPEP § 2004.13 states (emphasis added):
"It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp.948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aft'd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823(Fed. Cir. 1995)."
Further, it should be noted that an Applicant's duty of disclosure of material and information is not satisfied by presenting an Examiner with "a mountain of largely irrelevant [material] from which he is presumed to have been able, with his experience and with adequate time, to have found the critical [material]. It ignores the real world conditions under which Examiners work." Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical co., 722 F.2d 1556, 1573 [220 USPQ 289] (Fed. Cir.1983), cert. Denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). Patent Applicant has a duty not just to disclose pertinent prior art references but to make a disclosure in such a way as not to "bury" it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art; see Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 USPQ2d 1889, at 1899 (D.Del 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 USPQ 260, at 272 (S.D. FI. 1972).
Given the large number of references cited on the IDS, the Examiner respectfully requests the cooperation of the Applicant in providing a concise explanation of relevance, such as the pertinent paragraphs, columns and line numbers, or drawings, which have caused each corresponding item to be listed on the IDS, since such action will ensure that information pertinent to the validity of any issued patent will not be overlooked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIANG et al. (US 20150260816 A1), hereinafter referenced as LIANG.
Regarding claim 2, LIANG explicitly teaches a computer-implemented method for displaying medical images (Fig. 5. Abstract-LIANG discloses a computer implemented method for processing MRI image data and displaying MRI images includes analyzing MRI image data to identify an image acquisition protocol used to acquire the MRI image data, and displaying a plurality of MRI images obtained from the MRI image data, wherein the MRI images are displayed in an order and/or arrangement based at least in part upon the identified image acquisition protocol. Further in paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses FIG. 5 depicts the workflow of an MRI review system. The workflow is controlled by MRI review system software (e.g., "SMART Hanging Software"). Please also see Fig. 2-4 and claim 8, and read paragraph [0032, 0042, 0052-0053]), the method comprising:
accessing magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses at step 310, data from an MRI study (including several MRI series) is transmitted to the MRI review system (e.g., in DICOM format). Please also see Fig. 2 and read paragraph [0042]);
analyzing the MRI data to categorize the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0039]-LIANG discloses different functional series/sequences in MRI data can be differentiated by analyzing acquisition settings in the MRI data's DICOM header. In paragraph [0042]-LIANG discloses the flow chart in FIG. 2 illustrates a computer implemented method of distinguishing these MRI sequences from each other by categorizing the MRI data. At step 10, the computer receives the MRI data in the DICOM format, including the DICOM header. At step 12, the computer extracts the protocol details from the DICOM header. Protocol details include: TR; TE; fractional anisotropy ("FA"); inversion time ("TI"); strength of magnetic gradient ("b-value"); sequence type; and derived/secondary. Please also see Fig. 4-5 and read paragraph [0043-0051 and 0053]);
generating a first label for the MRI data, the first label including a first digit representing a first level of information of the MRI data and a second digit representing a second level of information of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. At step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. At step 18, if TR from the DICOM header is less than 500 ms and TE from the DICOM header is less than 30 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence. On the other hand, at step 20, if TR from the DICOM header is greater than 1,200 ms and TE from the DICOM header is greater than 90 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.2-weighted sequence (wherein a first digit representing a first level of information may be, for example, a sequence type (e.g. T1-weighted sequence, a T2-weighted sequence, a diffusion weighted sequence, etc.), TR, TE, TI, and a second digit representing a second level of information may be, for example, fat-saturation). Please also read paragraph [0045-0051]);
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Fig. 2 illustrates a hierarchal labeling process for MRI data with at least a first and second digit representing a first and a second level, respectively.
receiving a request to display a specific type of MRI image (Fig. 5. Paragraph
[0054]-LIANG discloses at step 214, subsequent MRI series are transmitted to the MRI review system for processing and display. Please also see Fig. 2-4, and read paragraph [0057]);
based on the generated first label, identifying the MRI data as the specific type of MRI image (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses FIG. 5 depicts the workflow of an MRI review system according to another embodiment of the disclosed inventions. The workflow is controlled by MRI review system software (e.g., "SMART Hanging Software"). At step 310, data from an MRI study (including several MRI series) is transmitted to the MRI review system (e.g., in DICOM format). The MRI data includes a study description that identifies the type of the MRI study (e.g., "MRI Breast Bilateral With/Without Contrast") and series descriptions that identify the series in the MRI study (see sequences described above). The SMART Hanging Software includes a system default HP, as well as other HPs that may have been previously used in the system to display MRI data. At step 312, the system analyzes the study description of the MRI data (e.g., in the DICOM header) to determine if the MRI study's description matches that of a previously used HPs stored in the SMART Hanging Software. If the MRI data's study description matches that of a previously used HP, attempts to display the MRI data according to the previously used HP); and
displaying the MRI data in response to the request to display the specific type of MRI image (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses if the MRI data's study description matches that of a previously used HP, attempts to display the MRI data according to the previously used HP. In paragraph [0058]-LIANG discloses for each tile of the HP, the system further analyzes the MRI data to determine if a series description of the MRI data matches that of the previously used HP in step 314. If the MRI data's series description matches that of the previously used HP, the system displays that series in step 316. Please also see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, LIANG further teaches wherein the first level of information relates to an acquisition technique of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. At step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. At step 18, if TR from the DICOM header is less than 500 ms and TE from the DICOM header is less than 30 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence. On the other hand, at step 20, if TR from the DICOM header is greater than 1,200 ms and TE from the DICOM header is greater than 90 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.2-weighted sequence. Please also read paragraph [0041-0042 and 0044-0051]).
Regarding claim 4, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, LIANG further teaches wherein the first digit of the first label represents one of:
a relaxation time Ti-weighted sequence, a relaxation time T2-weighted sequence, a diffusion weighted sequence, or a susceptibility weighted sequence (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. At step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. At step 18, if TR from the DICOM header is less than 500 ms and TE from the DICOM header is less than 30 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence. On the other hand, at step 20, if TR from the DICOM header is greater than 1,200 ms and TE from the DICOM header is greater than 90 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.2-weighted sequence. Please also read paragraph [0041-0042 and 0044-0051]).
Regarding claim 5, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, LIANG further teaches wherein the second level of information relates to a fat separation technique of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0045]-LIANG discloses in high resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequences, if the DICOM header includes an inversion time, the sequence is additionally categorized as having fat saturation at step 26. If the DICOM header does not include an inversion time, the sequence is additionally categorized as not having fat saturation at step 28. Please also read paragraph [0041-0044 and 0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 6, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, LIANG further teaches wherein the first label includes a third digit representing a third level of information of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0044]-LIANG discloses for MRI data that has been categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence in step 18, the DICOM header is analyzed in steps 22 to 46. At step 22, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is high, the MRI data is categorized as a high resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. At step 24, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is low, the MRI data is categorized as a low resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. While high and low spatial resolution are relative terms, in some embodiments, high spatial resolution can be any resolution smaller than 0.8-1.0 mm and low spatial resolution can be any resolution larger than 0.8-1.0 mm. Please also read paragraph [0041-0043 and 0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 7, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, LIANG further teaches wherein the third level of information relates to subtypes of an acquisition technique represented by the first digit of the first label (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0044]-LIANG discloses for MRI data that has been categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence in step 18, the DICOM header is analyzed in steps 22 to 46. At step 22, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is high, the MRI data is categorized as a high resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. At step 24, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is low, the MRI data is categorized as a low resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. While high and low spatial resolution are relative terms, in some embodiments, high spatial resolution can be any resolution smaller than 0.8-1.0 mm and low spatial resolution can be any resolution larger than 0.8-1.0 mm. Please also read paragraph [0041-0043 and 0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 8, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, LIANG further teaches wherein the third digit represents one of: low spatial resolution, high spatial resolution, low temporal resolution, or high temporal resolution (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0044]-LIANG discloses for MRI data that has been categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence in step 18, the DICOM header is analyzed in steps 22 to 46. At step 22, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is high, the MRI data is categorized as a high resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. At step 24, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is low, the MRI data is categorized as a low resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. While high and low spatial resolution are relative terms, in some embodiments, high spatial resolution can be any resolution smaller than 0.8-1.0 mm and low spatial resolution can be any resolution larger than 0.8-1.0 mm. Please also read paragraph [0041-0043 and 0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 9, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer implemented method of claim 2, LIANG further teaches wherein the first label includes a fourth digit representing a fourth level of information of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0041]-LIANG discloses most breast MRI image acquisition protocols include derived series images with motion correction ("MOCO"). In paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. Please also read paragraph [0044-0051]).
Regarding claim 10, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer implemented method of claim 9, LIANG further teaches wherein the fourth level of information relates to motion correction (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0041]-LIANG discloses most breast MRI image acquisition protocols include derived series images with motion correction ("MOCO"). In paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. Please also read paragraph [0044-0051]).
Regarding claim 11, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, LIANG further teaches wherein the fourth digit represents whether motion correction was performed on the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0041]-LIANG discloses most breast MRI image acquisition protocols include derived series images with motion correction ("MOCO"). In paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. Please also read paragraph [0044-0051]).
Regarding claim 12, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, LIANG further teaches further comprising:
generating a second label for the MRI data, the second label representing characteristics of a mapping generated for the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0048]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential dynamic sequence at step 32, if the DICOM header includes identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a raw dynamic sequence at step 38. If the DICOM header does not include identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a potential T.sub.1 mapping sequence at step 40. In paragraph [0050]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential T1 mapping sequence at step 40, if the DICOM header includes a plurality of flip angles, with other acquisition parameters associate with each flip angle being identical, the MRI data is categorized as a T1 mapping sequence at step 46. The various flip angle T1 mapping sequences can include dynamic pre data. In such cases, the various T1 mapping acquisition sequences can repeat dynamic pre data with the only changed parameter being the flip angle. Please also see Fig. 3-5 and read paragraph [0041-0047, 0049 and 0051]);
identifying a map for the MRI data based on the second label (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0048]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential dynamic sequence at step 32, if the DICOM header includes identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a raw dynamic sequence at step 38. If the DICOM header does not include identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a potential T.sub.1 mapping sequence at step 40. In paragraph [0050]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential T1 mapping sequence at step 40, if the DICOM header includes a plurality of flip angles, with other acquisition parameters associate with each flip angle being identical, the MRI data is categorized as a T1 mapping sequence at step 46. The various flip angle T1 mapping sequences can include dynamic pre data. In such cases, the various T1 mapping acquisition sequences can repeat dynamic pre data with the only changed parameter being the flip angle. Please also see Fig. 3-5 and read paragraph [0041-0047, 0049 and 0051]); and
displaying the identified map as an overlay of the MRI data (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0052]-LIANG discloses FIG. 3 depicts a default HP. For each MRI study, the system presents various images from the MRI data on a display according to the default HP, which can include one or more computer screens (e.g., four screens). The system presents a T.sub.2-weighted sequence in the upper left quadrant 112 of the display 110. The system also presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and colorization in the upper right quadrant 114 of the display 110. Further, the system presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and subtraction maximum intensity projection ("MIP") in the lower right quadrant 116 of the display 110. Moreover, the system presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and the pre-contrast middle slice indicated in the lower left quadrant 118 of the display 110. MOCO, colorization, subtraction, and MIP can be overlays generated by MRI post-processing. Subtraction imaging is a technique whereby an unenhanced T.sub.1-weighted sequence is digitally subtracted from the identical sequence performed after gadolinium administration. Please also see Fig. 2 and 4-5 and read paragraph [0041-0051, 0053 and 0057]).
Regarding claim 13, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, LIANG further teaches wherein the second label includes a first digit that represents a mapping type and a second digit that represents additional mapping labels (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. At step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. At step 18, if TR from the DICOM header is less than 500 ms and TE from the DICOM header is less than 30 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence. On the other hand, at step 20, if TR from the DICOM header is greater than 1,200 ms and TE from the DICOM header is greater than 90 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.2-weighted sequence (wherein a first digit representing a first level of information may be, for example, a sequence type (e.g. T1-weighted sequence, a T2-weighted sequence, a diffusion weighted sequence, etc.), TR, TE, TI, and a second digit representing a second level of information may be, for example, fat-saturation). Please also read paragraph [0045-0051]).
Regarding claim 14, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, LIANG further teaches wherein the first digit of the second label represents once of:
a dynamic contrast enhancement (DCE) mapping or a diffusion mapping (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. Please also read paragraph [0041, 0046, 0049-0050 and 0053]).
Regarding claim 15, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer implemented method of claim 13, LIANG further teaches wherein the second digit of the second label represents one of:
an apparent diffusion coefficient (ADC) mapping, a direction mapping, or a vector mapping (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0042]-LIANG discloses protocol details include: TR; TE; fractional anisotropy ("FA"); inversion time ("TI"); strength of magnetic gradient ("b-value"); sequence type; and derived/secondary. Please also read paragraph [0041 and 0043-0051]).
Regarding claim 16, LIANG explicitly teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, LIANG further teaches wherein displaying the MRI data is performed via a hanging protocol (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0032]-LIANG discloses a hanging protocol ("HP") refers to a set of programming instructions outlining the arrangement of images from a clinical study on one or more computer screens. HPs may include information regarding the selection of images for display, the position, size and layout of the images on the computer screens, and the size of windows on the computer screens) having a workspace with a plurality of viewports (Fig. 3, #112, #114, #116, and #118 called upper left quadrant, upper right quadrant, bottom right quadrant and bottom left quadrant, respectively. Paragraph [0052]-LIANG discloses FIG. 3 depicts a default HP according to one embodiment of the disclosed inventions. For each MRI study, the system presents various images from the MRI data on a display according to the default HP, which can include one or more computer screens (e.g., four screens). The system presents a T.sub.2-weighted sequence in the upper left quadrant 112 of the display 110. The system also presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and colorization in the upper right quadrant 114 of the display 110. Further, the system presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and subtraction maximum intensity projection ("MIP") in the lower right quadrant 116 of the display 110. Moreover, the system presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and the pre-contrast middle slice indicated in the lower left quadrant 118 of the display 110. MOCO, colorization, subtraction, and MIP can be overlays generated by MRI post-processing) based on building blocks (Fig. 5. [0057]-LIANG discloses FIG. 5 depicts the workflow of an MRI review system. The workflow is controlled by MRI review system software (e.g., "SMART Hanging Software"). At step 310, data from an MRI study (including several MRI series) is transmitted to the MRI review system (e.g., in DICOM format). The MRI data includes a study description that identifies the type of the MRI study (e.g., "MRI Breast Bilateral With/Without Contrast") and series descriptions that identify the series in the MRI study (see sequences described above). The SMART Hanging Software includes a system default HP, as well as other HPs that may have been previously used in the system to display MRI data. At step 312, the system analyzes the study description of the MRI data (e.g., in the DICOM header) to determine if the MRI study's description matches that of a previously used HPs stored in the SMART Hanging Software. If the MRI data's study description matches that of a previously used HP, attempts to display the MRI data according to the previously used HP (wherein building blocks may be, for example, images or series of images). Please also see Fig. 2-4, and read paragraph [0032, 0042, 0052-0053]).
Regarding claim 17, LIANG explicitly teaches a system for analyzing magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) data and displaying medical images (Fig. 5. Abstract-LIANG discloses a computer implemented method for processing MRI image data and displaying MRI images includes analyzing MRI image data to identify an image acquisition protocol used to acquire the MRI image data, and displaying a plurality of MRI images obtained from the MRI image data, wherein the MRI images are displayed in an order and/or arrangement based at least in part upon the identified image acquisition protocol. Further in paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses FIG. 5 depicts the workflow of an MRI review system. The workflow is controlled by MRI review system software (e.g., "SMART Hanging Software"). Please also see Fig. 2-4 and claim 1, and read paragraph [0032, 0042, 0052-0053]), comprising:
at least one display (Fig. 3, #110 called a display. Paragraph [0016]-LIANG discloses a system for analyzing MRI image data and displaying MRI images includes at least one image display monitor);
at least one processor (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0016]-LIANG discloses a system for analyzing MRI image data and displaying MRI images includes an image processing computer); and
memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor, storing instructions that when executed by the at least one processor perform a set of operations (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0016]-LIANG discloses wherein the image processing computer is programmed or otherwise configured to analyze MRI image data to identify an image acquisition protocol used to acquire the MRI image data, and cause to be displayed on a same or different display monitor of the one or more display monitors a plurality of MRI images. The image processing computer may be programmed or otherwise configured to generate the plurality of displayed MRI images from the MRI image data. In particular, the image processing computer may be programmed or otherwise configured to select the plurality of MRI images to generate based on the identified image acquisition protocol. The image processing computer may be programmed or otherwise configured to obtain the MRI image data directly from an MRI imager, or from a storage device) comprising:
accessing MRI data (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses at step 310, data from an MRI study (including several MRI series) is transmitted to the MRI review system (e.g., in DICOM format). Please also see Fig. 2 and 4, and read paragraph [0042]);
analyzing the MRI data to categorize the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0039]-LIANG discloses different functional series/sequences in MRI data can be differentiated by analyzing acquisition settings in the MRI data's DICOM header. In paragraph [0042]-LIANG discloses the flow chart in FIG. 2 illustrates a computer implemented method of distinguishing these MRI sequences from each other by categorizing the MRI data. At step 10, the computer receives the MRI data in the DICOM format, including the DICOM header. At step 12, the computer extracts the protocol details from the DICOM header. Protocol details include: TR; TE; fractional anisotropy ("FA"); inversion time ("TI"); strength of magnetic gradient ("b-value"); sequence type; and derived/secondary. Please also see Fig. 4-5 and read paragraph [0043-0051 and 0053]);
generating a first label for the MRI data, the first label including a first digit representing a first level of information of the MRI data and a second digit representing a second level of information of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. At step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. At step 18, if TR from the DICOM header is less than 500 ms and TE from the DICOM header is less than 30 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence. On the other hand, at step 20, if TR from the DICOM header is greater than 1,200 ms and TE from the DICOM header is greater than 90 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.2-weighted sequence (wherein a first digit representing a first level of information may be, for example, a sequence type (e.g. T1-weighted sequence, a T2-weighted sequence, a diffusion weighted sequence, etc.), TR, TE, TI, and a second digit representing a second level of information may be, for example, fat-saturation). Please also read paragraph [0045-0051]);
receiving a request to display a specific type of MRI image (Fig. 5. Paragraph
[0054]-LIANG discloses at step 214, subsequent MRI series are transmitted to the MRI review system for processing and display. Please also see Fig. 2-4, and read paragraph [0057]);
based on the generated first label, identifying the MRI data as the specific type of MRI image (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses FIG. 5 depicts the workflow of an MRI review system according to another embodiment of the disclosed inventions. The workflow is controlled by MRI review system software (e.g., "SMART Hanging Software"). At step 310, data from an MRI study (including several MRI series) is transmitted to the MRI review system (e.g., in DICOM format). The MRI data includes a study description that identifies the type of the MRI study (e.g., "MRI Breast Bilateral With/Without Contrast") and series descriptions that identify the series in the MRI study (see sequences described above). The SMART Hanging Software includes a system default HP, as well as other HPs that may have been previously used in the system to display MRI data. At step 312, the system analyzes the study description of the MRI data (e.g., in the DICOM header) to determine if the MRI study's description matches that of a previously used HPs stored in the SMART Hanging Software. If the MRI data's study description matches that of a previously used HP, attempts to display the MRI data according to the previously used HP. Please also see Fig. 2-4); and
displaying the MRI data on the at least one display in response to the request to display the specific type of MRI image (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0057]-LIANG discloses if the MRI data's study description matches that of a previously used HP, attempts to display the MRI data according to the previously used HP. In paragraph [0058]-LIANG discloses for each tile of the HP, the system further analyzes the MRI data to determine if a series description of the MRI data matches that of the previously used HP in step 314. If the MRI data's series description matches that of the previously used HP, the system displays that series in step 316. Please also see Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, LIANG explicitly teaches the system of claim 17, LIANG further teaches wherein the first level of information relates to an acquisition technique, and wherein the first digit of the first label represents one of:
a relaxation time Ti-weighted sequence, a relaxation time T2-weighted sequence, a diffusion weighted sequence, or a susceptibility weighted sequence (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0043]-LIANG discloses at step 14, if derived/secondary details are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as a derived series with MOCO. At step 16, if b-values are identified in the DICOM header, the MRI data is categorized as DWI. Diffusion sequences (DWI) can be identified by identifying b-values in their DICOM headings. Diffusion sequences can also be identified by their distinctive echo planar (EPI) sequences. At step 18, if TR from the DICOM header is less than 500 ms and TE from the DICOM header is less than 30 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence. On the other hand, at step 20, if TR from the DICOM header is greater than 1,200 ms and TE from the DICOM header is greater than 90 ms, the MRI data is categorized as a T.sub.2-weighted sequence. Please also see Fig. 4 and read paragraph [0041-0042 and 0044-0051]).
Regarding claim 19, LIANG explicitly teaches the system of claim 17, LIANG further teaches wherein the second level of information relates to a fat saturation a fat separation technique of the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0045]-LIANG discloses in high resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequences, if the DICOM header includes an inversion time, the sequence is additionally categorized as having fat saturation at step 26. If the DICOM header does not include an inversion time, the sequence is additionally categorized as not having fat saturation at step 28. Please also read paragraph [0041-0044 and 0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 20, LIANG explicitly teaches he system of claim 17, LIANG further teaches wherein the first label includes a third digit representing a third level of information of the MRI data, wherein the third level of information relates to subtypes of an acquisition technique represented by the first digit of the first label, and wherein the third digit represents one of: low spatial resolution, high spatial resolution, low temporal resolution, or high temporal resolution (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0044]-LIANG discloses for MRI data that has been categorized as a T.sub.1-weighted sequence in step 18, the DICOM header is analyzed in steps 22 to 46. At step 22, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is high, the MRI data is categorized as a high resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. At step 24, if the spatial resolution from the DICOM header is low, the MRI data is categorized as a low resolution T.sub.1-weighted sequence. While high and low spatial resolution are relative terms, in some embodiments, high spatial resolution can be any resolution smaller than 0.8-1.0 mm and low spatial resolution can be any resolution larger than 0.8-1.0 mm. Please also read paragraph [0041-0043 and 0046-0051]).
Regarding claim 21, LIANG explicitly teaches the system of claim 17, LIANG further teaches wherein the set of operations further comprise:
generating a second label for the MRI data, the second label representing characteristics of a mapping generated for the MRI data (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0048]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential dynamic sequence at step 32, if the DICOM header includes identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a raw dynamic sequence at step 38. If the DICOM header does not include identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a potential T.sub.1 mapping sequence at step 40. In paragraph [0050]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential T1 mapping sequence at step 40, if the DICOM header includes a plurality of flip angles, with other acquisition parameters associate with each flip angle being identical, the MRI data is categorized as a T1 mapping sequence at step 46. The various flip angle T1 mapping sequences can include dynamic pre data. In such cases, the various T1 mapping acquisition sequences can repeat dynamic pre data with the only changed parameter being the flip angle. Please also see Fig. 3-5 and read paragraph [0041-0047, 0049 and 0051]);
identifying a map for the MRI data based on the second label (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0048]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential dynamic sequence at step 32, if the DICOM header includes identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a raw dynamic sequence at step 38. If the DICOM header does not include identical fractional anisotropy values, the MRI data is categorized as a potential T.sub.1 mapping sequence at step 40. In paragraph [0050]-LIANG discloses for MRI data categorized as a potential T1 mapping sequence at step 40, if the DICOM header includes a plurality of flip angles, with other acquisition parameters associate with each flip angle being identical, the MRI data is categorized as a T1 mapping sequence at step 46. The various flip angle T1 mapping sequences can include dynamic pre data. In such cases, the various T1 mapping acquisition sequences can repeat dynamic pre data with the only changed parameter being the flip angle. Please also see Fig. 3-5 and read paragraph [0041-0047, 0049 and 0051]); and
displaying the identified map as an overlay of the MRI data (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0052]-LIANG discloses FIG. 3 depicts a default HP. For each MRI study, the system presents various images from the MRI data on a display according to the default HP, which can include one or more computer screens (e.g., four screens). The system presents a T.sub.2-weighted sequence in the upper left quadrant 112 of the display 110. The system also presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and colorization in the upper right quadrant 114 of the display 110. Further, the system presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and subtraction maximum intensity projection ("MIP") in the lower right quadrant 116 of the display 110. Moreover, the system presents a dynamic sequence with MOCO and the pre-contrast middle slice indicated in the lower left quadrant 118 of the display 110. MOCO, colorization, subtraction, and MIP can be overlays generated by MRI post-processing. Subtraction imaging is a technique whereby an unenhanced T.sub.1-weighted sequence is digitally subtracted from the identical sequence performed after gadolinium administration. Please also see Fig. 2 and 4-5 and read paragraph [0041-0051, 0053 and 0057]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
FRAM et al. (US 10269449 B2)-Provided herein are various systems and methods for improved report interaction and generation. A computing system receives selection of an exam for display on a display device, either from a user or as automatically determined by a computing device. The computing system may then determine an exam characteristic associated with the exam, such as an exam type. A data structure storing associations between exam characteristics and respective report packages, each of the report packages comprising a parent report and one or more child reports, may be accessed in order to select a report package associated with the determined exam characteristic. The child reports of the selected report package, which are configured to receive input from a user of the computing system that is usable in automatically generating content of the parent report of the selected report package, may be selectively displayed on the one or more displays.............................. Please see Fig. 1-4. Abstract.
REICHER et al. (US 20170046483 A1)- Database systems and techniques are disclosed for accessing data stores of digital medical images, processing the digital images, and displaying the digital images to efficiently provide information in an interactive user interface. The disclosure may advantageously provide efficient and rapid dynamic interaction with digital images accessed from one or more databases to enable user detection of differences between related digital images. Interactive user interfaces may be dynamically updated to provide rapid comparison of digital images. Further, digital images from multiple data sources may be automatically sorted by the system according to attributes associated with the images and rules and/or preferences of the user. In an embodiment the user may select a digital image from a first data source, and the system automatically determines and displays one or more comparison images from other image data sources. Images may additionally be automatically registered and/or matched to enable more efficient comparison and evaluation............................... Please see Fig. 1, 3, 6 and 13-16. Paragraph [0275-0284, 0345-0353, 0392-0402, 0429 and 0493]. Abstract.
ZHAO et al. (US 20140143710 A1)- An example method for displaying clinical content includes monitoring user interaction with an image viewer displaying clinical content to a user according to a hanging protocol. The example method includes identifying a change in configuration of the hanging protocol and capturing, based on user input, criteria associated with the change. The example method includes saving the criteria in association with the hanging protocol and providing the saved hanging protocol and associated criteria for selection and application to clinical content to be displayed............................... Please see Fig. 1 -2 and 4-6. Abstract.
SORENSON et al. (US 20190392943 A1)- A plurality of image processing engines are hosted within an image processing system. Each image processing engine performs one or more image processing operations or clinical content processing operations on medical images and clinical content. A user interface allows a user to configure the plurality of image processing engines for a particular study of images. The user interface allows the user to configure the plurality of image processing engines in any one of the following configurations: a series configuration where the image processing engines operate in series so that an output from one image processing engine serves as input to a next image processing engine; a parallel configuration where each image processing engine in the plurality of image processing engines operates without input from any other image processing engine in the plurality of image processing engines; or a a hybrid configuration where a first subset of image processing engines operate in a series configuration, and a second subset of image processing engines operate in a parallel configuration................................. Please see Fig. 1-5, 12-14, and 19-20. Abstract.
KOTULA et al. (US 20120310668 A1)- The subject matter of this specification can be implemented in, among other things, a system for interfacing with multiple medical imaging modalities that includes a manifest generator for generating a manifest of medical images. The manifest can be used to determine an ordering or a layout of the medical images generated by the modalities, optionally as a function of the modality type, anatomical area, and other variables. In some embodiments, the various medical images and metadata may be received at an image order management system that parses the metadata and assembles the metadata into the manifest files that may be transmitted independently to remote interpretation sites, which in turn may be equipped with image viewer applications that analyze the manifest files and determine a rearranged ordering and/or grouping of the medical images, wherein the rearrangement is executed as a function of modality, anatomy, orientation and other variables................................ Please see Fig. 1 and 4-5. Abstract.
WESTERHOFF et al. (US 10631812 B2)- The invention provides, in some aspects, a system for implementing a rule derived basis to display volumetric image sets. In various embodiments of the invention, the selection of the images to be displayed, the generation of the 3-D volumetric image from measured 2-D images including the rendering parameters and styles, the choice of viewing directions and 2-D projection images based on the viewing directions, the layout of the projection images, and the formation of a video can be determined using a rule derived basis. In an embodiment of the present invention, the user is presented with sequential images making up a video displayed based on their preferences without having to first manually adjust parameters. The present invention allows for novel ways of viewing such images to detect microcalcifications and obstructions when reviewing Digital Breast Tomosynthesis and other volumetric mammography images............................ Please see Fig. 12. Abstract.
GROSS et al. (US 20160132228 A1)- An example image layout and display navigator system includes a navigator that includes a miniature layout representation corresponding to the layout of images on the display. The navigator is to appear on the display based on user action with respect to displayed content and to allow a user to select an image series via the miniature layout and to select one or more series level operations for application to the image series via the miniature layout. The navigator is to apply a selected series level operation to the image series via the miniature layout based on user input. An action in one of the navigator and the display is to translate into a corresponding action on the other of the navigator and the display. The content display manager is to update the content displayed to reflect the selected series level operation applied to the image series.es............................. Please see Fig. 1-2 and 5-6. Abstract.
SOBLE et al. (US 20180350458 A1)- The present invention relates generally to a system and methods for medical reporting. More specifically, the invention is directed to a system and methods by which information such as images or data may be analyzed in order to, for example, classify, identify and isolate structures, or extract attributes within the images or to deconstruct and reassemble the data according to a chosen clinical ontology such that by the entry of a selection of a topic, heading, and subheading within a medical report template—developed according to the same clinical ontology—, the information component or content relevant to selection is displayable concurrently to the user. Advantageously, through the use of such adaptive report developed through the use of the system, a user can complete a more thorough clinical study more efficiently............................... Please see Fig. 1A-C and 3C-D. Abstract.
Kariathungal et al. (US 20080166070 A1)- Embodiments of the presently described technology provide a method for adapting a hanging protocol based on an efficiency of use. The method includes monitoring usage information for a hanging protocol, determining a productivity factor based on an efficiency of a first user during a reading of an imaging study, and recommending at least one of a hanging protocol selection and a hanging protocol change to a second user based on the productivity factor. The usage information includes at least one of a selection of a hanging protocol and a change to the hanging protocol by a first user during the reading of the imaging study............................. Please see Fig. 1-3. Abstract.
NATANZON et al. (US 20100131890 A1)- Certain embodiments of the present invention provide systems and methods for image layout and display on a display such as a PACS workstation display. Certain embodiments provide a method for image layout on a display. The method includes detecting an event related to movement of an image for placement on a display. The method also includes overlaying a navigation grid on at least a portion of the display. The navigation grid includes one or more sections corresponding to sections for content on the display. The method further includes indicating a section of the grid into which the image is to be positioned. In addition, the method includes updating the display to reflect the position of the image................................. Please see Fig. 1-2, 5-6 and 8. Abstract.
DESH et al. (US 20080008366 A1)- A method of combining data from multi-modality imaging to provide simultaneous processing, visualization and navigation of both functional and anatomical image information, such as, for example, in cardiac studies. Multi-modality imaging data such as SPECT, PET, CT, MRI and ultrasound are correlated and coregistered, and assembled for visualization in a number of different view formats simultaneously and in a correlated manner whereby selection of a particular area or segment from one view causes reorientation or adjustment of other views to be consistent with the selected area or segment to facilitate analysis................................ Please see Fig. 1-4. Abstract.
ZHU et al. (US 20120320083 A1)- A medical imaging system (10) comprises one or more displays (66). A viewer device (86) generates an interactive user interface screen (80) on the display (66), which viewer device (86) enables a user to simultaneously inspect selected image data of multiple patients or multiple images............................... Please see Fig. 1-5 and 9-13. Abstract.
should be directed to Aaron Bonansinga whose telephone number is (703) 756-5380 The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. ET.
supervisor, Chineyere Wills-Burns can be reached by phone at (571) 272-9752. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/AARON TIMOTHY BONANSINGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673