I got1Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens et al. (GB820673A, hereinafter “Siemens”) in view Weidong et al. (CN105388625A, hereinafter “Weidong”).
Regarding claim1, Siemens discloses:
A dimming device that dims a laser beam radiated from a laser beam irradiation optical, the dimming device comprising: a beam splitter that has an optical thin of several layers (fig.1 [40]) formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis (fig.1 Page 1 line 95).
[AltContent: textbox (Fig.1)]
Siemens fails to disclose a dimming device comprising a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers.
Weidong, however, teaches a beam splitter that has an optical film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident (claims 1 and 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the optical film of multi-layer in the dimming device of Siemens with the optical layer of 20 or more of the beam splitter of Weidong. One would have been motivated to add the two components for increase contrast of the dimming device.
Claim 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Weidong and Izumi (US2019/01600599, hereinafter “Izumi”).
Regarding claim 2, Siemens and Weidong disclose (see claim 1 rejection):
A dimming device that dims a laser beam radiated from a laser beam irradiation optical, the dimming device comprising: a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis.
Siemens and Weidong fail to disclose a cylindrical light guide unit that holds the beam splitter and has an opening close to at least the laser beam irradiation optical unit.
Izumi, however, discloses a cylindrical light guide unit that holds the beam splitter and has an opening close to at least the laser beam irradiation optical unit (fig. 2, [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the dimming device of Siemens and a more than 10 layers beam splitter of Weidong a cylindrical light guide unit of Izumi. One would have been motivated to add the three components to control transmittance/reflectance and guide light within the dimming device.
Regarding claim 6, Siemens and Weidong disclose (see claim 1 rejection):
A dimming device that dims a laser beam radiated from a laser beam irradiation optical, the dimming device comprising: a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis.
Siemens and Weidong fail to disclose an observation device configured to observe a laser beam dimmed by the dimming device.
However, Izumi teaches an observation (measurement) device (item 15 in fig2, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the laser dimming device of Siemens in view of Weidong with the measurement device of the laser machining device of Izumi to conceive a laser beam measurement device. One would have been motivated to combine the three devices to improve the function and safety of the laser measurement device.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig.2)]
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Weidong and Memesawa and al. (JP199911312330, hereinafter “Memesawa”).
Regarding claim 3, Siemens and Weidong disclose (see claim 1 rejection):
A dimming device that dims a laser beam radiated from a laser beam irradiation optical, the dimming device comprising: a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis.
Siemens and Weidong fail to disclose a beam splitter that includes a transmission type in which a transmittance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of the laser beam on the beam splitter is the angle α is 2.0% or less and that satisfies following Conditional Expression (1): or a reflection type in which a reflectance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of the laser beam on the beam splitter is the angle α is 2.0% or less and that satisfies following Conditional Expression (2): 0≤(Tmax-Tmin)/Tave≤0.05 ... (1) 0≤(Rmax-Rmin)/Rave≤0.05 ... (2) where Tmax is a maximum value of a transmittance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the transmission type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Tmin is a minimum value of a transmittance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the transmission type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Tave is an average value of transmittances of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the transmission type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Rmax is a maximum value of a reflectance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the reflection type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Rmin is a minimum value of the reflectance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the reflection type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, and Rave is an average value of reflectances of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the reflection type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less.
The claimed ranges pertain to consistent transmittivity/reflectance across the range of incidence angles.
Memesawa, however, teaches a small incidence angle dependence (abstract). Further, one of ordinary skill would have selected a transmittance or reflectance of the beam splitter to be 2.0% or less according to design choice for a specific need.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the dimming device to have a transmittance or reflectance as proposed with a small incidence angle dependence to ensure uniform performance across a range of angles.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi in view of Siemens and Weidong.
Regarding claim 4, Izumi discloses:
A laser machining device comprising: a laser beam irradiation optical unit (item 11 in fig2, [0024]) configured to irradiate an object to be machining processed with a laser beam collected and condensed, a spot being formed at the object to be machining processed, to perform laser machining.
Izumi fails to disclose:
A dimming device configured to dim the laser beam radiated from the laser beam irradiation optical unit by using a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis.
However, Siemens in view of Weidong, disclose:
A dimming device that dims a laser beam radiated from a laser beam irradiation optical, the dimming device comprising: a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the laser machining device of Izumi a diming device of Siemens in view of Weidong. One would have been motivated to add the three components to increase the contrast of the laser machining device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi in view of Siemens, Weidong, and Memesawa.
Regarding claim 5, Izumi, Siemens, and Weidong disclose a laser machining device comprising: a laser beam irradiation optical unit configured to irradiate an object to be machining processed with a laser beam collected and condensed, a spot being formed at the object to be machining processed, to perform laser machining; and a dimming device configured to dim the laser beam radiated from the laser beam irradiation optical unit by using a beam splitter that has an optical thin film of 10 or more layers formed close to a surface on which the laser beam is incident, and that, when any orthogonal coordinate axes whose origin in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the laser beam irradiation optical unit is on the optical axis are defined as an X axis and a Y axis, is disposed so as to be inclined at an angle α of 30° or more and 60° or less with respect to the optical axis with the X axis as a rotation axis.
Izumi, Siemens, and Weidong fail to disclose a beam splitter that includes a transmission type in which a transmittance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of the laser beam on the beam splitter is the angle α is 2.0% or less and that satisfies following Conditional Expression (1): or a reflection type in which a reflectance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of the laser beam on the beam splitter is the angle α is 2.0% or less and that satisfies following Conditional Expression (2): 0≤(Tmax-Tmin)/Tave≤0.05 ... (1) 0≤(Rmax-Rmin)/Rave≤0.05 ... (2) where Tmax is a maximum value of a transmittance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the transmission type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Tmin is a minimum value of a transmittance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the transmission type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Tave is an average value of transmittances of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the transmission type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Rmax is a maximum value of a reflectance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the reflection type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, Rmin is a minimum value of the reflectance of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the reflection type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less, and Rave is an average value of reflectances of the beam splitter when an incident angle of a laser beam on the reflection type beam splitter is in a range of α-5° or more and α+5° or less.
The claimed ranges pertain to consistent transmittivity/reflectance across the range of incidence angles.
Memesawa, however, teaches a small incidence angle dependence (abstract). Further, one of ordinary skill would have selected a transmittance or reflectance of the beam splitter to be 2.0% or less according to design choice for a specific need.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the dimming device to have a transmittance or reflectance as proposed with a small incidence angle dependence to ensure uniform performance across a range of angles.
Conclusion
/F.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/MICHAEL H CALEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871