DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,170,959 in view of ANG et al. (US 2023/0112209).
Application No. 18/936,480
U.S. Patent No. 12,170,959
1.A method for saving power of a terminal, comprising:
receiving first power saving indication information, wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the
designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and
performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit, comprising:
switching the first carrier to a power saving state by switching a first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier; or
switching the first carrier to a non-power saving state by switching a second bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier,
wherein the second bandwidth part is a dormant bandwidth part.
**Note that this mapping also applies to claims 8 and 15, as they recite the same limitations as claim 1.
1.A method for saving power of a terminal, comprising:
receiving a first power saving indication information, wherein the first power saving indication information is configured with a bit corresponding to a designated carrier, and the bit is configured to indicate that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, wherein the designated carrier comprises
a first carrier and
wherein the first power saving indication information indicates that the first carrier is to be
switched to a power saving state by switching a first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier; and
switching the first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to the second bandwidth part in the first carrier, wherein using the second bandwidth part consumes less power than using the first bandwidth part.
3.The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a base station, before switching the first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to the second bandwidth part in the first carrier, a configuration of the second bandwidth part as the dormant bandwidth part.
**Note that this mapping also applies to claims 10 and 17, as they recite the same limitations as claim 3.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving from a base station, before switching the first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to the second bandwidth part in the first carrier, a configuration of the second bandwidth part as a power saving bandwidth part.
4.The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a dormant operation on the second bandwidth part, the dormant operation comprising: refraining from performing a control channel monitoring operation, and performing at least one of channel state information (CSI) measurement, automatic gain control (AGC), or beam management.
**Note that this mapping also applies to claims 11 and 18, as they recite the same limitations as claim 4.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein a dormant operation is performed, the dormant operation comprising refraining from performing a control channel monitoring operation on the second bandwidth part and performing at least one of channel state information (CSI) measurement, automatic gain control (AGC), or beam management.
5.The method of claim 1, wherein the designated carrier further comprises a second carrier, and the bit corresponding to the designated carrier further indicates that the second carrier is to be switched to the power saving state, wherein the first carrier and the second carrier are configured for a same terminal.
**Note that this mapping also applies to claims 12 and 19, as they recite the same limitations as claim 5.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the designated carrier further comprises a second carrier, and the first power saving indication information is further configured to indicate that the second carrier is to be switched to the power saving state, wherein the first carrier and the second carrier are configured for a same terminal.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the bit is configured for indicating that at least one of the following operations is to be performed on the designated carrier: switching a bandwidth part on the designated carrier, or refraining from performing a control channel monitoring operation on the designated carrier.
**Note that this mapping also applies to claims 13 and 20, as they recite the same limitations as claim 6.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the bit is configured to indicate that at least one of the following operations is to be performed on the designated carrier: switching a bandwidth part on the designated carrier or refraining from performing a control channel monitoring operation on the designated carrier.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the first power saving indication information is downlink control information carrying a power saving indication identifier.
**Note that this mapping also applies to claim 14, as it recites the same limitations as claim 7.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the first power saving indication information is downlink control information carrying a power saving indication identifier.
Application No. 18/936,480 is directed to the same invention as recited by the patented claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,170,959 (see table above), except for the limitations of “wherein the second bandwidth part is a dormant bandwidth part”.
However, in an analogous art, Ang teaches wherein the second bandwidth part is a dormant bandwidth part (abstract; p. [0055], [0094]; Ang teaches wherein a UE may enter a dormant state for power savings, the UE is configured to receive an indication of a bandwidth part switch for a secondary cell to a dormant BWP (i.e., second bandwidth part), and transition based on the indication to a dormant BWP). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,170,959 with the teachings on Ang, in order for the UE to enter a dormant state and obtain power savings by switching to a dormant bandwidth part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG et al. (US 2023/0112209) in view of ANG et al. (US 2019/0124558, hereinafter Ang-558).
Regarding claim 1, Ang discloses a method for saving power of a terminal, comprising:
receiving first power saving indication information (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., BWP switching DCI) including an indication of a bandwidth part (BWP) switch for a secondary cell to a dormant BWP); and
performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the indication information (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition the secondary cell (i.e., designated carrier) from an active state to a dormant state based on the indication of the BWP switch of the secondary cell to a dormant BWP), comprising:
switching the first carrier to a power saving state by switching a first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061], [0094]; the UE transition the secondary cell (i.e., designated carrier) from an active state to a dormant state (i.e., power saving state) based on the indication of the BWP switch of the secondary cell to a dormant BWP); or
switching the first carrier to a non-power saving state by switching a second bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier,
wherein the second bandwidth part is a dormant bandwidth part (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition switches to a dormant BWP (i.e., second bandwidth part)).
But, Ang does not particularly disclose wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit.
However, Ang- 558 teaches wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit (p. [0130]; a DCI format may include bit values to indicate a BWP type (e.g., narrowband, wideband, zero-bandwidth) selection for a base station (e.g., primary cell) based on a bit value of the first bit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ang with the teachings of Ang-558, since such a modification would provide an explicit indication for switching bandwidth parts and faster transition of the carrier to a different bandwidth part.
Regarding claim 8, Ang discloses an apparatus for saving power (p. [0105]), comprising:
a processor (p. [0105]); and
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (p. [0105]-[0106]), and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement:
receiving first power saving indication information (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., BWP switching DCI) including an indication of a bandwidth part (BWP) switch for a secondary cell to a dormant BWP); and
performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the indication information (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition the secondary cell (i.e., designated carrier) from an active state to a dormant state based on the indication of the BWP switch of the secondary cell to a dormant BWP), comprising:
switching the first carrier to a power saving state by switching a first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition the secondary cell (i.e., designated carrier) from an active state to a dormant state (i.e., power saving state) based on the indication of the BWP switch of the secondary cell to a dormant BWP); or
switching the first carrier to a non-power saving state by switching a second bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier,
wherein the second bandwidth part is a dormant bandwidth part (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition switches to a dormant BWP (i.e., second bandwidth part)).
But, Ang does not particularly disclose wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit.
However, Ang- 558 teaches wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit (p. [0130]; a DCI format may include bit values to indicate a BWP type (e.g., narrowband, wideband, zero-bandwidth) selection for a base station (e.g., primary cell) based on a bit value of the first bit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ang with the teachings of Ang-558, since such a modification would provide an explicit indication for switching bandwidth parts and faster transition of the carrier to a different bandwidth part.
Regarding claim 15, Ang discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (p. [0105]; computer readable medium/memory 1006) having a computer program stored upon, wherein the computer program, upon execution by a processor (p. [0106]), implements a method comprising:
receiving first power saving indication information (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., BWP switching DCI) including an indication of a bandwidth part (BWP) switch for a secondary cell to a dormant BWP); and
performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the indication information (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition the secondary cell (i.e., designated carrier) from an active state to a dormant state based on the indication of the BWP switch of the secondary cell to a dormant BWP), comprising:
switching the first carrier to a power saving state by switching a first bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition the secondary cell (i.e., designated carrier) from an active state to a dormant state (i.e., power saving state) based on the indication of the BWP switch of the secondary cell to a dormant BWP); or
switching the first carrier to a non-power saving state by switching a second bandwidth part currently activated in the first carrier to a second bandwidth part in the first carrier,
wherein the second bandwidth part is a dormant bandwidth part (abstract; p. [0007], [0037], [0061]; the UE transition switches to a dormant BWP (i.e., second bandwidth part)).
But, Ang does not particularly disclose wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit.
However, Ang- 558 teaches wherein a bit corresponding to a designated carrier is configured in the first power saving indication information, the bit is configured for indicating that a corresponding operation is to be performed on the designated carrier, and the designated carrier is a carrier having a same operation and the designated carrier comprises a first carrier; and performing the corresponding operation on the designated carrier according to the bit (p. [0130]; a DCI format may include bit values to indicate a BWP type (e.g., narrowband, wideband, zero-bandwidth) selection for a base station (e.g., primary cell) based on a bit value of the first bit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ang with the teachings of Ang-558, since such a modification would provide an explicit indication for switching bandwidth parts and faster transition of the carrier to a different bandwidth part.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination of Ang and Ang-558 disclose the method of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 8, and the non-transitory computer readable storage of claim 15, Ang-558 discloses wherein the bit comprises one or more bits, wherein a first bit in the one or more bits is configured to trigger an operation of a user equipment (UE) on a designated carrier corresponding to the first carrier, and wherein the designated carrier corresponding to the first carrier comprises one or more secondary carriers (p. [0108]; a BWP DCI of a primary cell (e.g., base station 205) may carry a control bitmap associated with one or more secondary cells. Based on the control bitmap, individual secondary cells may be signaled to transition to another BWP from a zero BWP. To conserve the number of bits used in the control bitmap, at least one bit may be assigned to each secondary cell. For example, at least one bit of the bitmap may include a secondary cell indicator (e.g., identifier (ID)). In some examples, if the at least one bit is set, the secondary cell may transition (i.e., trigger operation) to a first BWP which is preconfigured). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ang with the teachings of Ang-558, since such a modification would allow to control the transition of bandwidth parts for each of the one or more secondary cells (i.e., secondary carriers) based on a plurality of bits.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643