Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 112a/112b/112f rejections, filed 07/08/2026, in view of amended claims, have been considered and are persuasive therefore the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 101 rejections, filed 07/08/2026, in view of the amended claims, have been considered and are persuasive therefore the 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejections, filed 07/08/2026, in view of the amended claims, have been considered and are partially persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Wang nor Enzinger teaches “a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user”. However, it is noted that Enzinger teaches a detection software installed on the user's mobile device that works alongside a resident client app (app 480 and [0093]-[0106]). That app receives OS-level push notifications and haptic control, reports blocked calls, sends vouched voice profiles back to the platform, and blocks callers, which teaches a client sensor agent.
However, applicant further argues that Wang in view of Enzinger does not teach wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. These arguments are persuasive therefore the rejection is withdrawn however they are further maintained under Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1).
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 07/08/2026, in which, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 20 are independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 13-14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240005947 A1, referred to as Wang), in view of Enzinger et al. (US 20210193174 A1, referred to as Enzinger) in further view of Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1, referred to as Looney).
In reference to claim 1, A cyber security system to protect against cyber threats including a synthetic clone of a voice of a speaker (Wang: [0001] and [0016] Provides for a SSD system as a security protection mechanism against synthetic voice threats.)
a computing device of a user, the computing device including one or more processors and one or more non-transitory storage media (Wang: [0023]-[0024], [0062] and [0084]-[0085] Provides for end-user devices such as smartphones and laptops, with processing units and computer storage media that expressly exclude propagating signals.)
A deep learning model trained to analyze an audio file input into the deep learning model and to produce as an output of one or more embeddings of the audio file, under analysis (Wang: [0056]-[0058] Provides for DNNs processing acoustic features and producing abstracted feature vectors through a pooling/embedding layer.)
One or more AI classifiers trained to analyze the one or more embeddings of the audio file, under analysis, from the deep learning model to determine whether it is likely that the voice of the speaker engaging with a user is real or the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker (Wang: [0053]-[0055] and [0064] Provides for feed-forward classifiers operating on the pooled embedding vector to produce a probability score of synthetic vs. real speech maps.)
A voice clone detection system stored in the one ore more non-transitory storage media and configured to be resident on the computing device of the user and to integrate with different sources of audio data on the computing device of the user in order to collect the audio file containing an attempt to synthetically clone the voice of the speaker protected by the cyber security system (Wang: [0039]-[0043], [0062], and [0083] Provides for deploying the trained SSD model on end-user devices and receiving audio from microphones or media streams. Wang: [0024]-[0030] Provides for a trained SSD software module, the DNN operation engine 120, that is stored and runs on the user's device and takes audio from several on-device sources.)
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the voice detection system is a voice detection bot, a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user, and wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. However, Enzinger discloses:
Wherein the voice detection system is a voice detection bot (Enzinger: [0004], [0031] and [0094] Provides for a tampering detector system specifically targeting voice synthesis and voice conversion.)
a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user (Enzinger: [0072]-[0076], [0091]-[0099], [0106], [0152]-[0159] and [0177] Provides for detection software installed on the user's mobile device that works alongside a resident client app (app 480). That app receives OS-level push notifications and haptic control, reports blocked calls, sends vouched voice profiles back to the platform, and blocks callers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang, which provides a cyber security system using deep learning models and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones through analysis of audio embeddings on user computing devices, with the teachings of Enzinger, which introduces implementing the voice detection functionality as a specialized bot system targeting voice synthesis and conversion tampering. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Enzinger's bot architecture into Wang's voice clone detection system to provide automated, persistent monitoring capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable continuous, autonomous operation of the voice detection system without requiring constant user intervention.
Wang in view of Enzinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. However, Looney discloses:
wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection (Looney: [0039]-[0040] and [0053] Provides for a voice activity detector that identifies where speech occurs in the call audio, and the "computer" doing so may be a fraud detection app on the user's smartphone. Looney: [0023], [0040]-[0043] and [0053]-[0063] Provides for splitting the voiced audio into fixed length frames and grouping them into superframes of a predetermined duration. Looney: [0027]-[0032] and [0060] Provides for splitting detection between an on-device app and a remote, distributed fraud-detection server reached over the Internet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers deployed as a client sensor agent on user devices to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Looney, which introduces voice activity detection for identifying speech segments, splitting audio into predetermined fixed-length segments, and forwarding those segments in real time to a remote cloud-based detection system over a secure internet connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Looney's audio segmentation and cloud forwarding architecture into the combined voice clone detection system to enable more efficient and scalable real-time analysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to reduce computational burden on user devices.
In reference to claim 3, The cyber security system of claim 1, where a first AI classifier of the one or more AI classifiers is a speaker AI classifier trained to compare a current embedding of the audio file and its associated speaker from the deep learning model against one or more embeddings known to be from the speaker who is allegedly speaking in the audio file, under analysis (Wang: [0041] and [0055]-[0057] Provides for comparing synthetic speech against known real recordings of the same speaker, treating them as distinguishable identities.)
In reference to claim 4, The cyber security system of claim 2, further comprising: a binary AI classifier trained to receive 1) a determination of how likely a current embedding of the audio file and its associated speaker, under analysis, is actually the speaker or is the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker, and 2) a determination of how likely the audio file, under analysis, was created by another vocoder from the one or more AI classifiers, and then to evaluate the determinations in order to determine when it is likely that the voice of the speaker engaging with the user in the audio file, under analysis, is real or fake (Wang: [0016]. [0053], [0064], [0097] Fig 3 and 6 Provides for multiple classifier determinations (speaker identity, channel/vocoder characteristics, and SSD probability) are collectively evaluated to reach a binary real/fake outcome.)
In reference to claim 6, The cyber security system of claim 1, where the voice clone detection bot is further configured to insert itself into one or more of a phone application, an online meeting application, or other voice driven application resident on the computing device of the user and then monitor that application, and when a conversation is happening in the application, then to create the audio file, under analysis, and supply the audio file, under analysis, to the deep learning model that is trained to analyze the audio file, under analysis (Enzinger: [0090]-[0095] Provides for On-device residency of the authentication service, monitoring of voice calls in progress, and supplying audio to a deep learning model.)
In reference to claim 11, Method for a cyber security system to protect against cyber threats including a synthetic clone of a voice of a speaker (Wang: [0001] and [0016] Provides for a SSD system as a security protection mechanism against synthetic voice threats.)
Providing a computing device of a user, the computing device including one or more processors and one or more non-transitory storage media (Wang: [0023]-[0024], [0062] and [0084]-[0085] Provides for end-user devices such as smartphones and laptops, with processing units and computer storage media that expressly exclude propagating signals.)
Providing a deep learning model trained to analyze an audio file input into the deep learning model and to produce as an output of one or more embeddings of the audio file, under analysis (Wang: [0056]-[0058] Provides for DNNs processing acoustic features and producing abstracted feature vectors through a pooling/embedding layer.)
Providing a voice clone detection system stored in the one ore more non-transitory storage media and configured to be resident on the computing device of the user and to integrate with different sources of audio data on the computing device of the user in order to collect the audio file containing an attempt to synthetically clone the voice of the speaker protected by the cyber security system (Wang: [0039]-[0043], [0062], and [0083] Provides for deploying the trained SSD model on end-user devices and receiving audio from microphones or media streams. Wang: [0024]-[0030] Provides for a trained SSD software module, the DNN operation engine 120, that is stored and runs on the user's device and takes audio from several on-device sources.)
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the voice detection system is a voice detection bot, a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user, and wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. However, Enzinger discloses:
Wherein the voice detection system is a voice detection bot (Enzinger: [0004], [0031] and [0094] Provides for a tampering detector system specifically targeting voice synthesis and voice conversion.)
a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user (Enzinger: [0072]-[0076], [0091]-[0099], [0106], [0152]-[0159] and [0177] Provides for detection software installed on the user's mobile device that works alongside a resident client app (app 480). That app receives OS-level push notifications and haptic control, reports blocked calls, sends vouched voice profiles back to the platform, and blocks callers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang, which provides a cyber security system using deep learning models and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones through analysis of audio embeddings on user computing devices, with the teachings of Enzinger, which introduces implementing the voice detection functionality as a specialized bot system targeting voice synthesis and conversion tampering. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Enzinger's bot architecture into Wang's voice clone detection system to provide automated, persistent monitoring capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable continuous, autonomous operation of the voice detection system without requiring constant user intervention.
Wang in view of Enzinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. However, Looney discloses:
wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection (Looney: [0039]-[0040] and [0053] Provides for a voice activity detector that identifies where speech occurs in the call audio, and the "computer" doing so may be a fraud detection app on the user's smartphone. Looney: [0023], [0040]-[0043] and [0053]-[0063] Provides for splitting the voiced audio into fixed length frames and grouping them into superframes of a predetermined duration. Looney: [0027]-[0032] and [0060] Provides for splitting detection between an on-device app and a remote, distributed fraud-detection server reached over the Internet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers deployed as a client sensor agent on user devices to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Looney, which introduces voice activity detection for identifying speech segments, splitting audio into predetermined fixed-length segments, and forwarding those segments in real time to a remote cloud-based detection system over a secure internet connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Looney's audio segmentation and cloud forwarding architecture into the combined voice clone detection system to enable more efficient and scalable real-time analysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to reduce computational burden on user devices.
In reference to claim 13, The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing a first AI classifier of the one or more AI classifiers as a speaker AI classifier trained to compare a current embedding of the audio file and its associated speaker from the deep learning model against one or more embeddings known to be from the speaker who is allegedly speaking in the audio file, under analysis (Wang: [0041] and [0055]-[0057] Provides for comparing synthetic speech against known real recordings of the same speaker, treating them as distinguishable identities.)
In reference to claim 14, The method for the cyber security system of claim 12, further comprising: providing a binary AI classifier trained to receive 1) a determination of how likely a current embedding of the audio file and its associated speaker, under analysis, is actually the speaker or is the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker, and 2) a determination of how likely the audio file, under analysis, was created by another vocoder from the one or more AI classifiers, and then to evaluate the determinations in order to determine when it is likely that the voice of the speaker engaging with the user in the audio file, under analysis, is real or fake (Wang: [0016]. [0053], [0064], [0097] Fig 3 and 6 Provides for multiple classifier determinations (speaker identity, channel/vocoder characteristics, and SSD probability) are collectively evaluated to reach a binary real/fake outcome.)
In reference to claim 16, The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing the voice clone detection bot to insert itself into one or more of a phone application, an online meeting application, or other voice driven application resident on the computing device of the user and then monitor that application, and when a conversation is happening in the application, then to create the audio file, under analysis, and supply the audio file, under analysis, to the deep learning model that is trained to analyze the audio file, under analysis (Enzinger: [0090]-[0095] Provides for On-device residency of the authentication service, monitoring of voice calls in progress, and supplying audio to a deep learning model.)
In reference to claim 20, A non-transitory memory storage device to store instructions in an executable format to be executed by one or more processors, which when executed are configured to cause a computing device to perform operations as follows (Wang: [0001] and [0016] Provides for a SSD system as a security protection mechanism against synthetic voice threats.)
Using a deep learning model trained to analyze an audio file input into the deep learning model and to produce as an output of one or more embeddings of the audio file, under analysis (Wang: [0056]-[0058] Provides for DNNs processing acoustic features and producing abstracted feature vectors through a pooling/embedding layer.)
Using one or more AI classifiers trained to analyze the one or more embeddings of the audio file, under analysis, from the deep learning model to determine whether it is likely that the voice of the speaker engaging with a user is real or the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker (Wang: [0053]-[0055] and [0064] Provides for feed-forward classifiers operating on the pooled embedding vector to produce a probability score of synthetic vs. real speech maps.)
Using a voice clone detection system stored in the one ore more non-transitory storage media and configured to be resident on the computing device of the user and to integrate with different sources of audio data on the computing device of the user in order to collect the audio file containing an attempt to synthetically clone the voice of the speaker protected by the cyber security system (Wang: [0039]-[0043], [0062], and [0083] Provides for deploying the trained SSD model on end-user devices and receiving audio from microphones or media streams. Wang: [0024]-[0030] Provides for a trained SSD software module, the DNN operation engine 120, that is stored and runs on the user's device and takes audio from several on-device sources.)
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the voice detection system is a voice detection bot, a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user, and wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. However, Enzinger discloses:
Wherein the voice detection system is a voice detection bot (Enzinger: [0004], [0031] and [0094] Provides for a tampering detector system specifically targeting voice synthesis and voice conversion.)
a client sensor agent resident on the computing device of the user (Enzinger: [0072]-[0076], [0091]-[0099], [0106], [0152]-[0159] and [0177] Provides for detection software installed on the user's mobile device that works alongside a resident client app (app 480). That app receives OS-level push notifications and haptic control, reports blocked calls, sends vouched voice profiles back to the platform, and blocks callers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang, which provides a cyber security system using deep learning models and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones through analysis of audio embeddings on user computing devices, with the teachings of Enzinger, which introduces implementing the voice detection functionality as a specialized bot system targeting voice synthesis and conversion tampering. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Enzinger's bot architecture into Wang's voice clone detection system to provide automated, persistent monitoring capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable continuous, autonomous operation of the voice detection system without requiring constant user intervention.
Wang in view of Enzinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection. However, Looney discloses:
wherein the voice clone detection bot uses a voice activity detector to determine where speech is in the audio file, splits the audio file into predetermined audio segments, and forwards the predetermined audio segments in real time to a voice clone detection system in a cloud service platform via a secure connection (Looney: [0039]-[0040] and [0053] Provides for a voice activity detector that identifies where speech occurs in the call audio, and the "computer" doing so may be a fraud detection app on the user's smartphone. Looney: [0023], [0040]-[0043] and [0053]-[0063] Provides for splitting the voiced audio into fixed length frames and grouping them into superframes of a predetermined duration. Looney: [0027]-[0032] and [0060] Provides for splitting detection between an on-device app and a remote, distributed fraud-detection server reached over the Internet.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers deployed as a client sensor agent on user devices to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Looney, which introduces voice activity detection for identifying speech segments, splitting audio into predetermined fixed-length segments, and forwarding those segments in real time to a remote cloud-based detection system over a secure internet connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Looney's audio segmentation and cloud forwarding architecture into the combined voice clone detection system to enable more efficient and scalable real-time analysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to reduce computational burden on user devices.
Claims 2, 5, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240005947 A1, referred to as Wang), in view of Enzinger et al. (US 20210193174 A1, referred to as Enzinger) in further view of Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1, referred to as Looney) in further view of Tzoreff (US 20250022473 A1, referred to as Tzoreff).
In reference to claim 2, The cyber security system of claim 1, where a first AI classifier of the one or more AI classifiers is a vocoder identification classifier trained on characteristics of a set of vocoders to predict whether at least one of 1) a particular vocoder in that set of vocoders and 2) a type of vocoder in that set of vocoders that was used to generate the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker in the audio file, under analysis (Tzoreff: [0015]-[0018] Provides for repeatedly identifying vocoders as the mechanism of synthetic voice generation and discloses classifiers trained to detect vocoder generated audio by analyzing vocoder artifacts and characteristics.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Tzoreff, which introduces a specialized vocoder identification classifier trained to detect specific vocoders or vocoder types used in synthetic voice generation. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Tzoreff's vocoder-specific classification into the combined voice clone detection system to enhance detection capabilities through targeted analysis of vocoder artifacts. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve detection accuracy by identifying the specific synthesis techniques used to create fake voices.
In reference to claim 5, The cyber security system of claim 1, further comprising: a deepfake detector module configured to determine whether 1) at least one of a phone call session and an online meeting session is still in progress and 2) the voice of the speaker engaging with the user is actually determined to be the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker, then the deepfake detector module is configured to send a message to the user indicating a deepfake has been detected via the voice clone detection bot (Tzoreff: [0023] and [0036]-[0037] Provides for a system that monitors an ongoing communication session (telephone call), makes a determination that the speaker is a synthetic voice, and then sends an alerting message to the user/target indicating a deepfake has been detected.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Tzoreff, which introduces a deepfake detector module that monitors ongoing communication sessions and sends real-time alerts to users when synthetic voices are detected during active calls or meetings. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Tzoreff's real-time session monitoring and alerting capabilities into the combined voice clone detection system to provide immediate user protection. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable proactive user warning during active communication sessions before users can be deceived or manipulated.
In reference to claim 12,The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing a first AI classifier of the one or more AI classifiers as a vocoder identification classifier trained on characteristics of a set of vocoders to predict whether at least one of 1) a particular vocoder in that set of vocoders and 2) a type of vocoder in that set of vocoders that was used to generate the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker in the audio file, under analysis (Tzoreff: [0015]-[0018] Provides for repeatedly identifying vocoders as the mechanism of synthetic voice generation and discloses classifiers trained to detect vocoder generated audio by analyzing vocoder artifacts and characteristics.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Tzoreff, which introduces a specialized vocoder identification classifier trained to detect specific vocoders or vocoder types used in synthetic voice generation. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Tzoreff's vocoder-specific classification into the combined voice clone detection system to enhance detection capabilities through targeted analysis of vocoder artifacts. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve detection accuracy by identifying the specific synthesis techniques used to create fake voices.
In reference to claim 15, The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing a deepfake detector module to determine whether 1) at least one of a phone call session and an online meeting session is still in progress and 2) the voice of the speaker engaging with the user is actually determined to be the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker, then to send a message to the user indicating a deepfake has been detected via the voice clone detection bot (Tzoreff: [0023] and [0036]-[0037] Provides for a system that monitors an ongoing communication session (telephone call), makes a determination that the speaker is a synthetic voice, and then sends an alerting message to the user/target indicating a deepfake has been detected.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Tzoreff, which introduces a deepfake detector module that monitors ongoing communication sessions and sends real-time alerts to users when synthetic voices are detected during active calls or meetings. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Tzoreff's real-time session monitoring and alerting capabilities into the combined voice clone detection system to provide immediate user protection. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable proactive user warning during active communication sessions before users can be deceived or manipulated.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240005947 A1, referred to as Wang), in view of Enzinger et al. (US 20210193174 A1, referred to as Enzinger) in further view of Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1, referred to as Looney) in further view of Traynor et al. (US 20220036904 A1, referred to as Traynor).
In reference to claim 7, The cyber security system of claim 1, further comprising: an audio preprocessing stage configured to receive the audio file, under analysis, from the computing device of the user and then to perform audio preprocessing including splitting the audio file, under analysis, into individual sentences and then to organize audio chunk files by each speaker detected in the audio file, under analysis (Traynor: [0057]-[0058] and [0065]-[0068] Provides for an audio preprocessing stage that segments audio files into discrete units and organizes those segments on a per-speaker basis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Traynor, which introduces an audio preprocessing stage that segments audio files into individual sentences and organizes audio chunks by speaker. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Traynor's preprocessing capabilities into the combined voice clone detection system to improve analysis accuracy through structured audio segmentation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable more precise detection by analyzing coherent speech units rather than raw continuous audio streams.
In reference to claim 17, The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing an audio preprocessing stage to receive the audio file, under analysis, from the computing device of the user and then to perform audio preprocessing including splitting the audio file, under analysis, into individual sentences and then to organize audio chunk files by each speaker detected in the audio file, under analysis (Traynor: [0057]-[0058] and [0065]-[0068] Provides for an audio preprocessing stage that segments audio files into discrete units and organizes those segments on a per-speaker basis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Traynor, which introduces an audio preprocessing stage that segments audio files into individual sentences and organizes audio chunks by speaker. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Traynor's preprocessing capabilities into the combined voice clone detection system to improve analysis accuracy through structured audio segmentation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to enable more precise detection by analyzing coherent speech units rather than raw continuous audio streams.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240005947 A1, referred to as Wang), in view of Enzinger et al. (US 20210193174 A1, referred to as Enzinger) in further view of Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1, referred to as Looney) in further view of Jin et al. (US 20210256978 A1, referred to as Jin).
In reference to claim 8, The cyber security system of claim 1, where the voice clone detection bot is configured to cooperate with a user interface to allow the user of the computing device to manually press an upload button to upload a desired audio file that the user has stored on the computing device as the audio file, under analysis (Jin: [0039]-[0047] Provides for a user facing portal interface on a client device through which a user manually submits a stored audio file for analysis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Jin, which introduces a user interface that allows manual submission of stored audio files through an upload button. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Jin's user-controlled upload functionality into the combined voice clone detection bot to provide on-demand analysis capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to give users the flexibility to analyze suspicious audio files they have already received or saved.
In reference to claim 18, The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing the voice clone detection bot to cooperate with a user interface to allow the user of the computing device to manually press an upload button to upload a desired audio file that the user has stored on the computing device as the audio file, under analysis (Jin: [0039]-[0047] Provides for a user facing portal interface on a client device through which a user manually submits a stored audio file for analysis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Jin, which introduces a user interface that allows manual submission of stored audio files through an upload button. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Jin's user-controlled upload functionality into the combined voice clone detection bot to provide on-demand analysis capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to give users the flexibility to analyze suspicious audio files they have already received or saved.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240005947 A1, referred to as Wang), in view of Enzinger et al. (US 20210193174 A1, referred to as Enzinger) in further view of Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1, referred to as Looney) in further view of Mirsky (US 20250112988 A1, referred to as Mirsky).
In reference to claim 9, The cyber security system of claim 1, further comprising: a deepfake detector module configured to determine whether at least one of a phone call session, an online meeting session is still in progress and the voice of the speaker engaging with the user is actually the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker, then the deepfake detector module is configured to cause the application in which the detected synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker is occurring in to shut down (Mirsky: [0068]-[0072], [0103] and [0136] Provides for a detection module that monitors active call and online meeting sessions and upon confirming a synthetic clone is present executes a termination response.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Mirsky, which introduces a deepfake detector module that monitors active communication sessions and automatically terminates applications when synthetic voices are detected. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Mirsky's automated termination capabilities into the combined voice clone detection system to provide immediate protective action. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to prevent users from being deceived or manipulated by automatically ending suspicious communications before harm can occur.
In reference to claim 19, The method for the cyber security system of claim 11, further comprising: providing a deepfake detector module to determine whether at least one of a phone call session, an online meeting session is still in progress and the voice of the speaker engaging with the user is actually the synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker, then to cause the application in which the detected synthetic clone of the voice of the speaker is occurring in to shut down (Mirsky: [0068]-[0072], [0103] and [0136] Provides for a detection module that monitors active call and online meeting sessions and upon confirming a synthetic clone is present executes a termination response.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Mirsky, which introduces a deepfake detector module that monitors active communication sessions and automatically terminates applications when synthetic voices are detected. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Mirsky's automated termination capabilities into the combined voice clone detection system to provide immediate protective action. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to prevent users from being deceived or manipulated by automatically ending suspicious communications before harm can occur.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240005947 A1, referred to as Wang), in view of Enzinger et al. (US 20210193174 A1, referred to as Enzinger) in further view of Looney et al. (US 20190311730 A1, referred to as Looney) in further view of Slocum et al. (US 20230260521 A1, referred to as Slocum).
In reference to claim 10, The cyber security system of claim 1, further comprising: a synthetic voice generation system configured to generate synthetic voice data in a self-supervised manner for a training of the user to detect when the synthetic cloning of the voice of the speaker is occurring (Slocum: [0051]-[0053] Provides for self-supervised training using synthetically generated voice data (TTS/VC).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wang in view of Enzinger, which together provide a bot-based cyber security system using deep learning and AI classifiers to detect synthetic voice clones, with the teachings of Slocum, which introduces a synthetic voice generation system for creating training data in a self-supervised manner to help users learn to recognize voice cloning. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Slocum's self-supervised training approach into the combined voice clone detection system to enhance user awareness and detection capabilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide users with practical training experience in recognizing synthetic voices by exposing them to controlled examples.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432