DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dondoneau et al. 11659490 herein Dondoneau and Peacock 20120303942 herein Peacock in view of Pertsel 11427195 herein Pertsel.
Per claim 1, Dondoneau discloses: an aircraft recording system operatively coupled to a data caching interface, (fig. 1 comp 10 and 18) wherein the aircraft recording system captures events upon power up that would otherwise be lost during a full aircraft recording system initialization; (col. 22; a memory configured to store the aircraft data obtained from the avionics, wherein the processor is further configured to: power on the avionics when the processor receives the remote wake-up command and the avionics are initially in a powered off state, ) one or more data acquisition endpoints associated with the aircraft recording system, capable of locally caching pre-initialization aircraft data within a pre-initialization acquisition period; (col. 22 initialize an interface according to aircraft configurations in a configuration file, obtain the aircraft data from the avionics and store the aircraft data on the memory when the avionics have been powered on, and transmit the aircraft data from the memory to the remote computing device via the second communication element in reverse order so as to remotely acquire aircraft data when the avionics are initially in the powered off state; the examiner interprets the endpoints as merely avionics that obtain sensor data) and an external embedded data processing system adapted to retrieve, read, and store the locally cached pre-initialization aircraft data in combination (col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the embedded processing system is merely a processor as seen in fig. 1 comp 12).
Dondoneau discloses a memory to store avionics data but does not specifically disclose: a caching interface.
However, Peacock discloses: a caching interface; with subsequently-acquired aircraft data (¶0024; After determining whether the computing device is currently booting, controller 115 may then trigger cache accessing instructions 126. Instructions 126 may trigger a write of the read or written data to either P1 or P2 depending on whether the computing device is determined to be booting. In particular, when instructions 124 determine that the computing device is currently booting, cache accessing instructions 126 may direct cache writes to portion P1, as this portion is dedicated to boot data. In contrast, when instructions 124 determine that the computing device is not currently booting, instructions 124 may direct cache writes to portion P2, as this portion is dedicated to non-boot data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dondoneau and Peacock’s caching of boot data in faster memory to improve the boot process. Peacock reduced boot time significantly (¶0011).
The combined teachings of Dondoneau and Peacock discloses a cache interface but do not specifically disclose a processor with an internal memory such as a buffer/volatile to store data: and wherein the data caching interface comprises an embedded microcontroller unit, separate from the external embedded data processing system, and a volatile memory cache coupled to the embedded microcontroller unit, the volatile memory cache configured to buffer at least a portion of the pre-initialization aircraft data for subsequent retrieval by the external embedded data processing system.
However, Pertsel discloses: and wherein the data caching interface comprises an embedded microcontroller unit, separate from the external embedded data processing system, and a volatile memory cache coupled to the embedded microcontroller unit, the volatile memory cache configured to buffer at least a portion of the pre-initialization aircraft data for subsequent retrieval by the external embedded data processing system (col. 39 lines 45-60; devices 102a-102n may capture the raw pixel data and generate the video frames FRAMES_A-FRAMES_N from the raw pixel data. Next, in the step 606, the processors 106a-106n may generate the video frames from the raw pixel data. In an example, the processors 106a-106n may receive the raw pixel data (e.g., at an input buffer), and the video pipeline 156 may generate the video frames from the raw pixel data (e.g., the video frames may be generated and operated on internal to the processors 106a-106n). In the step 608, the processors 106a-106n may perform the computer vision operations on the video frames. The computer vision operations may be performed by the CNN module 150. The computer vision operations may be configured to detect objects (e.g., a moving object such as the vehicle 402 and/or a stationary object such as the vehicles 260a-260c). Next, the method 600 may move to the decision step 610).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dondoneau and Peacock with Pertsel’s buffering of raw pixel data internally to the processor to improve reaction time of the warning system by providing better visibility. Pertsel improves the accuracy of the warning system (col. 1 lines 38-50; The capture device may be configured to generate pixel data corresponding to an exterior view from a vehicle. The processor may be configured to perform operations on video frames generated from the pixel data to detect a moving object in the video frames, determine a predicted path of the moving object, determine a probability of the moving object colliding with the vehicle based on the predicted path, determine whether the vehicle is stationary and generate a control signal if the vehicle is stationary and the probability is greater than a pre-determined threshold. The control signal may be configured to enable a response to alert a person in control of the moving object).
Per claim 2, Peacock discloses: wherein the pre-initialization acquisition period is less than approximately 100 milliseconds (¶0023; the predetermined period of time may be substantially equal to an amount of time required for a Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) of the computing device to initialize the system (e.g., approximately 14 seconds).; the examiner notes that the boot time being less than a 100 millisecond is arbitrary).
Per claim 3, Dondoneau discloses: wherein the one or more data acquisition endpoints is communicatively coupled with one or more avionics data collectors (col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206).
Per claim 7, Dondeneau discloses: wherein at least one of the avionics data collectors is configured to receive cockpit data (col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the embedded processing system is merely a processor as seen in fig. 1 comp 12).
Claim 8 is the method claim corresponding to the system claim 1 and is rejected under the same reasons set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1.
Per claim 9, Dondoneau : wherein retrieving the locally cached pre-initialization aircraft data further comprises: receiving by way of an embedded microcontroller system that is communicatively coupled with the aircraft recording system by way of one or more wired or wireless networks configured to relay cached information from the aircraft recording system to the embedded microcontroller system (col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the embedded processing system is merely a processor as seen in fig. 1 comp 1).
Per claim 10, Dondoneau: wherein the embedded microcontroller system is a loosely-coupled embedded system adapted to relay cached avionics information from one or more avionics data collectors (fig. 1, col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206).
Per claim 11, Dondoneau: further comprising acquiring subsequently-acquired aircraft data; and. (fig. 1, col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the subsequently acquired data is merely more avionics/sensor data).
Per claim 12, Dondoneau: further comprising acquiring subsequently-acquired aircraft data; and. (fig. 1, col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the subsequently acquired data is merely selectively acquiring more avionics/sensor data).
Per claim 12, Dondoneau: wherein the subsequently-acquired aircraft data comprises subsequently-acquired pre-initialization aircraft data (fig. 1, col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the subsequently acquired data is merely selectively acquiring more avionics/sensor data).
Per claim 13, Dondoneau: wherein the subsequently-acquired aircraft data comprises subsequently-acquired during-initialization aircraft data (fig. 1, col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the subsequently acquired data is merely selectively acquiring more avionics/sensor data).
Per claim 14, Dondoneau: wherein the subsequently-acquired aircraft data comprises subsequently-acquired post-initialization aircraft data (fig. 1, col. 12; The CPU 12 then activates the avionics if the avionics are in an inactivated state, as shown in block 202. Alternatively, the CPU 12 may selectively activate an avionics component such that unnecessary avionics components are left inactivated.(56) The CPU 12 then obtains the aircraft data from the avionics or a selected avionics component, as shown in block 204. The CPU 12 then stores the aircraft data on the memory 18, as shown in block 206; the examiner notes that the subsequently acquired data is merely selectively acquiring more avionics/sensor data).
Claims 15-20 are the CRM claims corresponding to the system claim 8-14 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 8-14.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dondoneau et al. 11659490 herein Dondoneau, Peacock 20120303942 herein Peacock and Pertsel in view of Nelson et al. 10577120 herein Nelson.
Per claim 4, the combined teachings of Dondoneau, Peacock and Pertsel do not specifically disclose: wherein the avionics data collectors are connected in a daisy-chain configuration.
However, Nelson discloses: wherein the avionics data collectors are connected in a daisy-chain configuration (col. 5; The flight display units 102a-c may be and/or avionics unit 104a flight display units for one side (e.g., the right side) of the cockpit 100. Similarly, the flight display units 102d-f can be configured to communicate via the daisy chain network among each other and the avionics units 104a-c. The flight display units 102d-f may be flight display units for a second side of the cockpit 100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dondoneau, Peacock, Pertsel and Nelson limiting of the avionics data by using a daisy chain to reduce the amount of network traffic. Nelson conserves network resources (col. 3 line 35-45).
Per claim 5, Neslon discloses: wherein at least one of the avionics data collectors is remotely located from the aircraft recording system (col. 4; The avionics units 104a-c may include various computing platforms for controlling, flying, or displaying information pertaining to the aircraft. The computing platforms can receive information pertaining to the status of the aircraft via sensors and/or antenna systems and/or information input via the flight display units 102a and 102d).
Per claim 6, Neslon discloses: wherein the external embedded data processing system further comprises one or more non-volatile memory subsystems (col. 4; The cockpit 100 is shown to include avionics units 104a-d. Avionics units 104a-d may include display screens (e.g., screens similar to user interface 402 as described with reference to FIG. 1) e.g., the display screens shown in FIG. 1. The avionics units 104a-c may be avionics devices or systems of the aircraft for the cockpit 100).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/23/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pertsel. Pertsel discloses: devices 102a-102n may capture the raw pixel data and generate the video frames FRAMES_A-FRAMES_N from the raw pixel data. Next, in the step 606, the processors 106a-106n may generate the video frames from the raw pixel data. In an example, the processors 106a-106n may receive the raw pixel data (e.g., at an input buffer), and the video pipeline 156 may generate the video frames from the raw pixel data (e.g., the video frames may be generated and operated on internal to the processors 106a-106n). In the step 608, the processors 106a-106n may perform the computer vision operations on the video frames. The computer vision operations may be performed by the CNN module 150. The computer vision operations may be configured to detect objects (e.g., a moving object such as the vehicle 402 and/or a stationary object such as the vehicles 260a-260c). Next, the method 600 may move to the decision step 610.
Remark
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BABOUCARR . FAAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/BABOUCARR FAAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138