DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 9,975,289).
In reference to claim 1, Li et al a tool (10) operable to expand an end of a malleable metal tubing, the tool comprising
a housing (11),
a cylindrical jaw assembly (30) disposed on the housing, the jaw assembly comprising a plurality of semi-cylindrical jaws (31) [see col. 2 lines 64-65] rotatable about an axis and movable between a closed position where portions of the plurality of jaws are adjacent to the axis and an expanded position where the portions are moved away from the axis [see figure 6A-6B],
a motor (15) disposed in the housing [see col. 1 lines 56-57],
a wedge (24) movable by the motor in a reciprocating motion along the axis, wherein the wedge is movable between a first position where the plurality of jaws are in the closed position and a second position where the plurality of jaws are in the expanded position [see col. 2 lines 30-37; figure 3B].
In reference to claim 2, Li et al further discloses an output spindle (16S) driven by the motor,
a radial cam (21) connected to the output spindle,
wherein the wedge is movable by the radial cam in a reciprocating motion along the axis [see col. 2 lines 14-16; figure 3A].
In reference to claim 3, Li et al further discloses an index cam (22) connected to the output spindle
a shaft (23) connected to the index cam,
a rotating ring (24R) mounted on the wedge (24),
a clutch ring (24C) mounted on the wedge and engaging the rotating ring, and
a gear ring (24CS) driven by the shaft and slidably engaging the clutch ring [see col. 2 lines 30-37; figure 3B].
In reference to claim 4, the plurality of jaws (31) is rotated when the shaft rotates [see col. 2 lines 60-65].
In reference to claim 5, the clutch ring can momentarily disengage from the rotating ring [see col. 2 lines 46-51].
In reference to claim 6, the clutch ring has teeth, and the rotating ring has teeth meshing with the teeth of the clutch ring [see col. 2 lines 30-37].
In reference to claim 7, the teeth of the clutch ring can momentarily disengage from the teeth of the rotating ring [see col. 2 lines 46-57].
In reference to claim 8, Li et al further discloses a sleeve (25) connected to the wedge and contacting the radial cam [see figure 3B; col. 2 lines 25-27].
In reference to claim 9, Li et al further discloses a power tool battery pack (12) releasably connected to the housing and electrically connected to the motor [see figure 1; col. 1 lines 58-60].
In reference to claim 10, Li et al discloses a tool (10) operable to expand an end of a malleable metal tubing, the tool comprising
a housing (11),
a cylindrical jaw assembly (30) disposed on the housing, the jaw assembly comprising a plurality of semi-cylindrical jaws (31) [see col. 2 lines 64-65] rotatable about an axis and movable between a closed position where portions of the plurality of jaws are adjacent to the axis and an expanded position where the portions are moved away from the axis [see figure 6A-6B],
a motor (15) disposed in the housing [see col. 1 lines 56-57],
an output spindle (16S) driven by the motor,
a radial cam (21) connected to the output spindle,
a wedge (24) movable by the motor in a reciprocating motion along the axis, wherein the wedge is movable between a first position where the plurality of jaws are in the closed position and a second position where the plurality of jaws are in the expanded position [see col. 2 lines 30-37; figure 3B], and
a rotating ring (24R) mounted on the wedge (24) and connected to the plurality of jaws, the rotating ring being driven by the output spindle for rotating the plurality of jaw about the axis [see col. 2 lines 30-37].
In reference to claim 11, Li et al further discloses a shaft (23) connected to the output spindle and driving the rotating ring [see col. 2 lines 19-22].
In reference to claim 12, the shaft is connected to the output spindle by an index cam (22), as seen in figure 3B.
In reference to claim 13, Li et al further discloses clutch ring (24C) mounted on the wedge and engaging the rotating ring (24R) [see col. 2 lines 30-33], and a gear ring (24CS) driven by the shaft and slidably engaging the clutch ring [see col. 2 lines 38-45].
In reference to claim 14, the clutch ring can momentarily disengage from the rotating ring [see col. 2 lines 46-51].
In reference to claim 15, the clutch ring has teeth, and the rotating rind has teeth meshing with the teeth of the clutch ring [see col. 2 lines 33-37].
In reference to claim 16, the teeth of the clutch ring can momentarily disengage from the rotating ring [see col. 2 lines 46-51].
In reference to claim 17, Li et al further discloses a sleeve (25) connected to the wedge, the sleeve contacting the radial cam [see figure 3B; col. 2 lines 25-27].
In reference to claim 18, Li et al further discloses a power tool battery pack (12) releasably connected to the housing and electrically connected to the motor [see figure 1; col. 1 lines 58-60].
2. Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bode (DE 102018124646; cited by Applicant).
In reference to claim 19, Bode discloses a tool (200) operable to expand an end of a malleable metal tubing, the tool comprising
a housing [see figure 3],
an adjustable head assembly engaged to the housing, the head assembly having a body, a rotatable portion disposed unto the body (50), and an adjustment ring (51) disposed within at least one of the body and the rotatable portion, wherein the body has at least one cam surface (53) contacting the adjustment ring [see figure 4],
a cylindrical jaw assembly (30) disposed within the head assembly, the jaw assembly comprising a plurality of semi-cylindrical jaws (37) rotatable about an axis and movable between a closed position where portions of the plurality of jaws are adjacent to the axis and an expanded position where the portions are moved away from the axis [see figure 4],
a motor (11’) disposed in the housing,
a wedge (14’) movable by the motor in a reciprocating motion along the axis,
wherein the wedge is movable between a first position where the plurality of jaws are in the closed position and a second position where the plurality of jaws are in the expanded position, and
wherein the adjustment ring is rotated, the cam surface moves the adjustment ring and jaws rearwardly [see pg. 7 paragraphs 2-4 of machine translation].
In reference to claim 20, the adjustment ring has pins (58) connected the rotatable portion to the adjustment ring, as seen in figure 3.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725