DETAILED ACTION
Claims 39-58 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 39-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Pat. 11,082,536. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods corresponding with systems of the aforementioned patent. For example, contrast instant claims 39 and 52 with claim 1 of ‘536:
Instant Claims 39 and 52
‘536 claim 1
A method of communication between computing devices, comprising:
A system, comprising:
communicatively coupling a plurality of computing devices to a server through a wireless network to access an announcement program;
a server having a non-transitory computer readable memory containing an announcement program; a plurality of computing devices communicatively coupled to said server through a wireless network to access said announcement program, said program executable to:
transmitting an identification request including a security code from a first computing device to a second computing device;
transmit an identification request from a first computing device to a second computing device, said identification request including a security code;
transmitting an identification answer from said second computing device to said first computing device verifying receipt of said identification request including said security code by said second computing device; (claim 52) delimiting a time period in which said first computing device or said second computing device respectively maintains said identification request or said identification answer.
transmit an identification answer to said first of said plurality of computing devices verifying receipt of said identification request by said second computing device,
wherein said first or said second computing device permissions delimit a time period in which said first computing device or said second computing device respectively maintains said identification request or said identification answer;
announcing said security code by operation of said second computing device, or an announcement device communicatively coupled to said second computing device, to allow a first user associated with said first computing device to identify a second user associated with said second computing device.
announce said security code by operation of said second computing device or an announcement device communicatively coupled to said second computing device to allow a first user associated with said first computing device to identify a second user associated with said second computing device.
Further, remaining instant claims 40-51 and 53-59 correspond with subject matter disclosed by claims 2-12 of ‘536.
Therefore, if a patent were to be granted, it may result in an improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” of the subject matter and may lead to possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: label 162 of Fig. 12. It appears this label should be 102 rather than 162. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Moosavi et (US Pub. No. 2010/0215187; cited on IDS), hereafter, “Moosavi.”
As to claim 39, Moosavi discloses a method of communication between computing devices, comprising:
communicatively coupling a plurality of computing devices to a server through a wireless network to access an announcement program (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 4),
transmitting an identification request including a security code from a first computing device to a second computing device ([0032]-[0034], particularly, “the tag to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)…In response to downloading the connection information, the wireless mobile communication device 110, 110', 110'', etc. launches an application (step 305), which causes the device 110, 110', 110'' to wirelessly send a request message to back-end system 170 via one of either antenna 180 or the cellular network 130, Internet 140 and messaging server 150 under control of messaging infrastructure 160 (step 310). The request message is processed by the back-end system 170 (step 315), either automatically or under control of the MC, to arbitrate between the user request and any other pending user requests to access the public address system 100 via their wireless mobile communication devices 110, 110', 110'', etc.”; identifying information (e.g. information including a “seat number”) of wireless mobile communication device (“a first computing device”) reading on “a security code”)
transmitting an identification answer from said second computing device to said first computing device verifying receipt of said identification request including said security code by said second computing device ([0028], particularly, “In one embodiment, the back-end system 170 may send a confirmation message to the wireless mobile communication device 110, 110', 110'', for displaying a message via display 212 to indicate that the user's request is pending.”);
announcing said security code by operation of said second computing device, or an announcement device communicatively coupled to said second computing device, to allow a first user associated with said first computing device to identify a second user associated with said second computing device ([0034], particularly, “the tag to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)…In response to downloading the connection information, the wireless mobile communication device 110, 110', 110'', etc. launches an application (step 305), which causes the device 110, 110', 110'' to wirelessly send a request message to back-end system 170 via one of either antenna 180 or the cellular network 130, Internet 140 and messaging server 150 under control of messaging infrastructure 160 (step 310). The request message is processed by the back-end system 170 (step 315), either automatically or under control of the MC, to arbitrate between the user request and any other pending user requests to access the public address system 100 via their wireless mobile communication devices 110, 110', 110'', etc.”; as the MC can “arbitrate between the user request(s)” identifying information must be displayed to the MC).
As to claim 40, Moosavi discloses said security code includes visual announcement data, audio announcement data, or tactile announcement data, and combinations thereof ([0032]-[0034]; particularly, “to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)”).
As to claim 41, Moosavi discloses said identification request further comprises first computing device identifying data ([0032]-[0034]; particularly, “to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)”).
As to claim 42, Moosavi discloses presenting said first computing device identifying data by said second device which allows said second user of said second computing device to identify said first user of said first computing device. ([0034], particularly, “The request message is processed by the back-end system 170 (step 315), either automatically or under control of the MC, to arbitrate between the user request and any other pending user requests to access the public address system 100 via their wireless mobile communication devices 110, 110', 110'', etc.”).
As to claim 43, Moosavi discloses presentation of said first computing device identifying data by said second device includes visual indicia, audio indicia, tactile indicia, global position system location coordinates of said first computing device, and combinations thereof ([0032]-[0034]; particularly, “to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)”).
As to claim 44, Moosavi discloses said identification request further comprises a second computing device identifying data inquiry ([0032]-[0034]; any of the wireless mobile communications devices can make inquiries).
As to claim 45, Moosavi discloses said identification answer further comprises second computing device identifying data ([0032]-[0034]; particularly, “to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)”).
As to claim 46, Moosavi discloses presenting said second computing device identifying data by said first computing device which allows said first user of said first computing device to identify said second user of said second computing device. ([0032]-[0034]).
As to claim 47, Moosavi discloses said presentation of said second computing device identifying data by said first computing device includes visual indicia, audio indicia, tactile indicia, global position system location coordinates of said second computing device, and combinations thereof ([0032]-[0034]; particularly, “to transmit connection information (step 300') for connecting to the public address system 100 (i.e. type, encryption keys, PIN, seat number, etc.)”).
As to claim 48, Moosavi discloses presenting an identification request element on said first computing device which by first user interaction causes transmission of said identification request from said first computing device to said second computing device ([0032]-[0034]; any of the wireless mobile communications devices can make inquiries).
As to claim 49, Moosavi discloses presenting an identification answer element on said second computing device which by second user interaction causes transmission of said identification answer from said second computing device to said first computing device ([0032]-[0034]; any of the wireless mobile communications devices can make inquiries).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50, 51, 54, 57, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moosavi and what was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application.
As to claims 50 and 51, Moosavi discloses the parent claims but does not disclose the aid program further executable to record second computing device permissions delimiting control of said second computing device by said first computing device and to record first computing device permissions delimiting control of said first computing device by said second computing device. However Official Notice (see MPEP 2144.03) is taken that recording permissions that delimit the control between two computing devices was a well-known and common practice prior to the effective filing date of the application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filing date of the application combine this fact with Moosavi as a means to provide greater security and control over the system.
As to claim 54, the teachings of Moosavi and what was well known in the art as combined in claim 50’s rejection further disclose delimiting control of said second computing device by said first computing device to announcing only said security code by said second computing device ([0032]-[0034]).
As to claim 57, the teachings of Moosavi and what was well known in the art as combined in claim 50’s rejection further disclose controlling said second computing device or said associated mobile announcement device by said first computing device delimited by said second computing device permissions (Moosavi, [0032]-[0034]).
As to claim 58, the teachings of Moosavi and what was well known in the art as combined in claim 50’s rejection further disclose controlling said first computing device by said second computing device delimited by said first computing device permissions (Moosavi, [0032]-[0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 52,53,55, and 56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as alleviating the Double Patenting Rejections.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458