DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/24/2026 regarding claims 2-21 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 2, 11, 13, 17, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0314708) in view of Cheng (US PG Pub. 2019/0379506) and further in view of Eyuboglu (US Patent No. 11,375,527).
As per claim 2:
Jassal teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Figure 1, paragraph [0043], electronic device (ED) 110a or UE), comprising:
one or more memories (see Figure 14, paragraph [0141], ED 1410 comprise of memory 1408);
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Figure 14, memory 1408 coupled to processing unit 1400), the one or more processors configured to:
receive, from a network entity, a non-zero-power Channel State Information Reference Signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) information element that indicates a plurality of resource sets (see paragraph [0215], network configures resources to the UE which may be used for different purposes (e.g., channel estimation, beam management, channel state information). Each BM resource set contains one or more resources (e.g., SS/PBCH block or NZP-CSI-RS. The one or more resources configured for each BM resource set are defined in another RRC IE) for beam measurement (Paragraph [0216] also disclose said BM resource set may contain parameters use by the UE for the purpose of beam measurement and/or deriving measurement results).
Jassal does not clearly teach wherein the plurality of resource sets are to be simultaneously received at the UE.
Cheng teaches wherein the plurality of resource sets are to be simultaneously received at the UE (see paragraph [0089], UE may support simultaneous reception function, which means the UE may have multiple antenna ports or multiple antenna panels to receive different channels or RSs by applying different spatial filters, the UE may receive physical channels and/or RSs from different TRPs at the same OFDM symbol. Paragraph [0099], disclose the UE has the capability of simultaneously receiving the NZP-CSI-RS resource#1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource#2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the simultaneous reception of NZP-CSI-RS resources by the UE (as disclosed in Cheng) into Jassal as a way of ensuring better performance from the combination of resources (please see paragraph [0099] of Cheng). Thus, a UE with simultaneous reception function (i.e., comprising multiple antenna ports or multiple panels to receive different channels), is beneficial especially for MIMO transmission where large number of antenna elements bring extra degree of freedom to increase the data throughput, the beamforming gain and the coverage (please see paragraph [0003] of Cheng).
The combination of Jassal and Cheng do not teach and transmit a channel state information (CSI) report of a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets.
Eyuboglu teaches and transmit a channel state information (CSI) report of a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets (see Col 87, lines 60-67 and Col 88, lines 1-4, the UE 710 is configured to report CRI/RSRP and CRI/CQI/PMI/RI on two resource sets, where the respective resource sets are transmitted by the serving RF node and another nearby RF node. Col 88, lines 19-23 disclose serving RF node receives the CRI/RSRP reports from the UE. Note: UE supports simultaneous reception of PDCCH from two RF nodes linked to the transmission of NZP-CSI-RS transmissions, please see Col 98, lines 21-37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of CSI of two different NZP-CSI-RS transmissions from different RF nodes (as disclosed in Eyuboglu) into both Jassal and Cheng as a way of enabling the UE supporting multiple receptions in the same symbol to receive PDSCH transmissions on different RX beams in a same symbol (please see Col 98, lines 30-37 of Eyuboglu).
As per claim 11:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the first resource comprises one or more of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource (Jassal, see paragraph [0215], each BM resource set contains one or more resources (e.g., SS/PBCH block or NZP-CSI-RS).
As per claim 13:
Jassal teaches a network entity for wireless communication (see Figure 15, paragraph [0177], base station 1520), comprising:
one or more memories (see Figure 15, memory 1508);
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Figure 15, processing unit 1500 coupled to memory 1508), the one or more processors configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a non-zero-power Channel State Information Reference Signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) information element that indicates a plurality of resource sets (see paragraph [0215], network configures resources to the UE which may be used for different purposes (e.g., channel estimation, beam management, channel state information). Each BM resource set contains one or more resources (e.g., SS/PBCH block or NZP-CSI-RS. The one or more resources configured for each BM resource set are defined in another RRC IE) for beam measurement (Paragraph [0216] also disclose said BM resource set may contain parameters use by the UE for the purpose of beam measurement and/or deriving measurement results).
Jassal does not clearly teach wherein the plurality of resource sets are to be simultaneously received at the UE.
Cheng teaches wherein the plurality of resource sets are to be simultaneously received at the UE (see paragraph [0089], UE may support simultaneous reception function, which means the UE may have multiple antenna ports or multiple antenna panels to receive different channels or RSs by applying different spatial filters, the UE may receive physical channels and/or RSs from different TRPs at the same OFDM symbol. Paragraph [0099], disclose the UE has the capability of simultaneously receiving the NZP-CSI-RS resource#1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource#2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the simultaneous reception of NZP-CSI-RS resources by the UE (as disclosed in Cheng) into Jassal as a way of ensuring better performance from the combination of resources (please see paragraph [0099] of Cheng). Thus, a UE with simultaneous reception function (i.e., comprising multiple antenna ports or multiple panels to receive different channels), is beneficial especially for MIMO transmission where large number of antenna elements bring extra degree of freedom to increase the data throughput, the beamforming gain and the coverage (please see paragraph [0003] of Cheng).
The combination of Jassal and Cheng do not teach and receive a channel state information (CSI) report of a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets.
Eyuboglu teaches and receive a channel state information (CSI) report of a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets (see Col 87, lines 60-67 and Col 88, lines 1-4, the UE 710 is configured to report CRI/RSRP and CRI/CQI/PMI/RI on two resource sets, where the respective resource sets are transmitted by the serving RF node and another nearby RF node. Col 88, lines 19-23 disclose serving RF node receives the CRI/RSRP reports from the UE. Note: UE supports simultaneous reception of PDCCH from two RF nodes linked to the transmission of NZP-CSI-RS transmissions, please see Col 98, lines 21-37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of CSI of two different NZP-CSI-RS transmissions from different RF nodes (as disclosed in Eyuboglu) into both Jassal and Cheng as a way of enabling the UE supporting multiple receptions in the same symbol to receive PDSCH transmissions on different RX beams in a same symbol (please see Col 98, lines 30-37 of Eyuboglu).
As per claim 17:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the network entity of claim 13, wherein the first resource comprises one or more of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource (Jassal, see paragraph [0215], each BM resource set contains one or more resources (e.g., SS/PBCH block or NZP-CSI-RS).
As per claim 20:
Jassal teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see abstract), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a non-zero-power Channel State Information Reference Signal resource set (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) information element that indicates a plurality of resource sets (see paragraph [0215], network configures resources to the UE which may be used for different purposes (e.g., channel estimation, beam management, channel state information). Each BM resource set contains one or more resources (e.g., SS/PBCH block or NZP-CSI-RS. The one or more resources configured for each BM resource set are defined in another RRC IE) for beam measurement (Paragraph [0216] also disclose said BM resource set may contain parameters use by the UE for the purpose of beam measurement and/or deriving measurement results).
Jassal does not clearly teach wherein the plurality of resource sets are to be simultaneously received at the UE.
Cheng teaches wherein the plurality of resource sets are to be simultaneously received at the UE (see paragraph [0089], UE may support simultaneous reception function, which means the UE may have multiple antenna ports or multiple antenna panels to receive different channels or RSs by applying different spatial filters, the UE may receive physical channels and/or RSs from different TRPs at the same OFDM symbol. Paragraph [0099], disclose the UE has the capability of simultaneously receiving the NZP-CSI-RS resource#1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource#2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the simultaneous reception of NZP-CSI-RS resources by the UE (as disclosed in Cheng) into Jassal as a way of ensuring better performance from the combination of resources (please see paragraph [0099] of Cheng). Thus, a UE with simultaneous reception function (i.e., comprising multiple antenna ports or multiple panels to receive different channels), is beneficial especially for MIMO transmission where large number of antenna elements bring extra degree of freedom to increase the data throughput, the beamforming gain and the coverage (please see paragraph [0003] of Cheng).
The combination of Jassal and Cheng do not teach and transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report of a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets.
Eyuboglu teaches and transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report of a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets (see Col 87, lines 60-67 and Col 88, lines 1-4, the UE 710 is configured to report CRI/RSRP and CRI/CQI/PMI/RI on two resource sets, where the respective resource sets are transmitted by the serving RF node and another nearby RF node. Col 88, lines 19-23 disclose serving RF node receives the CRI/RSRP reports from the UE. Note: UE supports simultaneous reception of PDCCH from two RF nodes linked to the transmission of NZP-CSI-RS transmissions, please see Col 98, lines 21-37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of CSI of two different NZP-CSI-RS transmissions from different RF nodes (as disclosed in Eyuboglu) into both Jassal and Cheng as a way of enabling the UE supporting multiple receptions in the same symbol to receive PDSCH transmissions on different RX beams in a same symbol (please see Col 98, lines 30-37 of Eyuboglu).
As per claim 21:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the first resource comprises one or more of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource (Jassal, see paragraph [0215], each BM resource set contains one or more resources (e.g., SS/PBCH block or NZP-CSI-RS).
5. Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jasal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Faxer (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0379506).
As per claim 10:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the UE of claim 2.
Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu do not clearly teach wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that each correspond to a respective resource in the plurality of resource sets.
Faxer teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that each correspond to a respective resource in the plurality of resource sets (see paragraphs [0140]-[0144], WD 22 can be configured with two resource sets: first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement include {NZP CSI-RS#0, NZP CSI-RS#3, NZP CSI-RS#2} and second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement may include {NZP CSI-RS#1, NZP CSI-RS#2, NZP CSI-RS#0}).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate reporting of the CSI of the first and second NZP CSI-RS resource sets (as disclosed in Faxer) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the network to identify a resource pair having the highest throughput (please see paragraph [0124] of Faxer).
Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 10.
6. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Pan (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0059290).
As per claim 3:
Jassal in view of Cheng and Eyuboglu teaches the UE of claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine, based at least in part on one or more measurements of one or more resources of the plurality of resource sets, a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets.
Pan teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine, based at least in part on one or more measurements of one or more resources of the plurality of resource sets, a first resource of a first resource set of the plurality of resource sets and a second resource of a second resource set of the plurality of resource sets (see paragraph [0200], discloses the WTRU may report the best RSRP/CSI for a component beam in each of M beam groups and the associated beam index for the component beam in each of the M beam groups. M and/or N may be determined based on WTRU capability such as the number of beams the WTRU can simultaneously receive. The WTRU measures the quality/RSRP/RSRQ of each candidate beams, please see paragraph [0198]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the group-based beam reporting by the WTRU (as disclosed in Pan) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of reporting candidate beams having better quality than the serving beam (please see paragraph [0198] of Pan). Therefore, incorporating group-based beam reporting reduces level of reporting compared to beam-based reporting (please see paragraph [0006] of Pan).
7. Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu, Pan and Wang (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0391897).
As per claim 4:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Pan teaches the UE of claim 3 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors, to determine the first resource and the second resource are further configured to:
determine whether a candidate resource is associated with the first resource set.
Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors, to determine the first resource and the second resource are further configured to:
determine whether a candidate resource is associated with the first resource set (see paragraph [0058], discloses the UE can evaluate the received candidate beams in all the time slots 610 to find the candidate beam (or a set of beams in a time slot) with the best link quality metric before making a choice).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of candidate beams based on a quality metric (as disclosed in Wang) into Jassal, Cheng, Eyuboglu and Pan as a way of indicating to the base station the preferred beams for downlink data transmission (please see paragraph [0059] of Wang).
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu, Pan and Deng (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0190630).
As per claim 5:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Pan teaches the UE of claim 3 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors, to determine the first resource and the second resource, are further configured to:
determine the first resource and the second resource based at least in part on an order of the plurality of resource sets in the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element.
Deng teaches wherein the one or more processors (see Figure 7b, user equipment comprise of processor 714), to determine the first resource and the second resource (see paragraphs [0130]-[0131], the UE is provided with CSI process indicating each NZP-CSI resource information associated with the first and second network device), are further configured to:
determine the first resource and the second resource based at least in part on an order of the plurality of resource sets in the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element (see paragraph [0138], UE may feedback a plurality of groups of CSI according to an order of the configured NZP-CSI-RS resource information. That is, feedback plurality of groups of CSI according to an order of index values (csi-RS-ConfigNZPId) of the NZP CSI-RS resource information. Paragraphs [0130]-[0131] and tables 2-3 disclose the first network providing the UE with csi-RS-ConfigNZPId in a CSI process information. Thus, UE determines the order from the received CSI process information. Tables 2-3 indicates the CSI-RS-ConfigNZP information elements).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI process information (as disclosed in Deng) into Jassal, Cheng, Eyuboglu and Pan as a way of enabling the UE to perform measurements based on interference between network devices (please see paragraph [0133] of Deng).
9. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Deng.
As per claim 18:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the network entity of claim 17 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a message to the UE, the message indicating a mapping between an order of the plurality of resource sets in the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element and respective resources of the plurality of resource sets.
Deng teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a message to the UE, the message indicating a mapping between an order of the plurality of resource sets in the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element and respective resources of the plurality of resource sets (see paragraph [0138], UE may feedback a plurality of groups of CSI according to an order of the configured NZP-CSI-RS resource information. That is, feedback plurality of groups of CSI according to an order of index values (csi-RS-ConfigNZPId) of the NZP CSI-RS resource information. Paragraphs [0130]-[0131] and tables 2-3 disclose the first network providing the UE with csi-RS-ConfigNZPId in a CSI process information. Thus, UE determines the order from the received CSI process information. Tables 2-3 indicates the CSI-RS-ConfigNZP information elements).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI process information (as disclosed in Deng) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the UE to perform measurements based on interference between network devices (please see paragraph [0133] of Deng).
10. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Koskela (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0021350).
As per claim 6:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the UE of claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that each correspond to a respective beam in the plurality of resource sets.
Koskela teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that each correspond to a respective beam in the plurality of resource sets (see paragraph [0060], discloses the NW may indicate a mapping of refined beam index (RBI) indices to beams in a specific group previously reported by the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of mapping of the refined beam index (RBI) indices to beams in a specific group to the UE (as disclosed in Koskela) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the UE to associate the beam indices of the signaled group with the RBI indices (please see paragraph [0060] of Koskela).
11. Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Go (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0201696).
As per claim 12:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the UE of claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element, are further configured to:
receive the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element in one or more of a channel state information reference signal resource indicator or a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel resource block indicator.
Go teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element, are further configured to:
receive the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element in one or more of a channel state information reference signal resource indicator or a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel resource block indicator (see paragraph [0203], terminal is configured to receive from base station configuration information related to CSI through RRC signaling. The CSI resource configuration related information may be expressed as CSI-ResourceConfig IE defining NZP CSI-RS resource set and CSI-SSB resource set).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the CSI resource configuration (as disclosed in Go) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu thereby enabling the UE to measure/compute CSI through the received CSI-RS (please see paragraph [0211] of Go).
Claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 12.
12. Claims 7-9, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Yu (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0037426).
As per claim 7:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the UE of claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element indicates a beam set index corresponding to a resource set of the plurality of resource sets.
Yu teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element indicates a beam set index corresponding to a resource set of the plurality of resource sets (see Figure 6, paragraph [0032], discloses the network (NW) provides a mapping table 610 of TX beam index and CSI-RS resource to the UE via RRC signaling. As shown in figure 6, the mapping table 610 signaled by the NW to the UE includes list/set of beam index and the associated CSI-RS resource).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of mapping table of transmit beam index and associated CSI-RS resource (as disclosed in Yu) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the network UE to determine the preferred transmit beams and beam-pair links (BPLs) as the potential links for communicating to the UE (please see paragraph [0032] of Yu). Therefore, transmission of beam index information enables the UE to determine how to receive network transmissions for reference signal, for incoming control channel and for incoming data channel (please see paragraph [0006] of Yu).
As per claim 8:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Yu teaches the UE of claim 7.
Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu do not teach wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that correspond to the plurality of resource sets, and wherein the plurality of indices include the beam set index.
Yu teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that correspond to the plurality of resource sets (see Figure 6, paragraph [0032], discloses the network (NW) provides a mapping table 610 of TX beam index and CSI-RS resource to the UE via RRC signaling. As shown in figure 6, the mapping table 610 signaled by the NW to the UE includes list/set of beam index and the associated CSI-RS resource), and wherein the plurality of indices include the beam set index (see paragraph [033], discloses beam index per beam group can be configured).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of mapping table of transmit beam index and associated CSI-RS resource (as disclosed in Yu) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the network UE to determine the preferred transmit beams and beam-pair links (BPLs) as the potential links for communicating to the UE (please see paragraph [0032] of Yu). Therefore, transmission of beam index information enables the UE to determine how to receive network transmissions for reference signal, for incoming control channel and for incoming data channel (please see paragraph [0006] of Yu).
As per claim 9:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu and Yu teaches the UE of claim 7.
Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu do not clearly teach wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes the beam set index, wherein the beam set index corresponds to identifiers for resources in the resource set, and wherein determining the first resource and the second resource includes determining the first resource and the second resource from among resources with identifiers that correspond to the beam set index.
Yu teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes the beam set index, wherein the beam set index corresponds to identifiers for resources in the resource set (see Figure 6, paragraph [0032], discloses the network (NW) provides a mapping table 610 of TX beam index and CSI-RS resource to the UE via RRC signaling. As shown in figure 6, the mapping table 610 signaled by the NW to the UE includes list/set of beam index and the associated CSI-RS resource), and wherein determining the first resource and the second resource includes determining the first resource and the second resource from among resources with identifiers that correspond to the beam set index (see paragraph [033], discloses beam index per beam group can be configured).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of mapping table of transmit beam index and associated CSI-RS resource (as disclosed in Yu) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the network UE to determine the preferred transmit beams and beam-pair links (BPLs) as the potential links for communicating to the UE (please see paragraph [0032] of Yu). Therefore, transmission of beam index information enables the UE to determine how to receive network transmissions for reference signal, for incoming control channel and for incoming data channel (please see paragraph [0006] of Yu).
As per claim 14:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the network entity of claim 13 with the exception of:
wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that each correspond to a respective beam in the plurality of resource sets.
Yu teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that each correspond to a respective beam in the plurality of resource sets (see Figure 6, paragraph [0032], discloses the network (NW) provides a mapping table 610 of TX beam index and CSI-RS resource to the UE via RRC signaling. As shown in figure 6, the mapping table 610 signaled by the NW to the UE includes list/set of beam index and the associated CSI-RS resource).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of mapping table of transmit beam index and associated CSI-RS resource (as disclosed in Yu) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the network UE to determine the preferred transmit beams and beam-pair links (BPLs) as the potential links for communicating to the UE (please see paragraph [0032] of Yu). Therefore, transmission of beam index information enables the UE to determine how to receive network transmissions for reference signal, for incoming control channel and for incoming data channel (please see paragraph [0006] of Yu).
As per claim 16:
Jassal in view of Cheng and further in view of Eyuboglu teaches the network entity of claim 13 with the exception of:
wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that correspond to the plurality of resource sets, and wherein the plurality of indices include a beam set index.
Yu teaches wherein the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet information element includes a plurality of indices that correspond to the plurality of resource sets, and wherein the plurality of indices include a beam set index (see Figure 6, paragraph [0032], discloses the network (NW) provides a mapping table 610 of TX beam index and CSI-RS resource to the UE via RRC signaling. As shown in figure 6, the mapping table 610 signaled by the NW to the UE includes list/set of beam index and the associated CSI-RS resource).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of mapping table of transmit beam index and associated CSI-RS resource (as disclosed in Yu) into Jassal, Cheng and Eyuboglu as a way of enabling the network UE to determine the preferred transmit beams and beam-pair links (BPLs) as the potential links for communicating to the UE (please see paragraph [0032] of Yu). Therefore, transmission of beam index information enables the UE to determine how to receive network transmissions for reference signal, for incoming control channel and for incoming data channel (please see paragraph [0006] of Yu).
Conclusion
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474