DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 113936567 B, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a light-emitting device (Fig. 1), comprising: a substrate (11); a light-emitting array (12) disposed on the substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting units (12), wherein each one of the plurality of light-emitting units comprises: a LED die (12) disposed on the substrate (11); and an encapsulating portion (173) disposed on the substrate and covering the LED die; and a plurality of first color conversion points (134a, 134b) disposed on the substrate and surrounding the light-emitting array, wherein the plurality of first color conversion points comprises a first wavelength conversion material (¶[0057]).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses a display device, comprising: a light-emitting device (Abstract).
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katona et al. (US 8,985,794 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Katona discloses a light-emitting device (Figs. 1B & 1F), comprising: a substrate (111); a light-emitting array (142) disposed on the substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting units (115), wherein each one of the plurality of light-emitting units comprises: a LED die (115) disposed on the substrate (111); and an encapsulating portion (118) disposed on the substrate and covering the LED die; and a plurality of first color conversion points (153) disposed on the substrate and surrounding the light-emitting array, wherein the plurality of first color conversion points comprises a first wavelength conversion material (Column 6, lines 9-16).
Regarding claim 12, Katona discloses a light-emitting device wherein each encapsulating portion (118) comprises a wavelength conversion material (Column 6, lines 48-54).
Regarding claim 19, Katona discloses a light-emitting device wherein the substrate comprises two opposite first sides and two opposite second sides, the first sides intersect the second sides, and the plurality of first color conversion points is arranged along the first sides and the second sides of the substrate to surround the light-emitting array (Figs. 1E-1F).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 2, and specifically comprising the limitation of each encapsulating portion has a height and a bottom width, wherein the height is less than the bottom width, each first color conversion point has a first height and a first bottom width, wherein the first height is less than the first bottom width, the bottom width is less than the first bottom width, and the height is less than the first height.
Regarding claim(s) 3-11, claims(s) 3-11 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 2 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 2.
Regarding claim(s) 13, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 13, and specifically comprising the limitation of a plurality of light-guiding structures disposed on the substrate, wherein each one of the plurality of light-guiding structures is disposed on a diagonal line between the adjacent light-emitting units.
Regarding claim(s) 14-18, claims(s) 14-18 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 13 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Imada et al. (US 2019/0369316 A1) discloses a light emitting module including: a light guide plate including a first main surface serving as a light emitting surface, a second main surface provided on a side opposite to the first main surface, and a recess provided at the second main surface; a first fluorescent material layer provided in the recess; a light emitting element provided at the first fluorescent material layer on the second main surface side; and a second fluorescent material layer provided at the second main surface.
Tseng (US 9,825,207 B2) discloses a light-emitting diode package element including a substrate, a plurality of light-emitting dies arranged on the substrate, and a second wavelength-conversion layer, some of the light-emitting dies are covered with first wavelength-conversion layers thereon, respectively.
Shum discloses (US 8,575,642 B1) discloses a display device including a substrate member having a surface region, at least one LED configured overlying one or more portions of the surface region, a spacer member having two or more sidewalls, the sidewall being characterized by an angle, at least one wavelength conversion material disposed overlying the one or more sidewalls, an optical member having a wavelength selective surface configured to block substantially direct emission of the at least one LED and configured to transmit at least one selected wavelength of reflected emission caused by an interaction of the reflected emission with the wavelength conversion material.
Wipiejewski et al. (US 2023/0261151 A1) discloses a pixel structure for an electronic display, the pixel structure comprising a substrate, at least one LED emitter arranged on the substrate, and at least one wavelength conversion unit arranged on the substrate adjacent to the LED emitter, the LED emitter is configured to emit emission radiation, the emission radiation being within an emission wavelength range and emitted in one or multiple emission directions within a main emission plane.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879