DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 16, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375).
Regarding claim 1, Bacon teaches a method performed by at least one processor of a local head worn device, the method comprising: operating in a first communication mode in which an acoustic signal is received by a first headworn audio device from a second headworn audio device headset via a radio frequency (RF) link; driving a speaker of the first headworn audio device with the acoustic signal (see fig. 1-4B, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode.); and responsive to determining that a distance between the local head worn first headworn audio device and the second headworn audio device has exceeded a threshold range, transitioning, without user interference, from operating in the first communication mode to operating in a second communication mode in which the acoustic signal is received from an electronic device that is communicatively coupled with the second headworn audio device via a network link (see fig. 6F, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region.
Regarding claim 2, Bacon teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising capturing, using a microphone of the first headworn audio device, sound as a microphone signal, wherein operating in the first communication mode or in the second communication mode further comprises transmitting, via the RF link or the network link, respectively, the microphone signal to the second headworn audio device (see fig. 1-4B, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode.).
Regarding claim 3, Bacon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device and the RF link is a first RF link, wherein transitioning comprises receiving, via a second RF link, the acoustic signal by the first headworn audio device from the first electronic device that initially receives, via the network link, the acoustic signal from the second headworn audio device or a second electronic device that is paired with the second headworn audio device (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Regarding claim 5, Bacon teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the threshold range is an audible range beyond which speech between users of both headworn audio devices is indiscernible, or is an operating range of the RF link (see fig. 1-4B, col. 12, lines 22-54. Users that are beyond a audible range are operating in a RF communication range).
Regarding 8, Bacon teaches a first headset, comprising: a speaker; at least one processor; and memory having instructions which when executed by the at least one processor while the first headset is worn by a first user, causes the first headset to: receive, via a radio frequency (RF) link with a second headset worn by a second user, speech of the second user captured by a microphone of the second headset, play back, through the speaker, the speech, determine whether the both headsets are within a range (see fig. 1-4B, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode.), and responsive to a determination that both headsets are outside the range, receive the speech from an electronic device that is communicatively coupled with the second headset via a network link (see fig. 6F, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region.
Regarding claim 11, Bacon teaches the first headset of claim 8, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device and the RF link is a first RF link, wherein the speech is received via a second RF link with the first electronic device that receives, via the network link, the speech from the second headset or a second electronic device that is paired with the second headset (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Regarding claim 16, Bacon teaches a processor of a first headworn audio device, the processor configured to perform operations comprising: operate in a first communication mode in which a speech signal is received by a first headworn audio device from a second headworn audio device via a radio frequency (RF) link,; drive a speaker of the first headworn audio device with the speech signal (see fig. 1-4B, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode.); and responsive to a determination that a distance between the first headworn audio device and the second headworn audio device has exceeded a threshold range, transition, without user interference, from the first communication mode to a second communication mode in which the speech signal is received from an electronic device that is communicatively coupled with the second headworn audio device via a network link (see fig. 6F, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region.
Regarding claim 17, Bacon teaches the processor of claim 16 is further configured to receive a second speech signal captured by a microphone of the first headworn audio device, wherein the processor operates in the first communication mode by causing the first headworn audio device to transmit, via the RF link, the second speech signal to the second headworn audio device, and wherein the processor transitions to the second communication mode by causing the first headworn audio device to transmit the second speech signal, via the network link, to the second headworn audio device (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Regarding claim 18, Bacon teaches the processor of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device and the RF link is a first RF link, wherein the processor is configured to transition by receiving, via a second RF link with the first electronic device, the speech signal, wherein the first electronic device receives the speech signal, via the network link, from the second headworn audio device or a second electronic device that is paired with the second headworn audio device (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 4, 9, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375) in view of Amengual Gari et al. (US 10,440,498).
Regarding claim 4, Bacon teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising determining, while the first headworn audio device is worn by a first user and the second headworn audio device is worn by a second user (see fig. 1-4B, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode.).
Bacon does not teach the distance between both headworn audio devices based on an acoustic analysis of the acoustic signal.
Amengual teaches distance between both headworn audio devices based on an acoustic analysis of the acoustic signal (see fig. 1-2, col. 7, lines 11-35, 53-col. 8, lines 34, col. 14, lines 33-64. An acoustic analysis module determines ambient conditions within the room affecting the speech signals emitted by the speaking user, for example the noise floor in the room, sources of noise within the room (for example, groups of people speaking at the same time as the speaking user or a running air conditioner), a potential distance between the speaking user and a receiving user, and a frequency range of human male or female speech.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate determine distance between both headworn audio devices based on an acoustic analysis. The modification provides for a potential distance between the speaking user and a receiving user.
Regarding claim 9, Bacon teaches the first headset of claim 8, wherein the microphone is a first microphone, transmit, via the RF link, the speech of the first user to the second headset (see fig. 1-4B, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode.).
Bacon does not disclose wherein the memory comprises further instructions to: capture, using a second microphone of the first headset, speech of the first user.
Amengual teaches wherein the memory comprises further instructions to: capture, using a second microphone of the first headset, speech of the first user (see fig. 1-2, col. 2, lines 48-67, col. 5, lines 54-col. 6, line 41. The headset having microphone arrays record speech from the user of the headset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate record speech from two or more microphones. The modification provides having the headset having more than one microphone for recording speech of the user.
Regarding claim 10, Bacon teaches the first headset of claim 9, wherein the memory comprises further instructions to, responsive to the determination that both headsets are outside the range, switch from the receiving and transmitting to exchanging the speech of the first user and the speech of the second user with the second headset via the network link and through the electronic device (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Regarding claim 12, Bacon does not teach the first headset of claim 8, wherein the memory comprises further instructions to determine a distance between both headsets based on an acoustic analysis of the received speech of the second user, wherein the instructions to determine whether both devices are within the range comprises instructions to determine whether the distance is within the range.
Amengual teaches wherein the memory comprises further instructions to determine a distance between both headsets based on an acoustic analysis of the received speech of the second user, wherein the instructions to determine whether both devices are within the range comprises instructions to determine whether the distance is within the range (see fig. 1-2, col. 7, lines 11-35, 53-col. 8, lines 34, col. 14, lines 33-64. An acoustic analysis module determines ambient conditions within the room affecting the speech signals emitted by the speaking user, for example the noise floor in the room, sources of noise within the room (for example, groups of people speaking at the same time as the speaking user or a running air conditioner), a potential distance between the speaking user and a receiving user, and a frequency range of human male or female speech.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate determine distance between both headworn audio devices based on an acoustic analysis. The modification provides for a potential distance between the speaking user and a receiving user.
5. Claim(s) 6, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375) in view of Donley et al. (US 10,812,929).
Regarding claim 6, Bacon does not teach the method of claim 1 further comprising producing a spatialized audio signal based on the acoustic signal, wherein driving the speaker comprises outputting the spatialized audio signal through the speaker.
Donley teaches method of claim 1 further comprising producing a spatialized audio signal based on the acoustic signal, wherein driving the speaker comprises outputting the spatialized audio signal through the speaker (see fig. 1, col. 16 , lines 60-col. 17, line 6. Audio system provides spatialized audio content to a user of the headset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate provide determine spatialized audio content to a user of the headset. The modification provides spatialized audio content to a user of the headset.
Regarding claim 7, Bacon teaches the method of claim 6 further comprising, wherein transitioning comprises: producing an output audio signal by processing the acoustic signal received from the electronic device using the acoustic parameter; and driving the speaker with the output audio signal instead of the acoustic signal received via the RF link (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
However Bacon does not disclose determining an acoustic parameter of the spatialized audio signal
Donley teaches method of claim 1 further comprising producing a spatialized audio signal based on the acoustic signal, wherein driving the speaker comprises outputting the spatialized audio signal through the speaker (see fig. 1, col. 13, lines 13-25, col. 16 , lines 60-col. 17, line 6. Audio system provides spatialized audio content to a user of the headset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate provide determine spatialized audio content to a user of the headset. The modification provides spatialized audio content to a user of the headset.
Regarding claim 13, Bacon teaches the first headset of claim 8, wherein the instructions to receive the speech of the second user comprises instructions to receive, via the RF link, a speech signal (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
However Bacon does not disclose wherein the memory comprises further instructions to: estimate an acoustic parameter based on the speech signal; generate a spatialized speech signal based on the acoustic parameter; and drive the speaker using the spatialized speech signal to playback the speech of the second user.
Donley teaches wherein the memory comprises further instructions to: estimate an acoustic parameter based on the speech signal; generate a spatialized speech signal based on the acoustic parameter; and drive the speaker using the spatialized speech signal to playback the speech of the second user (see fig. 1, col. 13, lines 13-25, col. 16 , lines 60-col. 17, line 6. Audio system provides spatialized audio content to a user of the headset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate provide determine spatialized audio content to a user of the headset. The modification provides spatialized audio content to a user of the headset.
6. Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375) in view of Donley et al. (US 10,812,929) in further view of Amengual Gari et al. (US 10,440,498).
Regarding claim 14, Bacon and Donley do not teach the first headset of claim 13, responsive to the determination that both headsets are outside the range, transition from using the spatialized speech signal to drive the speaker to using the processed speech signal (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Bacon and Donley do not teach wherein the speech signal is a first speech signal, wherein the instructions to receive the speech from the electronic device comprises instructions to receive a second speech signal that comprises the speech of the second user, wherein the memory comprises further instructions to: produce a processed speech signal from the second speech signal and based on the acoustic parameter.
Amengual teaches wherein the speech signal is a first speech signal, wherein the instructions to receive the speech from the electronic device comprises instructions to receive a second speech signal that comprises the speech of the second user, wherein the memory comprises further instructions to: produce a processed speech signal from the second speech signal and based on the acoustic parameter (see fig. 1-2, col. 2, lines 48-67, col. 5, lines 54-col. 6, line 41, col. 13, lines 51-col. 14, line 31. The headset having microphone arrays record speech from the user of the headset. Local controller processes the recordings from each acoustic sensor into a complete recording of the speech signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon and Donley to incorporate record speech from two or more microphones. The modification provides having the headset having more than one microphone for recording speech of the user.
7. Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375) in view of Mazur et al. (US 2020/0379718).
Regarding claim 15, Bacon does not teach the first headset of claim 8, wherein the electronic device is paired with the first headset, and is a smartphone or a wearable device worn by a user of the first headset.
Mazur teaches wherein the electronic device is paired with the first headset, and is a smartphone or a wearable device worn by a user of the first headset (see ¶ 0018. Headset paired with a smartphone via Bluetooth.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate paring a headset and smartphone. The modification provides having the headset and smartphone paired together.
8. Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375) in view of ROH (US 2014/0179380).
Regarding claim 19, Bacon teaches the processor of claim 16, wherein the speech signal received via the RF link is a first speech signal and the speech signal received from the electronic device is a second speech signal (see fig. 1-4B, 6F, col. 6, lines 4-20, col. 10, lines 44-65, col. 12, lines 1-8. 22-54, col. 14, line 60-col. 15, line 14, 46-col. 16, line 35, col. 17, line 50-59, col. 28, lines 55-col. 29, line 10. The headset between first and second users are in communication via a radio frequency (Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) based on proximity in a physical space to one another. The headset have microphones and speakers in which the audio being captured from one user is transmitted to the other user and heard via the speakers of the headphone. The first mode communication is the radio frequency mode. Remote device (688) can be located beyond region (680), such that device (688) is out of range of point-to-point ad hoc network communication with any of devices (682, 684). Remote devices 688 can be structured to communicate via one or more communication links which are separate from point-to-point ad hoc network link. The headset can have a head jack that connects to a device wherein the user exceeds a boundary beyond a region that incorporates the peer-to-peer network, the user device will utilize the a LAN or Cellular networks. The second mode of communication will be a network that is not part of the peer-to-peer network.). The change over from one network to another is disclosed by Bacon. The when a device exceeds boundary that is beyond a region that will be considered a threshold. Where the region is exceeded then the device will need to change networks in order to continue communications with others in one region that is different from the user that is outside the region. The change or transition of the network on a device based on regional location being either in or out of a region that has peer-to-peer which will be in a region and if a user steps out of a region then the network transition would occur.
Bacon does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine at least one acoustic parameter of the first speech signal and generate a processed speech signal by equalizing the second speech signal according to the at least one acoustic parameter.
ROH teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine at least one acoustic parameter of the first speech signal and generate a processed speech signal by equalizing the second speech signal according to the at least one acoustic parameter (see ¶ 0033. The audio parameters include gain and equalizing to enhance voice of the audio inputs signal from the microphone.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon to incorporate equalizing the voice signal for enhancement. The modification provides for enhancing the voice signal for output.
9. Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacon et al. (US 9,693,375) in view of ROH (US 2014/0179380) in further view of Amengual Gari et al. (US 10,440,498).
Regarding claim 20, Bacon and Roh do not teach the processor of claim 19, wherein the processor transitions by using the processed speech signal to drive the speaker instead of using the first speech signal.
Amengual teaches wherein the processor transitions by using the processed speech signal to drive the speaker instead of using the first speech signal
(see fig. 1-2, col. 2, lines 48-67, col. 5, lines 54-col. 6, line 41, col. 13, lines 51-col. 14, line 31. The headset having microphone arrays record speech from the user of the headset. Local controller processes the recordings from each acoustic sensor into a complete recording of the speech signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bacon and Roh to incorporate record speech from two or more microphones. The modification provides having the headset having more than one microphone for recording speech of the user.
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691