DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed on 11/4/24. Claim 1 is cancelled and new claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dhoolan et al., US Pat. No.9,582,377.
As to claim 2, Dhoolan discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a query for data associated with one or more servers assigned to a host group and
determining that a location of the host group from which to retrieve the data is not available (resource host identifiers for each resource host in the group can be obtained and used to query the resource host through an API request and resource hosts in the groups can simultaneously fail, see abstract, fig.7, col.12 line 23 to col.13 line 24);
identifying master data based on descriptive data generated in association with query, retrieving a copy of the master data identified by the descriptive data, storing a copy of the master data at the location associated with the host group, and returning a copy of the data requested in the query (the remirror buffer can be used to store replicated data from the failed resource hosts a room of resource hosts failed for any reason, the slave resource hosts could be immediately switched so as to function as the master resource hosts to serve the customer needs, see col.13 lines 12-45).
As to claim 3, Dhoolan discloses determining a value associated with the query (query processing, see col.12 lines 23-55).
As to claim 4, Dhoolan discloses evaluating a value to determine the location of the host group to which the one or more servers are assigned (the service provider has two copies of the customer's data at all times. However, if either the slave or master fail, then a new backup is created so that redundancy is maintained, see col.12 lines 23-40).
As to claim 5, Dhoolan discloses evaluating a value to determine the location of the host group to which the one or more servers are assigned, wherein the value represents a hashed or transformed value (if the placement service 330 determines that placement of the storage within the requested data center does not reduce the remirror buffer below a threshold value, see col.5 lines 17-60).
As to claims 6, Dhoolan does not specifically disclose referencing an index associated with the host group to match a value that provides the location of the data requested by the query, wherein the value is associated with at least one or more of an address, a pointer, and other indexing information to reference the location (reading and processing address information in a received packet to determine the packet's destinations, see fig.4, col.8 line 42 to col.9 line 25).
As to claim 7, Dhoolan discloses parsing a data file associated with the query to determine the descriptive data to identify a parsed value, wherein the parsed value includes a time characteristic associated with the host group (packet address processing, see fig.4, col.7 lines 44-62).
As to claim 8, Dhoolan discloses parsing a data file associated with the query to determine the descriptive data to identify a parsed value, wherein the parsed value includes the location of the host group (see col.7 lines 44-62).
As to claim 9, Dhoolan discloses the descriptive data includes metadata (customer data processing, see col.12 line 23 to col.13 line 22).
As to claim 10, Dhoolan discloses determining that a parsed value associated with query does not match a value stored in an index (each of the resource hosts within the data center that have a matching attribute can be identified. Attributes include size of resource hosts, manufacturers of resource hosts, age of resource hosts and can change automatically based on historic analysis and input from other services, such as a failure monitoring service, see col.10 line 61 to col.11 line 18).
As to claim 11, Dhoolan discloses storing the copy of the master file at the location associated with an index (see col.12 line 21 to col.13 line 10).
As to claim 12, Dhoolan discloses performing a data operation to reconcile the copy of the master data that is stored (see col.12 line 21 to col.13 line 10).
As to claim 13, Dhoolan discloses retrieving the master copy of the data or a master copy of data files (see col.12 line 21 to col.13 line 10).
As to claim 14, Dhoolan discloses returning another master copy of the data (see col.12 line 21 to col.13 line 10).
Claims 15-21 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11 and 2 respectively.
Conclusion
5. Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for patents
P O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458