DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
"a first electrical device", "a second electrical device", "a third electrical device"
“a first power supply” & “a second power supply”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding “Failure to particularly point out & distinctly claim [indefinite]”
Claims 1, 10, 11, & 18 in lines 12-13, lines 10-11, lines 10-11, lines 10-11 (respectively) recite the limitations "determining, via one or more sensors of a second electrical device and based on the second electrical device being coupled to the electrical system", "using a second electrical device to (i) preserve memory settings of the electrical system,", "a second electrical device for (i) preserving memory settings of the electrical system,", & "a second electrical device for (i) preserving memory settings of the electrical system," (respectively) and similarly for “a third electrical device”. It is not clear how or why these are separate devices from “first electrical device” as opposed to parts or components of one device, and if separate devices then possibly separate inventions. Claim 18 in particular appears to be directed towards multiple inventions at once (i.e. a kit) (see MPEP 1.475 “Unity of invention”).
Claims 1, 10, 11, & 18 in lines 3-4, recites the limitation "at least two parameters of the electrical system". It is unclear what the two parameters are and how they are being measured.
Note: claims 2, 13, & 20 make it clear what one of those two parameters is, but the other of those two parameters is unclear.
Claims 1, 10, 11, & 18 in lines 6-7 recites the limitation "a probe element that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto". It is not clear what the signal is; (for example, it could be an applied potential or a radio wave, acoustic wave or etc.). It is also unclear how the probe is “placed in contact”; perhaps to the electrodes or perhaps to the surface of the power supply.
Claims 1, 10, 11, & 18 in lines recites the limitation "a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system". It is not clear how the signal was manipulated or what information it contained.
Claims 1, 11, & 18 in lines 13-14, recites the limitation "presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter". It is not clear what it means to detect a presence or a flow of a parameter; parameters are measured and they are not physical elements so they don’t have a presence or a flow.
Claim 1 in lines 24-25 recites the limitation "each electrical element of the list of electrical elements having an impedance associated therewith". It is unclear what this limitation is meant to imply at least because all electrical elements have impedance values.
Claim 6 in lines 1-2 recites the limitation "wherein the at least one parameter flowing from the second power supply to the electrical system is current.". This limitation is unclear at least because parameters don’t flow. For the purposes of examination and due to current commonly being understood to ‘flow’ this limitation is interpreted as measurement of current.
Claim 7 in lines 2-3 recites the limitation "a graphical representation of changes in the current and a measured voltage being transmitted from the second power supply to the electrical system". It is unclear how data is transmitted from “second power supply” to the electrical system”; power supplies don’t transmit data without additional elements(/inventive concepts).
Regarding ‘rejected for inheriting the rejected limitation(s) of a parent claim without rectifying the issue(s) for which the parent claim(s) were rejected’:
Claims 2-9, 12-17, & 19-20 in line 1 (for each claim) recites the limitation ""The method of claim 1[3][6]", "The electrical testing system of claim 11", ".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, & 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9928938 B2 (Fasnacht) in view of US 10509063 B2 (Steuer).
Regarding claim 1, Fasnacht teaches an electrical testing method, comprising: powering, via a first power supply, an electrical system (column 2 lines 63-66: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle, the leads from the first cable assembly component are coupled to the appropriate sockets of a current measurement device or meter.”, electrical system/(“electrical system of a vehicle”)), … the second electrical device including an analyzer electrically coupled to the one or more sensors and configured to derive parasitic draw of the electrical system based on the determination of the at least one parameter (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain)); … ; deriving, via the analyzer of the second electrical device, the parasitic draw of the electrical system from the at least one parameter flowing from the second power supply to the electrical system (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain)); receiving, by a third electrical device, one or more user inputs selecting an electrical element from a list of electrical elements, each electrical element of the list of electrical elements having an impedance associated therewith (Fig. 3-75: “function selector”, column 5 lines 44-46: “FIGS. 2-4 depict utilization of a typical multimeter 46 which includes a function selector 75 and connections that enable current measurement via sockets 41, 43.”, user can select elements and perform impedance measurements);
Fasnacht does not as explicitly teach … and based thereon performing, via a first electrical device, selective detection of at least two parameters of the electrical system, the powering being selectively provided during detection of the at least two parameters, the first electrical device including: a probe element that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto; a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system, and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system; determining, via one or more sensors of a second electrical device and based on the second electrical device being coupled to the electrical system, presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter from a second power supply to the electrical system, … preserving, via the second electrical device, memory settings of the electrical system … accessing, from a data storage location associated with the third electrical device, impedance data of the electrical element’s impedance; determining, via the third electrical device, voltage drop across an in-circuit electrical path passing through the electrical element; determining, via the third electrical device and from the voltage drop and the impedance, amperage of the electrical element.
Steuer teaches … and based thereon performing, via a first electrical device, selective detection of at least two parameters of the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)), the powering being selectively provided during detection of the at least two parameters (Fig. 1-140: a device under test (DUT)), the first electrical device including: a probe element (Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”) that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto (Fig. 1, column 3 lines 63-65: “FIG. 1 is a pictorial diagram of an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry, according to one illustrated implementation.”, input signal/(“reference signal”)); a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system (Fig. 5-503: “reference signal circuitry 503”,Fig. 1-122: “input terminal”, column 6 lines 41-45: “the reference signal circuitry 202 may include a common mode AC reference voltage source 214 operatively coupled to the common input terminal 122 to generate a common mode signal at the common input terminal 122.”, system manipulates a reference signal and applies it to the probe), and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V), system receives a signal representative of parameters); determining, via one or more sensors of a second electrical device and based on the second electrical device being coupled to the electrical system, presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter from a second power supply to the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)), … preserving, via the second electrical device, memory settings of the electrical system (Fig.5-508: “Memory”) … accessing, from a data storage location associated with the third electrical device, impedance data of the electrical element’s impedance (column 4 lines 28-32: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance) of a device under test (DUT) using an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry”, impedance data/(source impedance)); determining, via the third electrical device, voltage drop across an in-circuit electrical path passing through the electrical element (Fig. 1-120: “V”, column 5 lines 45-46: “the input terminal 120 is a voltage test input terminal for measuring voltage in a DUT”); determining, via the third electrical device and from the voltage drop and the impedance, amperage of the electrical element (Fig. 1-126: “V”, column 5 lines 47-49: “A current input terminal or jack 126 may also be plugged with a plug similar to one of the plugs 116 and 118, for measuring current in a DUT”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Fasnacht with the teachings of Steuer. One would have added to the “Parasitic Battery Drain Test Assembly For Multiple Component Vehicle Circuitry Analysis” of Fasnacht the “Electrical Signal Measurement Device Using Reference Signal” of Steuer. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable the continuous monitoring of parasitic draw and of associated impedances (see Steuer column 4 lines 28-30: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance)”)
Regarding claim 2, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 1,
Steuer further teaches wherein the at least two parameters include at least one of circuit continuity, resistance, voltage, current, load impedance, and frequency (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)).
Regarding claim 3, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 1,
Fasnacht further teaches wherein the electrical system is disconnected from a power source of the electrical system when the second power supply of the second electrical device provides power (column 2 lines 54-58: “The bypass switch, when open, provides a series circuit between a multimeter (current measuring device) and the vehicle disconnected battery cable and open pole contact. When the bypass switch is closed, a parallel circuit to the current measuring device (multimeter) is maintained.”, system can connect and disconnect power sources and devices and measurements continue to be made).
Regarding claim 4, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 3,
Fasnacht further teaches wherein the power source is a vehicle battery of a vehicle and the electrical system is associated with the vehicle (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”).
Regarding claim 5, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 1,
Steuer further teaches further comprising transmitting, via a wireless network and by a wireless communication means, one or more outputs of at least one of the first electrical device, the second electrical device and the third electrical device (Fig. 6-604: “wireless communications interfaces”, column 4 lines 49-52:“The determined one or more electrical parameters may additionally or alternatively be communicated to an external device via a wired and/or wireless communications interface.”).
Regarding claim 6, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 1,
Steuer further teaches wherein the at least one parameter flowing from the second power supply to the electrical system is current (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)).
Regarding claim 7, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 6,
Steuer further teaches displaying, via an interface of the second electrical device, a graphical representation of changes in the current and a measured voltage being transmitted from the second power supply to the electrical system, the graphical representation of the changes being depicted over a period of time in which the current and the measured voltage are being measured (column 13 lines 20-25: “Such graphical representations may include waveforms, harmonic bar graphs, etc. Example signal characteristics which may be presented via the display 512 include source impedance, voltage, current, frequency, power parameters (e.g., watts, KVA), phase, energy, harmonics, phase sequence detection, etc.”).
Regarding claim 9, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 1,
Fasnacht further teaches wherein the electrical element includes a vehicle fuse (Fig. 1-18: “fuse block” & Fig. 2-19: “replaceable fuse”, column 5 lines 30-32: “One of the cables 12 includes a fuse block 18 with a replaceable fuse 19”).
Regarding claim 10, an electrical testing method, comprising: … and (ii) derive any parasitic draw within the electrical system (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain));
Fasnacht does not as explicitly teach using a first electrical device to detect at least two parameters of an electrical system, the first electrical device including: a probe element that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto; a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system, and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system; using a second electrical device to (i) preserve memory settings of the electrical system, …; using a third electrical device to derive amperage of an electrical element of the electrical system, the deriving determining voltage drop across an in-circuit electrical path passing through the electrical element and accessing impedance data of the electrical element to calculate from the voltage drop and the impedance data amperage of the electrical element
Steuer) teaches using a first electrical device to detect at least two parameters of an electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)), the first electrical device including: a probe element (Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”) that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto (Fig. 1, column 3 lines 63-65: “FIG. 1 is a pictorial diagram of an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry, according to one illustrated implementation.”, input signal/(“reference signal”)); a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system (Fig. 5-503: “reference signal circuitry 503”,Fig. 1-122: “input terminal”, column 6 lines 41-45: “the reference signal circuitry 202 may include a common mode AC reference voltage source 214 operatively coupled to the common input terminal 122 to generate a common mode signal at the common input terminal 122.”, system manipulates a reference signal and applies it to the probe), and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system(Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V), system receives a signal representative of parameters); using a second electrical device to (i) preserve memory settings of the electrical system (Fig.5-508: “Memory”), …; using a third electrical device to derive amperage of an electrical element of the electrical system, the deriving determining voltage drop across an in-circuit electrical path passing through the electrical element (Fig. 1-120: “V”, column 5 lines 45-46: “the input terminal 120 is a voltage test input terminal for measuring voltage in a DUT”) and accessing impedance data of the electrical element (column 4 lines 28-32: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance) of a device under test (DUT) using an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry”, impedance data/(source impedance)) to calculate from the voltage drop and the impedance data amperage of the electrical element (Fig. 1-126: “V”, column 5 lines 47-49: “A current input terminal or jack 126 may also be plugged with a plug similar to one of the plugs 116 and 118, for measuring current in a DUT”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Fasnacht with the teachings of Steuer. One would have added to the “Parasitic Battery Drain Test Assembly For Multiple Component Vehicle Circuitry Analysis” of Fasnacht the “Electrical Signal Measurement Device Using Reference Signal” of Steuer. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable the continuous monitoring of parasitic draw and of associated impedances (see Steuer column 4 lines 28-30: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance)”)
Regarding claim 11, Fasnacht teaches an electrical testing system, comprising: … and (ii) deriving any parasitic draw within the electrical system (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain)), the second electrical device comprising: a first power supply for providing power to the electrical system, which enables the second electrical device to maintain memory of electrical system settings of the electrical system during disconnect of a power source of the electrical system(column 2 lines 54-58: “The bypass switch, when open, provides a series circuit between a multimeter (current measuring device) and the vehicle disconnected battery cable and open pole contact. When the bypass switch is closed, a parallel circuit to the current measuring device (multimeter) is maintained.”, system can connect and disconnect power sources and devices and measurements continue to be made); … ; an analyzer electrically coupled to the one or more sensors and configured to derive parasitic draw of the electrical system based on the detection of the at least one parameter(column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain));
Fasnacht does not as explicitly teach a first electrical device to detect at least two parameters of an electrical system, the first electrical device comprising: a probe element that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto; a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system, and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system; a second electrical device for (i) preserving memory settings of the electrical system … ; one or more sensors for detecting presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter from a power supply of the second electrical device to the electrical system; … ; a third electrical device for determining amperage of an electrical element of the electrical system, , the third electrical device comprising: a first conductive probe element; a second conductive probe element; a processor in electrical communication with the first conductive probe element and the second conductive probe element; and a data storage location storing impedance data for a list of electrical elements, the list of electrical elements including the electrical element of the electrical system
Steuer teaches a first electrical device to detect at least two parameters of an electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)), the first electrical device comprising: a probe element (Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”) that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto (Fig. 1, column 3 lines 63-65: “FIG. 1 is a pictorial diagram of an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry, according to one illustrated implementation.”, input signal/(“reference signal”)); a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system (Fig. 5-503: “reference signal circuitry 503”,Fig. 1-122: “input terminal”, column 6 lines 41-45: “the reference signal circuitry 202 may include a common mode AC reference voltage source 214 operatively coupled to the common input terminal 122 to generate a common mode signal at the common input terminal 122.”, system manipulates a reference signal and applies it to the probe), and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V), system receives a signal representative of parameters); a second electrical device for (i) preserving memory settings of the electrical system (Fig.5-508: “Memory”), … ; one or more sensors for detecting presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter from a power supply of the second electrical device to the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)); … ; a third electrical device for determining amperage of an electrical element of the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “V”, column 5 lines 47-49: “A current input terminal or jack 126 may also be plugged with a plug similar to one of the plugs 116 and 118, for measuring current in a DUT”), the third electrical device comprising: a first conductive probe element (Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”); a second conductive probe element(Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”, 2 probes); a processor in electrical communication with the first conductive probe element and the second conductive probe element(Fig. 5-506: “Processor”); and a data storage location storing impedance data for a list of electrical elements, the list of electrical elements including the electrical element of the electrical system(column 4 lines 28-32: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance) of a device under test (DUT) using an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry”, impedance data/(source impedance)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Fasnacht with the teachings of Steuer. One would have added to the “Parasitic Battery Drain Test Assembly For Multiple Component Vehicle Circuitry Analysis” of Fasnacht the “Electrical Signal Measurement Device Using Reference Signal” of Steuer. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable the continuous monitoring of parasitic draw and of associated impedances (see Steuer column 4 lines 28-30: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance)”)
Regarding claim 12, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing system of claim 11,
Fasnacht further teaches wherein the electrical element includes a vehicle fuse (Fig. 1-18: “fuse block” & Fig. 2-19: “replaceable fuse”, column 5 lines 30-32: “One of the cables 12 includes a fuse block 18 with a replaceable fuse 19”).
Regarding claim 13, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing system of claim 11,
Steuer further teaches wherein the at least two parameters include at least one of circuit continuity, resistance, voltage, current, load impedance, and frequency (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)).
Regarding claim 14, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing system of claim 11,
Fasnacht further teaches wherein the power source is a vehicle battery of a vehicle and the electrical system is associated with the vehicle (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”).
Regarding claim 15, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing system of claim 11,
Steuer further teaches wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one of a current and a measured voltage (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)).
Regarding claim 16, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing system of claim 11,
Steuer further teaches wherein the third electrical device further includes a first input for selecting a mode associated with the electrical element (Fig.5-502 & Fig.5-504, system has multiple modes), a second input for turning on or off a light emitting diode (LED) of the third electrical device, and a third input for adjusting the brightness of the backlight of a display screen of the third electrical device (column 13 lines 10-13: “The measurement device 500 may include a user interface 510 which may include any number of inputs (e.g., buttons, dials, switches, touch sensor, touchscreen) and any number of outputs (e.g., display, LEDs, speakers, buzzers)”, device has LEDs and controls for the display screen).
Regarding claim 17, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing system of claim 11,
Steuer further teaches wherein the third electrical device further includes at least two visual indicators for indicating a status of the electrical element(column 13 lines 10-13: “The measurement device 500 may include a user interface 510 which may include any number of inputs (e.g., buttons, dials, switches, touch sensor, touchscreen) and any number of outputs (e.g., display, LEDs, speakers, buzzers)”, LEDs and a display are visual indicators).
Regarding claim 18, Fasnacht teaches an electrical testing kit, comprising: and (ii) deriving any parasitic draw within the electrical system(column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain)), the second electrical device comprising: a power supply for providing power to the electrical system, which enables the second electrical device to maintain memory of electrical system settings of the electrical system during disconnect of a power source of the electrical system (column 2 lines 54-58: “The bypass switch, when open, provides a series circuit between a multimeter (current measuring device) and the vehicle disconnected battery cable and open pole contact. When the bypass switch is closed, a parallel circuit to the current measuring device (multimeter) is maintained.”, system can connect and disconnect power sources and devices and measurements continue to be made); … ; an analyzer electrically coupled to the one or more sensors and configured to derive parasitic draw of the electrical system based on the detection of the one or more parameters (column 2 lines 63-64: “To evaluate parasitic drain from an electrical system of a vehicle”, parasitic draw/(parasitic drain));
Fasnacht does not as explicitly teach a first electrical device to detect at least two parameters of an electrical system, the first electrical device comprising: a probe element that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto; a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system, and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system; a second electrical device for (i) preserving memory settings of the electrical system, … ; one or more sensors for detecting presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter from the power supply of the second electrical device to the electrical system … ; a third electrical device for determining amperage of an electrical element of the electrical system, the third electrical device comprising: a first conductive probe element; a second conductive probe element; a processor in electrical communication with the first conductive probe element and the second conductive probe element; and a data storage location storing impedance data for a list of electrical elements, the list of electrical elements including the electrical element of the electrical system
Steuer teaches a first electrical device to detect at least two parameters of an electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)), the first electrical device comprising: a probe element (Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”) that is configured to be placed into contact with the electrical system and provide an input signal thereto (Fig. 1, column 3 lines 63-65: “FIG. 1 is a pictorial diagram of an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry, according to one illustrated implementation.”, input signal/(“reference signal”)); a processor electrically connected to the conducting probe element and configured to (a) manipulate the input signal provided to the electrical system (Fig. 5-503: “reference signal circuitry 503”,Fig. 1-122: “input terminal”, column 6 lines 41-45: “the reference signal circuitry 202 may include a common mode AC reference voltage source 214 operatively coupled to the common input terminal 122 to generate a common mode signal at the common input terminal 122.”, system manipulates a reference signal and applies it to the probe), and (b) receive an output signal representative of one or more parameters of the at least two parameters of the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V), system receives a signal representative of parameters); a second electrical device for (i) preserving memory settings of the electrical system (Fig.5-508: “Memory”), … ; one or more sensors for detecting presence of at least one parameter and/or flow of the at least one parameter from the power supply of the second electrical device to the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)); … ; a third electrical device for determining amperage of an electrical element of the electrical system (Fig. 1-126: “V”, column 5 lines 47-49: “A current input terminal or jack 126 may also be plugged with a plug similar to one of the plugs 116 and 118, for measuring current in a DUT”), the third electrical device comprising: a first conductive probe element(Fig. 1-132: & Fig. 1-130: “test probes 130 and 132”); a second conductive probe element; a processor in electrical communication with the first conductive probe element and the second conductive probe element (Fig. 5-506: “Processor”); and a data storage location storing impedance data for a list of electrical elements, the list of electrical elements including the electrical element of the electrical system (column 4 lines 28-32: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance) of a device under test (DUT) using an electrical parameter measurement device that includes reference signal circuitry”, impedance data/(source impedance)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical testing kit taught by Fasnacht with the teachings of Steuer. One would have added to the “Parasitic Battery Drain Test Assembly For Multiple Component Vehicle Circuitry Analysis” of Fasnacht the “Electrical Signal Measurement Device Using Reference Signal” of Steuer. The motivation would have been that the combination would enable the continuous monitoring of parasitic draw and of associated impedances (see Steuer column 4 lines 28-30: “Systems and methods of the present disclosure advantageously provide for measurement of one or more electrical parameters (e.g., source impedance)”)
Regarding claim 19, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing kit of claim 18,
Fasnacht further teaches wherein the electrical element includes a vehicle fuse(Fig. 1-18: “fuse block” & Fig. 2-19: “replaceable fuse”, column 5 lines 30-32: “One of the cables 12 includes a fuse block 18 with a replaceable fuse 19”).
Regarding claim 20, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the electrical testing kit of claim 18,
Steuer further teaches wherein the at least two parameters include at least one of circuit continuity, resistance, voltage, current, load impedance, and frequency (Fig. 1-126: “A”, & Fig. 1-120: “V”, current (A) & voltage (V)).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9928938 B2 (Fasnacht) in view of US 10509063 B2 (Steuer) in further view of US 20180225891 A1(Lambourne).
Regarding claim 8, Fasnacht in view of Steuer teaches the method of claim 1,
Neither Fasnacht nor Steuer explicitly teach wherein the second electrical device includes an interface that comprises a sixteen-pin connection, where the interface is coupled to the electrical system via a diagnostic port.
Lambourne teaches wherein the second electrical device includes an interface that comprises a sixteen-pin connection, where the interface is coupled to the electrical system via a diagnostic port (Fig. 5A-500: “automotive diagnostic port connector”, para 0080: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the OBD-II automotive diagnostic port connector 500, on a female connector, includes 16 sockets 510 arranged in two rows.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Fasnacht in view of Steuer with the teachings of Lambourne. One would have added to the “Parasitic Battery Drain Test Assembly For Multiple Component Vehicle Circuitry Analysis” with “Electrical Signal Measurement Device Using Reference Signal” of Fasnacht in view of Steuer the “Automated Vehicle Discovery After Connecting to an Automotive Diagnostic Port” with OBD-II automotive diagnostic port connector of Lambourne. The motivation would have been that a 16 pin OBD device would be compatible with standard technology (see Lambourne para 0079: “FIG. 5A illustrates an OBD-II automotive diagnostic port connector 500, in accordance with the prior art. The connector 500 for the OBD-II automotive diagnostic port was standardized as the SAE J1962 specification, which was issued in 1992. The United States has mandated inclusion of the OBD-II automotive diagnostic port connector 500 in any cars and light duty trucks sold in the U.S. market.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8355837 B2 "System And Method For Testing The Integrity Of A Vehicle Testing/diagnostic System" (Avery) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2.
US 7184899 B2 "Energizable Electrical Test Device For Measuring Current And Resistance Of An Electrical Circuit" (Cruz) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1 & Fig. 2.
US 4540940 A "Circuit Tester For Automotive Electrical Systems" (Nolan) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1.
US 10386401 B2 "Electrical Network Inspection Devices" (Freer) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1.
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858