DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 1-5, 7 and 10 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Swietlik 2019/0293213. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usui et al. 4,980,960 in view of Swietlik 2019/0293213.
In regard to claim 1, Usui et al. discloses an apparatus (fig. 9) for protecting pipes or wires through a wall penetration comprising:
a base plate 6’ securable to a wall surface 1; and
a collar 6 extending from the base plate and having a bore therethrough, the bore defining an interior passage through the apparatus;
a guide tube (P) connectable within the interior passage, wherein the guide tube is operable to guide into and protect objects within the interior passage,
wherein the guide tube is selectably removable from the collar at any time before, during or after installation of pipes or wires through the interior passage,
wherein the collar includes a rear portion 6” extending from a rear surface of the base plate; and
a compressible tube 5 formed of a heat shrinkable material.
Usui et al. discloses placing the guide tube into the collar, but does not disclose attaching the guide tube with a threaded connection. Swietlik teaches that providing a guide tube 300 in a collar 102 either with (see fig. 2) or without (see fig. 4) a threaded connection is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the collar and guide tube of Usui et al. with a threaded connection, because inasmuch as the references disclose these elements as art recognized equivalents, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982).
In regard to claim 2, wherein the collar includes a front portion (two cylindrical portions extend from 6’ in opposite directions in fig. 9) extending from a front surface of the base plate.
In regard to claim 3, wherein the front portion extends from the base plate by a distance equal to or less than to the thickness of a sheet of gyprock (the claim is only positively drawn to the apparatus and not the apparatus in combination with the gyprock, and is capable of being used with gyprock that is thicker than the axial length of either collar portion 6).
In regard to claim 4, wherein the front portion includes tabs extending longitudinally from a distal end thereof (tabs created by longitudinal slots 6”, best shown in fig. 8).
In regard to claim 5, wherein the tabs (tabs created by longitudinal slots 6”) are connected to the front collar so (“as to be selectably removable therefrom” is an intended use limitation that carries little patentable weight in an apparatus claims, the protrusions created by slots 6” are capable of being removed, for example by cutting them off and are therefore deemed to anticipate the intended use limitation of the claim).
In regard to claim 10, wherein the compressible tube is radially compressible around the interior passage (5 is made from heat shrink material and capable of shrinking inward when heated).
Conclusion
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679