CTFR 18/936,848 CTFR 80025 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-12, 14-22, 27-29, 31, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., USPN 10,009,736, in view of Fu et al., USPN 2024/0430787 . With regard to claims 1, 11, 21, and 31, Chu discloses a first access point (AP), including a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (column 1 lines 49-63, column 13 lines 1-58), the processing system configured to cause the first AP to transmit a message that requests or indicates support for establishing coordinated AP (CAP) communications between the first AP and a second AP (column 7 line 66-column 8 line 48, column 9 lines 42-52) that is associated with a second basic service set (BSS) different from a first BSS of the first AP (column 3 lines 21-34), wherein the message indicates at least one of an ability to establish a secure CAP communication across BSSs or one or more first security parameters for securing the CAP communications across BSSs (column 3 line 50-column 5 line 11, column 9 lines 42-52, column 8 lines 38-62), receive one or more frames in accordance with the message and at least one of the ability to establish the secure CAP communication across BSSs or the one or more first security parameters, wherein the one or more frames indicate one or more second security parameters or a security key for the secure CAP communication between the first AP and the second AP (column 3 line 50-column 5 line 11, column 9 lines 42-52, column 8 lines 38-62), and receive the secure CAP communication in accordance with security information that is associated with the security key (column 9 line 31-column 10 line 16), the security key being established between the first AP and the second AP according to the one or more frames and the one or more first and second security parameters (column 3 line 50-column 5 line 11, column 9 lines 42-52, column 8 lines 38-62, claim 1). Chu discloses negotiating a key between a first AP and a second AP, as outlined above, but does not disclose negotiating a secure communication between a first AP and second AP. Fu discloses a system using multiple APs to connect to a station (0015), similar to that of Chu, and further discloses, receive, from the second AP, one or more frames to the first AP in accordance with the message and at least one of the ability to establish the secure CAP communication across BSSs or the one or more first security parameters (0043-0047), wherein the one or more frames indicate one or more second security parameters or a security key for the secure CAP communication between the first AP and the second AP (0045-0047), and receive, from the second AP, the secure CAP communication in accordance with security information that is associated with the security key (0054, 0020, 0047), the security key being established between the first AP and the second AP according to the one or more frames and the one or more first and second security parameters (0054, 0020, 0047). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the secure communication between APs of Fu, in the system of Chu for the motivation of improved security by better protecting messages and improved threat mitigation. With regard to claims 2, 12, and 22, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to transmit the message that indicates the one or more first security parameters, wherein the one or more first security parameters indicate, for each CAP communication scheme of one or more CAP communication schemes supported by the first AP, a respective security scheme supported by the first AP, and wherein the respective security scheme is a group key establishment (column 5 lines 4-11, column 9 line 31-column 10 line 16). With regard to claims 4, 14, and 34, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses to receive the one or more frames, the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to receive, as part of a handshake procedure between the first AP and the second AP, one or more CAP negotiation frames, including one or more CAP management fields that indicate information associated with generation of the security key for the secure CAP communication between the first AP and the second AP, wherein receiving the secure CAP communication is in accordance with the handshake procedure and the security key (column 5 lines 4-11, column 5 line 49-column 6 line 28, column 9 line 31-column 10 line 16). With regard to claims 5, 15, and 35, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses to receive the one or more frames, the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to receive, in accordance with a pre-association security negotiation (PASN) protocol, one or more PASN frames from the second AP, wherein the security key for the secure CAP communication between the first AP and the second AP is generated in accordance with information indicated via the one or more PASN frames (column 2 lines 56-62, column 5 line 49-column 6 line 28). With regard to claims 6, 16, and 36, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses the security key includes a CAP group key for secure group CAP transmissions by the second AP to the first AP and one or more other APs (column 6 lines 29-49), the secure CAP communication includes a group CAP communication (column 3 lines 50-62), and the security information is generated in accordance with the CAP group key (column 3 lines 50-62, column 5 lines 4-11). With regard to claims 7, 17, and 27, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses the processing system is further configured to cause the first AP to generate, in accordance with a plurality of fields included before a message integrity check (MIC) field in the secure CAP communication and in accordance with the security key, a first MIC (column 10 lines 17-28, column 11 lines 25-38), and compare the first MIC with a second MIC indicated via the MIC field, wherein the security information includes the second MIC (column 11 lines 25-38, claims 9 and 13, column 9 lines 42-64). With regard to claims 8, 18, and 28, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Fu further discloses the processing system is further configured to cause the first AP to decrypt the secure CAP communication in accordance with the security key, wherein the security information included in the secure CAP communication includes information encrypted in accordance with the security key (0038, 0046, 0052). The motivation to combine remains the same as outlined above. With regard to claims 9, 19, and 29, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses to receive the secure CAP communication, the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to receive a frame associated with in-BSS communications and the CAP communications (column 2 line 63-column 3 line 16, claim 1), the frame including a protection indication that indicates whether the security information applies to the CAP communications or not, wherein verification, by the first AP, of the secure CAP communication, is performed in accordance with the protection indication (column 10 line 43-column 11 line 38). With regard to claims 10 and 20, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and Chu further discloses to receive the secure CAP communication, the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to receive, via the secure CAP communication, one or more first fields that convey the security information for verifying a first portion of the secure CAP communication directed to the first AP (column 10 line 43-column 11 line 38), and receive, via the secure CAP communication, one or more second fields that convey second security information for verifying a second portion of the secure CAP communication comprising in-BSS communications by the second AP (column 10 line 43-column 11 line 38, column 2 line 63-column 3 line 16, claim 1) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 13, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Fu, in further view of Cariou et al., USPN 2018/0183723, in Further view of Li et al., USPN 2017/0012977 . With regard to claims 3, 13, and 33, Chu in view of Fu discloses the AP of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses negotiating keys (column 9 lines 42-52), but does not further disclose that to receive the one or more frames, the processing system is configured to cause the first AP to receive, in accordance with an AP PeerKey protocol, one or more public key frames from the second AP, wherein the security key for the secure CAP communication between the first AP and the second AP is generated in accordance with information indicated via the one or more public key frames. Cariou discloses an access point that negotiates a key (0031, 0040-0042), similar to that of Chu and Fu, and further discloses using PeerKey for the handshake (0042, 0078). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use the PeerKey handshake of Cariou in the key negotiation of Chu in view of Fu, for the motivation of improved security by better authenticating messages and improved threat mitigation. Li discloses access point that negotiates a key (0014, 0074-0079, 0326), similar to that of Chu and Fu, and further discloses using a public key to negotiate the key (0019, 0032, 0262, 0326). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to use public keys of Li in the key negotiation of Chu in view of Fu in further view of Cariou, for the motivation of improved security by better authenticating message senders. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, filed 14 May 2026, with regard to the prior 102 rejection, have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments filed alongside them. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made, as outlined above. The examiner took official notice that it is well known in the art to use either symmetric or asymmetric keys and perform encryption and decryption with the keys when negotiating a master key. Applicant traversed this official notice in the arguments filed 14 May 2026. The examiner cites the following references to support this official notice: Horgan et al., USPN 2010/0275011 (0017) Li et al., USPN 2017/0012977 (0019, 0032, 0262, 0326) Wang et al., USPN 2021/0152421 (0071) The examiner replaced the official notice in view of the amendments filed 14 May 2026 with Li. References Cited Poorebrahim Gilkalaye et al., USPN 2023/0049860, discloses a first and second AP coordinating, authenticating, and authorizing communications between the first and second AP (0023, 0127, 0129). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JACOB LIPMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3837. The examiner can normally be reached 5:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ali Shayanfar can be reached at 571-270-1050. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 2 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 3 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 4 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 5 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 6 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 7 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 8 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 9 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/936,848 Page 10 Art Unit: 2434