DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of this Patent Application claims priority under 35 U.S.C § 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. 63/598,641 filed on 11/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP4372450A1 which the examiner is using as an official translation PCT/KR2023/014996 hereinafter “Jung”
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a head worn device (¶37L1-3: a wearable electronic device; ¶4L3: smart glasses), comprising:
a lens frame (¶41L3: a frame [202]) configured to receive at least two lenses (¶42L3: a lens; as shown in Fig.3);
a first temple arm (¶54L2-3: a pair of wearing members [203]) coupled via a hinge (¶48L2-3: a hinge structure [260]) to the lens frame (¶54L29-32: a part of the hinge structure [260] may be mounted on the frame and another part may be mounted into the wearing member);
one or more electrical components located within the first temple arm (¶47L5-10: a flexible printed circuit board is accommodated in the wearing member), wherein the one or more electrical components emit heat when operating (¶58L13-14: heat is generated from the circuit board);
a heat-transfer component (¶66L1-13: a first heat transfer member) configured to transfer the heat from the one or more electrical components via the hinge to a first lens (¶74L1-10: a path through which heat is transferred and moved between a second heat transfer member and a display member) of the lens frame (¶67L7-10: heat transferred from the electronic component may rapidly diffuse toward the frame), wherein
transferring the heat from the one or more electrical components to the first lens of the lens frame is configured to maintain the one or more electrical components operating within their respective thermal design power (TDP). (¶66L4-6: heat generated from the electronic component may be effectively dissipated by using the first heat transfer member)
Regarding claim 2, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1, wherein the heat-transfer component includes one or more of:
(i) an overmolded carbon tape that is affixed to the first temple arm and is further configured to bend with the hinge (¶68L1-19: the heat transfer member may correspond to at least a carbon fiber thermal interface material), (ii) a flexible heat pipe that is configured to bend with the hinge, and/or carbon tape that is configured to bend with the hinge. (¶71L1-25: heat transfer member may be a thin rods and a flexible material)
Regarding claim 3, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1, comprising:
a second temple arm (¶54L2-3: a pair of wearing members [203]) coupled via another hinge (¶48L2-3: a hinge structure [260]) to the lens frame opposite to where the first temple arm is connected to the lens frame (as shown in Fig.3 for example);
one or more additional electrical components located within the second temple arm (¶56L1-4: a second circuit board), wherein the one or more additional electrical components emit additional heat when operating (¶58L13-14: heat is generated from the circuit board);
another heat transfer component configured to transfer the additional heat from the one or more additional electrical components to a second lens of the lens frame (¶74L1-10: a path through which heat is transferred and moved between a second heat transfer member and a display member), wherein
transferring the additional heat from the one or more additional electrical components to the second lens of the lens frame is configured to cause lengthening of a time during which the one or more additional electrical components can operate at their respective TDP. (¶66L4-6: heat generated from the electronic component may be effectively dissipated by using the first heat transfer member)
Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1, wherein
one or both of the lens frame or first temple arm are constructed of one or more of: magnesium, polycarbonate, or a metal matrix composite. (¶45L33-39: the frame may be molded by polycarbonate)
Regarding claim 5 Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1, wherein one of the electrical components is one of:
a camera, a processor, a display projector component, a graphics processor, or a sensor. (¶47L1-23: a camera; a sensor module, a flexible printed circuit board, a processor)
Regarding claim 9, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1,
the one or more electrical components actively adjust their respective TDP in accordance with a determination that the head worn device is either located indoors or outdoors. (¶99L1-51: device may detect location sensor current location; based on an assumption of indoor environment, active heat control may be performed)
Regarding claim 10 Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1, including:
one or more additional electrical components located within the lens frame at a first location (¶47L3-4: a sensor module; as shown in Fig.3, sensor [253] is located on the nose bridge of the eyewear), wherein the one or more additional electrical components emit heat when operating; and
another heat-transfer component configured to transfer the heat from the one or more additional electrical components to a second location on the lens frame (¶61L1-10: a second heat transfer member), wherein:
the second location on the lens frame is a location that is configured to be in minimal contact with skin of a user (as show in Fig.5, the second heat transfer member is location at the bottom ring of the lens frame), and
transferring the additional heat from the one or more additional electrical components to the second location on the lens frame is configured to cause lengthening of a time duration during which the one or more additional electrical components can operate at their respective TDP. (¶71L1-5: the second heat transfer member transfer heat from first heat transfer member to the display member)
Regarding claim 11, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 10, wherein:
the heat-transfer component is a heat pipe (¶71L1-35: the second heat transfer member is a thin rod), the first location is a location that corresponds with a nose bridge of a user (as shown in Fig.3), and the second location is a location that corresponds with outer edge of the lens frame that is configured to not be in contact with a face of the user (as shown in Fig.3).
Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1, including:
one or more additional electrical components located within the lens frame (¶47L3-4: a sensor module; as shown in Fig.3, sensor [253] is located on the nose bridge of the eyewear), wherein the one or more additional electrical components emit heat when operating; and
another heat-transfer component configured to transfer the heat from the one or more additional electrical components to a location on the temple arm (¶61L1-10: a second heat transfer member), wherein:
the location on the temple arm is a location that is configured to be in minimal contact with skin of a user (as shown in Fig.3), and transferring the additional heat from the one or more additional electrical components to the temple arm is configured to cause lengthening of a time duration during which the one or more additional electrical components can operate at their respective TDP. (¶71L1-5: the second heat transfer member transfer heat from first heat transfer member to the display member)
Regarding claim 13, Jung discloses a lens, comprising:
a feature for mounting the lens in a lens frame (¶41L3: a frame [202] of a head worn device (¶37L1-3: a wearable electronic device; ¶4L3: smart glasses);
a heat-transfer component (¶66L1-13: a first heat transfer member) configured to transfer heat (¶74L1-10: a path through which heat is transferred and moved between a second heat transfer member and a display member) from one or more electrical components (¶47L5-10: a flexible printed circuit board is accommodated in the wearing member)located within a first temple arm that is hingeably (¶48L2-3: a hinge structure [260]) coupled to the lens frame, wherein:
the one or more electrical components emit heat when operating (¶58L13-14: heat is generated from the circuit board); and
transferring the heat from the one or more electrical components to the lens in the lens frame is configured to cause lengthening of a time duration during which the one or more electrical components can operate at their respective TDP. (¶66L4-6: heat generated from the electronic component may be effectively dissipated by using the first heat transfer member)
Regarding claim 14, Jung discloses the lens of claim 13, wherein the heat-transfer component includes one or more of:
(i) an overmolded carbon tape that is affixed to the first temple arm, and is further configured to bend with the hinge (¶68L1-19: the heat transfer member may correspond to at least a carbon fiber thermal interface material),
(ii) a flexible heat pipe that is configured to bend with the hinge, and/or carbon tape that is configured to bend with the hinge. (¶71L1-25: heat transfer member may be a thin rods and a flexible material)
Regarding claim 15, Jung discloses the lens of claim 13, wherein one of the electrical components is one of:
a camera, a processor, a display projector component, a graphics processor, or a sensor. (¶47L1-23: a camera; a sensor module, a flexible printed circuit board, a processor)
Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses a temple arm, comprising:
a heat-transfer component (¶66L1-13: a first heat transfer member) configured to transfer the heat from one or more electrical components via a hinge (¶48L2-3: a hinge structure [260]) to a first lens (¶74L1-10: a path through which heat is transferred and moved between a second heat transfer member and a display member) of a lens frame (¶41L3: a frame [202]), wherein:
the lens frame is configured to receive at least two lenses (¶42L3: a lens; as shown in Fig.3),
the one or more electrical components emit heat when operating (¶58L13-14: heat is generated from the circuit board), and
transferring the heat from the one or more electrical components to the first lens of the lens frame is configured to maintain the one or more electrical components operating within their respective thermal design power (TDP). (¶66L4-6: heat generated from the electronic component may be effectively dissipated by using the first heat transfer member)
Regarding claim 18, Jung discloses the temple arm of claim 17, wherein the heat-transfer component includes one or more of:
(i) an overmolded carbon tape that is affixed to the first temple arm, and is further configured to bend with the hinge (¶68L1-19: the heat transfer member may correspond to at least a carbon fiber thermal interface material),
(ii) a flexible heat pipe that is configured to bend with the hinge, and/or carbon tape that is configured to bend with the hinge. (¶71L1-25: heat transfer member may be a thin rods and a flexible material)
Regarding claim 19, Jung discloses the temple arm of claim 17, wherein one of the electrical components is one of:
a camera, a processor, a display projector component, a graphics processor, or a sensor. (¶47L1-23: a camera; a sensor module, a flexible printed circuit board, a processor)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of US2022/0326759A1 hereinafter “Wang”
Regarding claim 6, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1,
Jung does not explicitly disclose:
the one or more electrical components can actively adjust their respective TDP based on temperature measured at one or more locations on the first temple arm.
Wang discloses a method for adjusting power of processor wherein the TDP of the processor is adjusted based on measured temperature. (¶132-134)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the processor disclosed by Jung to incorporate the TDP adjustment and monitoring system/method disclosed by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would prevent the processor from overheating, and thus damaging it (¶3), furthermore, this feature is common in processor as “throttling”.
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses the head worn device of claim 1,
Jung does not explicitly disclose:
the one or more electrical components can actively adjust their feature set in stages based on temperature measured at one or more locations on the first temple arm.
Wang discloses a method for adjusting power of processor wherein the TDP of the processor is adjusted based on measured temperature. (¶132-134)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the processor disclosed by Jung to incorporate the TDP adjustment and monitoring system/method disclosed by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would prevent the processor from overheating, and thus damaging it (¶3), furthermore, this feature is common in processor as “throttling”.
Regarding claim 16, Jung discloses the lens of claim 13, Jung does not explicitly disclose:
the one or more electrical components can actively adjust their respective TDP based on temperature measured at one or more locations on the first temple arm.
Wang discloses a method for adjusting power of processor wherein the TDP of the processor is adjusted based on measured temperature. (¶132-134)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the processor disclosed by Jung to incorporate the TDP adjustment and monitoring system/method disclosed by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would prevent the processor from overheating, and thus damaging it (¶3), furthermore, this feature is common in processor as “throttling”.
Regarding claim 20, Jung discloses the temple arm of claim 17,
Jung does not explicitly disclose:
the one or more electrical components can actively adjust their respective TDP based on temperature measured at one or more locations on the temple arm.
Wang discloses a method for adjusting power of processor wherein the TDP of the processor is adjusted based on measured temperature. (¶132-134)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the processor disclosed by Jung to incorporate the TDP adjustment and monitoring system/method disclosed by Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would prevent the processor from overheating, and thus damaging it (¶3), furthermore, this feature is common in processor as “throttling”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Wang hereinafter “Jung/Wang” in view of US2017/0212537A1 hereinafter “Delano”
Regarding claim 7, Jung/Wang discloses the head worn device of claim 6,
Jung/Wang does not explicitly disclose:
the temperature measured at the one or more locations correspond to temperature hot spots on the first temple arm, wherein a temperature hot spot is a location where the maximum temperature limit is reached first.
Delano discloses a monitoring device wherein the temperature sensor senses temperature hotspot and perfume throttling of processor to reduce heat. (¶69-73)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the device disclosed by Jung/Wang to incorporate the temperature sensor for monitoring hotspots as disclosed by Delano.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would prevent the processor from overheating, and thus damaging it, furthermore, this feature is common in processor as “throttling”.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845