DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 1, paragraph [0001], the status of 17/982,103, 16/548,422, and 17/866,143 should be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, and 9-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,134,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 12,134,871.
Claims 1-4, 6, and 9-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,771. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,771.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bestmann (US 5,338,131).
As to claim 1, Bestmann discloses an erosion control apparatus comprising:
a marsh installation (17,23) placed relative to the shoreline, wherein the marsh installation comprises a plurality of stones 29 wrapped in a layer of coir fiber 25 with sediment and a plant matrix 14 over the plurality of stones;
a plurality of anchors (15,19), each anchor connected to the marsh installation such that the anchors extend to a depth into a slope; and a fill material (ground surface) positioned between the marsh installation and the anchors (15,19), at least a portion of the marsh installation and the fill material being positioned over the anchors.
As to claim 9, Bestmann discloses (see figure 4) further comprising a plurality of anchored fiber rolls positioned adjacent the marsh installation.
As to claim 10, Bestmann discloses (see figures 4 and 5) wherein at least one fiber roll is coupled to the marsh installation.
As to claim 11, Bestmann discloses a live plant 14 material within the plant matrix
that is configured to grow through a coir fabric layer.
As to claim 12, Bestmann discloses wherein the marsh installation has a depth and a length and a width greater than the depth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bestmann (US 5,338,131) in view of Hoashi (US 6,328,874).
As to claims 2 and 3, Bestmann discloses all that is claimed except 2 wherein the plurality of stones comprise cobblestones have a size range between 6-12 inches
and a size range between 8-10 inches. While silent to sizes, Hoashi discloses the use of cobblestones 4 in a mesh structure for use on a shoreline. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a predetermined size of cobblestone for a riparian structure because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bestmann (US 5,338,131) in view of Choi (KR 101012414).
As to claim 4, Bestmann discloses all that is claimed except for a biodegradable mesh covering the layer of coir fiber and the biodegradable mesh comprises polylactic acid. Choi discloses a vegetation type mat comprising a biodegradable mesh that comprises polylactic acid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a biodegradable mesh comprising polylactic acid, since doing so provides the expected benefit of environmentally friendly material.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bestmann (US 5,338,131) in view Melby III (US 2013/0272790).
As to claim 6, Bestmann discloses all that is claimed except wherein the plurality of anchors includes at least one helical anchor. Melby III discloses the use of helical anchors 12 to hold down a roll to a shoreline. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a helical anchor, since doing so provides the expected benefit of anchoring a structure to the ground.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest the erosion control apparatus further comprising a container including shellfish.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678