DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 7/8/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 2022/0124154) in view of Colon et al. (US 2021/0056188).
Applicant argues that Zou continuously collects CSI from existing traffic for home-automation / human-computer interaction and therefore does not teach (i) providing a notification (or indication) to perform a gesture for authentication, or (ii) collecting CSI over a period of time associated with that notification (claims 1 and 8) or over a period that starts with initiation of a gesture authentication process (claim 15). Applicant further asserts, without a limitation-by-limitation discussion of Colon, that Colon does not cure Zou. Those arguments are not persuasive.
As an initial matter, Applicant attacks Zou individually. The rejection is based on the combination of Zou and Colon. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. See MPEP § 2145(IV); In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Colon is cited for the authentication-prompt / authentication-process limitations that Applicant now contends are missing from Zou. A bare statement that “Colon fails to cure the deficiencies of Zou,” without addressing the passages of Colon actually relied upon, does not rebut the combination.
Claim 1
Zou discloses a computing device comprising one or more processors and non-transitory media storing instructions that cause the device to:
receive CSI data that is indicative of a gesture, and collect CSI data for one or more communication links established with one or more devices in an environment of the computing device, wherein the CSI data represents variations in properties of a radio signal associated with the one or more communication links. Zou’s RX device collects CSI from TX–RX Wi-Fi links in the environment. CSI captures amplitude-attenuation and phase-shift variations on those links. See Zou [0083] (“CSI reveals fine-grained information about how the signal is propagated and interfered, including different time delays, amplitude attenuation, and phase shift of multiple paths on each subcarrier. Analyzing these signal propagation variations caused by human motions makes device-free gesture recognition feasible.”); [0085] (CSI measurements from regular data frames on COTS IoT / commodity Wi-Fi devices); [0087] (TX–RX router pair; a volunteer performed six gestures near the line-of-sight of the pair).
Zou further discloses providing a remote system with an indication of the gesture. The RX extracts CSI and forwards it to a back-end computation unit, which identifies the gesture. See Zou [0103] (“After receiving the data frames from the TX, the RX may analyze the data packet, extract the CSI data, and forward them to a back-end computation unit through UDP”); [0100]–[0101] (real-time CSI frames mapped and classified to identify the gesture).
Zou also discloses receiving direction from a remote/back-end system in the sense that CSI is collected and reported to that system for gesture identification. See Zou [0103]; [0087].
Zou does not expressly disclose that the gesture collection is performed as part of an authentication process in which the device provides a notification to perform a gesture for authentication, receives an instruction from a remote system to collect CSI indicative of that gesture, and collects the CSI over a period of time that is associated with providing the notification.
Colon, in the same field of user authentication using a performed gesture, discloses those features.
Colon discloses providing a notification to perform a gesture for authentication. See Colon [0045] (“In block 402, in response to the request in block 401, the user may be presented with an authentication user interface via a display screen of the user device 130, prompting the user to input a predefined gesture in order to gain access to the selected mobile application or requested web site.”). Presenting an authentication UI that prompts the user to input a predefined gesture in order to gain access is a notification to perform a gesture for authentication.
Colon discloses receiving an instruction / request from a remote system that starts gesture collection for authentication. The authentication flow is initiated by an access request; the server system participates in issuing and verifying the authentication gesture. See Colon [0045] (prompt issued “in response to the request in block 401”); [0049] (gesture data transmitted to server system 110 / authentication server 112 for verification). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand Colon’s authentication-server request, which causes the device to prompt for and capture a gesture, as an instruction from a remote system to collect data indicative of the gesture.
Colon discloses collecting the gesture data over a period of time that is associated with providing the notification. After the authentication UI is presented and the user is prompted, the device receives and verifies the gesture provided in response to that prompt. See Colon [0045]–[0049] (block 402 prompt; block 403 “the user device 130 may receive and verify the gesture provided by the user in block 402”). The capture window is the period associated with the notification. Colon does not collect an unbounded background stream of gestures; it captures the gesture in the interval that follows the prompt.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was effective filing date to combine Zou’s CSI gesture-collection platform with Colon’s authentication prompt and on-demand capture window. Both references concern recognizing a user-performed gesture from data collected at a computing device and reporting a result to a remote/back-end system. Colon supplies the reason to use the recognized gesture as an authentication factor and to notify the user to perform that gesture. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to adapt Zou so that CSI collection is initiated by an instruction from a remote authentication system and is performed over the period associated with Colon’s notification, rather than running continuously on all existing traffic, in order to (i) use Zou’s already-recognized gesture as a multi-factor authentication input and (ii) confine CSI capture to the interval in which the user has been told to gesture, thereby reducing unnecessary sensing and false detections. The result is predictable: Zou’s CSI, collected on the existing communication links, is gathered during Colon’s post-notification authentication window and an indication of the gesture is provided to the remote system.
Applicant’s characterization of Zou as “merely” a continuous-collection home-automation system does not distinguish the combination. The rejection does not require Zou, standing alone, to notify a user to gesture for authentication or to time-box CSI collection. Colon teaches those limitations. Once Colon’s prompt is imported, Zou’s CSI collection is performed over the period associated with that prompt. Applicant has not identified any teaching away, change in principle of operation, or unexpected result. Accordingly, claim 1 remains unpatentable over Zou in view of Colon.
Claim 8
Claim 8 recites a method with the same notification/indication and associated-period collection limitations discussed for claim 1. Zou discloses the CSI collection and reporting steps for the reasons given above. Colon discloses providing an indication to perform a gesture for authentication and capturing the gesture over the period associated with that indication. See Colon [0045]–[0049]. The same combination and motivation apply. Claim 8 remains rejected.
Claim 15
Zou discloses establishing a communication link with a secondary device in an environment of the computing device (TX–RX Wi-Fi link between routers / IoT devices in the test environment). See Zou [0087], [0085], [0083].
Zou discloses collecting CSI data for that communication link, the CSI data representing variations in properties of a radio signal of the communication link. See Zou [0083], [0085], [0087].
Zou discloses providing a remote system with at least one of the CSI data or an indication of a gesture. See Zou [0103], [0100]–[0101].
Zou does not expressly disclose that the CSI collection occurs over a period of time that starts with initiation of a gesture authentication process.
Colon discloses initiation of a gesture authentication process and collection of gesture data over a period that starts with that initiation. The process begins with an access request (block 401). In response, the device presents the authentication UI and prompts the user to input a predefined gesture (block 402). The device then receives and verifies the gesture provided in that process (block 403). See Colon [0045]–[0049]. The request-plus-prompt is initiation of a gesture authentication process. The subsequent capture is a collection period that starts with that initiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to collect Zou’s CSI for the established TX–RX link over Colon’s authentication-process window—i.e., starting when the gesture authentication process is initiated—for the same reasons given for claim 1: to use the CSI-recognized gesture as an authentication factor and to start sensing when authentication begins rather than continuously. Claim 15 does not require a “notification” limitation at all. The “period of time that starts with initiation of a gesture authentication process” is met by Colon’s request/prompt that starts gesture authentication, applied to Zou’s CSI collection on the established link.
Applicant’s repetition of the “Zou collects continuously for home automation” argument does not address this broader claim-15 language and does not address Colon [0045]–[0049]. Claim 15 remains rejected.
Dependent claims 2–3, 5–6, 9–10, 12–13, 16–17, and 19
Applicant argues these claims solely on the basis that the independent claims are allowable, plus a general reference to “the additional features that each recites.” That is not a separate argument under MPEP § 2145. Because the independent claims remain unpatentable over Zou in view of Colon, these dependents remain unpatentable for the reasons set forth in the previous Office Action, which are incorporated herein.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 over Zou in view of Colon and Omer, and claims 7 and 14 over Zou in view of Colon and Chien
Applicant likewise argues these claims only by dependency from claim 1 (or the corresponding independent claim). No separate argument is presented against Omer or Chien. The independent claims remain unpatentable. These dependents remain rejected for the reasons previously stated.
Obviousness-type double patenting
Applicant requests that the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1–20 over claims 1–16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,631 be held in abeyance. A request to hold an ODP rejection in abeyance is appropriate only when the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. See MPEP § 804. The claims are not otherwise in condition for allowance. No terminal disclaimer has been filed, and Applicant has not argued that the claims are patentably distinct. The ODP rejection is maintained.
Claim objections
The amendments to claims 2, 9, and 16 overcome the informalities noted in the previous Office Action. Those objections are withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,184,631. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because performing CSI data collection/reporting and proximity determination at the computing device (active/passive sensing per Gandhi claims) is an obvious implementation/variation of the authentication service method of instructing a device to collect and report CSI for predefined gesture MFA comparison/grant-deny (as claimed in the ‘631 patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 2022/0124154) in view of Colon et al. (US 2021/0056188).
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses a computing device, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving an instruction from a remote system to collect channel state information (CSI) data that is indicative of a gesture (Zou discloses RX device collects CSI continuously from data frames and transmits it to the server (remote system), and the server uses it for “gesture identification”; [0087] “By leveraging the disclosed CSI enabled IoT platform, a preliminary experiment may be conducted by using two TP-LINK N750 wireless routers (e.g., one as TX and another one as RX) to evaluate whether distinct CSI measurements can be revealed for human gesture identification. The two routers were put 1 m away on a table in a conference room. One volunteer performed six gestures, moving right and left, pushing and pulling, rolling right and left, near the line-of-sight of the TX-RX pair”);
collecting the CSI data for communication links established with one or more devices in an environment of the computing device, wherein the CSI data represents variations in properties of a radio signal caused by a user making the gesture through at least a portion of the radio signal (Zou discloses the RX device (computing device in the environment) collects CSI from TX-RX WiFi communication links; the CSI explicitly captures “amplitude attenuation and phase shift” variations caused by the user’s gesture moving through the radio signal paths; [0083] “WiFi signals propagate through multiple paths from a TX to an RX in indoor environments due to reflection, scattering, and diffraction introduced by walls, doors, and furniture, as well as the movements of occupants. Different from the RSS which only captures the superimposition of multipath signals, CSI reveals fine-grained information about how the signal is propagated and interfered, including different time delays, amplitude attenuation, and phase shift of multiple paths on each subcarrier. Analyzing these signal propagation variations caused by human motions makes device-free gesture recognition feasible”); and
providing the remote system with an indication of the gesture (Zou discloses the RX device sends the CSI (or processed gesture data) to the server (remote system), which then identifies the gesture; [0103] “After receiving the data frames from the TX, the RX may analyze the data packet, extract the CSI data, and forward them to a back-end computation unit through UDP”).
However, the prior art does not explicitly disclose the following:
providing a notification to perform a gesture for authentication;
receiving an instruction from a remote system to collect channel state information (CSI) data that is indicative of a gesture; and
collects the CSI over a period of time that is associated with providing the notification.
Colon in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for performing user authentication on a mobile device by detecting a specific touchscreen gesture on an authentication user interface. In particular, Colon teaches the following:
providing a notification to perform a gesture for authentication (Colon discloses providing a notification to perform a gesture for authentication; [0045] “In block 402, in response to the request in block 401, the user may be presented with an authentication user interface via a display screen of the user device 130, prompting the user to input a predefined gesture in order to gain access to the selected mobile application or requested web site”). Presenting an authentication UI that prompts the user to input a predefined gesture in order to gain access is a notification to perform a gesture for authentication);
receiving an instruction from a remote system to collect channel state information (CSI) data that is indicative of a gesture (Colon discloses receiving an instruction / request from a remote system that starts gesture collection for authentication. The authentication flow is initiated by an access request, the server system participates in issuing and verifying the authentication gesture; [0045] (prompt issued “in response to the request in block 401”, [0049] (gesture data transmitted to server system 110 / authentication server 112 for verification). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand Colon’s authentication-server request, which causes the device to prompt for and capture a gesture, as an instruction from a remote system to collect data indicative of the gesture); and
collects the CSI over a period of time that is associated with providing the notification (Colon discloses collecting the gesture data over a period of time that is associated with providing the notification. After the authentication UI is presented and the user is prompted, the device receives and verifies the gesture provided in response to that prompt; [0045-0049] (block 402 prompt; block 403 “the user device 130 may receive and verify the gesture provided by the user in block 402”). The capture window is the period associated with the notification. Colon does not collect an unbounded background stream of gestures, it captures the gesture in the interval that follows the prompt).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was effective filing date to combine Zou’s CSI gesture-collection platform with Colon’s authentication prompt and on-demand capture window. Both references concern recognizing a user-performed gesture from data collected at a computing device and reporting a result to a remote/back-end system. Colon supplies the reason to use the recognized gesture as an authentication factor and to notify the user to perform that gesture. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to adapt Zou so that CSI collection is initiated by an instruction from a remote authentication system and is performed over the period associated with Colon’s notification, rather than running continuously on all existing traffic, in order to (i) use Zou’s already-recognized gesture as a multi-factor authentication input and (ii) confine CSI capture to the interval in which the user has been told to gesture, thereby reducing unnecessary sensing and false detections. The result is predictable: Zou’s CSI, collected on the existing communication links, is gathered during Colon’s post-notification authentication window and an indication of the gesture is provided to the remote system.
Regarding claim 2, Zou-Colon discloses the computing device of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
receiving predefined CSI data from the remote system (Colon [0049] “Gesture verification may include comparing the gesture shape or characteristics to the user's predefined gestures. Additionally, in various embodiments, the gesture verification in block 403 may be performed by the server system 110 (e.g., authentication server 112), the user device 130, or by a combination of client-side and server-side gesture verification techniques”), wherein the predefined CSI data is associated with a predefined authenticating gesture (Zou [0091] “Step 1: in the original environment (e.g., source domain), a source encoder and a source classifier are generated with the labeled source CSI frames. Suppose L CSI frames X.sub.s with labels Y.sub.s (the ground truth of gesture type) are collected in an environment (referred to as the original environment, source domain)”);
comparing the CSI data to the predefined CSI data (Zou [0100-0101] “During the implementation phase, the real-time CSI frames may be mapped to the shared feature space through the target encoder M.sub.t constructed in Step 2 firstly, and then the pre-trained source gesture classifier C.sub.s may be adopted to identify the gesture in the new environment (e.g., target domain)… In the phase of implementation, the trained target encoder M.sub.t may be used to map the target CSI frame to the latent feature space and directly use the source classifier C.sub.s to identify various gestures”);
determining that the CSI data that was collected for one or more the communication links matches the predefined CSI data (Zou [0044] “To minimize the domain discrepancy distance between source and target domains, a domain-adversarial objective function may be implemented to train a generator (e.g., target encoder) to map the target data to the domain invariant latent feature space so that a domain discriminator cannot distinguish the domain labels of the data. After that, the trained target encoder may be used to map the real-time target CSI frame to latent space and use source classifier to identify various gestures”); and
wherein the providing includes providing the remote system with the indication that the user made the gesture (Zou [0097-0100] “Adversarial adaptation may be performed by learning a target representation mapping (e.g., target encoder) M.sub.t such that a discriminator D cannot distinguish the domain label of encoded source and target samples…Step 3: the trained target encoder maps the target CSI frames to the domain invariant latent feature space and the source classifier recognize gestures during the implementation”) used for authentication (Colon [0049] “The gesture data structure then may be transmitted to the server system 110 (e.g., authentication server 112) for verification, by comparing the gesture to the user's pre-stored gestures, using one or more similarity thresholds”).
Regarding claim 3, Zou-Colon discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein providing the remote system with the indication of the gesture comprises sending the CSI data to the remote system (Zou [0103] “After receiving the data frames from the TX, the RX may analyze the data packet, extract the CSI data, and forward them to a back-end computation unit through UDP”).
Regarding claim 5, Zou-Colon discloses the computing device of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
determining a proximity of the user to the computing device (Zou discloses the RX computing device analyzes CSI amplitude attenuation and phase-shift variations across multiple TX-RX links, larger variations occur when the user (object) is closer (higher proximity) because the gesture perturbs a greater portion of the signal paths. This directly determines proximity via the strength of CSI perturbation; [0083] “WiFi signals propagate through multiple paths from a TX to an RX in indoor environments due to reflection, scattering, and diffraction introduced by walls, doors, and furniture, as well as the movements of occupants. Different from the RSS which only captures the superimposition of multipath signals, CSI reveals fine-grained information about how the signal is propagated and interfered, including different time delays, amplitude attenuation, and phase shift of multiple paths on each subcarrier. Analyzing these signal propagation variations caused by human motions makes device-free gesture recognition feasible”);
receiving a predefined proximity threshold from the remote system (Colon discloses the remote authentication server sends the access request (which implicitly carries or precedes the authentication criteria/threshold for success) that triggers the device to collect and evaluate data for authentication. One of ordinary skill would modify Zou’s CSI analysis to treat a server-provided value as the “predefined proximity threshold (e.g., minimum variance magnitude required); [0049] “The gesture data structure then may be transmitted to the server system 110 (e.g., authentication server 112) for verification, by comparing the gesture to the user's pre-stored gestures, using one or more similarity thresholds. Assuming the authentication server 112 determines that the user's gesture sufficiently matches the previously stored gestures for that user, the user device 130 may be granted the access to the requested application/resources in accordance with the user's permissions and authorization level”);
comparing the proximity to the predefined proximity threshold (Colon [0049] “The gesture data structure then may be transmitted to the server system 110 (e.g., authentication server 112) for verification, by comparing the gesture to the user's pre-stored gestures, using one or more similarity thresholds. Assuming the authentication server 112 determines that the user's gesture sufficiently matches the previously stored gestures for that user, the user device 130 may be granted the access to the requested application/resources in accordance with the user's permissions and authorization level”); and
in response to determining that the proximity within the environment is less than the predefined proximity threshold, allowing a user to perform an action with respect to an application service ((Colon [0049] “The gesture data structure then may be transmitted to the server system 110 (e.g., authentication server 112) for verification, by comparing the gesture to the user's pre-stored gestures, using one or more similarity thresholds. Assuming the authentication server 112 determines that the user's gesture sufficiently matches the previously stored gestures for that user, the user device 130 may be granted the access to the requested application/resources in accordance with the user's permissions and authorization level”); or
in response to determining that the proximity within the environment is greater than the predefined proximity threshold, denying the user to perform the action with respect to the application service.
Regarding claim 6, Zou-Colon discloses the computing device of claim 1, wherein:
the CSI data is collected according to a passive policy such that a secondary device need not be detected in the environment to collect the CSI data (Zou discloses the RX (computing device) collects CSI passively from “regular data frames transmitted in the existing traffic” on ordinary COTS routers operating in normal AP client mode with background networks present; [0071] “implementing AutoID using two TP-LINK N750 routers” and [0085] “To overcome this bottleneck, a CSI enabled IoT platform may be implemented such that the CSI measurements from regular data frames transmitted in the existing traffic can be obtained directly from the COTS IoT devices, such as commodity WiFi routers”); and
collecting the CSI data is performed absent detection of the secondary device and prior to receiving the instruction to collect the CSI data (Zou [0071] “Existing WiFi networks such as a campus network were operated as usual and other WiFi MDs coexisted during the entire experiments. The sampling rate was 700 packets/s and linear interpolation was adopted to ensure the stationary interval of consecutive CSI values when there was a packet loss”).
Regarding claim(s) 8-10, 12-13 and 15-17 and 19 do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 8-10, 12-13 and 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 respectively.
Further, for claim 15, Zou further teaches the limitation that are not recited in claim 1 as follows:
“establishing a communication link with a secondary device in an environment of the computing device” and “collecting channel state information (CSI) data for the communication link” are disclosed in Zou [0050-0051] “Most existing CSI-based sensing systems adopt the Intel 5300 NIC tool to extract the CSI data from laptops with external WiFi NIC cards. Requiring laptops as receivers severely limit them from large-scale implementation…At each time instance, each TX-RX pair may be able to provide N.sub.TX×N.sub.RX×114 CSI amplitude and phase measurements, where N.sub.TX and N.sub.RX represent the number of TX and RX antennas, respectively”
“providing a remote system with at least one of the CSI data or an indication of the gesture” is disclosed by Zou; the RX device sends the CSI (or processed gesture data) to the server (remote system), which then identifies the gesture; [0103] “After receiving the data frames from the TX, the RX may analyze the data packet, extract the CSI data, and forward them to a back-end computation unit through UDP”).
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 2022/0124154) in view of Colon et al. (US 2021/0056188) in view of Omer et al. (US 2023/0125109).
Regarding claim 4, Zou-Colon discloses the computing device of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
receiving predefined CSI data from the remote system (Colon [0049] “Gesture verification may include comparing the gesture shape or characteristics to the user's predefined gestures. Additionally, in various embodiments, the gesture verification in block 403 may be performed by the server system 110 (e.g., authentication server 112), the user device 130, or by a combination of client-side and server-side gesture verification techniques”), wherein the predefined CSI data is associated with a predefined authenticating gesture (Zou [0091] “Step 1: in the original environment (e.g., source domain), a source encoder and a source classifier are generated with the labeled source CSI frames. Suppose L CSI frames X.sub.s with labels Y.sub.s (the ground truth of gesture type) are collected in an environment (referred to as the original environment, source domain)”);
comparing the CSI data to the predefined CSI data (Zou [0044] “To minimize the domain discrepancy distance between source and target domains, a domain-adversarial objective function may be implemented to train a generator (e.g., target encoder) to map the target data to the domain invariant latent feature space so that a domain discriminator cannot distinguish the domain labels of the data. After that, the trained target encoder may be used to map the real-time target CSI frame to latent space and use source classifier to identify various gestures”); and
determining whether the secondary CSI data matches the predefined CSI data associated with the predefined authenticating gesture (Zou [0044] “To minimize the domain discrepancy distance between source and target domains, a domain-adversarial objective function may be implemented to train a generator (e.g., target encoder) to map the target data to the domain invariant latent feature space so that a domain discriminator cannot distinguish the domain labels of the data. After that, the trained target encoder may be used to map the real-time target CSI frame to latent space and use source classifier to identify various gestures”).
However the prior art does not explicitly disclose the following:
instructing a mobile device to collect a secondary CSI data for a duration of time;
receiving the secondary CSI data collected by the mobile device;
Omer in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for recognizing gestures (e.g., human gestures) based on wireless signals. In particular, Omer teaches the following:
instructing a mobile device to collect a secondary CSI data for a duration of time (Omer [0021] “one or more of the wireless communication devices 102 is a mobile device (e.g., a smartphone, a smart watch, a tablet, a laptop computer, etc.), an IoT device (e.g., a Wi-Fi enabled thermostat, a Wi-Fi enabled lighting control, a Wi-Fi enabled camera, a smart TV, a Wi-Fi enabled doorbell), or another type of device that communicates in a wireless network” and [0045] “changes to the steering or feedback properties used in the beamforming process indicate changes, which may be caused by moving objects, in the space accessed by the wireless communication system. For example, motion may be detected by substantial changes in the communication channel, e.g. as indicated by a channel response, or steering or feedback properties, or any combination thereof, over a period of time”);
receiving the secondary CSI data collected by the mobile device;
(Omer [0018] “a gesture recognition engine receives channel information from one or more of the wireless communication devices 102A, 102B, 102C, which collect the channel information based on wireless signals transmitted through the physical environment of the wireless communication network 100” and [0047] “The channel information may be collected by a channel sounding procedure (e.g., according to a Wi-Fi protocol) or another type of process”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the prior art with Omer. One would have been motivated because incorporating gesture recognition engine and action initiation to network connected devices would predictably enable reliable, gesture triggered multi-factor authentication without unexpected results.
Regarding claim(s) 11 and 18, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 4 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 4 respectively.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 2022/0124154) in view of Colon et al. (US 2021/0056188) in view of Chien et al. (US 2017/0086256).
Regarding claim 7, Zou-Colon discloses the computing device of claim 1, however, the prior art does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the CSI data is collected according to an active policy such that the user makes the gesture while holding a secondary device in the environment to collect the CSI data; and
the collecting includes collecting additional CSI data for a radio signal is associated with a communication link established between the computing device and the secondary device.
Chen in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for using Wi-Fi signals as a human control interface by determining the amount of noise in the wireless network, selecting an appropriate HCI sounding technique. In particular, Chen teaches the following:
the CSI data is collected according to an active policy such that the user makes the gesture while holding a secondary device in the environment to collect the CSI data (Chen discloses the “active policy” maps directly to the noise-based selection of sounding technique that triggers collection only when user input/gesture occurs (the process is initiated and adapted for the gesture performance). The secondary device is the “HCI Device”/STA, explicitly described as a cell phone or similar Wi-Fi enabled device that the user would hold while making the gesture in the environment, the channel data is collected precisely because of the gesture affecting the link; [0032] “the AP 110 may select one of a plurality of HCI sounding techniques to be used for detecting the user activity 101, for example, based on an amount of noise in the wireless channel 150”, [0081-0082] “The AP 110 selects an HCI sounding technique based, at least in part, on the detected amount of noise (520)…The AP 110 then detects a pattern of Doppler shifts in wireless signals received from an HCI device (e.g., the STA 120) using the selected HCI sounding technique (530)”); and
the collecting includes collecting additional CSI data for a radio signal is associated with a communication link established between the computing device and the secondary device (Chen [0030-0031] “the AP 110 may detect user activity 101 in the wireless channel 150 based on Doppler shifts in a set of wireless signals received by the AP 110. The user activity 101 may correspond to any type of gesture (e.g., such as the user waving a hand, raising an arm, etc.) or interaction with the wireless channel 150 that causes a detectable pattern of Doppler shifts in wireless signals propagating through the wireless channel 150… The AP 110 may then provide the HCI input 102 to the STA 120 (e.g., as a user input) to operate and/or control one or more functions of the STA 120”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the prior art with Chen. One would have been motivated because using variation in wireless channel properties for gesture recognition in indoor environment with commodity device would predictably yield more granular data for gesture-based authentication without producing unexpected results.
Regarding claim(s) 14, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 7 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 14 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 7 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For the reason above, claims 1-20 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451