DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/4/2024, 11/08/2024, 5/14/2025, and 10/7/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 23-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12176159 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in the current application are anticipated by limitations in the patent as showed in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application
PN US 12176159 B2
23. (New) A load control apparatus comprising:
one or more buttons, each of the one or more buttons including:
an elongated portion, the elongated portion having a first end and a second end;
a carrier having a first surface and a transversely opposed second surface, the carrier including an aperture that permits displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough; and
a diffuser portion disposed about a perimeter of the first end of the elongated portion, the diffuser portion having a light entrance surface and a light exit surface, the light exit surface including at least one exit surface feature configured to permit at least a portion of light incident on the light entrance surface to exit from the diffuser portion in a radially outward pattern with respect to a longitudinal axis of the elongated portion.
24. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one exit surface feature of the diffuser portion comprises an angled exit surface having a surface that forms an angle of less than 900 with respect to the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion.
25. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, wherein: the elongated portion has one or more surfaces extending outwardly from a peripheral surface of the elongated portion; and each of the one or more surface features of the elongated portion pass through a corresponding one of one or more complementary features formed in the aperture of the carrier.
26. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 25, wherein: each of the one or more surface features on the elongated portion include one or more ribs extending outwardly from the peripheral surface of the elongated portion; and each of the one of one or more complementary features formed in the aperture of the carrier comprises a notch formed in the aperture of the carrier.
27. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a housing; a printed circuit board disposed at least partially in the housing; and for each of the one or more buttons: an electric switching apparatus including at least one electrically open contact disposed on the printed circuit board and aligned with the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion.
28. (New) The load control apparatus of The load control apparatus of wherein responsive to a displacement of the elongated portion along the longitudinal axis, the second end of the elongated portion causes the at least one electrically open contact to transition to at least one electrically closed contact.
29. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 28,
wherein the at least one electrically open contact comprises: a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board; a second electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the first electrical contact; and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact, wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact.
30. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 27, wherein the at least one electrically open contact of the electric switching apparatus comprises a normally open mechanical switch, wherein displacement of the elongated portion along the longitudinal axis causes a closure of the normally open mechanical switch.
31. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a faceplate having a front surface, a rear surface, and one or more apertures that extend from the front surface to the rear surface through a thickness of the faceplate, each of the one or more apertures corresponding to respective ones of the one or more buttons, wherein, for each of the one or more buttons, the first end of the elongated portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures of the faceplate, at least partially through the thickness of the faceplate.
32. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein, for each of the one or more buttons, at least a portion of the diffuser portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures defined by the faceplate.
33. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein the faceplate further comprises a plurality of posts extending from the rear surface of the faceplate, and wherein each post of the plurality of posts includes a female thread configured to receive a threaded fastener to couple the faceplate to a housing.
34. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein each aperture of the one or more apertures of the faceplate includes a beveled peripheral edge.
35. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 30, further comprising, for each button of the one or more buttons, at least one light source disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus, the at least one light source configured to illuminate the first surface of the carrier of the respective button.
36. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 35, wherein the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus.
37. (New) The electric load control apparatus of claim 36, wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a first light source and a second light source disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus and spaced 1800 apart from one another.
38. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 36, wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources.
39. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 35, further comprising control circuitry configured to be operatively coupled to the at least one light source for each of the one or more buttons, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause independently, for each button of the one or more buttons, the at least one light source to reversibly transition between a first illumination state and a second illumination state, the first illumination state being brighter than the second illumination state.
40. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 39, wherein the control circuitry, for each of the one or more buttons is configured to:cause the at least one light source to remain in the second illumination state absent a force applied to the button; responsive to the force applied to the button, cause the at least one light source to transition from the second illumination state to the first illumination state; andresponsive to removal of the force from the button, cause the at least one light source to transition from the first illumination state to the second illumination state.
41. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 39, wherein the control circuitry for each of the one or more buttons is configured to, responsive to a force applied to the respective button, cause the at least one light source for each remaining button included in the one or more buttons to remain in the second illumination state.
42. (New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a button cap affixed to the first end of the elongated portion, wherein the diffuser portion is affixed to the button cap and is displaceable along the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion.
1. A wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus comprising:
one or more buttons, each of the one or more buttons being displaceable along a longitudinal axis, each of the one or more buttons including:
an elongate portion aligned with and being displaceable along the longitudinal axis, the elongate portion having a first end and a second end, the elongate portion having one or more surface features extending outwardly from a peripheral surface of the elongate portion;
a light transmissive stationary carrier having a lower light entrance surface and a transversely opposed upper light exit surface, the carrier including an aperture that permits displaceable passage of the elongate portion therethrough, wherein each of the one or more surface features disposed on the elongate portion pass through a corresponding one of one or more complementary features formed in the aperture of the light transmissive stationary carrier; and
a light transmissive diffuser portion disposed about a perimeter of the first end of the elongate portion, the light transmissive diffuser portion having a lower light entrance surface and an upper light exit surface, the upper light exit surface including at least one exit surface feature configured to permit at least a portion of light incident on the lower light entrance surface to exit from the light transmissive diffuser portion in a radially outward pattern with respect to the longitudinal axis of the elongate portion.
2. The wallbox-mountable electric load apparatus of claim 1 wherein the at least one exit surface feature of the light transmissive diffuser portion comprises an angled exit surface having a surface that forms an angle of less than 90° with respect to the longitudinal axis of the elongate portion.
3. The wallbox-mountable electric load apparatus of claim 2: wherein each of the one or more surface features on the elongate portion include one or more ribs extending outwardly from a peripheral surface of the elongate portion; and wherein each of the one of one or more complementary features formed in the aperture of the light transmissive stationary carrier comprises a notch formed in the aperture of the light transmissive stationary carrier.
4. The wallbox-mountable electric load apparatus of claim 3 further comprising: a housing; a printed circuit board disposed at least partially in the housing; and for each of the one or more buttons: an electric switching apparatus disposed on the printed circuit board.
5. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 4 wherein the electric switching apparatus comprises: a set of electrically open contacts disposed on the printed circuit board and axially aligned with the longitudinal axis of the elongate portion; wherein responsive to a displacement of the elongate portion along the longitudinal axis, the second end of the elongate portion causes the set of electrically open contacts to transition to a set of electrically closed contacts.
6. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 5
wherein the set of electrically open contacts comprises: a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board; a second electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the first electrical contact; a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact; wherein displacement of the elongate portion along the longitudinal axis causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact.
7. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 4 wherein the electric switching apparatus comprises: a normally open mechanical switch disposed on the printed circuit board; wherein displacement of the elongated portion along the longitudinal axis causes a closure of the normally open mechanical switch.
8. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 4, further comprising: a faceplate having a front surface, a rear surface, and one or more apertures that extend from the front surface to the rear surface through a thickness of the faceplate, each of the one or more apertures corresponding to respective ones of the one or more buttons; wherein, for each of the one or more buttons, the first end of the elongate portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures, at least partially through the thickness of the faceplate.
9. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 8 wherein, for each of the one or more buttons, at least a portion of the diffuser portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures defined by the faceplate.
10. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 9 wherein the faceplate further comprises a plurality of posts extending from the rear surface of the faceplate; wherein each post of the plurality of posts includes a female thread configured to receive a threaded fastener to couple the faceplate to the housing.
11. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 8 wherein each aperture of the one or more apertures includes a beveled peripheral edge.
12. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 8, further comprising, for each button of the one or more buttons: at least one light source disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus, the at least one light source configured to illuminate the lower light entrance surface of the light transmissive carrier of the respective button.
13. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 12 wherein the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus.
14. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 13 wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a first light source and a second light source disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus and spaced 180° apart from one another.
15. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 13 wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources.
16. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 12 further comprising control circuitry operatively coupled to the at least one light source for each of the one or more buttons; wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause independently, for each button of the one or more buttons, the at least one light source to reversibly transition between a first illumination state and a second illumination state, the first illumination stage being brighter than the second illumination state.
17. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 16 wherein the control circuitry, for each of the one or more buttons is configured to: cause the at least one light source to remain in the second illumination state absent a force applied to the button; and responsive to a force applied to the button, cause the at least one light source to transition from the second illumination state to the first illumination state; and responsive to removal of the force from the button, cause the at least one light source to transition from the first illumination state to the second illumination state.
18. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 16 wherein the control circuitry, for each of the one or more buttons is configured to: responsive to a force applied to the respective button, cause the at least one light source for each remaining button included in the one or more buttons to remain in the second illumination state.
19. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 12, further comprising: a button cap affixed to the first end of the elongate member.
20. The wallbox-mountable electric load control apparatus of claim 19 wherein the light transmissive diffuser portion is affixed to the button cap and is displaceable along the longitudinal axis of the elongated member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 24, 27, 28, 30-32, 34, 35, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takada (US 20180115304 A1).
With regards to claim 23. Takada disclose(s):
(New) A load control apparatus comprising: one or more buttons (figs 1-7b), each of the one or more buttons including:
an elongated portion (20; fig 4), the elongated portion having a first end (top portion of 20 in fig 4) and a second end (bottom portion of 20 in fig 4); a carrier (see multiple elements of housing 10 being around of 20 in fig 2) having a first surface (top surface of any of housing elements 10 being around 20 in fig 2) and a transversely opposed second surface (bottom surface of any of housing elements 10 being around 20 in fig 2), the carrier including an aperture that permits displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough (see 20 being through elements in 10; fig 2); and a diffuser portion (21; fig 4; [0046]) disposed about a perimeter of the first end of the elongated portion (top portion of 20 in fig 4), the diffuser portion having a light entrance surface (see bottom surface of 2a; fig 7a) and a light exit surface (see top surface of 2a; fig 7a), the light exit surface including at least one exit surface feature configured to permit at least a portion of light incident on the light entrance surface to exit from the diffuser portion in a radially outward pattern with respect to a longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see 2b being “light-transmitting portion”; [0046]; fig 4; see 2b having a partial circular shape in fig 4; the examiner takes the position that light exiting from a partial circular shape has a radially outward pattern).
With regards to claim 24. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one exit surface feature of the diffuser portion comprises an angled exit surface having a surface that forms an angle of less than 90° with respect to the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see 2a being at 90° in reference to 20; fig 4).
With regards to claim 27. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a housing (see fig 2); a printed circuit board (7; [0027]) disposed at least partially in the housing; and for each of the one or more buttons: an electric switching apparatus (5; fig 2; [0027]) including at least one electrically open contact disposed on the printed circuit board and aligned with the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see switch 5 in fig 2; the examiner takes the position that a switch, such switch 5, involves electrically open contact).
With regards to claim 28. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 27, wherein responsive to a displacement of the elongated portion along the longitudinal axis, the second end (bottom portion of 20 in fig 4)of the elongated portion causes the at least one electrically open contact to transition to at least one electrically closed contact (see bottom portion of 20 pushing switch 5 in fig 7b; [0027]; the examiner takes the position that a switch, such switch 5, involves electrically open contact).
With regards to claim 30. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 27, wherein the at least one electrically open contact of the electric switching apparatus (5; [0027]) comprises a normally open mechanical switch, wherein displacement of the elongated portion (20) along the longitudinal axis causes a closure of the normally open mechanical switch (5; [0027]).
With regards to claim 31. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a faceplate having a front surface, a rear surface, and one or more apertures that extend from the front surface to the rear surface through a thickness of the faceplate, each of the one or more apertures corresponding to respective ones of the one or more buttons, wherein, for each of the one or more buttons, the first end of the elongated portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures of the faceplate, at least partially through the thickness of the faceplate (see relationship between faceplate in 10 and button; fig 1).
With regards to claim 32. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein, for each of the one or more buttons (see 2; fig 1), at least a portion of the diffuser portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures defined by the faceplate (see fig 1).
With regards to claim 34. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein each aperture of the one or more apertures of the faceplate includes a beveled peripheral edge (see annotated element below).
With regards to claim 35. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 30, further comprising, for each button of the one or more buttons, at least one light source (6; fig 7b; [0028]) disposed on the printed circuit board (7; [0028]) proximate the electric switching apparatus (5), the at least one light source configured to illuminate the first surface of the carrier of the respective button [0028-0029; 0045].
With regards to claim 42. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a button cap (21; fig 4) affixed to the first end of the elongated portion (top portion of 20 in fig 4), wherein the diffuser portion (2b) is affixed to the button cap (see top of 21 in fig 4) and is displaceable along the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see button in fig 4 being pushed along axis of 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (US 20180115304 A1) in view of Krita (US 20150179366 A1).
With regards to claim 29. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 28,
Takada does not disclose(s):
wherein the at least one electrically open contact comprises: a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board; a second electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the first electrical contact; and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact, wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact.
Krita teaches:
wherein the at least one electrically open contact (14, 13; fig 4; [0050]) comprises:
a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board (see 13; fig 14; [0050]); a second electrical contact (see 13; fig 14; [0050]) disposed on the printed circuit board (7) and spaced apart from the first electrical contact (see 13; fig 14; [0050]); and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact [0050], wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome (14; fig 4; [0050]) such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact [0050].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Takada by implementing the at least one electrically open contact comprises: a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board; a second electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the first electrical contact; and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact, wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact as disclosed by Krita in order to control the operation of a circuit as taught/suggested by Krita ([0050]).
With regards to claim 36. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 35,
Takada does not disclose(s):
wherein the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus.
Krita teaches:
wherein the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus (11, 12; fig 4; [0059]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Takada by implementing the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus as disclosed by Krita in order to independently illuminate multiple indicia within a button as taught/suggested by Krita ([0058-0059]).
With regards to claim 37. Takada as modified disclose(s):
(New) The electric load control apparatus of claim 36,
Krita further discloses:
wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a first light source (11; fig 4) and a second light source (12) disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus (13) and spaced 180° apart from one another (see 11 and 12 being perpendicular to 13).
With regards to claim 38. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 36,
Krita further discloses:
wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources [0049, 0059].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 25, 26, 33, and 39-41 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and overcome the Double Patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896