DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/2026, 3/16/2026, and 5/27/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/27/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of PN 12176159 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is being withdrawn based on the approved Terminal Disclaimer mailed on 5/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 24, 27, 28, 30-32, 34, 35, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takada (US 20180115304 A1).
With regards to claim 23. Takada disclose(s):
(New) A load control apparatus comprising: one or more buttons (figs 1-7b), each of the one or more buttons including:
an elongated portion (20; fig 4), the elongated portion having a first end (top portion of 20 in fig 4) and a second end (bottom portion of 20 in fig 4); a carrier (see multiple elements of housing 10 being around of 20 in fig 2) having a first surface (top surface of any of housing elements 10 being around 20 in fig 2) and a transversely opposed second surface (bottom surface of any of housing elements 10 being around 20 in fig 2), the carrier including an aperture that permits displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough (see 20 being through elements in 10; fig 2); and a diffuser portion (21; fig 4; [0046]) disposed about a perimeter of the first end of the elongated portion (top portion of 20 in fig 4), the diffuser portion having a light entrance surface (see bottom surface of 2a; fig 7a) and a light exit surface (see top surface of 2a; fig 7a), the light exit surface including at least one exit surface feature configured to permit at least a portion of light incident on the light entrance surface to exit from the diffuser portion in a radially outward pattern with respect to a longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see 2b being “light-transmitting portion”; [0046]; fig 4; see 2b having a partial circular shape in fig 4; the examiner takes the position that light exiting from a partial circular shape has a radially outward pattern).
With regards to claim 24. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one exit surface feature of the diffuser portion comprises an angled exit surface having a surface that forms an angle of less than 90° with respect to the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see 2a being at 90° in reference to 20; fig 4).
With regards to claim 27. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a housing (see fig 2); a printed circuit board (7; [0027]) disposed at least partially in the housing; and for each of the one or more buttons: an electric switching apparatus (5; fig 2; [0027]) including at least one electrically open contact disposed on the printed circuit board and aligned with the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see switch 5 in fig 2; the examiner takes the position that a switch, such switch 5, involves electrically open contact).
With regards to claim 28. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 27, wherein responsive to a displacement of the elongated portion along the longitudinal axis, the second end (bottom portion of 20 in fig 4)of the elongated portion causes the at least one electrically open contact to transition to at least one electrically closed contact (see bottom portion of 20 pushing switch 5 in fig 7b; [0027]; the examiner takes the position that a switch, such switch 5, involves electrically open contact).
With regards to claim 30. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 27, wherein the at least one electrically open contact of the electric switching apparatus (5; [0027]) comprises a normally open mechanical switch, wherein displacement of the elongated portion (20) along the longitudinal axis causes a closure of the normally open mechanical switch (5; [0027]).
With regards to claim 31. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a faceplate having a front surface, a rear surface, and one or more apertures that extend from the front surface to the rear surface through a thickness of the faceplate, each of the one or more apertures corresponding to respective ones of the one or more buttons, wherein, for each of the one or more buttons, the first end of the elongated portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures of the faceplate, at least partially through the thickness of the faceplate (see relationship between faceplate in 10 and button; fig 1).
With regards to claim 32. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein, for each of the one or more buttons (see 2; fig 1), at least a portion of the diffuser portion extends into a respective one of the one or more apertures defined by the faceplate (see fig 1).
With regards to claim 34. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 31, wherein each aperture of the one or more apertures of the faceplate includes a beveled peripheral edge (see annotated element below).
With regards to claim 35. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 30, further comprising, for each button of the one or more buttons, at least one light source (6; fig 7b; [0028]) disposed on the printed circuit board (7; [0028]) proximate the electric switching apparatus (5), the at least one light source configured to illuminate the first surface of the carrier of the respective button [0028-0029; 0045].
With regards to claim 42. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: a button cap (21; fig 4) affixed to the first end of the elongated portion (top portion of 20 in fig 4), wherein the diffuser portion (2b) is affixed to the button cap (see top of 21 in fig 4) and is displaceable along the longitudinal axis of the elongated portion (see button in fig 4 being pushed along axis of 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (US 20180115304 A1) in view of Krita (US 20150179366 A1).
With regards to claim 29. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 28,
Takada does not disclose(s):
wherein the at least one electrically open contact comprises: a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board; a second electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the first electrical contact; and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact, wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact.
Krita teaches:
wherein the at least one electrically open contact (14, 13; fig 4; [0050]) comprises:
a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board (see 13; fig 14; [0050]); a second electrical contact (see 13; fig 14; [0050]) disposed on the printed circuit board (7) and spaced apart from the first electrical contact (see 13; fig 14; [0050]); and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact [0050], wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome (14; fig 4; [0050]) such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact [0050].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Takada by implementing the at least one electrically open contact comprises: a first electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board; a second electrical contact disposed on the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the first electrical contact; and a displaceable conductive dome disposed over the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact, wherein displacement of the elongated portion causes an elastic deformation of the conductive dome such that the conductive dome electrically conductively couples the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact as disclosed by Krita in order to control the operation of a circuit as taught/suggested by Krita ([0050]).
With regards to claim 36. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 35,
Takada does not disclose(s):
wherein the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus.
Krita teaches:
wherein the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus (11, 12; fig 4; [0059]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Takada by implementing the at least one light source comprises a plurality of light sources disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus as disclosed by Krita in order to independently illuminate multiple indicia within a button as taught/suggested by Krita ([0058-0059]).
With regards to claim 37. Takada as modified disclose(s):
(New) The electric load control apparatus of claim 36,
Krita further discloses:
wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a first light source (11; fig 4) and a second light source (12) disposed on the printed circuit board proximate the electric switching apparatus (13) and spaced 180° apart from one another (see 11 and 12 being perpendicular to 13).
With regards to claim 38. Takada disclose(s):
(New) The load control apparatus of claim 36,
Krita further discloses:
wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources comprises a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources [0049, 0059].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 25, 26, 33, and 39-41 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and overcome the Double Patenting rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art, Takada, fails to disclose “a carrier having a first surface and a transversely opposed second surface, the carrier including an aperture that permits displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough” as recited in claim 1. To support this position, Applicant relies on paragraphs [0025] of Takada which discloses details of “support member 4” which has an “opening 4a” where part of the button is inserted. The applicant asserts that “it is unclear what specific portion of the housing 10 allegedly defines an aperture let alone one that permits displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough. At best, Takada's support member 4 includes an opening 4a that allows the support member 4 to support the operation button 2. But Takada's support member 4 is not one of the "multiple elements of housing 10" nor is it the claimed carrier. This is further evidenced by the body 20 (i.e., the alleged elongated portion) being disposed in the support member's 4 opening 4a, not some hole defined by the housing 10.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, First, the plain language of the limitation “a carrier having a first surface and a transversely opposed second surface, the carrier including an aperture that permits displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough” does not involve details of how the carried element fits in the carrier nor how the “surface”(s) are located in relation to the elongated portion. At most, the limitation requires two surfaces being “transversely opposed” and an “aperture” that permits the passage of the elongated portion. As pointed in the office action, there are multiple elements within the “light-transmitting operation button” 2 with a “housing” 10 among other elements (figs 1-7b in Takada) that meet such requirement. More specifically, Although Takada refers to each element besides “operation button” using other names such “housing”, “operation dial”, “support member”, etc., A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the multiple individual elements form a “button” device with multiple components. Therefore, support member 4 is part of the button device having multiple components of Takada, where support member 4 has at least two transversely opposed surfaces as shown in the annotated figure below.
Additionally, the examiner pointed in the office action mailed on 1/28/2026 that “multiple elements of housing 10 being around of 20 in fig 2” as the carrier. This position was taken based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “carrier”. The examiner highlights that other physical components within the housing 10 also meet the requirements of permitting displaceable passage of the elongated portion therethrough either while operation or assembly of the unit. Such other physical components are annotated below.
For at least reasons above, the examiner maintains the rejection of records.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844