DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 11/18/2024 and 02/18/2024 have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of U.S. Patent No. 11558137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as reproduced below.
Claim 1 of current 18/936951
Claim 1 of US Patent 11558137
A method, comprising:
A method configured to control an optical transmitter subsystem, the method comprising:
determining a start position of an upstream timeslot; and
determining a start position of an upstream timeslot for transmitting optical signals;
enabling one or more transmitter subsystem components in advance of the start position of the upstream timeslot.
See note below
determining an amount of time necessary to enable a current source in the optical transmitter subsystem to transition from a reduced energy state to a ready state where the current source is capable of providing current to a component in the optical transmitter subsystem; generating a set of instructions that instructs the current source to activate at a time corresponding to the amount of time prior to the start position of the upstream timeslot, wherein the set of instructions instructs a component in the optical transmitter subsystem different from the current source to activate at a second time prior to the start position of the upstream timeslot; and providing the set of instructions to the current source.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson,
136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); the
omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art. Claim 1 of 18/936951 does not explicitly disclose two different time prior to start position of the upstream time slot, and transition from a reduced energy state to a ready state. However, it has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 103a as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 2009/0226170) in view of Kenny et al. (US 2003/0007210).
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses a method, comprising: determining a start position of an upstream timeslot; (an optical network unit with transmission convergence unit adapted to retrieve the upstream timeslot indication and determine upstream bandwidth position, see page 8 and paragraph 104, lines 8-14 and figure 8, based on start position of upstream time slot in the upstream bandwidth map, see page 2, paragraph 11 and figure 2); enabling a one or more transmitter component subsystem components , (an ONU with interface unit adapted to enable the laser before sending the burst data according to the set laser enable time overhead, see page 9 and paragraph 104, lines 18-23 and figure 2).
However, Zou does not explicitly disclose in advance of the start position of the upstream timeslot.
In a related field endeavor, Kenny discloses in advance of the start position of the upstream timeslot; (after the dead time (enabling) 715 the bias or power level circuit 910 produces the electrical current need to power the laser transmitter 905, see page 11, paragraph 134 and figure 9 where the biasing is done during the start 710 of the time slot page 9,paragrapgh 112 and figure 7 as reproduced below).
Thus, it would be obvious to combine the optical transmitter operated according to predetermined timing of Kenny with Zou to transmit the upstream data in TDMA time slots according to a predetermined timing scheme and the motivation is increased speed at which the upstream data is handled between the subscriber and the data hub.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. Kramer et al (US 2005/0041682) discloses an apparatus that reduces data burst in Ethernet passive optical network, see figure 8.
b. Kwon et al (US 2007/0116467) discloses a passive optical network in which the upstream modulated data is transmitted in a designated time slot, see figure 1.
c. Zhang et al (Scheduling hybrid WDM/TDM Passive Optical networks with Nonzero laser tuning time – 2011 attached) disclose a method to minimize packet delay and schedule length for the ONU by using non- zero laser tuning time, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634