DETAILED ACTION
1. The Office Action is in response to Application 18936953 filed on 11/04/2024. Claim 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2024, 07/29/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 1, it recites “transmit a plurality of beamforming training packets in a plurality of transmit beam directions”. However, it is not clear which device(s) is the destination of the transmission. Is it the second wireless communication device recites in: “receive, from a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions” or other devices? If the “transmit a plurality of beamforming training packets in a plurality of transmit beam directions” is for the second wireless communication device, then “transmit a plurality of beamforming training packets in a plurality of transmit beam directions” means some packets could be missed by the second wireless communication device since it may not stay in some directions; if that is the case, how could second wireless communication device sends the feedback? In addition to that, the meaning of “transmit a plurality of beamforming training packets in a plurality of transmit beam directions” is unclear; which training packet is transmitted in which direction? Any packet can be transmitted in any direction or there is some restriction of it?
it recites “receive, from a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions”. However, it is not clear if the feedback is based on the receipt of the transmitted beamforming training packets from the first wireless communication device or not and if the second wireless communication device receives multiple of beamforming training packets from different directions, then how the feedback is given (i.e., which direction to pick up)?
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 2-15 are unclear.
7. Claim 16 and its dependent claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention for the similar reason as for claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-15.
For claim 16, it recites “receive a plurality of beamforming training packets associated with a plurality of transmit beam directions, each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer preamble that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted”. However, it is not clear which device(s) is the sender of the a plurality of beamforming training packets. Is it the second wireless communication device recites in: “transmit, to a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions;” or other devices? If the “a plurality of beamforming training packets associated with a plurality of transmit beam directions” is sent by the second wireless communication device, then some packets could be missed by the first wireless communication device since it may not stay in some directions; if that is the case, how could the first wireless communication device sends the feedback?
it recites “transmit, to a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions;”. However, it is not clear if the feedback is based on the receipt of the transmitted beamforming training packets from the second wireless communication device or not and if the first wireless communication device receives multiple of beamforming training packets from different directions, then how the feedback is given (i.e., which direction to pick up)?
it recites “and receive, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback”. However, it is not clear the meaning of “a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback”; the first feedback gives first transmit beam direction, does it mean first physical layer protocol data unit is transmitted with the first transmit beam direction?
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 16-20 are unclear.
8. Claim 21 and its dependent claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention for the similar reason as for claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-15.
9. Claim 27 and its dependent claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention for the similar reason as for claim 16 and its dependent claims 17-20.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
11. Claim 1-15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14. 2-13, 22 of US Patent US 12185125 indicated below.
For Claim 1-15, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with wireless communication device. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of claim 1-15 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 14. 2-13, 22 of the reference patent.
.
Current Application
US 12185125
Claim 1:
A first wireless communication device, comprising:
at least one memory;
and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
transmit a plurality of beamforming training packets in a plurality of transmit beam directions, each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer preamble that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted;
receive, from a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions;
and transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 2’s limitation:
communicate one or more frames to associate with the second wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, wherein the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link.
Claim 3’s limitation:
wherein the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz
claim 4’s limitation:
wherein each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets consists of a respective physical layer preamble.
.
claim 5’s limitation:
wherein the respective beam management information comprises at least one of: a physical layer protocol data unit type; a training direction; a beam tracking request; a total quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets; a quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets remaining to be transmitted; a transmit sector identifier or a transmit antenna identifier associated with the respective transmit beam direction in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted; or a quantity of receive sectors or receive antennas associated with the first wireless communication device
claim 6’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback comprises the transmit sector identifier or the transmit antenna identifier indicated by a first beamforming training packet transmitted in the first transmit beam direction.
claim 7’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback is carried in a physical layer preamble of a second physical layer protocol data unit
claim 8’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback comprises a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) report or a quantity of receive sectors or receive antennas associated with the second wireless communication device.
claim 9’s limitation:
retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device
claim 10’s limitation:
wherein each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted a quantity of times in the respective transmit beam direction, and wherein the quantity of times is equal to the quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device
claim 11’s limitation:
receive a second plurality of beamforming training packets, each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets comprising beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that beamforming training packet; measure a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets; and transmit second feedback associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets
claim 12’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback is carried in at least one beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets.
claim 13’s limitation:
receive one or more training signals, each training signal of the one or more training signals received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a respective receive beam direction; measure a signal power of each training signal of the one or more training signals; and receive a second physical layer protocol data unit via the plurality of antennas tuned in a receive beam direction in which a training signal having a highest signal power is received in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each training signal of the one or more training signals
claim 14’s limitation:
wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective physical layer protocol data unit.
claim 15’s limitation:
wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective training field of a same physical layer protocol data unit.
Claim 14
A first multi-link wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory;
and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the first multi-link wireless communication device to:
communicate one or more frames to associate with a second multi-link wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first multi-link wireless communication device and the second multi-link wireless communication device;
transmit a number (N) of beamforming training (BFT) packets in N transmit (TX) beam directions, respectively, on a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second multi-link wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link, each of the N BFT packets including a physical layer (PHY) preamble that carries respective beam management information indicating a TX beam direction in which that BFT packet is transmitted;
receive, from the second multi-link wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first TX beam direction of the N TX beam directions;
and transmit a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU), on the second wireless communication link, in the first TX beam direction in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 14’s limitation:
communicate one or more frames to associate with a second multi-link wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first multi-link wireless communication device and the second multi-link wireless communication device;
transmit a number (N) of beamforming training (BFT) packets in N transmit (TX) beam directions, respectively, on a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second multi-link wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link
claim 2’s limitation:
wherein the first wireless communication link operates at a first carrier frequency below 7 GHz and the second wireless communication link operates at a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz
claim 3’s limitation:
wherein each of the N BFT packets consists of only the PHY preamble.
claim 4’s limitation:
wherein the beam management information includes at least one of a PPDU type, a training direction, a beam tracking request, the number N of BFT packets, a number of the BFT packets remaining to be transmitted, a TX sector identifier (ID) or TX antenna ID associated with the respective TX beam direction in which that BFT packet is transmitted, or a number of receive (RX) sectors or RX antennas associated with the first multi-link wireless communication device.
claim 6’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback includes the TX sector ID or the TX antenna ID indicated by a BFT packet transmitted in the first TX beam direction, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) report, or a number of RX sectors or RX antennas associated with the second multi-link wireless communication device.
claim 5’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback is carried in a PHY preamble of a PPDU.
claim 6’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback includes the TX sector ID or the TX antenna ID indicated by a BFT packet transmitted in the first TX beam direction, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) report, or a number of RX sectors or RX antennas associated with the second multi-link wireless communication device.
claim 7’s limitation:
retransmitting the N BFT packets in the N TX beam directions, respectively, on the second wireless communication link in accordance with a number (M) of RX sectors associated with the second multi-link wireless communication device
claim 8’s limitation:
wherein each of the N BFT packets is transmitted M times in the respective TX beam direction.
claim 22’s limitation:
wherein at least one of the N BFT packets is received multiple times in accordance with tuning the plurality of antennas in multiple RX beam directions, respectively, of the M RX beam directions
claim 9’s limitation:
receiving, on the second wireless communication link, a number (K) of BFT packets each carrying beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that BFT packet; measuring a signal power of each of the K BFT packets; and transmitting, to the second multi-link wireless communication device, second feedback associated with a received BFT packet having a highest signal power among the measured signal powers.
claim 10’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback is carried in the K BFT packets.
claim 11’s limitation:
receiving one or more training signals on the second wireless communication link, each of the one or more training signals being received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a respective RX beam direction; measuring a signal power of each of the one or more received training signals; and receiving a PPDU from the second multi-link wireless communication device via the plurality of antennas tuned in an RX beam direction in which a training signal having a highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received.
claim 12’s limitation:
wherein each of the one or more training signals represents a respective PPDU.
claim 13’s limitation:
wherein each of the one or more training signals represents a respective training (TRN) field of a same PPDU.
12. Claim 16-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 28-29, 21 of US Patent US 12185125 indicated below.
For Claim 16-20, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with wireless communication device. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of claim 16-20 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 28-29, 21 of the reference patent.
.
Current Application
US 12185125
Claim 1:
A first wireless communication device, comprising:
at least one memory;
and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
receive a plurality of beamforming training packets associated with a plurality of transmit beam directions, each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer preamble that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted;
transmit, to a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions; and receive, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 17’s limitation:
measure a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets, wherein the first feedback is associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets.
Claim 18’s limitation:
communicate one or more frames to associate with the second wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, wherein the plurality of beamforming training packets is received via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link
Claim 19’s limitation:
wherein the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHzcommunication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz
claim 20’s limitation:
wherein the plurality of beamforming training packets is received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a quantity of receive beam directions.
.
.
Claim 28
A first multi-link wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory;
and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the first multi-link wireless communication device to:
communicate one or more frames to associate with a second multi-link wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first multi-link wireless communication device and the second multi-link wireless communication device;
receive a number (N) of beamforming training (BFT) packets on a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second multi-link wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link, each including a physical layer (PHY) preamble that carries beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that BFT packet; measure a signal power of each of the N BFT packets;
transmit, to the second multi-link wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a received BFT packet having a highest signal power among the measured signal powers; and receive a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) on the second wireless communication link in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 28’s limitation:
measure a signal power of each of the N BFT packets;
first feedback associated with a received BFT packet having a highest signal power among the measured signal powers; and receive a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) on the second wireless communication link in accordance with the first feedback
claim 28’s limitation:
communicate one or more frames to associate with a second multi-link wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first multi-link wireless communication device and the second multi-link wireless communication device; receive a number (N) of beamforming training (BFT) packets on a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second multi-link wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link
Claim 29’s limitation:
wherein the first wireless communication link operates at a first carrier frequency below 7 GHz and the second wireless communication link operates at a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz
claim 21’s limitation:
wherein the N BFT packets are received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a number (M) of RX beam directions.
13. Claim 21-26 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10 of US Patent US 12185125 indicated below.
For Claim 21-26, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with method for wireless communication. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of claim 21-26 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10 of the reference patent.
.
Current Application
US 12185125
Claim 21:
A method for wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, comprising:
transmitting a plurality of beamforming training packets in a plurality of transmit beam directions, each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer preamble that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted;
receiving, from a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions;
and transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 22’s limitation:
wherein each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets consists of a respective physical layer preamble
Claim 23’s limitation:
a total quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets; and a quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets remaining to be transmitted.
claim 24’s limitation:
receiving a second plurality of beamforming training packets, each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets comprising beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that beamforming training packet; measuring a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets; and transmitting second feedback associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets.
.
claim 25’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback is carried in at least one beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets
claim 26’s limitation:
retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device.
Claim 1
A method for wireless communication performed by a first multi-link wireless communication device, comprising:
communicating one or more frames to associate with a second multi-link wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first multi-link wireless communication device and the second multi-link wireless communication device;
transmitting a number (N) of beamforming training (BFT) packets in N transmit (TX) beam directions, respectively, on a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second multi-link wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link, each of the N BFT packets including a physical layer (PHY) preamble that carries beam management information indicating a respective TX beam direction in which that BFT packet is transmitted;
receiving, from the second multi-link wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first TX beam direction of the N TX beam directions;
and transmitting a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU), on the second wireless communication link, in the first TX beam direction in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 3’s limitation:
wherein each of the N BFT packets consists of only the PHY preamble.
claim 4’s limitation:
wherein the beam management information includes at least one of a PPDU type, a training direction, a beam tracking request, the number N of BFT packets, a number of the BFT packets remaining to be transmitted, a TX sector identifier (ID) or TX antenna ID associated with the respective TX beam direction in which that BFT packet is transmitted, or a number of receive (RX) sectors or RX antennas associated with the first multi-link wireless communication device
claim 9’s limitation:
receiving, on the second wireless communication link, a number (K) of BFT packets each carrying beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that BFT packet; measuring a signal power of each of the K BFT packets; and transmitting, to the second multi-link wireless communication device, second feedback associated with a received BFT packet having a highest signal power among the measured signal powers.
claim 10’s limitation:
wherein the first feedback is carried in the K BFT packets.
claim 7’s limitation:
retransmitting the N BFT packets in the N TX beam directions, respectively, on the second wireless communication link in accordance with a number (M) of RX sectors associated with the second multi-link wireless communication device
14. Claim 27-30 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15, 17-18 of US Patent US 12185125 indicated below.
For Claim 27-30, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they both are dealing with method for wireless communication. As clearly indicated in the table below, each claimed limitations of claim 27-30 of the current application are anticipated by the corresponding limitations of claim 15, 17-18 of the reference patent.
.
Current Application
US 12185125
Claim 27:
A method for wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, comprising:
receiving a plurality of beamforming training packets associated with a plurality of transmit beam directions, each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer preamble that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted;
transmitting, to a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions; and receiving, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 28’s limitation:
measuring a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets, wherein the first feedback is associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets.
Claim 29’s limitation:
wherein each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets consists of a respective physical layer preamble
claim 30’s limitation:
a total quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets; and a quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets remaining to be transmitted.
.
.
Claim 15
A method for wireless communication performed by a first multi-link wireless communication device, comprising:
communicating one or more frames to associate with a second multi-link wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first multi-link wireless communication device and the second multi-link wireless communication device;
receiving a number (N) of beamforming training (BFT) packets on a first second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second multi-link wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link, each of the N BFT packets including a physical layer (PHY) preamble that carries beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that BFT packet;
measuring a signal power of each of the N BFT packets;
transmitting, to the second multi-link wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a received BFT packet having a highest signal power among the measured signal powers; and receiving a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) on the first wireless communication link in accordance with the first feedback.
claim 15’s limitation:
measure a signal power of each of the N BFT packets;
first feedback associated with a received BFT packet having a highest signal power among the measured signal powers; and receive a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) on the second wireless communication link in accordance with the first feedback
claim 17’s limitation:
wherein each of the N BFT packets consists of only the PHY preamble.
Claim 18’s limitation:
wherein the beam management information includes at least one of a PPDU type, a training direction, a beam tracking request, a number of BFT packets being transmitted by the second multi-link wireless communication device, a number of the N BFT packets remaining to be transmitted, a transmit (TX) sector identifier (ID) or TX antenna ID associated with the respective beam direction, or a number of receive (RX) sectors or RX antennas associated with the second multi-link wireless communication device
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-13, 16-17, 21-25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3806345 A1) in view of Lou et al. (WO 2017156315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a first wireless communication device for wireless communication (initiating device, see 0118, 0195), comprising: at least one memory (memory, see paragraph 0084); and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory (processor coupled to the memory, see paragraphs 0084-0083),the at least one processor configured to cause the first wireless communication device to (processor run the computer program stored in memory, see paragraphs 0084-0083): transmit a plurality of beamforming training (BFT) packets in N transmit (TX) beam directions (the initiating device sends a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph 0195), each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer (PHY physical layer, see paragraph 0139) preamble (first indication information, see paragraph 0139) that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted (a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7); receive, from a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions (the initiating device receives a receives SSW feedback from the responding device, see paragraphs 0118, 0067-0068; the feedback information sent by the responding device indicates an optimal transmit beam in the plurality of transmit beams, see paragraphs 0067-0068).
Li may not explicitly show " transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback."
However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches " transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback (the initiator may transmit the entire Training Frame PPDU using the same transmit beam, see paragraphs 0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame has a PLCP header, see Fig. 8)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include " transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback " as taught by Lou so that it would allow transmit the entire training PLCP Training PPDU using the a transmit beam (see paragraph 1014).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses a first wireless communication device for wireless communication (responding device, see paragraphs0055-0060), comprising: at least one memory (memory, see paragraphs 0082); and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory (processor coupled to the memory, see paragraphs 0082-0081),the at least one processor configured to cause the wireless communication device to (processor run the computer program stored in memory, see paragraphs 0082-0081): receive a plurality of beamforming training(BFT) packets (the responding device receives a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph0195) associated with a plurality of transmit beam directions, each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer (PHY physical layer, see paragraph 0139) preamble (first indication information, see paragraph 0139) that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted (a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7); transmit, to a second, first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions (the responding device selects a resource corresponding to a beam of the first beam direction to feedback information, and the responding device sends the feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to that beam, see paragraphs0055-0060);
and Li may not explicitly show " receive, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback.”
However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches " receive, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback (the initiator may transmit the entire Training Frame PPDU using the same transmit beam to the responder, see paragraphs 0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame has a PLCP header, see Fig. 8; if channel reciprocity is assumed, the best transmit beam may be the same as the best receive beam at the responder side, seeparagraph0074)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include " receive, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback " as taught by Lou so that it would allow the best transmit beam to be the same the best receive beam trained at the responder side if antenna/channel reciprocity is assumed (see paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses a method for wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device (initiating device, see paragraph0118), comprising: transmitting a plurality of beamforming training(BFT) packets in a plurality of transmit (TX) beam directions (the initiating device sends a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph 0195), each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer (PHY physical layer, see paragraph 0139) preamble (first indication information, see paragraph 0139) that carries respective beam management information indicating the TX beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted (a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7); receiving, from a second wireless communication device,, first feedback associated with a first TX beam direction of the plurality of TX beam directions (the initiating device receives a receives SSW feedback from the responding device, see paragraphs 0118, 0067-0068; the feedback information sent by the responding device indicates an optimal transmit beam in the plurality of transmit beams, see paragraphs 0067-0068).
Li may not explicitly show " transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback."
However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches " transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in the first transmit beam direction in accordance with the first feedback”, see paragraphs 0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame has a PLCP header, see Fig. 8)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "transmitting a physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU), on the first wireless communication link, in the first TX beam direction" as taught by Lou so that it would allow transmit the entire training PLCP Training PPDU using the a transmit beam (see paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 27, Li discloses a method for wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device (responding device, see paragraphs 0055-0060), comprising: receiving a plurality of beamforming training (BFT) packets (the responding device receives a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph0195) each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets comprising a physical layer (PHY physical layer, sec paragraph 0139) preamble (first indication information, see paragraph 0139) that carries respective beam management information indicating a respective transmit beam direction, of the plurality of transmit beam directions, in which that beamforming training packet is transmitted (a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7); transmitting, to a second wireless communication device, first feedback associated with first feedback associated with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions (the responding device selects a resource corresponding to a beam with a first transmit beam direction of the plurality of transmit beam directions, and the responding device sends the feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to that beam, see paragraphs0055-0060).
Li may not explicitly show " receiving, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback."
However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches " receiving, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback (the initiator may transmit the entire Training Frame PPDU using the same transmit beam to the responder, see paragraphs 0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame has a PLCP header, see Fig. 8; if channel reciprocity is assumed, the best transmit beam may be the same as the best receive beam at the responder side, seeparagraph0074)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include " receiving, from the second wireless communication device, a first physical layer protocol data unit in accordance with the first feedback " as taught by Lou so that it would allow the best transmit beam to be the same the best receive beam trained at the responder side if antenna/channel reciprocity is assumed (see paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 4, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1. Li also discloses each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets consists of a respective physical layer preamble (the beamforming frame structure that includes the first indication information, see Fig. 7, paragraph 0095, 0209-0219).
Regarding claim 22, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 21. Li also discloses each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets consists of a respective physical layer preamble (the beamforming frame structure that includes the first indication information, see Fig. 7, paragraph 0095, 0209-0219).
Regarding claim 5, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1. Li also discloses wherein the respective beam management information comprises: a total quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets; and a quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets remaining to be transmitted (see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 23, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 21. Li also discloses wherein the respective beam management information comprises: a total quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets; and a quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets remaining to be transmitted, (see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1. Li also discloses receive a second plurality of beamforming training packets, each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets comprising beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that beamforming training packet (see paragraph 0082; WLAN system, see paragraph0130, Fig. 11, a number(K) of BFT packets. the responding device receives a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, sec paragraph 0195; each carrying beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with the received BFT packet(a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7);
measure a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device, see paragraphs 0055-0060, 0011);
and transmit second feedback associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets (the responding device sends a feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to a beam whose reference signal has the highest strength, see paragraphs 0055-0060,0011).
Regarding claim 24, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 21. Li also discloses receive a second plurality of beamforming training packets, each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets comprising beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with that beamforming training packet (see paragraph 0082; WLAN system, see paragraph0130, Fig. 11, a number(K) of BFT packets. the responding device receives a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, sec paragraph 0195; each carrying beam management information indicating a respective beam direction associated with the received BFT packet(a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7);
measure a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device, see paragraphs 0055-0060, 0011);
and transmit second feedback associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets (the responding device sends a feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to a beam whose reference signal has the highest strength, see paragraphs 0055-0060,0011).
Regarding claim 12, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 11. Li also discloses wherein the first feedback is carried in at least one beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets (the responding device STA sends a sector sweep response frame to the initiating device, where the response frame carries the feedback information, see paragraph 0207).
Regarding claim 25, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 24. Li also discloses wherein the first feedback is carried in at least one beamforming training packet of the second plurality of beamforming training packets (the responding device STA sends a sector sweep response frame to the initiating device, where the response frame carries the feedback information, see paragraph 0207).
Regarding claim 13, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1. Li also discloses receiving one or more training signals (the responding device receives a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph 0195) each training signal of the one or more training signals received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a respective receive beam direction (responding device has a plurality of antennas and each antenna receives a signal by using a beam, see paragraph 0113); measure a signal power of each training signal of the one or more training signals (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device), and receive a second physical layer protocol data unit via the plurality of antennas tuned in a receive beam direction in which a training signal having a highest signal power is received in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each training signal of the one or more training signals, see paragraphs 0055-0060).
Li may not explicitly show "receiving a PPDU from the initiating device via the plurality of antennas tuned in the RX beam direction in which the training signal having the highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received."
However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "receiving a PPDU from the initiating device via the plurality of antennas tuned in the RX beam direction in which the training signal having the highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received (the initiator may transmit the entire Training Frame PPDU using the same transmit beam to the responder, see paragraphs 0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame has a PLCP header, see Fig. 8; if channel reciprocity is assumed, the best transmit beam may be the same as the best receive beam at the responder side, see paragraph 0074)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "receiving a PPDU from the initiating device via the plurality of antennas tuned in the RX beam direction in which the training signal having the highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received" as taught by Lou SO that it would allow the best receive beam to be the same the best transmit beam trained at the responder side if antenna/channel reciprocity is assumed(see paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 8, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1.
Li also discloses wherein the first feedback comprises a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) report or a quantity of receive sectors or receive antennas associated with the second wireless communication device (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device, see paragraphs 0055-0060, 0011).
Regarding claim 17, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 16. Li also discloses measuring a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device, see paragraphs 0055-0060), wherein the first feedback is associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets (the responding device selects a resource corresponding to a beam whose reference signal has the highest strength to feedback information, and the responding device sends the feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to that beam, see paragraphs0055-0060).
Regarding claim 28, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 27. Li also discloses measuring a signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device, see paragraphs 0055-0060), wherein the first feedback is associated with a received beamforming training packet having a highest signal power in accordance with measurement of the signal power of each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets (the responding device selects a resource corresponding to a beam whose reference signal has the highest strength to feedback information, and the responding device sends the feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to that beam, see paragraphs0055-0060).
Regarding claim 29, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 28. Li also discloses each beamforming training packet of the plurality of beamforming training packets consists of a respective physical layer preamble (the beamforming frame structure that includes the first indication information, see Fig. 7, paragraph 0095, 0209-0219).
Regarding claim 30, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 27. Li also discloses wherein the respective beam management information comprises: a total quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets; and a quantity of the plurality of beamforming training packets remaining to be transmitted (a first indication information of the frame structure includes a direction field such as training direction bitmap (TRN direction bitmap) to be used for sending TRN units, see paragraphs 222, 221, 220, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 25, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 16. Li also discloses transmitting a number (K) of BFT packets in KTX beam directions (the initiating device transmits a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph0118; sweep frames arc sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph 0195), respectively, on the first wireless communication link (on an allocated channel, see paragraph 0082; WLAN system, see paragraph 0130, Fig. 11); receiving, from the initiating device, second feedback associated with a first TX beam direction of the K TX beam directions (the initiating device receives a receives SSW feedback from the responding device, see paragraphs 0118, 0067-0068; the feedback information sent by the responding device indicates an optimal transmit beam in the plurality of transmit beams, see paragraphs 0067-0068); and Li may not explicitly show "transmitting a PPDU, on the first wireless communication link, in the first TX beam direction." However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "transmitting a PPDU, on the first wireless communication link, in the first TX beam direction (the initiator may transmit the entire Training Frame PPDU using the same transmit beam to the responder, see paragraphs0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame has a PLCP header, see Fig. 8; if channel reciprocity is assumed, the best transmit beam may be the same as the best receive beam at the responder side, see paragraph 0074)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "transmitting a PPDU, on the first wireless communication link, int he first TX beam direction" as taught by Lou SO that it would allow the best transmit beam to be the same the best receive beam trained at the responder side if antenna/channel reciprocity is assumed(see paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 13, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1. Li also discloses receiving one or more training signals (the responding device receives a plurality of sector sweep SSW frames, see paragraph 0118; sweep frames are sent in a plurality of transmit beam directions, see paragraph 0195) each training signal of the one or more training signals received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a respective receive beam direction (responding device has a plurality of antennas and each antenna receives a signal by using a beam, see paragraph 0113); measure a signal power of each training signal of the one or more training signals (a beamforming training method in which responding device measures reference signals for the plurality of reference signals received from the initiating device, and the responding device selects a resource corresponding to a beam whose reference signal has the highest strength to feedback information, and the responding device sends the feedback information to the initiating device on a resource corresponding to that beam, see paragraphs 0055-0060).
Li may not explicitly show "receiving a PPDU from the initiating device via the plurality of antennas tuned in the RX beam direction in which the training signal having the highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received."
However, Lou, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "receiving a PPDU from the initiating device via the plurality of antennas tuned in the RX beam direction in which the training signal having the highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received (the initiator may transmit the entire Training Frame PPDU using the same transmit beam to the responder, see paragraphs0104, 103, 0094; Training Frame as a PLCP header, see Fig. 8; if channel reciprocity is assumed, the best transmit beam may be the same as the best receive beam at the responder side, see paragraph 0074)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "receiving a PPDU from the initiating device via the plurality of antennas tuned in the RX beam direction in which the training signal having the highest signal power, among the measured signal powers, is received" as taught by Lou so that it would allow the best receive beam to be the same the best transmit beam trained at the responder side if antenna/channel reciprocity is assumed(see paragraph 0074).
17. Claims 2-3, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3,806,345 A1) in view of Lou et al. (WO 2017/156315 A1), and in further view of Yun et al. (CA 3067186A1).
Regarding claim 2, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1, Li also discloses that communicate one or more frames to associate with the second wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (as shown in fig. 9-10);
Li may not explicitly show "the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link."
However, Yun, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link (enhanced directional multi-gigabit EDMG header of a PPDU can be transmitted on channels with bandwidths of 8.64 GHz and2.16GHz, see paragraphs 110, 109, 118, 122)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link" as taught by Yun such that transmitting a SSW frame from Li's initiating device can be performed on a channel with 8.64 GHz and receiving a feedback frame from the responding device can be performed on a channel with 2.16 GHz SO that it would allow beamforming operation to be applied to transmit and receive signals at a high reliability level, and diverse channels to be used for channel bonding (see paragraphs 118, 81).
Regarding claim 3, Li and Lou, Yun disclose the method of claim 2. Li may not explicitly show "the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz." However, Yun, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz (see paragraphs 110, 109, 118, 122).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz" as taught by Yun such that transmitting a SSW frame from Li's initiating device can be performed on a channel with 8.64 GHz and receiving a feedback frame from the responding device can be performed on a channel with 2.16 GHz so that it would allow transmit the so that it would allow beamforming operation to be applied to transmit and receive signals at a high reliability level, and diverse channels to be used for channel bonding (see paragraphs 118, 81).
Regarding claim 18, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 16, Li also discloses that communicate one or more frames to associate with the second wireless communication device over a first wireless communication link of a plurality of wireless communication links supported by the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (as shown in fig. 9-10);
Li may not explicitly show "the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link."
However, Yun, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link (enhanced directional multi-gigabit EDMG header of a PPDU can be transmitted on channels with bandwidths of 8.64 GHz and2.16GHz, see paragraphs 110, 109, 118, 122)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "the plurality of beamforming training packets is transmitted via a second wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links in accordance with associating with the second wireless communication device over the first wireless communication link" as taught by Yun such that transmitting a SSW frame from Li's initiating device can be performed on a channel with 8.64 GHz and receiving a feedback frame from the responding device can be performed on a channel with 2.16 GHz SO that it would allow beamforming operation to be applied to transmit and receive signals at a high reliability level, and diverse channels to be used for channel bonding (see paragraphs 118, 81).
Regarding claim 19, Li and Lou, Yun disclose the method of claim 18. Li may not explicitly show "the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz." However, Yun, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches "the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz (see paragraphs 110, 109, 118, 122).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "the first wireless communication link is associated with a first carrier frequency below 7 gigahertz (GHz) and the second wireless communication link is associated with a second carrier frequency above 7 GHz" as taught by Yun such that transmitting a SSW frame from Li's initiating device can be performed on a channel with 8.64 GHz and receiving a feedback frame from the responding device can be performed on a channel with 2.16 GHz so that it would allow transmit the so that it would allow beamforming operation to be applied to transmit and receive signals at a high reliability level, and diverse channels to be used for channel bonding (see paragraphs 118, 81).
18. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3,806,345 A1) in view of Lou et al. (WO 2017/156315 A1), and in further view of Da Silva et al. (WO 2018/112402 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1.
Li may not explicitly show " the first feedback is carried in a physical layer preamble of a second physical layer protocol data unit." However, Da Silva, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches " the first feedback is carried in a physical layer preamble of a second physical layer protocol data unit (the first wireless device decodes a second physical layer convergence protocol PLCPPPDU from a second wireless device, the second PPDU including feedback based on the TRN field, see paragraph 001168)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include " the first feedback is carried in a physical layer preamble of a second physical layer protocol data unit " as taught by Da Silva so that it would allow using training fields for enhanced directional multi-gigabit packets such as PLCP PPDU in a WLAN (see paragraph 0002).
19. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3,806,345 A1) in view of Lou et al. (WO 2017/156315 A1) and DaSilva. (WO 2018/112402 A1), and in further view of Ciochina et al. (US Publication 2019/0319693 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Li, Lou, and Da Silva disclose the method of claim 5. Li may not explicitly show " the first feedback comprises the transmit sector identifier or the transmit antenna identifier indicated by a first beamforming training packet transmitted in the first transmit beam direction."
However, Ciochina, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches “the first feedback comprises the transmit sector identifier or the transmit antenna identifier indicated by a first beamforming training packet transmitted in the first transmit beam direction (the SSW feedback holds information about the best transmit sector ID of the STA, see paragraphs 0051, 0066, 0077)." Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include the first feedback comprises the transmit sector identifier or the transmit antenna identifier indicated by a first beamforming training packet transmitted in the first transmit beam direction as taught by Ciochina so that it would allow the station to know the best sector to use for subsequent communication since this information is included in the SSW feedback (see paragraph 0077).
20. Claims 9, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3,806,345 A1) in view of Lou et al. (WO 2017/156315A1), and in further view of Yong et al. (WO 2009/102124 A2)
Regarding claim 9, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Li may not explicitly show "retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device." However, Yong teaches "retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device (repeating transmitting the sector training sequence via the transmit directional antenna among a set of transmit beam directions for a number of times equal to the maximum of the total number of receive beam directions within optimum receive sectors, see paragraph 14)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device" as taught by Yong so that it would allow performing beam discovery between a device and a plurality of other devices in a wireless network (see paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 26, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 21, further comprising:
Li may not explicitly show "retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device." However, Yong teaches "retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device (repeating transmitting the sector training sequence via the transmit directional antenna among a set of transmit beam directions for a number of times equal to the maximum of the total number of receive beam directions within optimum receive sectors, see paragraph 14)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "retransmit the plurality of beamforming training packets in the plurality of transmit beam directions, respectively, in accordance with a quantity of receive sectors associated with the second wireless communication device" as taught by Yong so that it would allow performing beam discovery between a device and a plurality of other devices in a wireless network (see paragraph 14).
21. Claims 14-15 are rejected under35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3,806,345 A1) in view of Lou. (WO 2017/156315 A1), and in further view of Ciochina et al. (US Publication 2019/0319693 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 12. Li may not explicitly show " wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective physical layer protocol data unit."
However, Ciochina teaches " wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective physical layer protocol data unit (Nr training units (TRNs) 103 in the beacon PPDU, see paragraph 0099, Figs. 12, 15)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include " wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective physical layer protocol data unit " as taught by Ciochina so that it would use the training units to estimate the best wide beam on which they can transmit in a subsequent beamforming training phase (see paragraph 0099).
Regarding claim 15, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 12.
Li may not explicitly show " wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective training field of a same physical layer protocol data unit."
However, Ciochina teaches " wherein each training signal of the one or more training signals represents a respective training field of a same physical layer protocol data unit Page 24 respective training (TRN) field of the same PPDU (Nr training units (TRNs) 103 in the beacon PPDU 100, see paragraph 0099,Figs. 12 and 15)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include "each of the plurality of training signals represents a respective training (TRN) field of the same PPDU" as taught by Ciochina so that it would use the training units to estimate the best wide beam on which they can transmit in a subsequent beamforming training phase (see paragraph 0099).
22. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (EP 3,806,345 A1) in view of Lou et al. (WO 2017/156315 A1), and in further view of Abedini et al. (WO 2019/055831 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Li and Lou disclose the method of claim 16. Li may not explicitly show " the plurality of beamforming training packets is received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a quantity of receive beam directions." However, Abedin teaches " the plurality of beamforming training packets is received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a quantity of receive beam directions (see paragraph0088)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Li to include the plurality of beamforming training packets is received via a plurality of antennas tuned in a quantity of receive beam directions " as taught by Abedini so that it would allow the receiving device to try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at a plurality of antenna elements of an antenna array (see paragraph 0088).
Conclusion
23 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form 892.
24 Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488