Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 11/04/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramakrishnan (US 2023/0341910).
Regarding claim 1, Ramakrishnan discloses a heat sink with a multistage pore channel structure (636, Fig. 6, [0058]), comprising:
a main body (636) including an entrance (See annotated Fig. 6 below, intersection where two vertically adjacent channels vertically communicate, between channels flowing in the first direction and channels flowing in the second direction) through which a fluid is introduced or discharged ([0059], fluid flowing through the intersection can be considered either introduced into the intersection or discharged out of the intersection); and
a plurality of channel parts disposed to be stacked in the main body and communicating with the entrance (See annotated Fig. 6 below, [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Ramakrishnan discloses the channel parts include:
a first channel part which is provided inside the main body and through which the fluid flows (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 1 rejection above, [0059]); and
a second channel part which is provided inside the main body and disposed to be stacked with the first channel part and through which the fluid flows (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 1 rejection above, [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Ramakrishnan discloses the first channel part extends in a first direction (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 1 rejection above); and
the second channel part extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 4, Ramakrishnan discloses the main body includes an opening through which the first channel part is exposed (See annotated Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 5, Ramakrishnan discloses the entrance includes:
a first entrance which communicates with the first channel part and through which the fluid flows (See annotated Fig. 6 below, intersection where two vertically adjacent channels vertically communicate, between channels of the first channel part flowing in the first direction and channels of the first channel part flowing in the second direction; one intersection is labeled “first entrance part”); and
a second entrance which is disposed to face the first entrance and communicates with the first channel part and the second channel part and through which the fluid flows (See annotated Fig. 6 below, intersection where two vertically adjacent channels vertically communicate, between channels of the second channel part flowing in the first direction and channels of the second channel part flowing in the second direction and additionally between the bottom channels of the first channel part flowing in the first direction and the top channels of the second channel part flowing in the second direction; one intersection is labeled “second entrance part”).
Regarding claim 6, Ramakrishnan discloses the first channel part includes a first port through which the fluid is introduced (See annotated Fig. 6 below, [0064]); and
the first port is disposed at one side or each of both sides of the first channel part (See annotated Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 7, Ramakrishnan discloses the first channel part includes:
a plurality of first channels disposed apart from each other in a first direction (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 6 rejection above, channels flowing in the second direction and apart from each other in the first direction); and
a plurality of second channels disposed apart from each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction and communicating with the plurality of first channels (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 6 rejection above, channels flowing in the first direction and apart from each other in the second direction; the second direction intersects the first direction, and the second channels communicate with the first channels).
Regarding claim 8, Ramakrishnan discloses the first entrance is located at a first intersection part at which each of the plurality of the first channels intersects one of the plurality of second channels (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 5 rejection above, intersection part is every location where the first channels and the second channels of the first channel part vertically communicate; one location is labeled “first entrance part”).
Regarding claim 9, Ramakrishnan discloses the first entrance is provided as a plurality of first entrances disposed apart from each other in the first direction and the second direction at the first intersection part (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 5 rejection above, each first entrance is at each location where a first channel and a second channel of the first channel part vertically communicate; a first entrance is labeled “first entrance part”).
Regarding claim 10, Ramakrishnan discloses the second channel part includes a second port through which the fluid is introduced (See annotated Fig. 6 below, [0064]); and
the second port is disposed at one side of the second channel part (See annotated Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 11, Ramakrishnan discloses vapor bubbles generated in the first channel part and the second channel part are discharged through the first port, the second port, or the entrance (Fig. 10, [0076], bubble is shown moving upward, and [0076] discloses releasing the vapor bubbles 832; additionally, [0050] discloses promoting bubble formation and release from the heat spreader).
Regarding claim 12, Ramakrishnan discloses the second channel part includes:
a plurality of third channels disposed apart from each other in the first direction (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 6 rejection above, channels flowing in the second direction and apart from each other in the first direction); and
a plurality of fourth channels disposed apart from each other in the second direction intersecting the first direction and communicating with the plurality of third channels (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 6 rejection above, channels flowing in the first direction and apart from each other in the second direction; the second direction intersects the first direction, and the fourth channels communicate with the third channels).
Regarding claim 14, Ramakrishnan discloses the second entrance is disposed at a second intersection part at which each of the plurality of third channels intersects one of the plurality of fourth channels (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 10 rejection above, intersection part is every location where the third channels and the fourth channels of the second channel part vertically communicate; one location is labeled “second entrance part”).
Regarding claim 15, Ramakrishnan discloses the second entrance is provided as a plurality of second entrances disposed apart from each other in the first direction and the second direction at the second intersection part (See annotated Fig. 6 in claim 10 rejection above, each second entrance is at each location where a third channel and a fourth channel of the second channel part vertically communicate; a second entrance is labeled “second entrance part”).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joshi (US 2014/190668).
Regarding claim 1, Joshi discloses a heat sink with a multistage pore channel structure (10, Fig. 1, [0029]), comprising:
a main body (40, Fig. 2, [0029]) including an entrance (30a, Fig. 2, [0029]) through which a fluid is introduced or discharged ([0029]); and
a plurality of channel parts (See annotated Fig. 2 below) disposed to be stacked in the main body and communicating with the entrance (Fig. 2, [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Joshi discloses the channel parts include:
a first channel part which is provided inside the main body and through which the fluid flows (See annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 rejection above, [0035]); and
a second channel part which is provided inside the main body and disposed to be stacked with the first channel part and through which the fluid flows (See annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1 rejection above, [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Joshi discloses the entrance includes:
a first entrance which communicates with the first channel part and through which the fluid flows (30a, Fig. 2); and
a second entrance which is disposed to face the first entrance and communicates with the first channel part and the second channel part and through which the fluid flows (25, Fig. 2, [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Joshi discloses a diameter of the second entrance (Fig. 5) is smaller than a diameter of the first entrance (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Joshi discloses the second entrance is provided as a plurality of second entrances in a range limited by the diameter of the first entrance (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Joshi discloses the first entrance is provided in a first surface of the main body (Fig. 2, top surface of 40); and
a heat spreader (50, Fig. 2, [0030]) is coupled to a second surface of the main body (Fig. 2, [0029], [0030], top surface of 50 also being the bottom surface of 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan (US 2023/0341910).
Regarding claim 13, Ramakrishnan does not disclose a cross section of each of the first channel, the second channel, the third channel, and the fourth channel is formed in any one shape of a circular shape, an oval shape, and a polygonal shape.
However, adjusting the horizontal rails 654 such that the cross section of the channels is formed in any one shape of a circular shape, an oval shape, and a polygonal shape would have involved a mere change in the size of a device which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, and the device will still function properly with the shape modification.
Therefore, adjusting the horizontal rails 654 such that the cross section of the channels is formed in any one shape of a circular shape, an oval shape, and a polygonal shape is a matter of design choice in which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that such a modification is significant. (See reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966))
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan (US 2023/0341910) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tullius (A Review of Cooling in Microchannels).
Regarding claim 16, Ramakrishnan does not disclose the third channel includes a plurality of first pin fin parts disposed apart from each other in the second direction;
and the fourth channel includes a plurality of second pin fin parts disposed apart from each other in the first direction.
However, Tullius discloses adding pin-fins in microchannels (page 529, paragraph 3) on the surface of the microchannel in a pattern (Fig. 2, pin-fins are arranged in rows and columns disposed apart from each other) to improve thermal heat transfer performance (page 529, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add pins in the third and fourth channels of Ramakrishnan in order to improve thermal heat transfer performance (Tullius: page 529, paragraph 3).
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763