DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Amendment, filed on 07/28/2026.
This action is made FINAL.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 13 and 17 are independent claims. Claims 1-2 ad 5-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remaks, p. 9, filed July 28, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of L. Chau, and Peicheng Liu et al., CN 112569611 A (hereinafter Chau), and further in view of Xiao-hao Liu et al., CN 112704876 A.
Applicant argues (claims 1, 13, and 17) L. Chau, and Peicheng Liu et al., CN 112569611 A (hereinafter Chau), and Xiao-hao Liu et al., CN 112704876 A fail to teach that the interaction information includes an interaction effect performed on the first virtual object.
In response, Chau and Liu each teach virtual objects in a game environment interacting with one another, includes animating or changing the motion, text, audio of the first/master virtual object participating in the interaction (Chau – Fig. 1; Para 58; Fig. 8 “808”), such that the virtual object is visualized releasing skills onto another virtual object (Liu – Fig. 5). Therefore, Chau and Liu teach the interaction information includes an interaction effect performed on the first virtual object.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear how an account, as recited in claims 9 and 11, controls virtual object(s), without any connection to a device; and the account associated with a second virtual object that controls the first virtual object, when the parent claim (claim 1) only displays a first virtual object in the scene. Correction is required.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: the communication among multiple terminals associated with respective accounts, stored in a database, corresponding to differing virtual objects as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Fig. 1 & 3).
It is unclear, in claim 10, how a second virtual object interacts, without user interaction and when only a first virtual object is displayed in the scene, as recited in the base claim 1. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over L. Chau, and Peicheng Liu et al., CN 112569611 A (hereinafter Chau), and further in view of Xiao-hao Liu et al., CN 112704876 A.
Independent claim 1, Chau discloses a virtual object interaction method, the method comprising:
displaying, by processing circuitry, a first virtual object in a target virtual state in a virtual scene (i.e. display a game character, e.g. virtual object, interacting in a game – Fig. 6, 7);
displaying a target interaction interface (i.e. display circular interface – Fig. 9 “94”) when a first interaction is performed on the first virtual object (i.e. display circular interface when user input is directed to the game character – Fig. 9 “31”), the target interaction interface including at least one interaction option corresponding to the target virtual state (i.e. displayed circular interface includes multiple options to control the virtual object, e.g. game character – Fig. 2 “204”; Fig. 9, 10); and
displaying first target interaction information when a second interaction is performed on a first interaction option of the at least one interaction option (i.e. after user selection of an option from the displayed circular interface, the interaction may be displayed as text – Fig. 7 “72, 73”), the first target interaction information including an interaction effect associated with the first interaction option for the first virtual object (i.e. user selection of an option of the displayed circular interface controls the game character to be displayed with a motion/animation, for example – Fig. 9 “91”; Fig. 2 “204”).
Chau suggests the target interaction interface including at least one interaction option corresponding to the target virtual state of the first virtual object;
and displaying first target interaction information of the first virtual object when a second interaction is performed on a first interaction option of the at least one interaction option, the first target interaction information including an interaction effect associated with the first interaction option and performed on the first virtual object as Chau discloses controlling a virtual object animation, motion, text and audio based on selection of an interaction icons that control the virtual object behavior (Fig. 2 “204”).
Liu discloses the target interaction interface including at least one interaction option corresponding to the target virtual state of the first virtual object (i.e. five interactive controls – Fig. 5 “511-515”; for controlling the virtual object – Fig. 5);
and displaying first target interaction information of the first virtual object when a second interaction is performed on a first interaction option of the at least one interaction option, the first target interaction information including an interaction effect associated with the first interaction option and performed on the first virtual object (i.e. displaying the target interaction control; the target interaction control is used for controlling the virtual object to interact in the target interaction form in the virtual correlation; the target interaction form follows the first interaction mode in the virtual environment – Fig. 10 “1001”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine Liu’s known method of the target interaction interface including at least one interaction option corresponding to the target virtual state of the first virtual object; and displaying first target interaction information of the first virtual object when a second interaction is performed on a first interaction option of the at least one interaction option, the first target interaction information including an interaction effect associated with the first interaction option and performed on the first virtual object with the method of Chau because each displays a game character as a virtual object that interacts with additional characters based on selective interaction options displayed, which includes controlling a first or master virtual object motion and release skills corresponding to the behavior of the master virtual object (Liu, Fig. 5). Thus, the combination yields predictable results.
Claim 2, Chau discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the first target interaction information comprises: displaying the interaction effect of the first virtual object with a first expression based on a first preset probability (i.e. control the game character to be displayed with a motion/animation based on a first option selected from the circular interface – Fig. 9 “93”); and displaying the interaction effect of the first virtual object with a second expression based on a second preset probability (i.e. control the game character to be displayed with a motion/animation based on a second option selected from the circular interface – Fig. 9 “91”).
Claim 3, Chau discloses the method according to claim 2.
Chau fails to disclose wherein an interaction effectiveness of the second expression is greater than an interaction effectiveness of the first expression, and the first preset probability is greater than the second preset probability, which Liu discloses (i.e. the first mode option 611 corresponding to the interaction mode is the current virtual object follows the interaction mode, priority attack distance of the opponent, the second mode option 612 number is 2, in a second mode option 612; the interactive mode of the display is " priority attack the current life absolute value of the opponent "; in another second mode option 612, the interactive mode of display is " priority attack opponent ". – Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine Liu’s known method wherein an interaction effectiveness of the second expression is greater than an interaction effectiveness of the first expression, and the first preset probability is greater than the second preset probability with the method of Chau because the virtual objects’ level of interaction is determined and adjustable to control the degree or effectiveness of the interaction (Liu, Fig. 6). Thus, the combination yields predictable results.
Claim 4, Chau discloses the method according to claim 2.
Chau fails to disclose wherein an interaction effectiveness of the second expression is less than an interaction effectiveness of the first expression, and the first preset probability is greater than the second preset probability, which Liu discloses (i.e. In this example, the second mode option 902 is an interactive mode of hostile virtual object indicating priority attack blood volume less. and at the same time, when the virtual environment, hostile virtual object distance from the main control virtual object is too close, still attack the distance of the hostile virtual object – Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine Liu’s known method wherein an interaction effectiveness of the second expression is less than an interaction effectiveness of the first expression, and the first preset probability is greater than the second preset probability with the method of Chau because the virtual objects’ level of interaction is determined and adjustable to control the degree or effectiveness of the interaction (Liu, Fig. 6). Thus, the combination yields predictable results.
Claim 5, Chau discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the first target interaction information comprises:
displaying target text information, the target text information including a text interaction effect associated with the first interaction option for the first virtual object (i.e. the interaction may be displayed as text – Fig. 7 “72, 73”);
displaying target animation information, the target animation information including an animation interaction effect associated with the first interaction option for the first virtual object (i.e. control the game character to be displayed with a motion/animation based on a second option selected from the circular interface – Fig. 9 “91”; Fig. 2 “204”); or
displaying target sound information, the target sound information including a sound interaction effect associated with the first interaction option for the first virtual object (i.e. display audio interaction information corresponding to the icon/option selected in the displayed circular interface – Fig. 2 “204”).
Claim 6, Chau discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying second target interaction information when a third interaction is performed on the first interaction option, the second target interaction information including an expression of the interaction effect that is different from an expression of the first target interaction information (i.e. user selection of an option of the displayed circular interface controls the game character to be displayed with a motion/animation – Fig. 9 “91”; Fig. 2 “204”); as does Liu (i.e. selection of differing interface options to control behavior of the master virtual object - Fig. 5).
Claim 7, Chau discloses the method according to claim 6.
Chau fails to disclose wherein the displaying the second target interaction information comprises: displaying a third expression for the first virtual object, and an interaction effectiveness of the third expression being greater than an interaction effectiveness of the first target interaction information, which Liu discloses (i.e. the first mode option 611 corresponding to the interaction mode is the current virtual object follows the interaction mode, priority attack distance of the opponent, the second mode option 612 number is 2, in a second mode option 612; the interactive mode of the display is " priority attack the current life absolute value of the opponent "; in another second mode option 612, the interactive mode of display is " priority attack opponent ". – Fig. 6; or displaying a fourth expression for the first virtual object, and an interaction effectiveness of the fourth expression being less than the interaction effectiveness of the first target interaction information (i.e. In this example, the second mode option 902 is an interactive mode of hostile virtual object indicating priority attack blood volume less. and at the same time, when the virtual environment, hostile virtual object distance from the main control virtual object is too close, still attack the distance of the hostile virtual object – Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to combine Liu’s known method wherein the displaying the second target interaction information comprises: displaying a third expression for the first virtual object, and an interaction effectiveness of the third expression being greater than an interaction effectiveness of the first target interaction information with the method of Chau because the virtual objects’ level of interaction is determined and adjustable to control the degree or effectiveness of the interaction (Liu, Fig. 6). Thus, the combination yields predictable results.
Claim 8, Chau discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises: displaying third target interaction information when a fourth interaction is performed on the first interaction option, the third target interaction information including a different expression of the interaction effect of the first virtual object from the first target interaction information and the second target interaction information (i.e. game interface provides the displayed circular interface with multiple selectable options to control the game character to be displayed with associated motion/animation, for example – Fig. 9 “91”; Fig. 2 “204”).
Claim 9, Chau discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the second target interaction information is preset based on a first user account associated with the first virtual object or a second user account associated with a second virtual object which interacts with the first virtual object (i.e. the change in game character motion/animation, for example, is set based on the user/account controlling the game character – Fig. 9 “93”; characters controlled by multiple terminal devices – Fig. 1 “11, 13”).
Claim 10, Chau discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first target interaction information is preset based on the target virtual state of the first virtual object (i.e. the displayed circular interface is positioned in the game scene based on the game character position – Fig. 2 “204; Fig. 9; and in correspondence to the game character type, e.g. enemy – Fig. 6), or based on a target virtual state of a second virtual object which interacts with the first virtual object.
Claim 11, Chau discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: displaying a plurality of virtual objects in the virtual scene, the plurality of virtual objects including the first virtual object (Fig. 6 “61, 62”), and each virtual object of the plurality of virtual objects being in a preset virtual state (i.e. each game character having an associated position and type, e.g. enemy – Fig. 6); acquiring the target virtual state of the first virtual object from a user account that is associated with an application and the first virtual object (i.e. first terminal runs an application for a first user account that corresponds to a target virtual object - Fig. 1 “11”); and displaying the target interaction interface based on the target virtual state (i.e. the displayed circular interface is positioned in the game scene based on the game character position – Fig. 2 “204; Fig. 9; and in correspondence to the game character type, e.g. enemy – Fig. 6).
Claim 12, Chau discloses the method according to claim 1, the method further comprising: displaying a target prompt message, the target prompt message being configured to prompt a second virtual object to interact with a third virtual object (i.e. game scene includes an interface to display selected interactions for/by other virtual objects, e.g. game characters – Fig. 7 “72, 73”); and displaying the third virtual object in the virtual scene when a response is triggered on the target prompt message (i.e. game scene displays multiple game characters with applied response to triggered/selected options/icons respectively associated with the game characters – Fig. 6 “61, 62”; Fig. 7 “72, 73”).
Independent claim 13, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claims 14 and 18, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 5 applies herein.
Claims 15 and 19, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 6 applies herein.
Claims 16 and 20, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 7 applies herein.
Independent claim 17, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615