DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-19 & 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH0576037U hereafter referred to as JP037.
In regards to claim 13, JP037 discloses
A soft start capacitor assembly, comprising:
a soft start capacitor (A – fig. 1; [0015]); and
an enclosure (8 – fig. 1; [0018]),
the soft start capacitor comprising first and second conductive elements ([0015]), electrolytic fluid ([0015]), and a capacitor casing (3 and 3a – fig. 1; [0015] & [0018]),
the first and second conductive elements and the electrolytic fluid are within the capacitor casing (fig. 1),
the soft start capacitor is within the enclosure (fig. 1), and
the enclosure prevents said electrolytic fluid from escaping from the enclosure upon any of said electrolytic fluid escaping from the capacitor casing (fig. 1; [0004], [0014], & [0019]).
In regards to claim 14, JP037 discloses
The soft start controller recited in claim 13, wherein: the soft start capacitor further comprises insulating material ([0015] – separator) between the first and second conductive elements, and
the insulating material electrically insulates the first conductive element from the second conductive element ([0015]).
In regards to claim 15, JP037 discloses
The soft start controller recited in claim 14, wherein the first conductive element, the insulating material and the second conductive element are in the form of a rolled-up sandwich ([0015]).
In regards to claim 16, JP037 discloses
The soft start controller recited in claim 13, wherein the soft start capacitor further comprises at least first and second conductive terminals (5a & 5b – fig. 1; [0015]),
the first conductive terminal is electrically connected to the first conductive element (fig. 1; [0016]), and
the second conductive terminal is electrically connected to the second conductive element (fig. 1; [0016]).
In regards to claim 17, JP037 discloses
The soft start capacitor assembly recited in claim 16, wherein each of the first and second conductive terminals extends through the capacitor casing from inside the capacitor casing to outside the capacitor casing (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 18, JP037 discloses
The soft start capacitor assembly recited in claim 16, wherein: the first and second conductive terminals are completely within the enclosure (fig. 1),
a first conductor (7a & 10a – fig. 1; [0016] & [0019]) extends from the first conductive terminal to outside the enclosure, and
a second conductor (7b & 10b – fig. 1; [0016] & [0019]) extends from the second conductive terminal to outside the enclosure.
In regards to claim 19, JP037 discloses
The soft start capacitor assembly recited in claim 13, wherein each of the first and second conductive elements comprises aluminum ([0015]).
In regards to claim 22, JP037 discloses
The soft start capacitor assembly recited in claim 13, wherein the capacitor casing comprises plastic (3a – fig. 1; [0018]).
In regards to claim 23, JP037 discloses
The soft start capacitor assembly recited in claim 13, wherein: the enclosure defines an interior space, and an entirely of the interior space is devoid of any PCBA (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP037 in view of CN109065366A hereafter referred to as He.
In regards to claim 20,
JP037 discloses wherein the soft start capacitor further comprises a fixing member (4 – fig. 1; [0015]) that secures the capacitor to the capacitor casing. JP037 fails to disclose the fixing member is a plastic shield that electrically insulates the capacitor casing from the first and second conductive elements.
He discloses a fixing member comprising a plastic shield that electrically insulates the capacitor casing from the first and second conductive elements ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the material of He as the fixing material of JP037 to prevent short circuits. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 21,
JP037 as modified by He further discloses wherein the capacitor casing comprises metal ([0015] of JP037).
Claim(s) 1-9 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP037 in view of JP2005012991A hereafter referred to as Ueki.
In regards to claim 1,
JP037 discloses a soft start controller, comprising:
a soft start capacitor (A – fig. 1; [0015]); and
the soft start capacitor comprising at least first and second conductive elements ([0015]), electrolytic fluid ([0015]), and a capacitor casing (3 and 3a – fig. 1; [0015] & [0018]),
the first and second conductive elements and the electrolytic fluid are within the capacitor casing (fig. 1),
the soft start capacitor is inside a sub-housing (8 – fig. 1; [0018]),
the sub-housing prevents said electrolytic fluid from escaping from the sub- housing upon any of said electrolytic fluid escaping from the capacitor casing (fig. 1; [0014] & [0019]). JP037 fails to disclose at least a first PCBA; and a soft start controller housing, the first PCBA and the soft start capacitor are within the soft start controller housing, the soft start controller housing comprising a sub-housing, the first PCBA is outside the sub-housing.
Ueki discloses a soft start controller, comprising:
at least a first PCBA (10 – fig. 24; [0091]);
a soft start capacitor (14 – fig. 24; [0091]); and
a soft start controller housing (20 – fig. 24; [0091]),
the soft start capacitor comprising an aluminum electrolytic capacitor ,
the first PCBA and the soft start capacitor are within the soft start controller housing (fig. 24),
the soft start controller housing comprising a sub-housing (portion formed by 21c & 21d – fig. 24; [0090]),
the soft start capacitor is inside the sub-housing (fig. 24),
the first PCBA is outside the sub-housing (fig. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the capacitor of JP037 into the device of Ueki to obtain a circuit wherein individual components are protected from heat generated by other components and protected from shorting caused by electrolyte leakage.
In regards to claim 2,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein: the soft start capacitor further comprises insulating material ([0015] of JP037 – separator) between the first and second conductive elements, and
the insulating material electrically insulates the first conductive element from the second conductive element ([0015] of JP037).
In regards to claim 3,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein the first conductive element, the insulating material and the second conductive element are in the form of a rolled-up sandwich ([0015] of JP037).
In regards to claim 4,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein the soft start capacitor further comprises at least first and second conductive terminals (5a & 5b – fig. 1; [0015] of JP037),
the first conductive terminal is electrically connected to the first conductive element (fig. 1; [0016] of JP037), and
the second conductive terminal is electrically connected to the second conductive element (fig. 1; [0016] of JP037).
In regards to claim 5,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein each of the first and second conductive terminals extends through the capacitor casing from inside the capacitor casing to outside the capacitor casing (fig. 1 of JP037).
In regards to claim 6,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein: the first and second conductive terminals are completely within the enclosure (fig. 1 of JP037),
a first conductor (7a & 10a – fig. 1; [0016] & [0019] of JP037) extends from the first conductive terminal to outside the enclosure, and
a second conductor (7b & 10b – fig. 1; [0016] & [0019] of JP037) extends from the second conductive terminal to outside the enclosure.
In regards to claim 7,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein: the soft start controller further comprises a first conductor (7a & 10a – fig. 1; [0016] & [0019] of JP037 & 14a – fig. 24; [0091] of Ueki) and a second conductor (7b & 10b – fig. 1; [0016] & [0019] of JP037& 14a – fig. 24; [0091] of Ueki),
the first conductor extends from the first PCBA, through the sub-housing, and is electrically connected to the first conductive element (fig. 24; [0091] of Ueki), and
the second conductor extends from the first PCBA, through the sub-housing, and is electrically connected to the second conductive element (fig. 24; [0091] of Ueki).
In regards to claim 8,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein the first PCBA comprises components of soft start circuitry ([0045] of Ueki).
In regards to claim 9,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein each of the first and second conductive elements comprises aluminum ([0015] of JP037).
In regards to claim 12,
JP037 as modified by Ueki further discloses wherein the capacitor casing comprises plastic (3a – fig. 1; [0018] of JP037).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP037 as modified as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He.
In regards to claim 10,
JP037 discloses wherein the soft start capacitor further comprises a fixing member (4 – fig. 1; [0015]) that secures the capacitor to the capacitor casing. JP037 fails to disclose the fixing member is a plastic shield that electrically insulates the capacitor casing from the first and second conductive elements.
He discloses a fixing member comprising a plastic shield that electrically insulates the capacitor casing from the first and second conductive elements ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the material of He as the fixing material of JP037 to prevent short circuits. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 11,
JP037 as modified by He further discloses wherein the capacitor casing comprises metal ([0015] of JP037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0082889 – fig. 1; [0019] US 2017/0221638 – fig. 4
JP2010109024A – fig. 1 JP04233714A – fig. 1
JP05072127U – fig. 1 JP05021433U – fig. 1
WO2019033463A1 – abstract JP2002345247A – fig. 1
JP2002358819A – fig. 8 US 3,293,507 – fig. 1
CN114038684A – fig. 1 DE1108810B – fig. 1
WO2014122805A1 – fig. 1 JP2003031447A – fig. 1
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847