DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 12-16 in the reply filed on 7/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haussmann (EP 2541669).
With respect to claim 12, Haussmann discloses a cooling plate for battery cooling (Title and Figs. 1-3), comprising: a plate body (12), which has two plate elements (Plates 28 and 30) joined together by soldering; at least one cooling channel (14) for the passage of a cooling fluid (Coolant within cooling channel 14); and a stiffening molding (Stiffening molding 36, 27 creates a coolant free cavity 20 for reinforcing the plate), wherein a channel portion between the at least one cooling channel and the stiffening molding is closed in a fluid-tight manner by a closing element (Fig. 2, closing element 32 creates channel portion 20 between cooling channel 14).
It is noted that claim 12 contains a product by process limitation (i.e. joined together by soldering) and that the product by process limitation does not limit the claim to recite the step, just the structure obtained by performing the step. Further, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect to claim 13, Haussmann discloses the cooling plate according to claim 12 as discussed above. Haussmann also discloses wherein the closing element comprises a joint or a press soldering joint (Fig. 2, joint 32).
With respect to claim 14, Haussmann discloses the cooling plate according to claim 12 as discussed above. Haussmann also discloses wherein the stiffening molding comprises a channel-shaped or bead-shaped molding in at least one of the two plate elements (Fig. 2, channel-shape 20).
With respect to claim 16, Haussmann discloses the cooling plate according to claim 12 as discussed above. Haussmann also discloses wherein the at least one cooling channel and the stiffening molding are formed internally at high pressure (Fig. 2, channels 14 and 20 are formed on 12).
It is noted that claim 16 contains a product by process limitation (i.e are formed internally at high pressure) and that the product by process limitation does not limit the claim to recite the step, just the structure obtained by performing the step. Further, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haussmann (EP 2541669) in view of O Shaffer II Edward et al. (EP 3324463 A1 hereinafter “Shaffer”).
With respect to claim 15, Haussmann discloses the cooling plate according to claim 12 as discussed above. Haussmann does not disclose wherein the stiffening molding has an opening.
Shaffer teaches stiffening elements with openings (Para 0019 and Fig. 1, openings 24 on stiffening element 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the stiffening molding of Haussmann with openings as taught by Shaffer to add vent holes to aid in heat transfer (Para 0015).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763