DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 7- 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0208431 A1) in view of Guillouard et al. (US Pat. No. 10117202 B2), hereafter Samuel.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a base station device (see Abstract base station/base station 1 and Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of wireless stations, the wireless stations each including:
a receiver that receives signals transmitted from a plurality of wireless terminal devices that transmit transmission data in a coordinated manner (see [0024] The plurality of mobile terminals 2 (i.e. wireless terminals) in the group share data to be transmitted to the base station 1. The data may be shared by communication between the mobile terminals 2 or by communication through the group head. The plurality of mobile terminals 2 in the group transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 by Coordinated Multi-Point transmission (CoMP) between mobile terminals (cooperative transmission between terminals). More specifically, the plurality of mobile terminals 2 synchronously transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 as a common message signal. The CoMP transmission is called "Joint Transmission".); and
a controller that selects a reference wireless station from among the wireless stations,
determines a phase of the transmission data for each of the wireless terminal devices at the selected reference wireless station (see [0041].. the base station 1 measures the phase of the channel based on the pilot signal and divides the plurality of mobile terminals 2 into one or more groups using the similarity of the phase of the channel to (02 of FIG. 2)….; further see [0073, 0095]), and
notifies the wireless terminal devices of the determined phase.
But fails to explicitly state about base stations having plurality of wireless stations as well as a controller that selects a reference wireless station from among the wireless stations, and notifies the wireless terminal devices of the determined phase.
However Samuel teaches col. 30- 35 and 44- 60 of col. 8 about BS1 to BS3 managed by master station/a server; further Samuel teaches in lines 30 -44 of col. 2 about Advantageously, the method comprises a step of election of at least one reference base station for the mobile terminal among the plurality of base stations according to at least one determined criterion belong to the group comprising: a temporal offset, a power of a signal received by at least on base station of said plurality, a connection quality between the at least one base station of said plurality and the mobile terminal, and an available bitrate of the at least one base station of said plurality; further see Fig. 5 #53. Further see Abstract about .. transmission of an item of information representative of a first temporal offset intended for the mobile terminal, the first offset being according to at least one reception time (740, 750, 760) of the first signal by at least one base station (BS1, BS2, BS3). The invention also relates to the corresponding device for reception; also refer to #42 of Fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Samuel with the teachings of Chen to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein base stations having plurality of wireless stations as well as a controller that selects a reference wireless station from among the wireless stations, and notifies the wireless terminal devices of the determined phase; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Samuel teaches as per claim 1, wherein the controller selects the reference wireless station from among the wireless stations, based on reception quality of the signals received by the receiver; Samuel teaches col. 30- 35 and 44- 60 of col. 8 about BS1 to BS3 managed by master station/a server; further Samuel teaches in lines 30 -44 of col. 2 about Advantageously, the method comprises a step of election of at least one reference base station for the mobile terminal among the plurality of base stations according to at least one determined criterion belong to the group comprising: a temporal offset, a power of a signal received by at least on base station of said plurality, a connection quality between the at least one base station of said plurality and the mobile terminal, and an available bitrate of the at least one base station of said plurality; further see Fig. 5 #53; further see lines 30- 50 of col. 12… according to another variant, the base station(s) for which the reception power level is greater than a threshold value (for example—80 dB) is (are) elected reference base station(s). The taking into account of this criterion offers notably the advantage of electing the base station(s) receiving the signal with a power level in fact sufficient for the processing of the signal transmitted by the mobile terminal, quality of the link between at least one of the base stations 11 to 13 and the mobile terminal 10, the quality of the link between a base station and the mobile terminal is for example estimated by determining the Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR). Advantageously, the base station having the highest SNR is elected reference base station. According to a variant, the two base stations with the highest SNR are elected reference base stations. According to another variant, the base station(s) for which the SNR is greater than a threshold value (for example 10 dB or 20 dB) is (are) elected reference base station(s).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Samuel teaches as per claim 1, wherein the controller determines the phase of the transmission data for each of the wireless terminal devices (Chen [0035- 0038]); so that reception quality (Chen [0028- 0030, 0052- 0057]) at the reference wireless station is largest ([0028- 0030] improving SINR/beamforming gain).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Samuel teaches as per claim 1, wherein the controller determines distribution data to be distributed to each of the wireless terminal devices, in the transmission data to be transmitted in a coordinated manner (Chen see abstract.. A base station includes a controller to execute a process including grouping a plurality of wireless terminals into one or more groups using at least one of phases of signals and location information of each wireless terminal received from the plurality of wireless terminals, and allocating, to wireless terminals belonging to each group, resources to perform coordinated multi-point transmission by the wireless terminals in each group, a transmitter to transmit an identifier of each group and an allocation result of the resources to each wireless terminal, and a receiver to receive data transmitted from the wireless terminals of each group by the coordinated multi-point transmission.), based on reception quality at the reference wireless station for each of the wireless terminal devices (Chen see [0008]… The base station includes a controller configured to execute a process including grouping the plurality of wireless terminals into one or more groups using at least one of phases of signals and location information of each wireless terminal received from the plurality of wireless terminals, and allocating, to wireless terminals belonging to each group, resources to perform coordinated multi-point transmission by the wireless terminals in each group based on reception power of a synchronization signal received from the wireless terminals of each group, and a transmitter configured to transmit an identifier of each group and an allocation result of the resources to each wireless terminal. ), and notifies the wireless terminal device of the distribution data for each of the wireless terminal devices; Chen see abstract… transmitter configured to transmit...an allocation result of the resources to each wireless terminal...
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0208431 A1) in view of Guillouard et al. (US Pat. No. 10117202 B2), hereafter Samuel and in further view of Kim et al. (US Pat. No. 11265123 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Samuel teaches as per claim 1, wherein the controller determines a phase of the transmission data for each of the wireless terminal devices, based on reception quality at the selected reference wireless station; Chen teaches about determining a phase of the transmission data for each of the wireless terminal devices; see [0041].. the base station 1 measures the phase of the channel based on the pilot signal and divides the plurality of mobile terminals 2 into one or more groups using the similarity of the phase of the channel to (02 of FIG. 2)….; further see [0073, 0095]; but Chen is silent about based on reception quality at the selected reference wireless station; however Kim teaches in claim 1 about .. transmitting and receiving, by a terminal, a signal for location estimation in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) from each of a serving base station and reference base stations; measuring a phase difference between sinusoidal components included in the DL PRS for each of the serving base station and the reference base stations; generating an uplink (UL) PRS based on the measured phase differences; and transmitting the UL PRS to the serving base station, wherein the terminal reports the phase difference measured for the serving base station and the phase differences measured for the reference base stations to the serving base station..; now refer to claim 4 about … wherein the terminal selects reference base stations having transmitted the DL PRSs of a signal strength exceeding a threshold among the reference base stations, and reports the phase differences for the selected reference base stations through the UL PRS… It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Chen in view of Samuel to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein based on reception quality at the selected reference wireless station, determining a phase; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 4- 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0208431 A1) in view of Guillouard et al. (US Pat. No. 10117202 B2), hereafter Samuel and in further view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0209643 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Samuel teaches as per claim 1, but Chen fails to state about wherein the receiver receives reference signals from the wireless terminal devices, and the controller measures reception quality of the reference signals and selects the reference wireless station based on a measurement result; however Wang teaches in [0166] about… In either case, the first base station 105-c, the second base station 105-c, or both, may determine/select the master base station 105 based on the user information (e.g., parameters associated with the base stations 105 and/or connected UEs 115), and may notify the other base station 105 about the decision (e.g., via the Xn interface); further see [0012] about parameters include QoS requirements related; further see [0167]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Chen in view of Samuel to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein the receiver receives reference signals from the wireless terminal devices, and the controller measures reception quality of the reference signals and selects the reference wireless station based on a measurement result; greater way more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Samuel and Wang teaches as per claim 4, wherein the controller generates a combined signal by performing weighted combining for the reference signals, measures reception quality of the combined signal, and sets the measured reception quality as the reception quality of the reference signals; wang Wang teaches in [0166] about… station 105-d, where the second base station 105-d will determine which will serve as the master (or vice versa). For instance, the first base station 105-c may transmit user information to the second base station 105-d, where the second base station 105-d determines the master base station 105 based on the user information of the UEs 115-c, 115-d, and transmits a message (e.g., gNB coordination setup message) back to the first base station 105-c with an indication as to which base station 105-c, 105-d will serve as the master. In either case, the first base station 105-c, the second base station 105-c, or both, may determine/select the master base station 105 based on the user information (e.g., parameters associated with the base stations 105 and/or connected UEs 115), and may notify the other base station 105 about the decision (e.g., via the Xn interface); further see [0012] about parameters include QoS requirements related; now see [0126- 0127, 0167].
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Samuel and Wang teaches as per claim 4, wherein the controller selects the reference wireless station from the wireless station device with higher reception quality of the reference signal; Wang see [0167] higher QoS ...
Claim(s) 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0208431 A1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0195025 A1), hereafter Chat.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a wireless terminal device from among a plurality of the wireless terminal devices transmitting transmission data in a coordinated manner (see [0024] The plurality of mobile terminals 2 in the group share data to be transmitted to the base station 1. The data may be shared by communication between the mobile terminals 2 or by communication through the group head. The plurality of mobile terminals 2 in the group transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 by Coordinated Multi-Point transmission (CoMP) between mobile terminals (cooperative transmission between terminals). More specifically, the plurality of mobile terminals 2 synchronously transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 as a common message signal. The CoMP transmission is called “Joint Transmission”.), but fails to state about the wireless terminal device comprising: a controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data determined at a reference wireless station selected from among a plurality of wireless stations of a base station device and a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the controller, and transmits the transmission data.
However Chat teaches
a controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data determined at a reference wireless station selected from among a plurality of wireless stations of a base station device (see [0046] According to embodiments, the eNB may be configured to signal more than eight cyclic shift values to increase capacity of SRS in UL CoMP operation. The eNB may also be configured to semi-statically determine and signal a preferred one of a number of RPs that may be indicated by a certain CSI-RS index. Semi-statically signaling a preferred RP may enable the UE to obtain pathloss information that may be used by the UE to determine open loop power control parameters for SRS transmissions. The UE may receive CSI-RS indices from the eNB and may semi-statically determine a respective CSI-RS index of the preferred one of a number of RPs of an UL CoMP cooperating set based on an RRC message from the eNB (i.e. pathloss directly guides the phase settings used for beamforming and array calibration to overcome high signal attenuation; further see [0020- 0023, 0031- 0039, 0044- 0048].); and
a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the controller, and transmits the transmission data (in context with [0046] refer to [0047].. a UE may be enabled or configured to adjust power control parameters of SRS transmissions based on a UL CoMP cooperating set. The UE may adjust the power control parameters corresponding to a plurality of CSI-RS resource indices signaled by the eNB that may correspond to the UL CoMP cooperating set; further see [0020- 0023, 0044- 0052].). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chat with the teachings of Chen to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein about the wireless terminal device comprising: a controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data determined at a reference wireless station selected from among a plurality of wireless stations of a base station device and a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the controller, and transmits the transmission data; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Chat as per claim 9, wherein the controller receives a phase setting of the transmission data determined based on reception quality at the selected reference wireless station; Chat see [0046] According to embodiments, the eNB may be configured to signal more than eight cyclic shift values to increase capacity of SRS in UL CoMP operation. The eNB may also be configured to semi-statically determine and signal a preferred one of a number of RPs that may be indicated by a certain CSI-RS index. Semi-statically signaling a preferred RP may enable the UE to obtain pathloss information that may be used by the UE to determine open loop power control parameters for SRS transmissions. The UE may receive CSI-RS indices from the eNB and may semi-statically determine a respective CSI-RS index of the preferred one of a number of RPs of an UL CoMP cooperating set based on an RRC message from the eNB (i.e. pathloss directly guides the phase settings used for beamforming and array calibration to overcome high signal attenuation; further see [0020- 0023, 0031- 0039, 0044- 0048].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0208431 A1) in view of Chatterjee et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0195025 A1), hereafter Chat and in further view of Guillouard et al. (US Pat. No. 10117202 B2), hereafter Samuel
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Chat as per claim 9, Chen teaches in [0041].. the base station 1 measures the phase of the channel based on the pilot signal and divides the plurality of mobile terminals 2 into one or more groups using the similarity of the phase of the channel to (02 of FIG. 2)….; further see [0073, 0095]; but Chen fails to state about wherein the controller receives a phase setting of the transmission data determined at the reference wireless station selected from among the wireless stations based on reception quality of signals sent from the wireless terminal devices; However Samuel teaches col. 30- 35 and 44- 60 of col. 8 about BS1 to BS3 managed by master station/a server; further Samuel teaches in lines 30 -44 of col. 2 about Advantageously, the method comprises a step of election of at least one reference base station for the mobile terminal among the plurality of base stations according to at least one determined criterion belong to the group comprising: a temporal offset, a power of a signal received by at least on base station of said plurality, a connection quality between the at least one base station of said plurality and the mobile terminal, and an available bitrate of the at least one base station of said plurality; further see Fig. 5 #53. Further see Abstract about .. transmission of an item of information representative of a first temporal offset intended for the mobile terminal, the first offset being according to at least one reception time (740, 750, 760) of the first signal by at least one base station (BS1, BS2, BS3). The invention also relates to the corresponding device for reception; also refer to #42 of Fig. 5. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Samuel with the teachings of Chen in view of Chat to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0208431 A1) in view of Guillouard et al. (US Pat. No. 10117202 B2), hereafter Samuel and further in view of Chatterjee et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0195025 A1), hereafter Chat.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a wireless communication system comprising: a plurality of wireless terminal devices that transmit transmission data in a coordinated manner; and a base station device including a plurality of wireless stations that receive the transmission data transmitted in a coordinated manner from the wireless terminal devices (see abstract and [0024] regarding base station/base station 1 and Fig. 1 and plurality of wireless terminals), the wireless stations each including
a receiver that receives signals transmitted from the wireless terminal devices (see [0024] The plurality of mobile terminals 2 (i.e. wireless terminals) in the group share data to be transmitted to the base station 1. The data may be shared by communication between the mobile terminals 2 or by communication through the group head. The plurality of mobile terminals 2 in the group transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 by Coordinated Multi-Point transmission (CoMP) between mobile terminals (cooperative transmission between terminals). More specifically, the plurality of mobile terminals 2 synchronously transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 as a common message signal. The CoMP transmission is called "Joint Transmission".), and
a first controller that selects a reference wireless station from among the wireless stations, determines a phase of the transmission data for each of the wireless terminal devices at the selected reference wireless station (see [0041].. the base station 1 measures the phase of the channel based on the pilot signal and divides the plurality of mobile terminals 2 into one or more groups using the similarity of the phase of the channel to (02 of FIG. 2)….; further see [0073, 0095]), and notifies the wireless terminal devices of the determined phase,
the wireless terminal devices each including (see [0024] The plurality of mobile terminals 2 in the group share data to be transmitted to the base station 1. The data may be shared by communication between the mobile terminals 2 or by communication through the group head. The plurality of mobile terminals 2 in the group transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 by Coordinated Multi-Point transmission (CoMP) between mobile terminals (cooperative transmission between terminals). More specifically, the plurality of mobile terminals 2 synchronously transmit, to the base station 1, the data to be transmitted to the base station 1 as a common message signal. The CoMP transmission is called “Joint Transmission”.)
a second controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data from the reference wireless station, and
a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the second controller and transmits the transmission data.
But Chen fails to explicitly state about base stations having plurality of wireless stations as well as a controller that selects a reference wireless station from among the wireless stations, and notifies the wireless terminal devices of the determined phase and also fails to state about a second controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data from the reference wireless station, and a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the second controller and transmits the transmission data.
However Samuel teaches col. 30- 35 and 44- 60 of col. 8 about BS1 to BS3 managed by master station/a server; further Samuel teaches in lines 30 -44 of col. 2 about Advantageously, the method comprises a step of election of at least one reference base station for the mobile terminal among the plurality of base stations according to at least one determined criterion belong to the group comprising: a temporal offset, a power of a signal received by at least on base station of said plurality, a connection quality between the at least one base station of said plurality and the mobile terminal, and an available bitrate of the at least one base station of said plurality; further see Fig. 5 #53. Further see Abstract about .. transmission of an item of information representative of a first temporal offset intended for the mobile terminal, the first offset being according to at least one reception time (740, 750, 760) of the first signal by at least one base station (BS1, BS2, BS3). The invention also relates to the corresponding device for reception; also refer to #42 of Fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Samuel with the teachings of Chen to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein base stations having plurality of wireless stations as well as a controller that selects a reference wireless station from among the wireless stations, and notifies the wireless terminal devices of the determined phase; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
But Chen still fails to state about a second controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data from the reference wireless station, and a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the second controller and transmits the transmission data.
However Chat teaches about a second controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data from the reference wireless station (see [0046] According to embodiments, the eNB may be configured to signal more than eight cyclic shift values to increase capacity of SRS in UL CoMP operation. The eNB may also be configured to semi-statically determine and signal a preferred one of a number of RPs that may be indicated by a certain CSI-RS index. Semi-statically signaling a preferred RP may enable the UE to obtain pathloss information that may be used by the UE to determine open loop power control parameters for SRS transmissions. The UE may receive CSI-RS indices from the eNB and may semi-statically determine a respective CSI-RS index of the preferred one of a number of RPs of an UL CoMP cooperating set based on an RRC message from the eNB (i.e. pathloss directly guides the phase settings used for beamforming and array calibration to overcome high signal attenuation; further see [0020- 0023, 0031- 0039, 0044- 0048].); and
a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the second controller and transmits the transmission data (in context with [0046] refer to [0047].. a UE may be enabled or configured to adjust power control parameters of SRS transmissions based on a UL CoMP cooperating set. The UE may adjust the power control parameters corresponding to a plurality of CSI-RS resource indices signaled by the eNB that may correspond to the UL CoMP cooperating set; further see [0020- 0023, 0044- 0052].). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chat with the teachings of Chen in view of Samuel to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about a second controller that receives a phase setting of the transmission data from the reference wireless station, and a transmitter that performs phase control based on the phase setting received by the second controller and transmits the transmission data; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Samuel and Chat teaches as per claim 9, Chen teaches in [0041].. the base station 1 measures the phase of the channel based on the pilot signal and divides the plurality of mobile terminals 2 into one or more groups using the similarity of the phase of the channel to (02 of FIG. 2)….; further see [0073, 0095]; but Chen fails to state about wherein the controller receives a phase setting of the transmission data determined at the reference wireless station selected from among the wireless stations based on reception quality of signals sent from the wireless terminal devices; However Samuel teaches col. 30- 35 and 44- 60 of col. 8 about BS1 to BS3 managed by master station/a server; further Samuel teaches in lines 30 -44 of col. 2 about Advantageously, the method comprises a step of election of at least one reference base station for the mobile terminal among the plurality of base stations according to at least one determined criterion belong to the group comprising: a temporal offset, a power of a signal received by at least on base station of said plurality, a connection quality between the at least one base station of said plurality and the mobile terminal, and an available bitrate of the at least one base station of said plurality; further see Fig. 5 #53. Further see Abstract about .. transmission of an item of information representative of a first temporal offset intended for the mobile terminal, the first offset being according to at least one reception time (740, 750, 760) of the first signal by at least one base station (BS1, BS2, BS3). The invention also relates to the corresponding device for reception; also refer to #42 of Fig. 5..
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Samuel and Chat teaches as per claim 12, wherein the first controller determines a phase of the transmission data for each of the wireless terminal devices based on reception quality at the selected reference wireless station; Chat see [0046] According to embodiments, the eNB may be configured to signal more than eight cyclic shift values to increase capacity of SRS in UL CoMP operation. The eNB may also be configured to semi-statically determine and signal a preferred one of a number of RPs that may be indicated by a certain CSI-RS index. Semi-statically signaling a preferred RP may enable the UE to obtain pathloss information that may be used by the UE to determine open loop power control parameters for SRS transmissions. The UE may receive CSI-RS indices from the eNB and may semi-statically determine a respective CSI-RS index of the preferred one of a number of RPs of an UL CoMP cooperating set based on an RRC message from the eNB (i.e. pathloss directly guides the phase settings used for beamforming and array calibration to overcome high signal attenuation; further see [0020- 0023, 0031- 0039, 0044- 0048]..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0294288 A1) teaches about .. electing one or more cooperating base stations for a coordinated multipoint communication for a mobile unit serviced by a serving base station, determining whether the backhaul network supports a coordinated multipoint technique selected for a cooperating base station, and in case the backhaul network is not sufficient to support a coordinated multipoint technique for one or more of the cooperating base stations, reconfiguring the backhaul network to meet the requirements of the coordinated multipoint technique; see abstract.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479