DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 08/20/2025.
3. The IDS filed on 01/07/2025 is considered and entered into the application file.
4. Claims 21-36 are pending. All the pending claims are examined and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 21-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hulbert et al (US 11079995 B1).
Hulbert et al (“Hulbert”) is directed to User Interfaces For Devices With Multiple Displays.
As per claim 21:
Hulbert disclose a method (see flowcharts of Figs. 7A-7Q) performed by a computing device (computing device 100) having a first touch-sensitive user Interface (touch screen 504-1) and a second touch-sensitive user interface ( touch screen 504-2) the method comprising:
detecting a user input applied to a selected one of the first and second user interfaces (FIG. 5C illustrates detecting a plurality of contacts 552A-552E on touch-sensitive display screen 504 (which optionally corresponds to touch screen 504-1 and/or touch screen 504-2) with a plurality of intensity sensors 524A-524D. column 25, lines 42-45. Also see column 27, lines 30-35);
wherein the user input comprises an end of a stylus contacting the selected user interface (In FIG. 6F, a tap is detected on thumbnail 601-2. In response, thumbnail 601-2 gets the current focus on touch screen 504-2, and the electronic device 500 displays the image corresponding to thumbnail 601-2 as content 602 on touch screen 504-1, as shown in FIG. 6G), column 30, lines 45-49); and
in response to detecting the user input, causing, by the computing device, a drawing pad, configured for a drawing application, to be displayed on the selected user interface (In response to the detection of the gesture, and in accordance with contact 562 having an intensity that goes above the deep press intensity threshold (e.g., “IT.sub.D”) during the gesture, reduced-scale representations 578A-578C (e.g., thumbnails) of recently opened documents for App 2 are displayed, as shown in FIGS. 5F-5H. column 27, lines 48-53). (In FIG. 6F, a tap is detected on thumbnail 601-2. In response, thumbnail 601-2 gets the current focus on touch screen 504-2, and the electronic device 500 displays the image corresponding to thumbnail 601-2 as content 602 on touch screen 504-1, as shown in FIG. 6G (column 30, lines 45-49).
As per claim 22:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 21, wherein detecting the user input comprises detecting the end of the stylus contacting the selected user interface for a predetermined amount of time (Device 100 also, optionally, includes one or more contact intensity sensors 165 for detecting intensity of contacts on touch screen 112 and/or one or more tactile output generators 167 for generating tactile outputs for a user of device 100. Column 20, lines 28-32. In response to detecting the contact 2003 for the threshold amount of time 2008, the electronic device 500 presents, on the first touch screen 504-1 within the word processing user interface 2002b (e.g., because that is the interface with the current keyboard focus), a cursor 2012a (column 162, lines 57-62). Also see column 164, lines 14-27).
As per claim 23:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 21, wherein detecting the user input comprises detecting the end of the stylus tapping the selected user interface a predetermined number of successive times (For example, one or more force sensors underneath or adjacent to the touch-sensitive surface are, optionally, used to measure force at various points on the touch-sensitive surface. In some implementations, force measurements from multiple force sensors are combined (e.g., a weighted average) to determine an estimated force of a contact. Similarly, a pressure-sensitive tip of a stylus is, optionally, used to determine a pressure of the stylus on the touch-sensitive surface. Column 5, lines 37-45; For example, in FIG. 6K (e.g., movement of a finger or stylus over the content and/or selection of the editing control such as a tap detected on the second display on the editing control) column 42, l9nes 54-57).
As per claim 24:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 21, wherein detecting the user input comprises detecting a non-drawing end of the stylus contacting the selected user interface (in some implementations, force measurements from multiple force sensors are combined (e.g., a weighted average) to determine an estimated force of a contact. Similarly, a pressure-sensitive tip of a stylus is, optionally, used to determine a pressure of the stylus on the touch-sensitive surface. column 5, lines 40-45).
As per claim 25:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 21, wherein: the method further comprises determining a region on the selected user interface at which the user input is applied; (For example, in FIGS. 6B-6C, a single-contact downward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch screen 504-2, where the swipe started on thumbnail 601-1 as shown in FIG. 6B. column 30, lines 22-25); and
causing the drawing pad to be displayed is further based on the determined region (In response to the swipe, the electronic device 500 moves thumbnail 601-1 downward on touch screen 504-2 in accordance with the downward movement of the swipe, as shown in FIG. 6C, without affecting or manipulating content 602 on touch screen 504-1.column 30, lines 25-29).
As per claim 26:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 21, wherein the selected user interface is not displaying keyboard or a virtual trackpad when the user input applied to the selected user interface is detected (For example, while displaying the soft keyboard on the bottom display and an application window on the top display, the electronic device optionally detects a downward swipe gesture on the application window for moving the application window to the bottom display. In response to the swipe gesture, the electronic device optionally ceases displaying the soft keyboard on the bottom display and the application window on the top display, and optionally displays the application window on the bottom display. column 175, lines 24-32).
As per claim 27:
Hulbert disclose a computing device (device 500, Fig. 6A) comprising:
first and second touch-sensitive user interfaces (e.g., touch screens 504-1 and 504-2, Fig, 6A) ;
one or more computer-readable storage media (memory 102, Fig. 1A); and
one or more processors (processors 120, Fig. 1A) communicate with the one or more computer-readable storage media and the first and second touch-sensitive user interfaces for:
detecting a user input applied to a selected one of the first and second user interfaces, wherein the user input comprises an end of a stylus contacting the selected user interface ((The user optionally makes contact with touch screen 112 using any suitable object or appendage, such as a stylus, a finger, and so forth. Column 8, lines 50-55). In some embodiments, while displaying the user interface in the first mode (e.g., while the electronic device is in the clamshell configuration), the electronic device receives (798-20), via the one or more input devices, an input associated with the second display (e.g., a gesture input detected on the second display) column 48, lines 27-32); and
in response to detecting the user input, causing, by the one or more processors, a
drawing pad, configured for a drawing application, to be displayed on the selected user interface (In response to the detection of the gesture, and in accordance with contact 562 having an intensity that goes above the deep press intensity threshold (e.g., “IT.sub.D”) during the gesture, reduced-scale representations 578A-578C (e.g., thumbnails) of recently opened documents for App 2 are displayed, as shown in FIGS. 5F-5H. column 27, lines 48-53). (In FIG. 6F, a tap is detected on thumbnail 601-2. In response, thumbnail 601-2 gets the current focus on touch screen 504-2, and the electronic device 500 displays the image corresponding to thumbnail 601-2 as content 602 on touch screen 504-1, as shown in FIG. 6G (column 30, lines 45-49). 151). In FIG. 6F, a tap is detected on thumbnail 601-2. In response, thumbnail 601-2 gets the current focus on touch screen 504-2, and the electronic device 500 displays the image corresponding to thumbnail 601-2 as content 602 on touch screen 504-1, as shown in FIG. 6G. column 30, lines 45-49).
As per claim 28:
Hulbert further disclose that the computing device of claim 27, wherein causing the drawing pad to be displayed comprises:
causing the drawing pad to be displayed in an area of the selected user interface to which the user input is applied, wherein the area corresponds to a location on the selected user
interface at which the user input is applied (While displaying the respective content in the editing region on the second display, the electronic device optionally receives (1320), via the one or more input devices, an editing input for editing the respective content (e.g., an input drawing directly on the respective content, an input adjusting the color of the respective content, etc.), as shown in FIGS. 12G-12H).
As per claim 29:
Hulbert further disclose that the computing device of claim 27, wherein the first user interface is rotatable relative to the second user interface (In some embodiments, events include rotation of the device from one orientation to another (e.g., from a portrait orientation to a landscape orientation, or vice versa), and the event information includes corresponding information about the current orientation (also called device attitude) of the device (Column 17, lines 67-column 18, lines 5).
As per claim 30:
Hulbert disclose a method performed by a computing device having a first touch-sensitive user interface and a second touch-sensitive user interface (In some embodiments, an electronic device has a first display, a second display, and one or more input devices, such as in FIG. 6A (e.g., a phone, tablet computer, laptop, etc. including two touch screens or two displays, such as device 500, column 36, lines 45-49), the method comprising:
detecting a user input applied to a selected one of the first and second user interfaces,
wherein the selected user interface is currently displaying a virtual trackpad (FIG. 5C illustrates detecting a plurality of contacts 552A-552E on touch-sensitive display screen 504 (which optionally corresponds to touch screen 504-1 and/or touch screen 504-2) with a plurality of intensity sensors 524A-524D. column 25, lines 42-45. Also see column 27, lines 30-35);
determining a type of the user input (FIGS. 16J-16P illustrate exemplary ways in which the electronic device 500 facilitates interaction with indications of notifications. In FIG. 16J, the user selects (e.g., with contact 1603) the indication 1606 of the notification and drags or swipes the indication 1606 of the notification towards the center of the second touch screen 504-2 (e.g., the touch screen on which the indication 1606 is displayed), column 121, lines 1-7). and
based on the type of the user input, and based on a detection of the user input applied to the selected user interface: causing the display of the virtual trackpad to disappear; and causing a virtual keyboard to be displayed (As shown in FIG. 16K, in response to detecting the gesture, the electronic device 500 presents an expanded indication 1612 of the notification including a text entry field and a soft keyboard 1614. The user is able to select (e.g., with contact 1603) one or more soft keys of the soft keyboard 1614 to compose a message to send in response to the received message indicated by the notification. Column 121, lines 8-14. For example, in response to a swipe input from the second indication of the first notification, the soft keyboard is optionally displayed at a location on the second display closer to the center of the display than the location of the second indication. column 126, lines 28-38).
As per claim 31:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 30, wherein said performing the function comprises:
causing the virtual keyboard to be displayed in an area of the selected user interface to
which the user input is applied, wherein the area corresponds to a location on the selected user interface at which the user input is applied (For example, in response to a swipe input from the second indication of the first notification, the soft keyboard is optionally displayed at a location on the second display closer to the center of the display than the location of the second indication. column 126, lines 28-38).
As per claim 32:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 30, wherein said determining the type of the user input comprises:
determining a geometry pattern of the user input on the selected one of the first and second user interfaces at which the user input is applied (Contact/motion module 130 optionally detects a gesture input by a user. Different gestures on the touch-sensitive surface have different contact patterns (e.g., different motions, timings, and/or intensities of detected contacts). Thus, a gesture is, optionally, detected by detecting a particular contact pattern. For example, detecting a finger tap gesture includes detecting a finger-down event followed by detecting a finger-up (liftoff) event at the same position (or substantially the same position) as the finger-down event (e.g., at the position of an icon). As another example, detecting a finger swipe gesture on the touch-sensitive surface includes detecting a finger-down event followed by detecting one or more finger-dragging events, and subsequently followed by detecting a finger-up (liftoff) event. Column 11, lines 38-52); and
comparing the geometry pattern to one or more gesture types, each gesture type being
associated with a corresponding pattern (In FIG. 8E the electronic device 500 detects a first contact 803-1 and a second contact 803-2 on the second display 504-2. In FIG. 8F, the electronic device 500-1 detects movements of the first contact 803-1 and the second contact 803-2 in opposite directions. In response to the detected movements of the first contact 803-1 and the second contact 803-2, the device 500 identifies the input as a zoom-in input, and zooms into the first view 802 and the second view 804 of the map displayed on displays 504-1 and 504-2. As shown in FIG. 8F, the portions of the map displayed on displays 504-1 and 504-2 are enlarged in a corresponding manner. column 56, lines 1-11).
As per claim 33:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 32, wherein the one or more gesture types are associated with one or more of:
a pattern corresponding to a finger chord (e.g., Figs. 8B-8I);
a pattern corresponding to a finger swipe ( For example, in FIGS. 6B-6C, a single-contact downward swipe of contact 603 is detected on touch screen 504-2, where the swipe started on thumbnail 601-1 as shown in FIG. 6B.column 16-25) ;
a pattern corresponding to a fist; a pattern corresponding to an open palm (For example, in situations where the device or the component of the device is in contact with a surface of a user that is sensitive to touch (e.g., a finger, palm, or other part of a user's hand), the tactile output generated by the physical displacement will be interpreted by the user as a tactile sensation corresponding to a perceived change in physical characteristics of the device or the component of the device. column 6, lines 10-17);
a pattern corresponding to an end of a non-finger object contacting the selected user
interface (For example, mouse movement and mouse button presses, optionally coordinated with single or multiple keyboard presses or holds; contact movements such as taps, drags, scrolls, etc. on touchpads; pen stylus inputs; column 19, lines 42-50); and
a pattern corresponding to a body of a stylus contacting the selected user interface (Additionally, while the following examples are given primarily with reference to finger inputs (e.g., finger contacts, finger tap gestures, finger swipe gestures), it should be understood that, in some embodiments, one or more of the finger inputs are replaced with input from another input device (e.g., a mouse-based input or stylus input).column 22, lines 41-46).
As per claim 34:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 30, further comprising:
determining a region on the selected user interface at which the user input is applied (the gesture performed with contact 562 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 560 (which optionally corresponds to touch screen 504-1 and/or touch screen 504-2) while cursor 576 is displayed over application icon 572B corresponding to App 2, on a displayed user interface 570 that includes application icons 572A-572D displayed in predefined region 574. Column 27, lines 30-40);
and wherein said performing the function by the computing device is further based on the determined region (In some embodiments, multiple content items are able to be added to the editing region on touch screen 504-2. Further, in some embodiments, content in the editing region on touch screen 504-2 is arranged in accordance with user inputs instead of being constrained to arrangements determined according to the one or more arrangement rules in effect in the display region on touch screen 504-1. Column 100, lines 63-olumn 101, lines 18).
As per claim 35:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 30, wherein said performing the function comprises:
causing the virtual keyboard to be displayed in an area of the selected user interface to
which the user input is applied, wherein the area corresponds to a location on the selected user interface at which the user input is applied (FIGS. 20A-20CC illustrate exemplary ways in which an electronic device presents user interfaces including a soft keyboard in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. Column 3, lines 33-36. In some embodiments, a soft keyboard is also displayed on the bottom display in response to the input for providing text input to the messaging interface. The soft keyboard is optionally displayed on the second display (e.g., the bottom display) outside of the second indication of the first notification. column 131, lines 13-18).
As per claim 36:
Hulbert further disclose that the method of claim 30, wherein the first user interface is rotatable relative to the second user interface (as illustrated in Fig. 5A, In some embodiments, the two touch screens 504-1 and 504-2 of device 500 are rotatably coupled together, or coupled together via a hinge, such that the angle between the planes of the touch screens is manipulable by a user. Column 23, lines 9-13).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KLEIN et al (US 20200174653 A1) - The disclosed technologies address various technical and user experience problems by augmenting the functionality provided by virtual on-screen trackpads without requiring users to switch between modes. In this way, users can access extended functionality without interfering with expected traditional trackpad functionality (e.g. moving a cursor, clicking, and scrolling). In particular, technologies are disclosed for modeless digital pen input to a virtual trackpad, modeless gestures for summoning user interfaces, modeless gestures utilizing position relative to adjacent user interfaces, and modeless cursor control and interaction with virtual touch targets (Abstract).
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174