Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 1/21/2025 and on 11/ have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (WO 2021054781 A1) in view of Kuge (JP 2025069483 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches the limitation: “a communication method, comprising: determining, by an access and mobility management function network element, that a timing duration of a timer is a first period of time” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 17 Paragraph 7], slice persistence timer is a timer that determines whether or not a slice is unused or needs to be released).
Jeong additionally teaches the limitation “rejecting, by the access and mobility management function network element, access of a terminal device to the network slice in a case where there is still no protocol data unit session has been established by the terminal device for the network slice after the timer expires” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal. [Page 18 Paragraph 2] discloses that the state of each slice must be simultaneously managed by the terminal and one or more NFs inside the network that manages the state of the terminal, and for example, the corresponding NF may be an AMF).
Jeong additionally teaches the limitation “allowing, by the access and mobility management function network element, access of the terminal device to the network slice in a case where a protocol data unit session has been established by the terminal device for the network slice before the timer expires” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created by the terminal (the communication apparatus) within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal. [Page 18 Paragraph 2] discloses that the state of each slice must be simultaneously managed by the terminal and one or more NFs inside the network that manages the state of the terminal, and for example, the corresponding NF may be an AMF).
Jeong differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the limitation: “starting, by the access and mobility management function network element, the timer at a moment at which a last protocol data unit session established for a network slice is released”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Kuge teaches the limitation: “starting, by the access and mobility management function network element, the timer at a moment at which a last protocol data unit session established for a network slice is released” (Translated from foreign document Kuge: [Page 31 Paragraph 12 to Page 32 Paragraph 1], AMF starts a timer based on the reception of a PDU session release notification message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine Jeong with the timer of Kuge, in order to more efficiently handle network resources by restricting terminal access to network slices based on an PDU session inactivity timer.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong in view of Kuge teaches the limitation: “single network slice selection assistance information that identifies the network slice belongs to allowed network slice selection assistance information in the case where there the protocol data unit session has been established by the terminal device for the network slice before the timer expires” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 17, Paragraphs 5-11]: in S-NSSAI, a slice is considered allowed for use by a terminal in the allowed state. [Page 18 Paragraph 3] of Jeong describes that the slice becomes active once a PDU session is established within a timer. A slice must be in allowed state before it can transition to an active state).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong in view of Kuge teaches the limitation: “obtaining, by the access and mobility management function network element, information indicating the first time period” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18, Paragraph 9]: corresponding information that indicates how a timer’s value should be set may be indicated through “corresponding information” sent from UDM to NF. NF may be an AMF).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong in view of Kuge teaches the limitation: “the obtaining, by the access and mobility management function network element, information indicating the first period of time, comprises: obtaining, by the access and mobility management function network element from a unified data management network element, the information indicating the first period of time; or obtaining, by the access and mobility management function network element from local configuration, the information indicating the first period of time” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18, Paragraph 9]: corresponding information that indicates how a timer’s value should be set may be indicated through “corresponding information” sent from UDM (unified data management) to NF. NF may be an AMF).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong in view of Kuge teaches the limitation: “before the access and mobility management function network element rejects the access of the terminal device to the network slice, sending, by the access and mobility management function network element, the first period of time to the terminal device” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 18 Paragraph 5]: network passes to the terminal the timer through an NAS message, and the network may also explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice for use by the terminal. In other words, the network tells the terminal it cannot access the network slice after sending it a timer).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong teaches the limitations: “sending to an access and mobility management function network element, information for requesting to access a network slice” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 13 Paragraph 6]: device NSSF 134 sends a subscribe message or a request message for the NF status change to NF 300. This message may include information on a network slice to be targeted (for selection). [Page 8 Paragraph 3] of Jeong discloses that NF 300 may include AMF 131).
Jeong additionally teaches the limitation: “and receiving, from the access and mobility management function network element, information indicating that access to the network slice is rejected in a case where no protocol data unit session has been established by the communication apparatus for the network slice after the timer expires” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created by the terminal (the communication apparatus) within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal. [Page 18 Paragraph 2] discloses that the state of each slice must be simultaneously managed by the terminal and one or more NFs inside the network that manages the state of the terminal, and for example, the corresponding NF may be an AMF).
Jeong additionally teaches the limitation: “receiving a first period of time from the access and mobility management function network element, wherein the first period of time is a timing duration of a timer” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal. [Page 18 Paragraph 2] discloses that the state of each slice must be simultaneously managed by the terminal and one or more NFs inside the network that manages the state of the terminal, and for example, the corresponding NF may be an AMF).
Jeong differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the limitation: “the timer is started at a moment at which a last protocol data unit session established for the network slice is released”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Kuge teaches the limitation: “starting, by the access and mobility management function network element, the timer at a moment at which a last protocol data unit session established for a network slice is released” (Translated from foreign document Kuge: [Page 31 Paragraph 12 to Page 32 Paragraph 1], AMF starts a timer based on the reception of a PDU session release notification message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine Jeong with the timer of Kuge, in order to more efficiently handle network resources by restricting terminal access to network slices based on an PDU session inactivity timer.
Regarding claim 9, Jeong in view of Kuge teaches the limitation: “the communication apparatus is a terminal device or a chip in the terminal device” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created by the terminal (the communication apparatus) within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches the limitation: “a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: determine that a timing duration of a timer is a first period of time” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 17 Paragraph 7], slice persistence timer is a timer that determines whether or not a slice is unused or needs to be released). Jeong additionally teaches “at least one processor and at least one memory, coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory stores instructions” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Jeong additionally teaches the limitation: “reject access of a terminal device to the network slice in a case where no protocol data unit session has been established by the terminal device for the network slice after the timer expires” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal. [Page 18 Paragraph 2] discloses that the state of each slice must be simultaneously managed by the terminal and one or more NFs inside the network that manages the state of the terminal, and for example, the corresponding NF may be an AMF).
Jeong additionally teaches the limitation “and allow access of the terminal device to the network slice in a case where a protocol data unit session has been established by the terminal device for the network slice before the timer expires” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 1, 4-5], slice changes to an inactive state if a PDU session is not created by the terminal (the communication apparatus) within the duration of a timer. The inactive state of the slice essentially controls whether a terminal can use the slice, the network 5GS may explicitly send a command for excluding a specific slice from the allowed slice to the terminal. [Page 18 Paragraph 2] discloses that the state of each slice must be simultaneously managed by the terminal and one or more NFs inside the network that manages the state of the terminal, and for example, the corresponding NF may be an AMF).
Jeong differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the limitation: “start the timer at a moment at which a last protocol data unit session established for a network slice is released”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Kuge teaches the limitation: “start the timer at a moment at which a last protocol data unit session established for a network slice is released” (Translated from foreign document Kuge: [Page 31 Paragraph 12 to Page 32 Paragraph 1], AMF starts a timer based on the reception of a PDU session release notification message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine Jeong with the timer of Kuge, in order to more efficiently handle network resources by restricting terminal access to network slices based on an PDU session inactivity timer.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations for the claim are rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the limitations for the claim are rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Jeong additionally teaches “instructions, when executed by the at least one processor” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Regarding claim 13, the limitations for the claim are rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Jeong additionally teaches “instructions, when executed by the at least one processor” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Regarding claim 14, the limitations for the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Jeong additionally teaches “instructions, when executed by the at least one processor” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong in view of Kuge teaches that “the apparatus is an access and mobility management function network element or a chip in the access and mobility management function network element” (Translated from foreign document Jeong: [Page 18 Paragraphs 2 and 9], network 5GS contains device NF, which may be an AMF. The AMF controls the terminal’s access to the slice by marking the slice as inactive if no PDU session has been established by the terminal within a duration of the timer).
Regarding claim 17, the limitations for the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Jeong additionally teaches “instructions, when executed by the at least one processor” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Regarding claim 19, the limitations for the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
Claims 6, 8, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (WO 2021054781 A1), in view of Kuge (JP 2025069483 A), and further in view of Gao (CN 113472724 A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jeong and Kuge does not teach the limitation: “receiving, by the access and mobility management function network element from the terminal device, indication information that the terminal device is to establish a PDU session; and determining, by the access and mobility management function network element, the first period of time based on the indication information”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gao teaches the limitation: “receiving, by the access and mobility management function network element from the terminal device, indication information that the terminal device is to establish a PDU session; and determining, by the access and mobility management function network element, the first period of time based on the indication information” (Translated from foreign document Gao [Page 8 Paragraph 9] the DN-AAA server (equivalent to AMF / network element) generates a first survival period TTL (aka Time To Live, equivalent to validity / expiration timer) after determining that an UE, through a mobile network and industry special network, that a PDU session has been established. [Page 5 Paragraphs 3-4] discloses that the DN-AAA server 113 and AMF 104 are both part of a network authentication system 10, thus the DN-AAA may be easily swapped out for an AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the combination of Jeong and Kuge with the timer of Gao, in order to more efficiently utilize network resources or slices by starting a validity timer upon the start of a PDU session creation.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jeong and Kuge does not teach the limitation: “sending, to the access and mobility management function network element, indication information that the communication apparatus is to establish a PDU session, wherein the indication information is used by the access and mobility management function network element to determine the first period of time”. However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gao teaches the limitation “sending, to the access and mobility management function network element, indication information that the communication apparatus is to establish a PDU session, wherein the indication information is used by the access and mobility management function network element to determine the first period of time” (Translated from foreign document Gao [Page 8 Paragraph 9] the DN-AAA server generates a first survival period TTL after determining that an UE, through a mobile network and industry special network, that a PDU session has been established. [Page 5 Paragraphs 3-4] discloses that the DN-AAA server 113 and AMF 104 are both part of a network authentication system 10, thus the DN-AAA may be easily swapped out for an AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the combination of Jeong and Kuge with the limitations of Gao, in order to more efficiently utilize network resources or slices by starting a validity timer upon the start of a PDU session creation.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations for the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Jeong additionally teaches “instructions, when executed by the at least one processor” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Regarding claim 18, the limitations for the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Jeong additionally teaches “instructions, when executed by the at least one processor” (Translated from foreign document Jeong [Page 19, Paragraphs 4-6]).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN HUY DINH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649